DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As discussed in the interview held 7 April 2026, the Examiner was unable to guarantee that the amendments presented would be allowable with the removal of significant limitations from the claims which were previously indicated as being allowable. As discussed in the reasons for allowance and the rejections of claims 1 and 11 below, due to the removal of certain limitations from the claims which were previously indicated as being allowable from the amendments to the independent claims, the Examiner was able to interpret the teachings of Yang to teach the added limitations. The Examiner apologizes for seeing the reinterpretation of Yang prior to the interview but welcomes further telephonic communications should the Applicant deem it beneficial.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 11, the term “the slide body” should be changed to read - - the slider body - - in order to keep consistent terms throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) further in view of Yang et al. (2010/0176566 – hereinafter Yang).
Regarding Claim 1: Williams discloses a handle assembly (handles 160 of Williams) for a cot (stretcher 11 of Williams – Figs. 1-14) comprising: a handle body (handles 160 of Williams) configured to be attached to a cot (see at least Fig. 1 of Williams showing handle 160 attached to a stretcher 11 of Williams); a handle actuator (portion of the handle which is operating the movement of the cables of Williams – not labeled but shown in ) [….] coupled to the handle body (160 of Williams); […] an actuator assembly (comprising cables 164 of Williams – Fig. 1) comprising a cable (comprising cables 164 of Williams – Fig. 1), wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the [handle assembly] (see cable 164 attached to the handle 160 of William – Fig. 1); and a locking linkage assembly (comprising elements 142, 144, 152, 156, 158 of Williams – Fig. 15), comprising a locking pin (protrusion 158 of Williams – Fig. 15), wherein a second end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the locking linkage assembly (via the connection of ends of cables 1644 to eyelet 150 of Williams – Col. 7, lines 59-65), and when the handle actuator is pulled, […] the locking pin [transitions] from an extended state to a retracted state to enable a changing of a length of the cot (Col. 7 line 59-Col. 8, line 2 “When handles 160 at the foot end of the stretcher are squeezed, cables 164 are pulled. The ends of cables 164 opposite the handle 160 pass through frame 13 around guide wheels 166 and are coupled to each eyelet 150 such that when the cables are pulled, each connecting member 148 is pulled through sleeve 142 which in turn disengages engaging member 144 from beveled surface 152. At such time, the force exerted by spring 154 causes assembly 136 to pivot within tube 130 at pivot point 162. Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended. By pulling on handles 160 thereby releasing protrusion 158 from one of the bores 168 or 170, tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132. When the handles 160 are released, the tubes 130 will continue to slide until protrusion 158 engages one of bores 168 or 170 at which time the force exerted by engaging member 144 on beveled surface 152 will force protrusion 158 through one of said bores thereby locking telescoping end portions 27 in either a retracted or extended position. Protrusions 158 extend through bores 168 when the telescoping end portions are in a retracted position, and through bores 170 when the telescoping end portions are in an extended position”).
Williams does not disclose the handle body slidably coupled, a first link arm and a second link arm pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point, wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator; the locking pin having a cross-pin, and a slider body coupled to an end of the cable, the slide body comprises a cam slot having a cam surface defining a locking pin extended region and a locking pin retracted region, the cross-pin is positioned within the cam slot and contacts the cam surface, wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm, the first link arm and the second link arm rotate about the pivot point to pull the actuator assembly and translate the slider body in one direction which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin extended region to the locking pin retracted region; when the handle actuator is released, the slider body translates in an opposite direction which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin retracted region to the locking pin extended region, thereby extended the locking pin.
