DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments filed on May 22nd, 2026, have been carefully considered.
Claims 1, 7, and 10 have been amended.
Claim 23 has been added as new.
No claims have been canceled.
Claims 1-23 are currently pending in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,966,329. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claims 1-5, 10-14, 16, and 20 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims of the instant 3application.
Claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claim 17 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 17 of the instant application.
Claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claim 7 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claim 15 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 15 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claim 19 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 19 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claim 18 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 18 of the instant application.
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent 11,966,329 contains every element of claim 9 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 9 of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-16, 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Hahn et al. [US2019/0138220] hereinafter Hahn2 for consistency across the parent application, in view of Hahn et al [US10,268,584] hereinafter Hahn1 for consistency across the parent application, further in view SU [US2019/0303299]. Hahn2 teaches adaptive device quality of service by host memory buffer range. Hahn1 teaches adaptive host memory buffer (HMB) caching using unassisted hinting. Su teaches control unit for data storage.
Regarding claim 1, Hahn2 teaches an apparatus [Hahn2 paragraph 0017, first lines “…a non-volatile memory system is disclosed…”] comprising:
a host system configured to communicate with a memory system, the host system [Hahn2 paragraph 0015, middle lines “…The controller is configured to store and retrieve data from a host memory buffer on a host in communication with the non-volatile memory system…”] further comprising:
host memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, first lines “…the physical memory on the host 212, such as RAM 216 on the host 212…”]; and
an address map cache of the host memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0029, first lines “…The RAM 116 in the NVM system 100, whether outside the controller 102, inside the controller or present both outside and inside the controller 102, may contain a number of items, including a copy of one or more pieces of the logical-to-physical mapping tables for the NVM system…”];
wherein the host memory is accessible to a controller of the memory system [Hanh2 paragraph 0020, first lines “…a flash memory controller is a device that manages data stored on flash memory and communicates with a host, such as a computer or electronic device…”];
wherein the controller is configured to store a first portion of an address map in the memory system and a second portion of the address map in the address map cache of the host memory [Hanh2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…The portion of the RAM 216 allocated for the host memory buffer (HMB) 218 under control of the NVM system 100 may have multiple different regions each containing a different type or types of data than each other region. These regions may include a flash translation layer (FTL) mapping region 222 containing logical-to-physical mapping data for the NVM system 100…” and paragraph 0047, all lines “…Depending on the amount of mapping table information maintained in the FTL mappings region 222 in the HMB 218 and the need to swap in a different portion of the mapping table information into the HMB 218, for example if the NVM system 100 uses the HMB 218 for mapping information storage and the mapping being searched for is not currently in the HMB 218, the mapping information may need to be swapped into the HMB 218 (at 618). When this swapping in of mapping information is needed, the controller 102 will need to make a PCIe access to update the mapping information (e.g. the FTL mappings region 222 of the HMB 218) (at 622)…”].
Hahn2 fails to explicitly teach such that the first portion is in the memory system while the second portion is in the host memory.
However, Hahn1 does teach such that the first portion is in the memory system while the second portion is in the host memory [Figure 3, feature 102 “primary FTL cache (SRAM)” and feature 104, “Secondary FTL cache”].
Hahn2 and Hahn1 are both analogous arts in that they deal with improve address translation in memory systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2’s swapping of portions of addresses from HMB to RAM with Hahn1 teachings that portions of addresses come from the memory system and go to the HMB and vice versa for the benefit of reducing latency by storing address translation information on faster HMB cache [Hahn1 column 2, lines 44-47 “…The adaptive HMB caching module utilizes the hints to determine how to cache FTL data in the HMB and on the storage device to reduce latency in future accesses…”].
