DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on July 10th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a legal phraseology “comprises …” in line 6. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2022/0085914 A1) hereinafter “Yu” in view of Baligh (US 2025/0125904 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20,
Yu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see fig. 15, pg. 12, ¶277 lines 1-5, a coding and modulation apparatus “30”], comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions [see fig. 15, pg. 12, ¶277 lines 1-5, a memory “32” configured to store a computer program]; and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to [see fig. 15, pg. 12, ¶277 lines 1-5, a processor “31” configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to]:
obtain a payload [see fig. 3: Step “301”, pg. 5, ¶112 lines 1-2, obtain K to-be-encoded bits and a modulation scheme]; and
encode the padded compressed payload [see fig. 3: Step “302”, pg. 5, ¶117 lines 1-3, encode the K to-be-encoded bits based on M bit levels of the modulation scheme, to obtain M′ code blocks]; and
output the encoded padded compressed payload [see fig. 3: Step “302”, pg. 6, ¶145 lines 1-4, modulate the M′ code blocks according to a mapping relationship between the M′ code blocks and the M bit levels, to obtain and output a modulated symbol sequence].
Although Yu discloses obtaining a payload, Yu does not explicitly teach “compress the payload using a variable length compression technique to obtain a compressed payload having compressed payload bits of a first length”; and “add padding bits to the compressed payload to obtain a padded compressed payload, wherein the padded compressed payload comprises information bits that include the compressed payload bits and the padding bits”.
However Baligh discloses obtaining a payload [see fig. 6: Step(s) “602”/ “604”, pg. 9, ¶100 lines 1-22, communicating, signaling that indicates information associated with variable length source coding at the first communication (transmitting) device];
compressing the payload using a variable length compression technique to obtain a compressed payload having compressed payload bits of a first length [see fig. 6: Step “606”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, applying source coding to source data to shuffle bits in a source coded and/or channel coded bit stream];
adding padding bits to the compressed payload to obtain a padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “608”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, padding variable length source codewords to fixed length], wherein the padded compressed payload comprises information bits that include the compressed payload bits and the padding bits [see fig. 6: Step “608”, pg. 9, ¶104 lines 1-23, parameters of padding include, for example, a sequence of bits, referred to herein as padding bits or almost frozen bits, by which source codewords are padded]; and
encoding the padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “610”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, a channel encoder applies channel coding to the variable length source coded data]; and
outputting the encoded padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “612”, pg. 9, ¶104 lines 1-13, transmitting by the first communication device to the second communication device, the variable length source coded data to which channel coding has been applied].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “compress the payload using a variable length compression technique to obtain a compressed payload having compressed payload bits of a first length”; and “add padding bits to the compressed payload to obtain a padded compressed payload, wherein the padded compressed payload comprises information bits that include the compressed payload bits and the padding bits” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu to achieve better overall performance through efficient multi-link joint operation, more flexible functionality sharing and faster physical layer link switching between terrestrial networks and non-terrestrial networks [see Baligh, pg. 2, ¶28 lines 23-28].
Regarding Claim 2,
Yu discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Yu does not explicitly teach wherein: “the padded compressed payload has a second length that is longer than the first length”; and “the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to encode the padded compressed payload using a forward error correction (FEC) code associated with the second length”.
However Baligh discloses the padded compressed payload has a second length that is longer than the first length [see pg. 9, ¶104 lines 1-13, the information associated with the variable length source coding includes any one or more of: a number of bits for the variable length source coding (also referenced herein by way of example as N), … and one or more parameters of padding of variable length source codewords to fixed length]; and
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to encode the padded compressed payload using a forward error correction (FEC) code associated with the second length [see pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5, the receiver includes a variable length (VL) coder, an a priori calculator, a forward error correction (FEC) decoder as an example of a channel decoder, and an a priori updater, which are coupled together].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the padded compressed payload has a second length that is longer than the first length”; and “the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to encode the padded compressed payload using a forward error correction (FEC) code associated with the second length” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3,
Yu discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Yu does not explicitly teach “the compressed payload bits have a starting bit and an ending bit; the starting bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded before the ending bit”; “the ending bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded after the starting bit”; and “in order to add the padding bits to the compressed payload, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to one of: add the padding bits to compressed payload before the starting bit of compressed payload bits; or add the padding bits to compressed payload after the ending bit of the compressed payload bits”.
