Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species A2, B2, and C3 in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The examiner will examine and search claims 1, 3-10, 12, and 14-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea that can be carried out with the human mind, pen/pencil and a piece of paper. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because structural features if any are generic. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the structural features if any are generic and provide well known and/or conventional functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0249850).
Regarding claim 1, Qiao et al. disclose a method and system/device comprising:
obtaining information indicative of an activity level of the patient (see abstract, [0013]-[0015], and [0044] for example);
identifying which one of the plurality of different conductive communication vectors is a preferred conductive communication vector for communicating with the second device, based on the information indicative of the activity level of the patient (see [0053], and [0069]-[0071] for example); and
performing the conductive communication with the second device using the preferred conductive communication vector (see [0053], and [0069]-[0071] for example).
With respect to the device see the 1) conductive communication circuitry (see the circuitry shown in figure 3); switches (see [0058]-[0062] for example) between the conductive communication circuitry and at least three electrodes (see figures 1 and 3) that are part of or communicatively coupled to the device; and a controller (“programmable microcontroller 360,” see [0057]-[0061] and figure 3) that carries out the method steps recited above.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Qiao et al. disclose the claimed invention see [0079].
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Qiao et al. disclose the claimed invention see abstract, [0010]-[0015], [0081]-[0083] for example.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 16-17, Qiao et al. disclose the claimed invention see figure 1.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Qiao et al. disclose the claimed invention see element 125, 126, and 127 of figure 1.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 19-20, Qiao et al. disclose the claimed invention see figure 1.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Qiao et al. disclose the claimed invention see [0014] and [0119].
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792