However, relating to handle assemblies which operate a locking/unlocking function via cables (see Col. 6, line 64 – Col. 7, line 3 of Ageneau – “When cable (215) is pulled, part (51) is moved upwards (to resist the force applied by the return means (53)). The blade (56) inside the housing (57) cannot follow the movement applied to the part (51), since the pin (55) fixes it to the push arm (15). The two contact surfaces (58) and (59) cooperate with the two inclined guide planes (510 and 511) formed inside the housing (57)”), Ageneau teaches a handle body (box 32 – Fig. 4 of Ageneau) configured to be attached to a [gripping member] (handle 16 of Ageneau – Fig. 4); handle actuator (control handle 420 of Ageneau – Fig. 4) slidably coupled to the handle body (Col. 6, lines 9-13 of Ageneau – “(22) This control button comprises a box (32) and is designed to fit into a housing (41) provided for it in the handle (16). It is formed of two half-boxes (42 and 43). A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction 421”); a first link arm and a second link arm (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau) pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”), wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”); an actuator assembly (cables 215 – Fig. 3 of Ageneau), wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm (Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau - end 49 which holds the end of cable 215); and a locking linkage assembly (51 and 55-59 of Ageneau – Fig. 5) comprising a locking pin (pin 55 of Ageneau – Fig. 5), wherein a second end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the locking linkage assembly (Fig. 5 and Col. 6, lines 54-55 of Ageneau – “The second end (54) of the cable (215) is fixed to the other end of the part (51)”), and when the handle actuator is pulled, the first link arm and the second link arm rotate about the pivot point (Col. 6, lines 9-15 of Ageneau - “This control button comprises a box (32) and is designed to fit into a housing (41) provided for it in the handle (16). It is formed of two half-boxes (42 and 43). A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction (421). The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47).”) to pull the actuator assembly and transition the locking pin from an extended state to a retracted state to enable [unlocking] (Col. 6, lines 20-22 of Ageneau - “Thus, when action is taken on box (32), the rods will be guided by the oblong holes and pull on cables (215) which has the effect of unlocking.”).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher) and Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) with a reasonable expectation of success by replacing the handle assembly of Williams with the handle 420 and box 32. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because Ageneau’s handle provides an anti-unlocking safety device (see Col. 3, lines 41-43 of Ageneau).
Williams and Ageneau do not disclose or make obvious the locking pin having a cross-pin, and a slider body coupled to an end of the cable, the slide body comprises a cam slot having a cam surface defining a locking pin extended region and a locking pin retracted region, the cross-pin is positioned within the cam slot and contacts the cam surface, wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm, the first link arm and the second link arm rotate about the pivot point to pull the actuator assembly and translate the slider body in one direction which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin extended region to the locking pin retracted region; when the handle actuator is released, the slider body translates in an opposite direction which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin retracted region to the locking pin extended region, thereby extended the locking pin.
However, relating to handle assemblies which operate a locking/unlocking function via cables (see the abstract of Yang), Yang teaches a locking pin (engaging member 43 of Yang) having a cross-pin (slide pin 45 of Yang – paragraph [0052]) and a slider body (coupling member 41 of Yang – Figs. 3-6) coupled to an end of the cable (as shown in Figs. 5-6 of Yang member 41 is coupled to cable 422), the slide body comprises a cam slot (receiving space 412 of Yang) having a cam surface (see annotated copy of Figs. 5-6 of Yang) defining a locking pin extended region and a locking pin retracted region (see annotated copy of Figs. 5-6 of Yang), the cross-pin is positioned within the cam slot and contacts the cam surface (see annotated copy of Figs. 5-6 of Yang), [movement of the handle actuates the cable to] translate the slider body in one direction (compare Figs. 5-6 of Yang to see how the slider body translates) which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin extended region to the locking pin retracted region (compare Figs. 5-6 of Yang to see how the pin 45 moves within space 412 of Yang); when the handle actuator is released, the slider body translates in an opposite direction which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin retracted region to the locking pin extended region, thereby extended the locking pin (paragraph [0056] - “Once the user moves the handle tube 2 to a desired height/position relative to the frame tube 1, the user only has to release the control element 421 to allow the biasing action of the resilient member 44 to take effect in order for the engaging member 43 to move in a direction opposite to that shown by arrow (III) so as to engage one of the positioning holes 11 that corresponds to the desired height to thereby lock the handle tube 2 relative to the frame tube 1 at the desired height.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) and Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism) with a reasonable expectation of success by replacing the locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau, with a locking mechanism as taught by Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because the height adjustment mechanism of Yang “generates less friction between elements during operation and that requires less effort to operate” (paragraph [0008] of Yang).
