DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application filed on 4/19/24, in which Claims 1-20 are presented for examination of which Claims 1 and 15 are in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathi et al. (Rathi; US 20180326286) in view of Bender et al. (Bender; US 20160023044).
Regarding Claim 1, Rathi discloses a robotic boot for wireless control in a virtual reality system (Abstract), comprising:
a power electronics module (230 of Fig 5A power transmission device), a boot controller (250 of Fig 5A processing device), a communication device ([0024] motorized shoes 200 may be in communication with the HMD 100, and/or another external computing device of the system), and at least one tracker ([0006] processing device may include a tracking device that is trackable by the external computing device for tracking a physical position of the motorized shoe assembly);
the boot controller in data communication with the power electronics module, the HMD 100, and/or another external computing device of the system);
a front drive module and a rear drive module ([0033] system may actuate one or more motors, of one, or both, of the motorized shoes 200L, 200R; [0049] Meshing amongst the plurality of gears 830 may cause all of the plurality of wheels 820, respectively arranged on the plurality of axles, to rotate in response to rotation of the first gear 830A and first wheel 820A; Figs 5A-C, 11, 12A-D);
a boot chassis (Figs 5A-5C) and a power supply (260 of Fig 5A power supply);
wherein the boot controller, drive modules, and base station are programmed in concert to control a velocity ([0045] a speed at which the wheels 221 of the motorized shoe 200 shown in FIGS. 5A-5C rotate) and a position ([0046] the operation of the motor 240 may be maintained for a set amount of time (for example, an estimated amount of time for the motorized shoe 200 to return from a current position back into the return zone)) of the robotic boot based on a virtual reality tracking data ([0046] Continued tracking of the physical position of the motorized shoe 200 in the physical environment); and
maintain a user inside a predetermined operating space while the user is wearing the robotic boot ([0046] Continued tracking of the physical position of the motorized shoe 200 in the physical environment 300 may allow the system to detect if and/or when the motorized shoe 200 is in a desired return zone 350A within the operational zone 350. The desired return zone 350A may be an area within the operational zone 350 to which the motorized shoe 200 is set (e.g., pre-programmed) to return), but doesn’t specify a radio or a battery.
In the same field of endeavor, Bender discloses a sports monitoring system used during skiing and includes a controller transceiver that can be hand held, two ski boot pressure monitor/transmitters, and earphones connectable to the controller/transceiver. The system can be used to provide, through the earphones, sound indicative of pressure applied or not applied by a skier toward a portion of a boot while skiing. The system may also include a proximity sensor mounted within one of the ski boot pressure monitor/transmitters to provide sound responsive to the proximity detector's detection of one boot being at a distance with respect to the other boot.
Bender discloses a radio ([0069] The transmitter 48, the receiver 50 or both may include, for example, a short-range radio frequency (RF) transmitter that sends an RF signal to the hand controller unit 24. It will be readily understood that the transmitter 48 may include any type of wireless transmitter, including, for example, an amplitude modulation (AM) transmitter, a short-range digital transmission system such as a Bluetooth® or Zigbee®, transmitter, etc. The transmitter 48 may include an RFID tag that communicates with an interrogator located in the hand controller unit 24) and a battery ([0084] A removable battery cover 92 that snaps into a locking position to cover a cutout in the back cover 64 allows for access to a power source which consists of two “AA” alkaline batteries positioned on a surface of the printed circuit board 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi with Bender using a radio and battery in order to use readily available components to provide convenient and efficient forms of communications and power.
Regarding Claim 2, Rathi discloses the boot chassis comprises a front part and a rear part (Fig 5A) ; the front part comprising an upper front portion and a lower front portion (Fig 5A); and the rear part comprising an upper rear portion and a lower rear portion (Fig 5A); a front portion positioning system (including front wheels (Figs 5A-5C)), a rear portion positioning system (including rear wheels (Figs 5A-5C)); and a size adjustable mechanism for adjusting a length of the boot chassis ([0040] attachment devices 280 may be adjustable, to accommodate different sizes of feet of different users, different types of shoes worn by the user(s), different user preferences for tightness).
