DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 6, line 6, the phrase “the second half comprises opening” should be changed to read - - the second half comprises an opening - -. In claim 6, line 9, the phrase “a an end” should be changed to read - - an end - -. In claim 10, line 2, the phrase “the handle assembly further comprise a guide” should be changed to read - - the handle assembly further comprises a guide - -. In claim 11, line 6, the phrase “configured to be attached the cot” should be changed to read - - configured to be attached to the cot - -. In claim 11, line 14, the phrase “a pair of a locking linkage assemblies” should be changed to read - - a pair of locking linkage assemblies - -. In claim 11, line 26, the word “rales” should be changed to read - - rails - -. In claim 16, line 6, the phrase “the second half comprises opening” should be changed to read - - the second half comprises an opening - -. In claim 16, the phrase “such that it may be received by an individual lock opening” should be changed to read - - such that the locking pin is received by an individual lock opening - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111).
Regarding Claim 1: Williams discloses a handle assembly (handles 160 of Williams) for a cot (stretcher 11 of Williams – Figs. 1-14) comprising: a handle body (handles 160 of Williams) configured to be attached to a cot (see at least Fig. 1 of Williams showing handle 160 attached to a stretcher 11 of Williams); a handle actuator (portion of the handle which is operating the movement of the cables of Williams – not labeled but shown in ) [….] coupled to the handle body (160 of Williams); […] an actuator assembly (comprising cables 164 of Williams – Fig. 1), wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the [handle assembly] (see cable 164 attached to the handle 160 of William – Fig. 1); and a locking linkage assembly (comprising elements 142, 144, 152, 156, 158 of Williams – Fig. 15), comprising a locking pin (protrusion 158 of Williams – Fig. 15), wherein a second end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the locking linkage assembly (via the connection of ends of cables 1644 to eyelet 150 of Williams – Col. 7, lines 59-65), and when the handle actuator is pulled, […] the locking pin [transitions] from an extended state to a retracted state to enable a changing of a length of the cot (Col. 7 line 59-Col. 8, line 2 “When handles 160 at the foot end of the stretcher are squeezed, cables 164 are pulled. The ends of cables 164 opposite the handle 160 pass through frame 13 around guide wheels 166 and are coupled to each eyelet 150 such that when the cables are pulled, each connecting member 148 is pulled through sleeve 142 which in turn disengages engaging member 144 from beveled surface 152. At such time, the force exerted by spring 154 causes assembly 136 to pivot within tube 130 at pivot point 162. Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended. By pulling on handles 160 thereby releasing protrusion 158 from one of the bores 168 or 170, tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132. When the handles 160 are released, the tubes 130 will continue to slide until protrusion 158 engages one of bores 168 or 170 at which time the force exerted by engaging member 144 on beveled surface 152 will force protrusion 158 through one of said bores thereby locking telescoping end portions 27 in either a retracted or extended position. Protrusions 158 extend through bores 168 when the telescoping end portions are in a retracted position, and through bores 170 when the telescoping end portions are in an extended position”).
Williams does not disclose the handle body slidably coupled, a first link arm and a second link arm pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point, wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator; wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm, the first link arm and the second link arm rotate about the pivot point to pull the actuator assembly and transition.