Hahn2 and Hahn1 fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to update the first portion in response to one or more write operations. Wherein, in response to the update to the first portion, the second portion of the address map in the host memory is updated according to an active portion of the first portion of the address map in the memory system which was updated in response to the one or more write operations;
However, SU does teach wherein the controller is configured to update the first portion in response to one or more write operations [SU paragraph 0025, first lines “…The host 106 indicates a host block HBlk and a host page HPage (which form a logical address) of the write data, and the data storage device assigns a physical address and stores the write data at the physical address. In addition to the non-volatile storage of the write data, the flash memory 102 further stores logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs which form the logical-to-physical mapping table H2F…”]. Wherein, in response to the update to the first portion, the second portion of the address map in the host memory is updated according to an active portion of the first portion of the address map in the memory system [SU paragraph 0022, middle lines “…A spare block selected to receive write data is named an active block. A spare block selected as a destination for user data collected from a source block due to garbage collection is named a destination block. A physical-to-logical mapping table F2H of an active block or a destination block may be dynamically updated on a volatile memory (e.g. dynamically managed on an SRAM of a control unit/controller of a data storage device), and then being converted (by a reverse conversion) to update a logical-to-physical mapping table H2F. The control unit refreshes the entire logical-to-physical mapping table H2F on the flash memory or only refreshes the updated part of the logical-to-physical mapping table (H2F) on the flash memory. The physical-to-logical mapping table F2H dynamically updated on the volatile memory according to the update of the active/destination block is generally referred to as a small table…” and paragraph 0045-0046 all lines “…the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB. For example, the control unit 104 uploads the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 from the buffer Buf2 to the host-side buffer HMB. In step S316, the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab in the host memory buffer HMB is stored back in the flash memory 102 through the buffers of the control unit 104. For example, the control unit 104 operates the buffers Buf0 and Buf1 in the ping-pong mode to transfer the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 downloaded from the host memory buffer HMB to the flash memory 102 for non-volatile storage (preventing it from being lost due to power loss)…”] which was updated in response to the one or more write operations [SU paragraph 0025, middle lines “…The host 106 indicates a host block HBlk and a host page HPage (which form a logical address) of the write data, and the data storage device assigns a physical address and stores the write data at the physical address. In addition to the non-volatile storage of the write data, the flash memory 102 further stores logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs which form the logical-to-physical mapping table H2F…” and paragraph 0047, middle lines “…a logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 is modified for an update and then the updated version is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB…”];
Hahn2, Hahn1, and SU are both analogous arts in that they deal with improve address translation in memory systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2 and Hanh1 with SU’s teachings of updating the active mappings based on a write operation for the benefit of reducing the number of accesses to the flash memory and thus increasing the life of the flash memory [Su paragraph 0035, last lines “…the updated logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs normally are cached in the host memory buffer HMB instead of being immediately stored back in the flash memory 102. The number of accesses of the flash memory 102 can be reduced. The life of the flash memory 102 is thus effectively extended, solving the lack of conventional skills…”].
Hahn2 teaches wherein the address map defines logical addresses in terms of physical addresses of memory units in the memory system [Hanh2 paragraph 0020, middle lines “…the flash memory controller can convert the logical address received from the host to a physical address in the flash memory…”].
Regarding claim 2, Hanh2 teaches the controller is configured to process requests from the host system to store data in the memory system or retrieve data from the memory system [Hanh2 paragraph 0020, middle lines “…when a host needs to read data from or write data to the flash memory, it will communicate with the flash memory controller…”].
Regarding claim 3, Hahn2 teaches the controller is configured to, in response to an operation that uses a logical address defined in the second portion of the address map, retrieve at least part of the second portion of the address map from the host system [Hanh2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…The portion of the RAM 216 allocated for the host memory buffer (HMB) 218 under control of the NVM system 100 may have multiple different regions each containing a different type or types of data than each other region. These regions may include a flash translation layer (FTL) mapping region 222 containing logical-to-physical mapping data for the NVM system 100…” and paragraph 0047, all lines “…Depending on the amount of mapping table information maintained in the FTL mappings region 222 in the HMB 218 and the need to swap in a different portion of the mapping table information into the HMB 218, for example if the NVM system 100 uses the HMB 218 for mapping information storage and the mapping being searched for is not currently in the HMB 218, the mapping information may need to be swapped into the HMB 218 (at 618). When this swapping in of mapping information is needed, the controller 102 will need to make a PCIe access to update the mapping information (e.g. the FTL mappings region 222 of the HMB 218) (at 622)…”].
Regarding claim 4, Hahn2 teaches the host memory comprises random access memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, first lines “…the physical memory on the host 212, such as RAM 216 on the host 212…”].
Regarding claim 5, Hahn2 fails to explicitly teach wherein a portion of the random access memory of the host system where the second portion of the address map is stored is identified to the memory system during a powering up setup operation.
However, Hahn1 does teach a portion of the random access memory of the host system where the second portion of the address map is stored is identified to the memory system during a powering up setup operation [Hahn1 column 5, lines 46-51 “…at startup to initialize FTL caches 102 and 104 are illustrated. Referring to FIG. 4B, in step 500, on startup of the host system, storage device 200 is initialized. In step 502, the primary and secondary FTL caches are populated with frequently read data, such as data that is frequently read on boot up…”].