2>Regarding Claim 3, Rathi discloses the drive module comprises a top portion, a middle portion, and a bottom portion (see Figs 5A-C, 11, 12A-D for portions); at least one of the middle and the top portion comprising a motive means of rotational motion when the drive module is not in contact with the ground (wheels turn irrespective of contact with the ground [0042] worm gear 230A may provide for engagement between the motor 240 and the shaft 223 of one of the sets of wheels 221, to drive the wheels 221 and in turn propel the motorized shoe 200); and at least one of the bottom and middle portion comprising a motive means for translation and rotation when the drive module is in contact with the ground ([0048] motor 240 and the power transmission device 230 may be positioned at a rear portion of the platform 210 of the motorized shoe 200, and the locomotion device 220 may include one or more belts 720 fitted on rollers 725. In the example shown in FIG. 8, the power transmission device 230 may include a worm gear 230A, or worm drive 230A (as shown in FIG. 7A). A worm shaft 231 of the worm 230A may be coupled to the motor 240, and may receive a rotational force from the motor 240 that rotates the worm shaft 231. The worm shaft 231 may mesh with the teeth of a worm wheel 232, such that the worm wheel 232 rotates in response to rotation of the worm shaft 231. The worm wheel 232 may be fitted on the roller 725 such that the roller 725 rotates in response to, and together with, the worm wheel 232, thus rotating the one or more belts 720, and causing the motorized shoe 200 to move in a corresponding direction).
Regarding Claim 4, Rathi discloses the boot controller and base station are further configured to determine whether the user is outside of the exit area and commanding the robotic boot and drive modules to return in the desired direction of motion ([0023] In response to detection of the shoes 200 outside of a defined physical area, or zone, in the physical environment, one, or both of the locomotion devices of the shoes 200 may be activated to move (e.g., physically move, convey) the user back into the defined physical area, or zone), but doesn’t specify aligning. However, aligning the boots would be a likely outcome of pointing the user in the right direction and bringing them to the return zone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi by aligning the boots in order to provide an efficient manner of accomplishing the purpose of returning to the zone, and avoiding boots going in different directions and probable falls.
4>Regarding Claim 5, Rathi discloses the boot controller and base station are further configured to determine if the user has returned into the entry area and commanding the robotic boot to stop ([0023] In response to detection of the shoes 200 outside of a defined physical area, or zone, in the physical environment, one, or both of the locomotion devices of the shoes 200 may be activated to move (e.g., physically move, convey) the user back into the defined physical area, or zone; [0038] locomotion devices of the motorized shoes 200L, 200R may remain in an actuated state, to substantially continuously convey the user back to the return zone 350A/operational zone 350, until the system determines, based on these indicators, that the user will stop walking), but doesn’t specify braking. However, braking the boots would be a likely command when the user stops walking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi by braking the boots in order to provide an efficient manner of stopping motion, and avoiding boots moving out from under a user who has stopped.
5>Regarding Claim 6, Rathi discloses the boot controller and base station are further configured to determine if the drive modules are In response to detection of the shoes 200 outside of a defined physical area, or zone, in the physical environment, one, or both of the locomotion devices of the shoes 200 may be activated to move (e.g., physically move, convey) the user back into the defined physical area, or zone), but doesn’t specify aligning the second boot. However, aligning the boots would be a likely outcome of pointing the user in the right direction and bringing them to the return zone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi by aligning the boots in order to provide an efficient manner of accomplishing the purpose of returning to the zone, and avoiding boots going in different directions and probable falls.
6>Regarding Claim 7, Rathi discloses the boot controller and base station are further configured to control the robotic boot and the second robotic boot with a specific maximum acceleration (the system must operate at some maximum acceleration based on the power of the device [0045] a physical distance the user is to be moved through the operation of the locomotion device 220, a physical speed/acceleration of the user's physical movement).
7>Regarding Claim 8, Rathi discloses the boot controller and base station are further configured to determine if the user is standing still inside the entry area ([0038] locomotion devices of the motorized shoes 200L, 200R may remain in an actuated state, to substantially continuously convey the user back to the return zone 350A/operational zone 350, until the system determines, based on these indicators, that the user will stop walking) and transmit a signal to the robotic boots to ramp to a stop (for the wheels to stop some signal must be activated to stop them).
Regarding Claim 10, Rathi discloses at least one force sensor capable of detecting the robotic boot's engagement by the user ([0045] An amount of power to be supplied by the motor 240 and/or a speed at which the locomotion device 220 is to operate may be determined based on, for example, a physical size of the operational zone 350, a physical distance the user is to be moved through the operation of the locomotion device 220, a physical speed/acceleration of the user's physical movement), the user's weight distribution ([0045] a physical size/weight of the user), or the user's ground reaction forces and torques.
Regarding Claim 15, Rathi discloses an omnidirectional robotic boot for automatic wireless control in a virtual reality system (Abstract), comprising:
a front drive module and a rear drive module ([0049] Meshing amongst the plurality of gears 830 may cause all of the plurality of wheels 820, respectively arranged on the plurality of axles, to rotate in response to rotation of the first gear 830A and first wheel 820A; Figs 5A-C, 11, 12A-D);
a plurality of straps (1280 of Fig 11);
a boot chassis subassembly having a front portion and a rear portion (Figs 5A-C, 11, 12A-D);
a power source (260 of Fig 5A power supply);
at least one tracker ([0006] processing device may include a tracking device that is trackable by the external computing device for tracking a physical position of the motorized shoe assembly); and
a plurality of drive module subsystems affixed to the front portion and rear portion of the boot chassis ([0048]-[0049], Figs 5A-C, 11, 12A-D), doesn’t specify a battery.