However, relating to handle assemblies which operate a locking/unlocking function via cables (see Col. 6, line 64 – Col. 7, line 3 of Ageneau – “When cable (215) is pulled, part (51) is moved upwards (to resist the force applied by the return means (53)). The blade (56) inside the housing (57) cannot follow the movement applied to the part (51), since the pin (55) fixes it to the push arm (15). The two contact surfaces (58) and (59) cooperate with the two inclined guide planes (510 and 511) formed inside the housing (57)”), Ageneau teaches a handle body (box 32 – Fig. 4 of Ageneau) configured to be attached to a [gripping member] (handle 16 of Ageneau – Fig. 4); handle actuator (control handle 420 of Ageneau – Fig. 4) slidably coupled to the handle body (Col. 6, lines 9-13 of Ageneau – “(22) This control button comprises a box (32) and is designed to fit into a housing (41) provided for it in the handle (16). It is formed of two half-boxes (42 and 43). A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction 421”); a first link arm and a second link arm (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau) pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”), wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”); an actuator assembly (cables 215 – Fig. 3 of Ageneau), wherein a first end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm (Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau - end 49 which holds the end of cable 215); and a locking linkage assembly (51 and 55-59 of Ageneau – Fig. 5) comprising a locking pin (pin 55 of Ageneau – Fig. 5), wherein a second end of the actuator assembly is coupled to the locking linkage assembly (Fig. 5 and Col. 6, lines 54-55 of Ageneau – “The second end (54) of the cable (215) is fixed to the other end of the part (51)”), and when the handle actuator is pulled, the first link arm and the second link arm rotate about the pivot point (Col. 6, lines 9-15 of Ageneau - “This control button comprises a box (32) and is designed to fit into a housing (41) provided for it in the handle (16). It is formed of two half-boxes (42 and 43). A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction (421). The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47).”) to pull the actuator assembly and transition the locking pin from an extended state to a retracted state to enable [unlocking] (Col. 6, lines 20-22 of Ageneau - “Thus, when action is taken on box (32), the rods will be guided by the oblong holes and pull on cables (215) which has the effect of unlocking.”).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher) and Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) with a reasonable expectation of success by replacing the handle assembly of Williams with the handle 420 and box 32. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because Ageneau’s handle provides an anti-unlocking safety device (see Col. 3, lines 41-43 of Ageneau).
Regarding Claim 2: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the handle actuator comprises a slot (oblong holes 49, 410 of Ageneau – Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19) and a portion of the second link arm is positioned within the slot (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau showing the second link arm including pins 411,412 which are received in slots 410 and 49) such that the portion of the second link arm translates within the slot when the handle actuator is pulled and released, thereby causing rotation of the first link arm and the second link arm (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “(23) The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410 formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods.”).
Regarding Claim 3: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator assembly comprises a cable (unlocking cable 215 of Ageneau), and a first end of the cable is coupled to the first link arm (Col. 6, lines 15-16 and Fig. 4 of Ageneau – “One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position”).
Regarding Claim 11: Williams discloses a cot (stretcher 11 of Williams – Figs. 1-14) comprising: a support frame (frame 13 of Williams) comprising a pair of side rails connected together (see at least tubes 130 and 132 of Williams – Fig. 2), each side rail comprising a first rail and a second rail (first and second side rails 130 and 132 of Williams – Fig. 2), wherein a portion of the first rail is slidably disposed within the second rail (Col. 8, lines 3-4 of Williams – “tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132”), and the second rail comprises two or more lock openings (bores 168 and 170 of Williams – Col. 7, line 67-Col. 8, line 2 of Williams “Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended”); and a handle assembly (handles 160 of Williams) for adjusting a length of the cot (Col. 8, lines 2-14 of Williams –“By pulling on handles 160 thereby releasing protrusion 158 from one of the bores 168 or 170, tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132. When the handles 160 are released, the tubes 130 will continue to slide until protrusion 158 engages one of bores 168 or 170 at which time the force exerted by engaging member 144 on beveled surface 152 will force protrusion 158 through one of said bores thereby locking telescoping end portions 27 in either a retracted or extended position. Protrusions 158 extend through bores 168 when the telescoping end portions are in a retracted position, and through bores 170 when the telescoping end portions are in an extended position.”), the handle assembly comprising: a handle body (handles 160 of Williams) configured to be attached the cot (see at least Fig. 1 of Williams showing handle 160 attached to a stretcher 11 of Williams); a handle actuator (portion of the handle which is operating