Regarding Claim 2: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the handle actuator comprises a slot (oblong holes 49, 410 of Ageneau – Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19) and a portion of the second link arm is positioned within the slot (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau showing the second link arm including pins 411,412 which are received in slots 410 and 49) such that the portion of the second link arm translates within the slot when the handle actuator is pulled and released, thereby causing rotation of the first link arm and the second link arm (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “(23) The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410 formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods.”).
Regarding Claim 3: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator assembly comprises a cable (unlocking cable 215 of Ageneau), and a first end of the cable is coupled to the first link arm (Col. 6, lines 15-16 and Fig. 4 of Ageneau – “One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position”).
Regarding Claim 6: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the locking linkage assembly comprises a housing (housing portion 22 of Yang – Fig. 2) configured to be coupled to an end of a first rail of the cot (paragraph [0050] of Yang – “The housing portion 22 of the handle tube 2 is partially disposed in and partially exposed from the tube portion 21”), the housing comprising a first half (second outer housing 222 of Yang – Fig. 11) and a second half (first outer housing 221 of Yang – Fig. 11) defining an interior recess (inner handle space 223 of Yang – Fig. 3); the second half comprises opening (space between guiding parts 229 of Yang – Fig. 5); the locking pin is disposed within the opening of the second half (see Fig. 5 of Yang which shows the pin positioned between guiding parts 229 of Yang), the slider body is disposed within the interior recess (Figs. 3-6 of Yang); and the locking pin (43 of Yang) is moveably coupled to the slider body (paragraph [0052] of Yang – “The slide pin 45 extends in sequence through the elongated guiding hole 225 in one of the first and second outer housings 221, 222, one of the mounting holes 414 in the coupling member 41, the through hole 431 in the engaging member 43, the other one of the mounting holes 414 in the coupling member 41, and the elongated guiding hole 225 in the other one of the first and second outer housings 221, 222 such that the engaging member 43 is slidable coupled to the housing portion 22 and is pivoted to the coupling member 41”) such that when the handle actuator is pulled (see paragraph [0056] of Yang which describes pulling the control element 421 so as to move the connecting cable 422 which operates the movement of the engaging member 43), the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the extended state to the retracted state (paragraph [0052] of Yang -“The first outer housing 221 further includes two guiding parts 229 that are disposed proximate to the extension hole 224 and that respectively abut against opposite sides of the engaging member 43. As a result, when the coupling member 41 is pivoted between the first and second positions relative to the housing portion 22 about the pivot pin 46, the slide pin 45 is brought to move along the elongated guiding holes 225 between the first and second ends 226, 227 such that the engaging member 43 is movable between an engaging position (as shown in FIG. 5) and a disengaging position (as shown in FIG. 6) relative to the housing portion 22 within the confines as defined by the guiding parts 229”) and when the handle actuator is released the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the retracted state to the extended state (paragraph [0055] of Yang – “With reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, due to the biasing action of the resilient member 44 on the coupling member 41, the slide pin 45 is biased toward one of the first and second ends 226, 227 of the elongated guiding hole 225. In this embodiment, the slide pin 45 is biased toward the first end 226 of the elongated guiding hole 225, such that the rivet 423 is biased toward a lower end of the groove 24 (i.e., towards the lower left of FIG. 2) . At this time, the engaging member 43 engages the selected one of the positioning holes 11 so as to arrest movement of the handle tube 2 relative to the frame tube 1 to thereby lock the handle tube 2 at a desired height/position relative to the frame tube 1”).
Regarding Claim 8: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 6, wherein the slider body comprises a longitudinal slot and the locking pin is positioned within the longitudinal slot (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Yang).