However Baligh discloses wherein:
the compressed payload bits have a starting bit and an ending bit [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, for consecutive bit values that are the same, such as ACK/NAK signaling for bursty errors, involves two step coding for start location and the length of the consecutive same bit values];
the starting bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded before the ending bit [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, two step source coding involves encoding the start location or position, and length, of consecutive NAK values, or encoding the start location or position];
the ending bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded after the starting bit; and
in order to add the padding bits to the compressed payload [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, and length, of consecutive ACK values, to generate codewords that include a first part that encodes or indicates a start location or position and a second part that encodes or indicates a length of consecutive values that are the same], the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
add the padding bits to compressed payload before the starting bit of compressed payload bits [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, encoding start and end locations or positions of a run of consecutive bits of the same value, to generate source codewords that include a first part that encodes or indicates a start location or position and a second part that encodes or indicates an end location or position of consecutive values that are the same].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the compressed payload bits have a starting bit and an ending bit; the starting bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded before the ending bit”; “the ending bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded after the starting bit”; and “in order to add the padding bits to the compressed payload, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to one of: add the padding bits to compressed payload before the starting bit of compressed payload bits; or add the padding bits to compressed payload after the ending bit of the compressed payload bits” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4,
Yu discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Yu does not explicitly teach wherein: “in order to compress the payload using the variable length compression technique to obtain the compressed payload, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to compress the payload to generate: a first part of the compressed payload having a fixed size; and a second part of the compressed payload having a variable size; in order to add the padding bits to the compressed payload, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to add the padding bits to the second part of the compressed payload; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to concatenate the first part of the compressed payload with the second part of the compressed payload to obtain the padded compressed payload”.
However Baligh discloses in order to compress the payload using the variable length compression technique to obtain the compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “606”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, applying source coding to source data to shuffle bits in a source coded and/or channel coded bit stream], the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to compress the payload to generate [see fig. 6: Step “606”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, to shuffle bits in a source coded and/or channel coded bit stream]:
a first part of the compressed payload having a fixed size [see pg. 10, ¶107 lines 1-4, apply a cap on source codeword length, and therefore variable length source coded data is source coded based on a capped maximum length of source codewords]; and
a second part of the compressed payload having a variable size [see pg. 10, ¶108 lines 1-16, variable length source coded data are source coded based on iterations and source codeword groups among which source codewords have been divided];
in order to add the padding bits to the compressed payload, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to add the padding bits to the second part of the compressed payload [see pg. 11, ¶122 lines 1-12, variable length source coded data is padded to fixed length before the channel coding had been applied]; and
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to concatenate the first part of the compressed payload with the second part of the compressed payload to obtain the padded compressed payload [see pg. 11, ¶122 lines 1-12, padding of variable length source coded data to fixed length might not only enable certain types of channel coding to be applied, but also enables the second (receiving) communication device to exploit, in channel decoding, correlations between padding bits with which the source coded data had been padded].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in order to compress the payload using the variable length compression technique to obtain the compressed payload, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to compress the payload to generate: a first part of the compressed payload having a fixed size; and a second part of the compressed payload having a variable size; in order to add the padding bits to the compressed payload, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to add the padding bits to the second part of the compressed payload; and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to concatenate the first part of the compressed payload with the second part of the compressed payload to obtain the padded compressed payload” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Yu and Baligh disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yu further discloses the at least one transceiver configured to transmit the encoded padded compressed payload [see fig. 1, pg. 5, ¶107 lines 1-4; ¶108 lines 1-6, the sending device performs encoding by using the encoder, and transmits an encoded sequence to the receiving device through a channel], wherein the apparatus is configured as a network entity [see fig. 1, pg. 5, ¶107 lines 1-4; ¶108 lines 1-6, the sending device “101” is a network device].
Regarding Claim 7,
Yu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see fig. 16, pg. 12, ¶284 lines 1-5, a hardware structure of a demodulation and decoding apparatus “40”], comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions [see fig. 16, pg. 12, ¶284 lines 1-5, a memory “42” configured to store a computer program]; and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to [see fig. 16, pg. 12, ¶284 lines 1-5, a processor “41” configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to]:
obtain an encoded padded compressed payload [see fig. 4: Step “401”, pg. 7, ¶175 lines 1-2, obtain N modulated symbols corresponding to M′ code blocks]; and
demodulate the encoded padded compressed payload to obtain a first set of channel log likelihood ratios (LLRs) corresponding to bits in the set of information bits of the padded compressed payload [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 8, ¶178 lines 1-3, sequentially demodulate and decode the M′ code blocks based on the N modulated symbols, to obtain decoding results of the M′ code blocks].