the movement of the cables of Williams – not labeled but shown in ) [….] coupled to the handle body; [….] a pair of actuator assemblies (comprising cables 164 of Williams – Fig. 1), wherein a first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to the [handle assembly] (see cable 164 attached to the handle 160 of William – Fig. 1); […]; and a pair of a locking linkage assemblies (comprising elements 142, 144, 152, 156, 158 of Williams – Fig. 15), each locking linkage assembly positioned on the first rail of an individual side rail of the pair of side rails (Fig. 15 of Williams shows the locking linkage assemblies positioned within tube 130), each locking assembly comprising a locking pin (protrusion 158 of William), wherein: a second end of the an individual actuator assembly is coupled to an individual locking linkage assembly of the pair of locking linkage assemblies (Col. 7, line 49-Col. 8, line 2 of Williams “The ends of cables 164 opposite the handle 160 pass through frame 13 around guide wheels 166 and are coupled to each eyelet 150 such that when the cables are pulled, each connecting member 148 is pulled through sleeve 142 which in turn disengages engaging member 144 from beveled surface 152. At such time, the force exerted by spring 154 causes assembly 136 to pivot within tube 130 at pivot point 162. Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended”), and when the handle actuator is pulled, […] to pull the actuator assemblies and transition the locking pins of the pair of locking linkage assemblies from an extended state to a retracted state to remove the locking pins from individual lock openings of the second rail of the pair of side rales, thereby enabling a changing of length of the cot (Col. 7 line 59-Col. 8, line 2 “When handles 160 at the foot end of the stretcher are squeezed, cables 164 are pulled. The ends of cables 164 opposite the handle 160 pass through frame 13 around guide wheels 166 and are coupled to each eyelet 150 such that when the cables are pulled, each connecting member 148 is pulled through sleeve 142 which in turn disengages engaging member 144 from beveled surface 152. At such time, the force exerted by spring 154 causes assembly 136 to pivot within tube 130 at pivot point 162. Tube 132 includes two bores 168 and 170 through one of which protrusion 158 extends, depending on whether the end portions 27 are retracted or extended. By pulling on handles 160 thereby releasing protrusion 158 from one of the bores 168 or 170, tubes 130 are free to slide within tubes 132. When the handles 160 are released, the tubes 130 will continue to slide until protrusion 158 engages one of bores 168 or 170 at which time the force exerted by engaging member 144 on beveled surface 152 will force protrusion 158 through one of said bores thereby locking telescoping end portions 27 in either a retracted or extended position. Protrusions 158 extend through bores 168 when the telescoping end portions are in a retracted position, and through bores 170 when the telescoping end portions are in an extended position”).
Williams does not disclose a pair of links, each link comprising a first link arm and a second link arm pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point, wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator; wherein a first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm of an individual link of the pair of links the first link arm and the second link arm of the pair of links rotate about the pivot point
Ageneau teaches a handle body configured to be attached the cot; a handle actuator slidably coupled to the handle body; a pair of links (rods 44 and 45 of Ageneau – Fig. 4), each link comprising a first link arm and a second link arm (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau) pivotally attached to a surface of the handle body at a pivot point (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”), wherein the second link arm is slidably coupled to the handle actuator (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410) formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods”); a pair of actuator assemblies (cables 215 – Fig. 3 of Ageneau), wherein a first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to the first link arm of an individual link of the pair of links (Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau - end 49 which holds the end of cable 215); and a pair of a locking linkage assemblies (51 and 55-59 of Ageneau – Fig. 5), […] each locking assembly comprising a locking pin (pin 55 of Ageneau – Fig. 5), wherein: a second end of the an individual actuator assembly is coupled to an individual locking linkage assembly of the pair of locking linkage assemblies (Fig. 5 and Col. 6, lines 54-55 of Ageneau – “The second end (54) of the cable (215) is fixed to the other end of the part (51)”), and when the handle actuator is pulled, the first link arm and the second link arm of the pair of links rotate about the pivot point (Col. 6, lines 9-15 of Ageneau - “This control button comprises a box (32) and is designed to fit into a housing (41) provided for it in the handle (16). It is formed of two half-boxes (42 and 43). A control handle (420) covers the box (32) and can be moved with respect to this box along direction (421). The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47).”) to pull the actuator assemblies and transition the locking pins of the pair of locking linkage assemblies from an extended state to a retracted state to remove the locking pins from individual lock openings of the second rail of the pair of side rales, thereby enabling [unlocking] (Col. 6, lines 20-22 of Ageneau - “Thus, when action is taken on box (32), the rods will be guided by the oblong holes and pull on cables (215) which has the effect of unlocking.”).