Regarding Claim 11: Williams discloses a cot (stretcher 11 of Williams – Figs. 1-14) a cot comprising: a support frame (frame 13 of Williams) comprising a pair of side rails connected together (see at least tubes 130 and 132 of Williams – Fig. 2), each side rail comprising a first rail and a second rail (first and second side rails 130 and 132 of Williams – Fig. 2), wherein a portion of the first rail is slidably disposed within the second rail (Col. 8, lines 3-4 of Williams – “tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132”), and the second rail comprises two or more lock openings (bores 168 and 170 of Williams – Col. 7, line 67-Col. 8, line 2 of Williams “Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended”); and a handle assembly (handles 160 of Williams) for adjusting a length of the cot (Col. 8, lines 2-14 of Williams –“By pulling on handles 160 thereby releasing protrusion 158 from one of the bores 168 or 170, tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132. When the handles 160 are released, the tubes 130 will continue to slide until protrusion 158 engages one of bores 168 or 170 at which time the force exerted by engaging member 144 on beveled surface 152 will force protrusion 158 through one of said bores thereby locking telescoping end portions 27 in either a retracted or extended position. Protrusions 158 extend through bores 168 when the telescoping end portions are in a retracted position, and through bores 170 when the telescoping end portions are in an extended position.”), the handle assembly comprising: a handle body (handles 160 of Williams) configured to be attached to the cot (see at least Fig. 1 of Williams showing handle 160 attached to a stretcher 11 of Williams); a handle actuator (portion of the handle which is operating the movement of the cables of Williams – not labeled but shown in Fig. 1) […] coupled to the handle body (Fig. 1 of Williams showing the portion of the handles which couple to the cables being integrally coupled to the handle body of Williams); [….] a pair of actuator assemblies (comprising cables 164 of Williams – Fig. 1), wherein a first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to the [handle assembly] (see cable 164 attached to the handle 160 of William – Fig. 1) […]; and a pair of locking linkage assemblies (comprising elements 142, 144, 152, 156, 158 of Williams – Fig. 15), each locking linkage assembly positioned on the first rail of an individual side rail of the pair of side rails (Fig. 15 of Williams shows the locking linkage assemblies positioned within tube 130), each locking assembly comprising a locking pin (protrusion 158 of William) […] wherein: a second end of an individual actuator assembly of the pair of actuator assemblies is coupled to an individual locking linkage assembly of the pair of locking linkage assemblies (Col. 7, line 49-Col. 8, line 2 of Williams “The ends of cables 164 opposite the handle 160 pass through frame 13 around guide wheels 166 and are coupled to each eyelet 150 such that when the cables are pulled, each connecting member 148 is pulled through sleeve 142 which in turn disengages engaging member 144 from beveled surface 152. At such time, the force exerted by spring 154 causes assembly 136 to pivot within tube 130 at pivot point 162. Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended”), […], and when the handle actuator is pulled, […], thereby enabling a changing of length of the cot (Col. 7 line 59-Col. 8, line 2 “When handles 160 at the foot end of the stretcher are squeezed, cables 164 are pulled. The ends of cables 164 opposite the handle 160 pass through frame 13 around guide wheels 166 and are coupled to each eyelet 150 such that when the cables are pulled, each connecting member 148 is pulled through sleeve 142 which in turn disengages engaging member 144 from beveled surface 152. At such time, the force exerted by spring 154 causes assembly 136 to pivot within tube 130 at pivot point 162. Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended. By pulling on handles 160 thereby releasing protrusion 158 from one of the bores 168 or 170, tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132. When the handles 160 are released, the tubes 130 will continue to slide until protrusion 158 engages one of bores 168 or 170 at which time the force exerted by engaging member 144 on beveled surface 152 will force protrusion 158 through one of said bores thereby locking telescoping end portions 27 in either a retracted or extended position. Protrusions 158 extend through bores 168 when the telescoping end portions are in a retracted position, and through bores 170 when the telescoping end portions are in an extended position”).
Williams does not disclose a pair of links, each link comprising a first link arm and a second link arm pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point, wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator; wherein a first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm of an individual link of the pair of links the first link arm and the second link arm of the pair of links rotate about the pivot point, having a cross-pin and a pin holder body comprising at least one slot configured to receive the locking pin, the cross-pin of the locking pin is positioned within the at least one slot of the pin holder body.