Although Yu discloses obtaining an encoded padded compressed payload, Yu does not explicitly teach “the encoded padded compressed payload includes a padded compressed payload”; “the padded compressed payload comprises information bits including compressed payload bits and padding bits”; “decode the encoded padded compressed payload using the set of channel LLRs and a set of prior LLRs to obtain the information bits of the padded compressed payload”; “remove the padding bits from the padded compressed payload to obtain the compressed payload including the compressed payload bits”; and “decompress the compressed payload, including the compressed payload bits, to obtain payload bits”.
However Baligh discloses obtain an encoded padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “612”, pg. 9, ¶104 lines 1-13, transmitting by the first communication device to the second communication device, the variable length source coded data to which channel coding has been applied], wherein:
the encoded padded compressed payload includes a padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step(s) “606”/”608”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, applying source coding to source data to shuffle bits in a source coded and/or channel coded bit stream; and padding variable length source codewords to fixed length]; and
the padded compressed payload comprises information bits including compressed payload bits and padding bits [see fig. 6: Step “608”, pg. 9, ¶104 lines 1-23, parameters of padding include, for example, a sequence of bits, referred to herein as padding bits or almost frozen bits, by which source codewords are padded];
demodulate the encoded padded compressed payload to obtain a first set of channel log likelihood ratios (LLRs) corresponding to bits in the set of information bits of the padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “614”, pg. 11, ¶117 lines 17-23, decode the received data transmission by performing channel decoding];
decode the encoded padded compressed payload using the set of channel LLRs and a set of prior LLRs to obtain the information bits of the padded compressed payload [see fig. 6: Step “616”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, performing source decoding];
remove the padding bits from the padded compressed payload to obtain the compressed payload including the compressed payload bits [see pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-23, removing padding bits that were added to source codewords]; and
decompress the compressed payload [see pg. 11, ¶122 lines 1-12, padding of variable length source coded data to fixed length enables certain types of channel coding to be applied], including the compressed payload bits [see pg. 11, ¶122 lines 1-12, and also enables the second (receiving) communication device to exploit, in channel decoding, correlations between padding bits], to obtain payload bits [see pg. 11, ¶122 lines 1-12, with which the source coded data had been padded].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the encoded padded compressed payload includes a padded compressed payload”; “the padded compressed payload comprises information bits including compressed payload bits and padding bits”; “decode the encoded padded compressed payload using the set of channel LLRs and a set of prior LLRs to obtain the information bits of the padded compressed payload”; “remove the padding bits from the padded compressed payload to obtain the compressed payload including the compressed payload bits”; and “decompress the compressed payload, including the compressed payload bits, to obtain payload bits” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu to achieve better overall performance through efficient multi-link joint operation, more flexible functionality sharing and faster physical layer link switching between terrestrial networks and non-terrestrial networks [see Baligh, pg. 2, ¶28 lines 23-28].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Yu and Baligh discloses the apparatus of claim 7
Yu further discloses: each prior LLR in the set of prior LLRs corresponds to a different respective bit of the set of information bits and is generated based on a priori information indicating a probability of that different respective bit having a particular value [see pg. 2, ¶25 lines 1-4; ¶26 lines 1-5, the sequentially demodulating and decoding the M′ code blocks based on the N modulated symbols, to obtain decoding results of the M′ code blocks includes: performing demodulation processing on the ith code block, where the demodulation processing includes adding 1 to i, and determining the LLR of the ith code block based on decoding results of first (i−1) code blocks and the N modulated symbols; and an initial value of i is 0].
Regarding Claim 9,
Yu discloses the apparatus of claim 7.
Yu does not explicitly teach wherein: “in order to decode the encoded padded compressed payload, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to decode at least a first information bit in the first set of information bits; and in order to decode at least a first information bit in the first set of information bits, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: combine a channel LLR of the set of channel LLRs corresponding to the first information bit with a prior LLR of the set of prior LLRs corresponding to the first information bit to obtain a combined LLR; and decode the first information bit using the combined LLR”.