Regarding Claim 12: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the cot of claim 11, wherein the handle actuator comprises a pair of slots (oblong holes 49, 410 of Ageneau – Fig. 4 and Col. 6, lines 14-19) and a portion of the second link arm of the pair of links is positioned within the pair of slots slot (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Ageneau showing the second link arm including pins 411,412 which are received in slots 410 and 49) such that the portion of the second link arm of the pair of links translates within the pair of slots when the handle actuator is pulled and released, thereby causing rotation of the pair of links (Col. 6, lines 14-19 of Ageneau – “(23) The mechanism comprises two rods (44 and 45) assembled free to rotate about pins (46 and 47). One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position. The movement of these rods is defined by oblong holes (49, 410 formed in the two half-boxes (42 and 43) and which cooperate with pins (411, 412) formed on the rods.”).
Regarding Claim 13: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the cot of claim 11, wherein the first end of each actuator assembly is coupled to each first link arm (Col. 6, lines 15-16 and Fig. 4 of Ageneau – “One end of these rods (48) holds the end of cable (215) in position”).
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) further in view of Peck (US Patent No. 4,559,655).
Regarding Claim 4: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1. Williams and Ageneau do not further disclose or make obvious wherein the handle body further comprises a mounting bracket having an opening, and the actuator assembly is disposed through the opening of the mounting bracket.
In the same field of endeavor, patient supports (see the abstract of Peck), Peck teaches a mounting bracket (bracket 60 of Peck – Fig. 4) having an opening (see the opening pointed to in the annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck), and the actuator assembly is disposed through the opening of the mounting bracket (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck showing the bracket maintaining the sheath of the cable within an opening).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) and Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and arrived at an extendible stretcher utilizing a Bowden cable attached via a bracket.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. replacing the wire with a sheathed wire and including a mounting bracket for maintaining the position of the jacket) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. resistance to kinking in the cable and lack of the need for pulleys or rollers for maintaining the desired curvatures of the cables).
Regarding Claim 5: Williams in view of Ageneau and Peck make obvious the handle assembly of claim 4, further comprising wherein the actuator assembly comprises a cable (wire 70 of Peck) within a jacket (sheath 72 of Peck).
Regarding Claim 14: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the cot of claim 11. Williams and Ageneau do not further disclose or make obvious wherein the handle body further comprises a pair of mounting brackets having an opening, and the pair of actuator assemblies is disposed through the opening of the pair of mounting brackets.
In the same field of endeavor, patient supports (see the abstract of Peck), Peck teaches [a] mounting brackets (bracket 60 of Peck – Fig. 4) having an opening (see the opening pointed to in the annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck), and the […] actuator assembl[y] is disposed through the opening of the […] mounting bracket[..] (see annotated copy of Fig. 4 of Peck showing the bracket maintaining the sheath of the cable within an opening).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) and Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and arrived at an extendible stretcher utilizing a Bowden cable.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. replacing the wire with a sheathed wire by including a mounting bracket for maintaining the position of the jacket) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. resistance to kinking in the cable and lack of the need for pulleys or rollers for maintaining the desired curvatures of the cables).
The Examiner notes that Peck does not explicitly teach a pair of actuator assemblies and a pair of brackets but since Williams includes identical assemblies on each side of the stretcher, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to duplicate the teachings of Peck when applying them to Williams as modified by Ageneau.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) in view of Peck (US Patent No. 4,559,655) further in view of Sherman et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0146702 – hereinafter Sherman).
Regarding Claim 15: Williams in view of Ageneau and Peck make obvious the cot of claim 14.