Bender discloses a battery ([0084] A removable battery cover 92 that snaps into a locking position to cover a cutout in the back cover 64 allows for access to a power source which consists of two “AA” alkaline batteries positioned on a surface of the printed circuit board 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi with Bender using a battery in order to use readily available components to provide convenient and efficient forms of power.
Regarding Claim 16, Rathi discloses the boot chassis is size-adjustable ([0040] attachment devices 280 may be adjustable, to accommodate different sizes of feet of different users, different types of shoes worn by the user(s), different user preferences for tightness) and is configured to contain and support a user's right or left shoe ([0030] the user is wearing a first motorized shoe 200L on a left foot, and a second motorized shoe 200R on a right foot).
Regarding Claim 17, Rathi discloses the boot chassis is comprised of either rigid or soft materials depending on the desired amount of natural flexion ([0004] a flex region provided on a bottom surface portion of the platform, the platform being configured to flex at the flex region through a range of flexure, between a neutral state and a fully flexed state; and a locomotion device coupled to the bottom surface portion of the platform).
Regarding Claim 18, Rathi discloses the boot chassis comprises a power source (260 of Fig 5A power supply) and structure having a mechanism providing additional degrees of freedom ([0056] platform 1210 may include a flex region 1215).
Bender teaches a battery attachment structure capable of housing a removable battery, said battery attachment structure having a locking mechanism ([0084] removable battery cover 92 that snaps into a locking position to cover a cutout in the back cover 64 allows for access to a power source which consists of two “AA” alkaline batteries positioned on a surface of the printed circuit board 88).
Regarding Claim 19, Rathi discloses the boot chassis front portion and rear portion further comprise one or more tracker mounting ([0006] processing device may include a tracking device that is trackable by the external computing device for tracking a physical position of the motorized shoe assembly) and damper systems ([0059] springs), one or more positioning systems ([0027] system detects a position of the motorized footwear), a boot flexion mechanism ([0056] platform 1210 may include a flex region 1215), and a size adjustable mechanism ([0040]); and the rear portion is further comprised of a control component ([0006] a processing device operably coupling the motorized shoe assembly with an external computing device) and a power electronics component ([0042] power supply 260 may supply power to the motor 240. A power transmission device 230 may transmit power generated by the motor 240).
Bender discloses an enclosure ([0084] removable battery cover).
Regarding Claim 20, Rathi discloses the drive module subsystems further comprise:
a plurality of motors ([0033] system may actuate one or more motors, of one, or both, of the motorized shoes);
a rotational sensing system ([0044] detection of the motorized shoe 200 at, or near, or approaching, a physical boundary); motive means for rotation and translation of the drive modules when the drive modules are and are not in contact with a ground surface (wheels turn irrespective of contact with the ground [0042] worm gear 230A may provide for engagement between the motor 240 and the shaft 223 of one of the sets of wheels 221, to drive the wheels 221 and in turn propel the motorized shoe 200 [0033] system may actuate one or more motors, of one, or both, of the motorized shoes 200L, 200R; [0049] Meshing amongst the plurality of gears 830 may cause all of the plurality of wheels 820, respectively arranged on the plurality of axles, to rotate in response to rotation of the first gear 830A and first wheel 820A; Figs 5A-C, 11, 12A-D); electromechanical means of conveying power and signals ([0044] system may transmit a signal to the processing device 250, causing the processing device 250 to actuate the motor 240 to supply power to the locomotion device 220); and a ground surface contact means comprised of a plurality of wheels ([0042] worm gear 230A may provide for engagement between the motor 240 and the shaft 223 of one of the sets of wheels 221, to drive the wheels 221 and in turn propel the motorized shoe 200).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathi and Bender in view of HAMIDI-RAD et al. (Hamidi-Rad; US 20180342109 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Rathi discloses one or more trackers ([0006] processing device may include a tracking device that is trackable by the external computing device for tracking a physical position of the motorized shoe assembly), but doesn’t teach collecting user pose data is directly affixed to the robotic boot or directly affixed to the user's leg.
In the same field of endeavor, Hamidi-Rad discloses a method to determine a body pose of a user in a virtual reality or augmented reality system includes acquiring sensor data from a plurality of sensors in a garment worn by a user. The sensor data is processed to generate a processed sensor data set and scaled for the size of the user. The processed sensor data set is converted to a pose data set.