Hahn2 and Hahn1 are analogous arts in that they both deal with improving memory access by using the host memory buffer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2’s use of address map swapping with Hahn1’s teachings of initialize address maps at start up for the benefit of reducing future access latency by using adaptive HMB caching of FTL data [Hahn1 column 2, lines 32-36 “…adaptive HMB caching of FTL data using hints derived from accesses to a storage device and from file system metadata and for caching the FTL data in a manner that reduces latency in future FTL access…”].
Regarding claim 6, Hahn2 teaches the power up setup operation comprises a basic input/output system (BIOS) setup [Hahn2 paragraph 0028, first lines “…A read only memory (ROM) 118 stores system boot code….”(The examiner has determined that BIOS is a ROM that stores boot code and thus a ROM storing boot code reads on a BIOS when giving its BRI.)].
Regarding claim 10, Hahn2 teaches a memory system [Hahn2 paragraph 0017, first lines “…a non-volatile memory system is disclosed…”], comprising:
non-volatile media having a quantity of memory units [Hahn2 paragraph 0039, first lines “…The non-volatile flash memory array 142 in the non-volatile memory 104 may be arranged in blocks of memory cells…”];
a volatile memory that stores a first portion of an address map [Hahn2 paragraph 0029, first lines “…The RAM 116 in the NVM system 100, whether outside the controller 102, inside the controller or present both outside and inside the controller 102, may contain a number of items, including a copy of one or more pieces of the logical-to-physical mapping tables for the NVM system…”], the address map defining logical addresses in terms of physical addresses of the memory units in the non-volatile media [Hanh2 paragraph 0020, middle lines “…the flash memory controller can convert the logical address received from the host to a physical address in the flash memory…”];
Hanh2 fails to explicitly teach a cache manager.
However, Hanh1 does teach a cache manager [Hahn1 column 4, lines 3-13 “…An address translation module 207 translates from the address space by the host to the address space used by storage device 200 to access nonvolatile storage 208…address translation module 207 may translate between the logical address space and the physical address space using FTL data stored in HMB 204, storage device SRAM and/or nonvolatile storage 208…”].
Hahn2 and Hahn1 are both analogous arts in that they deal with improve address translation in memory systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2’s swapping of portions of addresses from HMB to RAM with Hahn1 teachings that portions of addresses come from the memory system and go to the HMB and vice versa for the benefit of reducing latency by storing address translation information on faster HMB cache [Hahn1 column 2, lines 44-47 “…The adaptive HMB caching module utilizes the hints to determine how to cache FTL data in the HMB and on the storage device to reduce latency in future accesses…”].
a controller configured to process requests from a host system to store data in the non-volatile media or retrieve data from the non-volatile media [Hanh2 paragraph 0020, middle lines “…when a host needs to read data from or write data to the flash memory, it will communicate with the flash memory controller…”], the host system having a memory connected to the memory system via a communication channel [Hahn2 paragraph 0046, last lines “…if the NVM system 100 used the HMB 218 on the host 212 to store the mapping, then a PCIe access is used to retrieve the mapping information from the HMB 218…”(Where PCIe is the communication channel.)];
wherein the cache manager [Hahn1 column 2, lines 44-47 “…The adaptive HMB caching module utilizes the hints to determine how to cache FTL data in the HMB and on the storage device to reduce latency in future accesses…”] stores a second portion of the address map in the memory of the host system and in response to an operation that uses a logical address defined in the second portion, retrieves the second portion of the address map from the memory of the host system through the communication channel to the volatile memory of the memory system [Hanh1 column 2, lines 48-53 “…an adaptive HMB caching module according to the subject matter described herein may maintain a tiered structure where portions of FTL data are stored in the HMB cache and other portions are stored in primary storage on the storage device and in nonvolatile storage on the storage device …”] and [Hanh2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…The portion of the RAM 216 allocated for the host memory buffer (HMB) 218 under control of the NVM system 100 may have multiple different regions each containing a different type or types of data than each other region. These regions may include a flash translation layer (FTL) mapping region 222 containing logical-to-physical mapping data for the NVM system 100…” and paragraph 0047, all lines “…Depending on the amount of mapping table information maintained in the FTL mappings region 222 in the HMB 218 and the need to swap in a different portion of the mapping table information into the HMB 218, for example if the NVM system 100 uses the HMB 218 for mapping information storage and the mapping being searched for is not currently in the HMB 218, the mapping information may need to be swapped into the HMB 218 (at 618). When this swapping in of mapping information is needed, the controller 102 will need to make a PCIe access to update the mapping information (e.g. the FTL mappings region 222 of the HMB 218) (at 622)…”(The examiner has determined that swapping portions of the page table may change the terminology of what is considered first and second portions. The examiner believes that any teachings of first and second can be swapped and would still render the claims as obvious over the prior art.)].