Williams, Ageneau and Peck do not disclose or make obvious further comprising an accessory mount attached to at least one side rail of the pair of side rails, the accessory mount comprising a dovetail configuration operable to receive an accessory having a corresponding dovetail configuration for mounting the accessory to the cot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stretchers (see the abstract of Sherman), Sherman teaches further comprising an accessory mount (accessory mount 52 of Sherman) attached to at least one side rail of the pair of side rails (see Fig. 1 of Sherman), the accessory mount comprising a dovetail configuration (dovetail shaped receptacle 54 of Sherman – Figs. 1, 4-5) operable to receive an accessory (medical equipment described as being attached to the dovetail shaped receptacle in paragraph [0035] of Sherman) having a corresponding dovetail configuration (dovetail shaped mounting flange of paragraph [0035] of Sherman) for mounting the accessory to the cot (paragraph [0035] of Sherman – “[0035] The lower support 40 further includes an accessory mount 52 secured to the bar 42 at a position slightly closer to the first end 44 than the second end 46 of the bar 42. The accessory mount 52 is formed with a dovetail shaped receptacle 54 that is configured to receive the dovetail shaped mounting flange that is common to many medical equipment items used by the military”).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Peck (directed toward an actuator assembly comprising a cable with a jacket and bracket with an opening for mounting the cable and jacket) and Sherman (directed toward an accessory mount for a stretcher) with a reasonable expectation of success by adding an accessory mount to a rail of the stretcher of Williams as modified by Ageneau and Peck. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because “The modular accessory bracket can function as an IV pole. However, the primary purpose of the modular accessory bracket is to attach equipment items, a capability that was never designed into the field hospital portable bed/NATO litter IV Pole” (paragraph [0018] of Sherman).
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) further in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0176566 – hereinafter Yang).
Regarding Claim 6: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the handle assembly of claim 1, the actuator assembly comprises a cable (cable 54 of Williams).
Williams and Ageneau do not further teach wherein: the locking linkage assembly comprises a housing configured to be coupled to an end of a first rail of the cot, the housing comprising a first half and a second half defining an interior recess; the second half comprises opening; the locking pin is disposed within the opening of the second half, the locking linkage assembly comprises a housing configured to be coupled to an end of a first rail of the cot, the housing comprising a first half and a second half defining an interior recess; the second half comprises opening; the locking pin is disposed within the opening of the second half; the locking linkage assembly comprises a slider body disposed within the interior recess and coupled to a an end of the cable; and the locking pin is moveably coupled to the slider body such that when the handle actuator is pulled, the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the extended state to the retracted state and when the handle actuator is released the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the retracted state to the extended state.
However, relating to handle assemblies which operate a locking/unlocking function via cables (see the abstract of Yang), Yang teaches an actuator assembly comprises a cable (connecting cable 422 of Yang – Fig. 2); the locking linkage assembly comprises a housing (housing portion 22 of Yang – Fig. 2) configured to be coupled to an end of a first rail of the cot (paragraph [0050] of Yang – “The housing portion 22 of the handle tube 2 is partially disposed in and partially exposed from the tube portion 21”), the housing comprising a first half (second outer housing 222 of Yang – Fig. 11) and a second half (first outer housing 221 of Yang – Fig. 11) defining an interior recess (inner handle space 223 of Yang – Fig. 3); the second half comprises opening (space between guiding parts 229 of Yang – Fig. 5); the locking pin is disposed within the opening of the second half (see Fig. 5 of Yang which shows the pin positioned between guiding parts 229 of Yang), the locking linkage assembly comprises a slider body (coupling member 41 of Yang – Fig. 3) disposed within the interior recess (Fig. 3 of Yang) and coupled to a an end of the cable (paragraph [0054] of Yang – “The connecting cable 422 is a steel cable, one end of which is connected to the rivet 423, and the other end of which extends through an opening 232 (see FIG. 3) in the housing portion 22 and is received in a second engaging groove 417 in the coupling member 41”); and the locking pin (43 of Yang) is moveably coupled to the slider body (paragraph [0052] of Yang – “The slide pin 45 extends in sequence through the elongated guiding hole 225 in one of the first and second outer housings 221, 222, one of the mounting holes 414 in the coupling member 41, the through hole 431 in the engaging member 43, the other one of the mounting holes 414 in the coupling member 41, and the elongated guiding hole 225 in the other one of the first and second outer housings 221, 222 such that the engaging member 43 is slidable coupled to the housing portion 22 and is pivoted to the coupling member 41”) such that when the handle actuator is pulled (see paragraph [0056] of Yang which describes pulling the control element 421 so as to move the connecting cable 422 which operates the movement of the engaging member 43), the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the extended state to the retracted state (paragraph [0052] of Yang -“The first outer housing 221 further includes two guiding parts 229 that are disposed proximate to the extension hole 224 and that respectively abut against opposite sides of the engaging member 43. As a result, when the coupling member 41 is pivoted between the first and second positions relative to the housing portion 22 about the pivot pin 46, the slide pin 45 is brought to move along the elongated guiding holes 225 between the first and second ends 226, 227 such that the engaging member 43 is movable between an engaging position (as shown in FIG. 5) and a disengaging position (as shown in FIG. 6) relative to the housing portion 22 within the confines as defined by the guiding parts 229”) and when the handle actuator is released the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the retracted state to the extended state (paragraph [0055] of Yang – “With reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, due to the biasing action of the resilient member 44 on the coupling member 41, the slide pin 45 is biased toward one of the first and second ends 226, 227 of the elongated guiding hole 225. In this embodiment, the slide pin 45 is biased toward the first end 226 of the elongated guiding hole 225, such that the rivet 423 is biased toward a lower end of the groove 24 (i.e., towards the lower left of FIG. 2) . At this time, the engaging member 43 engages the selected one of the positioning holes 11 so as to arrest movement of the handle tube 2 relative to the frame tube 1 to thereby lock the handle tube 2 at a desired height/position relative to the frame tube 1”).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) and Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism) with a reasonable expectation of success by replacing the locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau, with a locking mechanism as taught by Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because the height adjustment mechanism of Yang “generates less friction between elements during operation and that requires less effort to operate” (paragraph [0008] of Yang).
Regarding Claim 8: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 6, wherein the slider body comprises a longitudinal slot and the locking pin is positioned within the longitudinal slot (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Yang).
Regarding Claim 16: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the handle assembly of claim 11, wherein: each actuator assembly comprises a cable (cable 54 of Williams).
Williams and Ageneau do not further teach wherein: each locking linkage assembly comprises a housing configured to be coupled to an end of a first rail of the cot, the housing comprising a first half and a second half defining an interior recess; the second half comprises opening; the locking pin is disposed within the opening of the second half; each locking linkage assembly comprises a slider body disposed within the interior recess and coupled to an end of the cable; and the locking pin is moveably coupled to the slider body such that when the handle actuator is pulled, the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the extended state to the retracted state such that the locking pin is withdrawn from an individual lock opening, and when the handle actuator is released the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the retracted state to the extended state such that it may be received by an individual lock opening.