Ageneau teaches a handle body configured to be attached the cot; a handle actuator slidably coupled to the handle body (Col. 6, lines 11-13 of Ageneau - “A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction (421)”); a pair of links (rods 44 and 45 of Ageneau – Fig. 4), each link comprising a first link arm and a second link arm (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau) pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”), wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”); a pair of actuator assemblies (cables 215 – Fig. 3 of Ageneau), wherein a first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm of an individual link of the pair of links (Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau - end 49 which holds the end of cable 215); and a pair of a locking linkage assemblies (51 and 55-59 of Ageneau – Fig. 5), […] each locking assembly comprising a locking pin (pin 55 of Ageneau – Fig. 5), wherein: a second end of the an individual actuator assembly is coupled to an individual locking linkage assembly of the pair of locking linkage assemblies (Fig. 5 and Col. 6, lines 54-55 of Ageneau – “The second end (54) of the cable (215) is fixed to the other end of the part (51)”), and when the handle actuator is pulled, the first link arm and the second link arm of the pair of links rotate about the pivot point (Col. 6, lines 9-15 of Ageneau - “This control button comprises a box (32) and is designed to fit into a housing (41) provided for it in the handle (16). It is formed of two half-boxes (42 and 43). A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction (421). The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47).”) to pull the actuator assemblies and transition the locking pins of the pair of locking linkage assemblies from an extended state to a retracted state to remove the locking pins from individual lock openings of the second rail of the pair of side rales, thereby enabling [unlocking] (Col. 6, lines 20-22 of Ageneau - “Thus, when action is taken on box (32), the rods will be guided by the oblong holes and pull on cables (215) which has the effect of unlocking.”).
Williams and Ageneau do not disclose or make obvious having a cross-pin and a pin holder body comprising at least one slot configured to receive the locking pin, the cross-pin of the locking pin is positioned within the at least one slot of the pin holder body.
However, relating to handle assemblies which operate a locking/unlocking function via cables (see the abstract of Yang), Yang teaches a locking pin (engaging member 43 of Yang) having a cross-pin (slide pin 45 of Yang – paragraph [0052]) and a pin holder body (coupling member 41 of Yang - paragraph [0052]) comprising at least one slot (receiving space 412 of Yang – paragraph [0052]) configured to receive the locking pin (via the slide pin 45 - Fig. 6 of Yang), the cross-pin of the locking pin is positioned within the at least one slot of the pin holder body (“The coupling member 41 has a pivot hole 411 for extension of a pivot pin 46 therethrough, is formed with a first receiving space 412 with an opening 413 for permitting insertion of the engaging member 43 into the first receiving space 412,” – paragraph [0052] and Fig. 6 of Yang).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) and Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism) with a reasonable expectation of success by replacing the locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau, with a locking mechanism as taught by Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because the height adjustment mechanism of Yang “generates less friction between elements during operation and that requires less effort to operate” (paragraph [0008] of Yang).
Regarding Claim 12: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the cot of claim 11, wherein the handle actuator comprises a pair of slots (oblong holes 49, 410 of Ageneau – Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19) and a portion of the second link arm of the pair of links is positioned within the pair of slots (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau showing the second link arm including pins 411,412 which are received in slots 410 and 49) such that the portion of the second link arm of the pair of links translates within the pair of slots when the handle actuator is pulled and released, thereby causing rotation of the pair of links (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “(23) The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410 formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods.”).
Regarding Claim 13: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the cot of claim 11, wherein the first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to each first link arm (Col. 6, lines 15-16 and Fig. 4 of Ageneau – “One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position”).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0176566 – hereinafter Yang) further in view of Peck (US Patent No. 4,559,655).
Regarding Claim 4: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1. Williams, Ageneau and Yang do not further disclose or make obvious wherein the handle body further comprises a mounting bracket having an opening, and the actuator assembly is disposed through the opening of the mounting bracket.
In the same field of endeavor, patient supports (see the abstract of Peck), Peck teaches a mounting bracket (bracket 60 of Peck – Fig. 4) having an opening (see the opening pointed to in the annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck), and the actuator assembly is disposed through the opening of the mounting bracket (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck showing the bracket maintaining the sheath of the cable within an opening).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism) and Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and arrived at an extendible stretcher utilizing a Bowden cable attached via a bracket.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. replacing the wire with a sheathed wire and including a mounting bracket for maintaining the position of the jacket) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. resistance to kinking in the cable and lack of the need for pulleys or rollers for maintaining the desired curvatures of the cables).
Regarding Claim 5: Williams in view of Ageneau, Yang, and Peck make obvious the handle assembly of claim 4, further comprising wherein the actuator assembly comprises a cable (wire 70 of Peck) within a jacket (sheath 72 of Peck).