However Baligh discloses in order to decode the encoded padded compressed payload [see pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-16, … a priori calculator is to determine the probability of each bit in the padded codeword to be 0], the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to decode at least a first information bit in the first set of information bits [see pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-16, … that is used by the FEC decoder to determine the codeword that was transmitted by the transmitter]; and
in order to decode at least a first information bit in the first set of information bits [see pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-16, … For example, in a FEC decoder which uses log-likelihood ratio (LLR) as an example, a priori LLR value is defined by log p0/p1, where p0 and p1 are the probability of any bit position at the source coded stream to be 0 and 1, respectively], the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
combine a channel LLR of the set of channel LLRs corresponding to the first information bit with a prior LLR of the set of prior LLRs corresponding to the first information bit to obtain a combined LLR [see pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-16, … this LLR value is added to the input LLR to utilize the a priori knowledge gained from the source coding]; and
decode the first information bit using the combined LLR [see pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-16, … the soft decision output of the FEC decoder is used to update the probability due to correlation of the almost frozen bits].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in order to decode the encoded padded compressed payload, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to decode at least a first information bit in the first set of information bits; and in order to decode at least a first information bit in the first set of information bits, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: combine a channel LLR of the set of channel LLRs corresponding to the first information bit with a prior LLR of the set of prior LLRs corresponding to the first information bit to obtain a combined LLR; and decode the first information bit using the combined LLR” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu for the same motivation as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 12,
Yu discloses the apparatus of claim 7.
Yu does not explicitly teach “the compressed payload bits have a starting bit and an ending bit; the starting bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded before the ending bit; the ending bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded after the starting bit; and at least one of: the padding bits are added in the compressed payload before the starting bit of compressed payload bits; or the padding bits are added in the compressed payload after the ending bit of the compressed payload bits”.
However Baligh discloses the compressed payload bits have a starting bit and an ending bit [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, for consecutive bit values that are the same, such as ACK/NAK signaling for bursty errors, involves two step coding for start location and the length of the consecutive same bit values];
the starting bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded before the ending bit [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, two step source coding involves encoding the start location or position, and length, of consecutive NAK values, or encoding the start location or position];
the ending bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded after the starting bit [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, and length, of consecutive ACK values, to generate codewords that include a first part that encodes or indicates a start location or position and a second part that encodes or indicates a length of consecutive values that are the same]; and
the padding bits are added in the compressed payload before the starting bit of compressed payload bits [see pg. 7, ¶79 lines 17-30, encoding start and end locations or positions of a run of consecutive bits of the same value, to generate source codewords that include a first part that encodes or indicates a start location or position and a second part that encodes or indicates an end location or position of consecutive values that are the same].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the compressed payload bits have a starting bit and an ending bit; the starting bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded before the ending bit; the ending bit comprises a bit of the compressed payload bits that is encoded after the starting bit; and at least one of: the padding bits are added in the compressed payload before the starting bit of compressed payload bits; or the padding bits are added in the compressed payload after the ending bit of the compressed payload bits” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu for the same motivation as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 13,
Yu discloses the apparatus of claim 7.
Yu does not explicitly teach wherein “the padded compressed payload comprises a first part of the compressed payload having a fixed size and a second part of the compressed payload having a variable size”.
However Baligh discloses the padded compressed payload comprises a first part of the compressed payload having a fixed size [see pg. 10, ¶107 lines 1-4, apply a cap on source codeword length, and therefore variable length source coded data is source coded based on a capped maximum length of source codewords] and a second part of the compressed payload having a variable size [see pg. 10, ¶108 lines 1-16, variable length source coded data are source coded based on iterations and source codeword groups among which source codewords have been divided].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the padded compressed payload comprises a first part of the compressed payload having a fixed size and a second part of the compressed payload having a variable size” as taught by Baligh in the system of Yu for the same motivation as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 19,
The combined system of Yu and Baligh disclose the apparatus of claim 7.
Yu further discloses the at least one transceiver configured to receive the encoded padded compressed payload [see fig. 1, pg. 5, ¶107 lines 1-4; ¶108 lines 1-6, the receiving device decodes the received sequence by using a decoder], wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 1, pg. 5, ¶107 lines 1-4; ¶108 lines 1-6, the receiving device is a terminal device “102”].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 11 and 14-18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Hong et al. (US 2017/0324605 A1); see fig. 9, pg. 6, ¶83-¶87.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469