However, relating to handle assemblies which operate a locking/unlocking function via cables (see the abstract of Yang), Yang teaches an actuator assembly comprises a cable (connecting cable 422 of Yang – Fig. 2); each locking linkage assembly comprises a housing (housing portion 22 of Yang – Fig. 2) configured to be coupled to an end of a first rail of the cot (paragraph [0050] of Yang – “The housing portion 22 of the handle tube 2 is partially disposed in and partially exposed from the tube portion 21”), the housing comprising a first half (second outer housing 222 of Yang – Fig. 11) and a second half (first outer housing 221 of Yang – Fig. 11) defining an interior recess (inner handle space 223 of Yang – Fig. 3); the second half comprises opening (space between guiding parts 229 of Yang – Fig. 5); the locking pin is disposed within the opening of the second half (see Fig. 5 of Yang which shows the pin positioned between guiding parts 229 of Yang); each locking linkage assembly comprises a slider body (coupling member 41 of Yang – Fig. 3) disposed within the interior recess (Fig. 3 of Yang) and coupled to an end of the cable (paragraph [0054] of Yang – “The connecting cable 422 is a steel cable, one end of which is connected to the rivet 423, and the other end of which extends through an opening 232 (see FIG. 3) in the housing portion 22 and is received in a second engaging groove 417 in the coupling member 41”); and the locking pin (43 of Yang) is moveably coupled to the slider body (paragraph [0052] of Yang – “The slide pin 45 extends in sequence through the elongated guiding hole 225 in one of the first and second outer housings 221, 222, one of the mounting holes 414 in the coupling member 41, the through hole 431 in the engaging member 43, the other one of the mounting holes 414 in the coupling member 41, and the elongated guiding hole 225 in the other one of the first and second outer housings 221, 222 such that the engaging member 43 is slidable coupled to the housing portion 22 and is pivoted to the coupling member 41”) such that when the handle actuator is pulled (see paragraph [0056] of Yang which describes pulling the control element 421 so as to move the connecting cable 422 which operates the movement of the engaging member 43), the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the extended state to the retracted state (paragraph [0052] of Yang -“The first outer housing 221 further includes two guiding parts 229 that are disposed proximate to the extension hole 224 and that respectively abut against opposite sides of the engaging member 43. As a result, when the coupling member 41 is pivoted between the first and second positions relative to the housing portion 22 about the pivot pin 46, the slide pin 45 is brought to move along the elongated guiding holes 225 between the first and second ends 226, 227 such that the engaging member 43 is movable between an engaging position (as shown in FIG. 5) and a disengaging position (as shown in FIG. 6) relative to the housing portion 22 within the confines as defined by the guiding parts 229”) and when the handle actuator is released the locking pin translates within the opening of the second half from the retracted state to the extended state (paragraph [0055] of Yang – “With reference to FIG. 2, FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, due to the biasing action of the resilient member 44 on the coupling member 41, the slide pin 45 is biased toward one of the first and second ends 226, 227 of the elongated guiding hole 225. In this embodiment, the slide pin 45 is biased toward the first end 226 of the elongated guiding hole 225, such that the rivet 423 is biased toward a lower end of the groove 24 (i.e., towards the lower left of FIG. 2) . At this time, the engaging member 43 engages the selected one of the positioning holes 11 so as to arrest movement of the handle tube 2 relative to the frame tube 1 to thereby lock the handle tube 2 at a desired height/position relative to the frame tube 1”).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system) and Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism) with a reasonable expectation of success by replacing the locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau, with a locking mechanism as taught by Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because the height adjustment mechanism of Yang “generates less friction between elements during operation and that requires less effort to operate” (paragraph [0008] of Yang).
Regarding Claim 18: Williams in view of Ageneau make obvious the cot of claim 16, wherein the slider body comprises a longitudinal slot and the locking pin is positioned within the longitudinal slot (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Yang).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US Patent No. 4,579,381) in view of Ageneau (US Patent No. 6,565,111) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2010/0176566 – hereinafter Yang) further in view of Reed et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2009/0165208 – hereinafter Reed).
Regarding Claim 7: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 6, Yang further teaches wherein the slider body comprises a coupler (see 417 of Yang being considered a coupler). Williams, Ageneau, and Yang do not disclose or make obvious wherein […] the end of the cable comprises a threaded portion that is threadedly coupled to the coupler.
However, in the same field of endeavor, patient supports or stretchers (see the abstract of Reed), Reed teaches a coupler (brake cable mount of Reed – paragraph [0118] of Reed – “The hand brake lever cable 20 goes to the hand brake cable mount where a threaded end of the covering sheath is attached to the plate”) and the end of the cable comprises a threaded portion (threaded ends as discussed in paragraph [0118] of Reed) that is threadedly coupled to the coupler (paragraph [0118] of Reed “the second two hand brake lever cables are attached to the same hand brake cable mount via threaded ends”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism), and Reed (threaded coupling for a cable attachment) and arrived at a stretcher comprising a detachable means of connection for the cable and locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau and Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because “The threaded ends allow for adjustment of the cable length to account for manufacturing conditions.” (see paragraph [0118] of Reed).