Regarding Claim 14: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the cot of claim 11. Williams, Ageneau and Yang do not further disclose or make obvious wherein the handle body further comprises a pair of mounting brackets having an opening, and the pair of actuator assemblies is disposed through the opening of the pair of mounting brackets.
In the same field of endeavor, patient supports (see the abstract of Peck), Peck teaches [a] mounting brackets (bracket 60 of Peck – Fig. 4) having an opening (see the opening pointed to in the annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck), and the […] actuator assembl[y] is disposed through the opening of the […] mounting bracket[..] (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck showing the bracket maintaining the sheath of the cable within an opening).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a cable actuated locking pin mechanism) and Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and arrived at an extendible stretcher utilizing a Bowden cable.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. replacing the wire with a sheathed wire by including a mounting bracket for maintaining the position of the jacket) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. resistance to kinking in the cable and lack of the need for pulleys or rollers for maintaining the desired curvatures of the cables).
The Examiner notes that Peck does not explicitly teach a pair of actuator assemblies and a pair of brackets but since Williams includes identical assemblies on each side of the stretcher, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to duplicate the teachings of Peck when applying them to Williams as modified by Ageneau and Yang.
Regarding Claim 14: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the cot of claim 11. Williams, Ageneau and Yang do not further disclose or make obvious wherein the handle body further comprises a pair of mounting brackets having an opening, and the pair of actuator assemblies is disposed through the opening of the pair of mounting brackets.
In the same field of endeavor, patient supports (see the abstract of Peck), Peck teaches [a] mounting brackets (bracket 60 of Peck – Fig. 4) having an opening (see the opening pointed to in the annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck), and the […] actuator assembl[y] is disposed through the opening of the […] mounting bracket[..] (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck showing the bracket maintaining the sheath of the cable within an opening).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a latch mechanism with cross pin) and Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and arrived at an extendible stretcher utilizing a Bowden cable.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. replacing the wire with a sheathed wire by including a mounting bracket for maintaining the position of the jacket) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. resistance to kinking in the cable and lack of the need for pulleys or rollers for maintaining the desired curvatures of the cables).
The Examiner notes that Peck does not explicitly teach a pair of actuator assemblies and a pair of brackets but since Williams includes identical assemblies on each side of the stretcher, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to duplicate the teachings of Peck when applying them to Williams as modified by Ageneau.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0176566 – hereinafter Yang) further in view of Reed et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2009/0165208 – hereinafter Reed).
Regarding Claim 7: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 6, Yang further teaches wherein the slider body comprises a coupler (see 417 of Yang being considered a coupler). Williams, Ageneau, and Yang do not disclose or make obvious wherein […] the end of the cable comprises a threaded portion that is threadedly coupled to the coupler.
However, in the same field of endeavor, patient supports or stretchers (see the abstract of Reed), Reed teaches a coupler (brake cable mount of Reed – paragraph [0118] of Reed – “The hand brake lever cable 20 goes to the hand brake cable mount where a threaded end of the covering sheath is attached to the plate”) and the end of the cable comprises a threaded portion (threaded ends as discussed in paragraph [0118] of Reed) that is threadedly coupled to the coupler (paragraph [0118] of Reed “the second two hand brake lever cables are attached to the same hand brake cable mount via threaded ends”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism), and Reed (threaded coupling for a cable attachment) and arrived at a stretcher comprising a detachable means of connection for the cable and locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau and Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because “The threaded ends allow for adjustment of the cable length to account for manufacturing conditions.” (see paragraph [0118] of Reed).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) in view of Peck (US Patent No. 4,559,655) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0176566 – hereinafter Yang) further in view of Sherman et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0146702 – hereinafter Sherman).
Regarding Claim 15: Williams in view of Ageneau, Yang and Peck make obvious the cot of claim 14.
