DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-20 appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 recite a minimum distance but define it as a range. A minimum is seen as the lowest number it can be not range of possibilities. Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera US 20150157392 in view of Hutchins US 20020095146.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, and 13, Rivera teaches an elongate tubular member longitudinally extending from a proximal portion to a distal portion (Fig. 1 tubular member 106); an active path comprising a cutting edge exposed outside of the elongate tubular member (Fig. 1 cutting wire 112 with edge 118); and a return electrode disposed over an outer surface of the elongate tubular member (Fig. 1B and par. [0038] return electrode 120), wherein in an axial cross-section of the bipolar sphincterotome, the return electrode does not intersect a transverse axis of the bipolar sphincterotome, the transverse axis perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the bipolar sphincterotome and to a radial direction defined by the cutting edge (Fig. 2 the axis would be horizontal somewhere around the top of 202).
Rivera does not explicitly teach wherein a minimum distance between the cutting edge and the return electrode is in a range of 0.060 inches to 0.080 inches and wherein an outer diameter of the elongate tubular member is in a range of about 0.050 inches to about 0.100 inches.
Hutchins, in an analogous device, teaches the proximal portion of the shaft is 0.09 inches and the distal part is 0.07 inches in diameter (par. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the shaft of Rivera to have a shaft with a diameter between 0.07 and 0.09 inches, as in Hutchins. A small diameter distal end allows for flexibility and a less traumatic tip (par. [0046]). With a diameter of 0.07 the tube would have a circumference of 0.22 and with a diameter of 0.09 a circumference of 0.28. If the return electrode covered half of the tube which it can as it states in par. [0042] a quarter of that would be 0.06 to 0.07 since the cutting electrode exits 90° from end of the return electrode.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Rivera teaches wherein, over a longitudinal length distally extending from a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and defined by a proximal end of an uninsulated portion of the cutting edge (Fig. 1B 112 coming out of 106), a ratio of a surface area of the return electrode to a surface area of the cutting edge is at least about 3:1 (Fig. 2 112 vs 120).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode longitudinally extends at least one of: proximally past an exit port for the cutting edge or distally past an anchor point for the cutting edge (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode distally extends past the anchor point (Fig. 1 116).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Hutchins teaches wherein the return electrode longitudinally extends over a distal portion of the elongate tubular member that is configured to curl (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode does not intersect the transverse axis over at least half a longitudinal length of the return electrode (Figs. 1B and 2 the return electrode is less than half of the outer circumference of the shaft).
Regarding claim 9, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode does not intersect the transverse axis over an entirety of the longitudinal length (Figs. 1B and 2 the return electrode is less than half of the outer circumference of the shaft).
Regarding claim 10, Rivera teaches wherein the elongate tubular member comprises at least one lumen in the axial cross-section (Fig. 2 202 or 204).
Regarding claim 17, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode circumferentially extends less than 180 degrees about an outer surface of the elongate tubular member (par. [0042]) longitudinally over at least half a longitudinal length of the return electrode (Fig. 1B the length of 120).
Regarding claim 18, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode circumferentially extends less than 180 degrees about the outer surface over the entirety of the longitudinal length (Fig. 1B and par. [0042] the longitudinal length is considered the length of 120).
Regarding claim 19, Rivera teaches wherein the return electrode circumferentially extends more than 180 degrees about an outer surface of the elongate tubular member such that the return electrode intersects a transverse axis of the bipolar sphincterotome in at least one location (par. [0042]).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794