Regarding Claim 17: Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang make obvious the handle assembly of claim 16, Yang further teaches wherein the slider body comprises a coupler (see 417 of Yang being considered a coupler). Williams, Ageneau, and Yang do not disclose or make obvious wherein […] the end of the cable comprises a threaded portion that is threadedly coupled to the coupler.
However, in the same field of endeavor, patient supports or stretchers (see the abstract of Reed), Reed teaches a coupler (brake cable mount of Reed – paragraph [0118] of Reed – “The hand brake lever cable 20 goes to the hand brake cable mount where a threaded end of the covering sheath is attached to the plate”) and the end of the cable comprises a threaded portion (threaded ends as discussed in paragraph [0118] of Reed) that is threadedly coupled to the coupler (paragraph [0118] of Reed “the second two hand brake lever cables are attached to the same hand brake cable mount via threaded ends”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined Williams (directed toward an extendible stretcher), Ageneau (directed toward a handle mechanism for enabling locking via a cable system), Yang (directed toward a cable actuated pin locking mechanism), and Reed (threaded coupling for a cable attachment) and arrived at a stretcher comprising a detachable means of connection for the cable and locking mechanism of Williams as modified by Ageneau and Yang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because “The threaded ends allow for adjustment of the cable length to account for manufacturing conditions.” (see paragraph [0118] of Reed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the handle assembly of claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang. Williams, Ageneau and Yang do not disclose or make obvious wherein: the second half comprises a pin holder body within the interior recess, the pin holder body comprising at least one slot and configured to receive the locking pin; the pin holder body is positioned within the longitudinal slot of the slider body such that the slider body is operable to translate with respect to the pin holder body; the handle assembly further comprises a cross-pin positioned through the locking pin; the cross-pin is positioned within the at least one slot; the slider body comprises a cam slot further comprising a cam surface defining a locking pin extended region and a locking pin retracted region; the cross-pin is positioned within the cam slot and contacts the cam surface; when the handle actuator is pulled, the slider body translates within the interior recess in a direction toward the handle actuator, which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin extended region to the locking pin retracted region, thereby retracting the locking pin within the opening of the second half of the housing; and when the handle actuator is released, the slider body translates within the interior recess in a direction away from the handle actuator, which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin retracted region to the locking pin extended region, thereby extending the locking pin out of the opening of the second half of the housing.
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 and is therefore indicated as being allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, the handle assembly of claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Ageneau and Yang. Williams, Ageneau and Yang do not disclose or make obvious wherein: the second half comprises a pin holder body within the interior recess, the pin holder body comprising at least one slot and configured to receive the locking pin; the pin holder body is positioned within the longitudinal slot of the slider body such that the slider body is operable to translate with respect to the pin holder body; the handle assembly further comprises a cross-pin positioned through the locking pin; the cross-pin is positioned within the at least one slot; the slider body comprises a cam slot further comprising a cam surface defining a locking pin extended region and a locking pin retracted region; the cross-pin is positioned within the cam slot and contacts the cam surface; when the handle actuator is pulled, the slider body translates within the interior recess in a direction toward the handle actuator, which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin extended region to the locking pin retracted region, thereby retracting the locking pin within the opening of the second half of the housing; and when the handle actuator is released, the slider body translates within the interior recess in a direction away from the handle actuator, which causes the cross-pin to move on the cam surface from the locking pin retracted region to the locking pin extended region, thereby extending the locking pin out of the opening of the second half of the housing.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19 and is therefore indicated as being allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 10,117,794 to Bourgraf et al. is cited for teaching a cot with extensible length.
US Patent No. 6,446,283 to Heimbrock et al. is cited for teaching a bed with rail that is locked in place with a pin and released with a handle and cable system.
/AMANDA L BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3673