Williams, Ageneau, Yang and Peck do not disclose or make obvious further comprising an accessory mount attached to at least one side rail of the pair of side rails, the accessory mount comprising a dovetail configuration operable to receive an accessory having a corresponding dovetail configuration for mounting the accessory to the cot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stretchers (see the abstract of Sherman), Sherman teaches further comprising an accessory mount (accessory mount 52 of Sherman) attached to at least one side rail of the pair of side rails (see Fig. 1 of Sherman), the accessory mount comprising a dovetail configuration (dovetail shaped receptacle 54 of Sherman – Figs. 1, 4-5) operable to receive an accessory (medical equipment described as being attached to the dovetail shaped receptacle in paragraph [0035] of Sherman) having a corresponding dovetail configuration (dovetail shaped mounting flange of paragraph [0035] of Sherman) for mounting the accessory to the cot (paragraph [0035] of Sherman – “[0035] The lower support 40 further includes an accessory mount 52 secured to the bar 42 at a position slightly closer to the first end 44 than the second end 46 of the bar 42. The accessory mount 52 is formed with a dovetail shaped receptacle 54 that is configured to receive the dovetail shaped mounting flange that is common to many medical equipment items used by the military”).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism), Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and Sherman (directed toward an accessory mount for a stretcher) with a reasonable expectation of success by adding an accessory mount to a rail of the stretcher of Williams as modified by Ageneau, Yang and Peck. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because “The modular accessory bracket can function as an IV pole. However, the primary purpose of the modular accessory bracket is to attach equipment items, a capability that was never designed into the field hospital portable bed/NATO litter IV Pole” (paragraph [0018] of Sherman).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9: In view of the amendments to claim 1, the teachings of Yang were reinterpreted to teach a locking pin having a cross-pin a slider body. However, interpreting the coupling member 41 of Yang to be considered the slider body prevents the Examiner from considering the same element 41 to be a pin holder body as claimed by the current claim 9. This reinterpretation prevents the Examiner from rejecting claim 9 as previously presented in the Non-Final action dated 18 December 2025. The Examiner further notes that based on how the claim language is currently presented the Examiner could alternatively consider one of the housings (222, 221 of Yang – Fig. 3) to be the pin holder body comprising at least one slot (225 of Yang – Fig. 3). This is emphasized to clarify that should the Applicant amend claim 1 to only include a pin holder body and not also include the limitations directed toward the housings as presented in claim 9, the claim could potentially still be rejected by the combination of Williams, Ageneau, and Yang by considering Yang to teach the pin holder as being one of the housings (222, 221 of Yang – Fig. 3) and the slider body as being the coupling member (41 of Yang – Fig. 3).
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 and is therefore indicated as being allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 16: In view of the amendments to claim 11, the teachings of Yang were reinterpreted to teach a locking pin having a cross-pin and a pin holder body comprising at least one slot configured to receive the locking pin. However, reinterpreting the coupling member 41 of Yang to be considered the pin holder body prevents the Examiner from considering the same element 41 to be a slider body as claimed by the current claim 16. This reinterpretation prevents the Examiner from rejecting claim 16 as previously presented in the Non-Final action dated 18 December 2025. The Examiner further notes that based on how the claim language is currently presented the Examiner could alternatively consider one of the housings (222, 221 of Yang – Fig. 3) to be the pin holder body comprising at least one slot (225 of Yang – Fig. 3). This is emphasized to clarify that should the Applicant amend claim 11 to only include a slider body and not also include the limitations directed toward the housings as presented in claim 16, the claim could potentially still be rejected by the combination of Williams, Ageneau, and Yang by considering Yang to teach the pin holder to be one of the housings (222, 221 of Yang – Fig. 3) and the slider body to be the coupling member (41 of Yang – Fig. 3).
Claims 17-18 are dependent on claim 16 and are therefore indicated as being allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, the handle assembly of claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang. Similar to the reasons for allowance of claim 16 above, claim 19 requires the pin holder, slider body, cross-pin and the first and second housings. As discussed above, the Examiner can not reasonably interpret Yang to include all of these elements when claimed together. Further modifying Williams in view of Ageneau, and Yang to teach each of these limitations would not be obvious without impermissible hindsight. For these reasons claim 19 is indicated as being allowable.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19 and is therefore indicated as being allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG Pub. No. 2018/0214326 to Lacasse et al. is cited for teaching flexible control cables for operating a hospital bed.
US Patent No. 4,691,393 to Kuck is cited for teaching a cable for actuating a lock of a stretcher.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA L BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3673