Hamidi-Rad discloses collecting user pose data is directly affixed to the robotic boot ([0042] FIG. 4a depicts one embodiment of a sensor set incorporated into a wearable item. In the example, the wearable item is a shirt, pants and shoes combination of wearable item) or directly affixed to the user's leg ([0024] raw sensor information is acquired by the VR processor 130 from the sensor set 150 and transformed into pose information related to the sensor set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi with Hamidi-Rad using pose data in order to determine specifications of a user to efficiently calibrate the system for individualized use.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathi and Bender in view of Proud et al. (Proud; US 20140247137 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Rathi discloses the boot controller is comprised ofa processing device operably coupling the motorized shoe assembly with an external computing device), and one or more programmable visual indicators ([0084] feedback provided to the user can be any form of sensory feedback (e.g., visual feedback, auditory feedback, or tactile feedback)), but doesn’t specify protection electronics, voltage sensors, and voltage regulators.
In the same field of endeavor, Proud discloses a wearable device system with sensors for acquiring user's activities, behaviors, habit information, health parameters, medical monitoring and user monitoring. The wearable device has a power source coupled to a charging device of the wearable device. The monitoring device can be sensor enabled shoes ([0088]).
Proud discloses one or more fault protection electronics ([0114] In one embodiment, the monitoring device 10 includes a protection system to prevent a polarity reversal from damaging the electronics when charging the power source. In one embodiment, the protection system is a Zener diode which is earthed to prevent the power source charging voltage from exceeding a predetermined voltage), one or more voltage sensors ([0116] A variety of different sensors 14 can be utilized, including but not limited to, an accelerometer-based sensor, and pressure-based sensors, voltage resistance sensor, a radio frequency sensor), one or more voltage regulators ([0213] battery 24 can be a power source 24 that can include a Texas Instruments TPS76930 DBVT voltage regulator to regulate the output signal to 3 volts and with a maximum current of 100 mA. The voltage regulator can include an LDO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi with Proud using protection, sensors and regulator in order to efficiently monitor and safeguard the system against overloads.
Regarding Claim 12, Rathi discloses the drive module is comprised of a microprocessor ([0006] a processing device operably coupling the motorized shoe assembly with an external computing device),positional sensor(s)), one or more motors ([0036] respective motors (powering the locomotion devices)), one or more motor drivers ([0048] motorized shoe 200 may include different types of power transmission device(s) 230 and/or different types of locomotion device(s)), feedback provided to the user can be any form of sensory feedback (e.g., visual feedback, auditory feedback, or tactile feedback)).
Proud discloses one or more fault protection electronics ([0114] monitoring device 10 includes a protection system), and voltage regulators ([0213] voltage regulator).
12>Regarding Claim 13, Rathi discloses the sensors are selected from a group comprising voltage sensors, motor temperature sensors, ground proximity sensors ([0006] processing device may include a tracking device that is trackable by the external computing device for tracking a physical position of the motorized shoe assembly… the processor to detect a distance between the motorized shoe assembly and a physical boundary of a physical operational zone; [0043] positional sensor(s)), motor speed sensors, rotation alignment sensors, and rotation position sensors.
Proud discloses voltage sensors ([0116] voltage resistance sensor).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathi, Bender and Proud in view of Yu et al. (Yu; US 20200175733 A1).
13> Regarding Claim 14, Rathi doesn’t teach the drive module contains a continuous rotation electromechanical slipring capable of interfacing with the boot controller.
In the field of robotic movement, Yu discloses a continuous rotation electromechanical slipring capable of interfacing with the boot controller ([0035] As discussed in more detail below, these imaging sources and detectors may be mounted in various combinations on a CT-like gantry (e.g., with a slip-ring), on a robotic arm, on two robotic arms, and/or on other mounting devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rathi with Yu using a slipring in order to provide continuous rotation for efficient operation of robotic functions, eliminate tangled wires and improve mechanical performance using readily available components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DiBenedetto et al. (DiBenedetto; US 20040177531 A1) discloses intelligent systems for articles of footwear that adjust automatically in response to a measured performance characteristic. DiBenedetto discloses collecting user pose data is directly affixed to the robotic boot or directly affixed to the user's leg ([0075] During the stance phase, the system 106 senses a maximum change in the magnetic field and converts that measurement into a maximum amount of compression. In alternative embodiments, the system 106 may also measure the length of the stance phase to determine other performance characteristics of the shoe, for example velocity, acceleration, and jerk).
Cavallo et al. (US 20200285304 A1) discloses a virtual reality (VR) system for VR desk application that allows a user to move in a VR environment while sitting in front of a working desk is provided. The VR system receives sensor data from a mobile device. The VR system generates a set of sitting motion data by interpreting the received sensor data as a motion of a limb of a person in a sitting posture. The VR system maps the set of sitting motion data into a set of movements in the VR environment.
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687