Hahn2 and Hahn1 fail to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to update the first portion in response to one or more write operations; and wherein, in response to the update to the first portion, wherein the cache manager is configured to update the second portion of the address map in the host memory according to an active portion of the first portion of the address map in the memory system. which was updated in response to the one or more write operations.
However, Su does teach wherein the controller is configured to update the first portion in response to one or more write operations [SU paragraph 0025, first lines “…The host 106 indicates a host block HBlk and a host page HPage (which form a logical address) of the write data, and the data storage device assigns a physical address and stores the write data at the physical address. In addition to the non-volatile storage of the write data, the flash memory 102 further stores logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs which form the logical-to-physical mapping table H2F…”]; and wherein, in response to the update to the first portion, wherein the cache manager is configured to update the second portion of the address map in the host memory according to an active portion of the first portion of the address map in the memory system [SU paragraph 0022, middle lines “…A spare block selected to receive write data is named an active block. A spare block selected as a destination for user data collected from a source block due to garbage collection is named a destination block. A physical-to-logical mapping table F2H of an active block or a destination block may be dynamically updated on a volatile memory (e.g. dynamically managed on an SRAM of a control unit/controller of a data storage device), and then being converted (by a reverse conversion) to update a logical-to-physical mapping table H2F. The control unit refreshes the entire logical-to-physical mapping table H2F on the flash memory or only refreshes the updated part of the logical-to-physical mapping table (H2F) on the flash memory. The physical-to-logical mapping table F2H dynamically updated on the volatile memory according to the update of the active/destination block is generally referred to as a small table…” and paragraph 0045-0046 all lines “…the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB. For example, the control unit 104 uploads the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 from the buffer Buf2 to the host-side buffer HMB. In step S316, the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab in the host memory buffer HMB is stored back in the flash memory 102 through the buffers of the control unit 104. For example, the control unit 104 operates the buffers Buf0 and Buf1 in the ping-pong mode to transfer the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 downloaded from the host memory buffer HMB to the flash memory 102 for non-volatile storage (preventing it from being lost due to power loss)…”], which was updated in response to the one or more write operations [SU paragraph 0025, middle lines “…The host 106 indicates a host block HBlk and a host page HPage (which form a logical address) of the write data, and the data storage device assigns a physical address and stores the write data at the physical address. In addition to the non-volatile storage of the write data, the flash memory 102 further stores logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs which form the logical-to-physical mapping table H2F…” and paragraph 0047, middle lines “…a logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 is modified for an update and then the updated version is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB…”].
Hahn2, Hahn1, and SU are both analogous arts in that they deal with improve address translation in memory systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2 and Hanh1 with SU’s teachings of updating the active mappings based on a write operation for the benefit of reducing the number of accesses to the flash memory and thus increasing the life of the flash memory [Su paragraph 0035, last lines “…the updated logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs normally are cached in the host memory buffer HMB instead of being immediately stored back in the flash memory 102. The number of accesses of the flash memory 102 can be reduced. The life of the flash memory 102 is thus effectively extended, solving the lack of conventional skills…”].
Regarding claim 11, as per claim 10, Hahn2 teaches the non-volatile media includes a flash memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0039, first lines “…The non-volatile flash memory array 142 in the non-volatile memory 104 may be arranged in blocks of memory cells…”].
Regarding claim 12, as per claim 10, Hahn2 teaches the memory system is a solid-state drive [Hahn2 paragraph 0001, first lines “…Storage systems, such as solid state drives (SSDs) including NAND flash memory…”].
Regarding claim 13, as per claim 10, Hahn2 teaches in response to the operation that uses a logical address defined in the second portion, the cache manager stores the first portion of the address map from the volatile memory of the memory system through the communication channel into the memory of the host system [Hahn2 paragraph 0029, first lines “…The RAM 116 in the NVM system 100, whether outside the controller 102, inside the controller or present both outside and inside the controller 102, may contain a number of items, including a copy of one or more pieces of the logical-to-physical mapping tables for the NVM system…” and paragraph 0047, all lines “…Depending on the amount of mapping table information maintained in the FTL mappings region 222 in the HMB 218 and the need to swap in a different portion of the mapping table information into the HMB 218, for example if the NVM system 100 uses the HMB 218 for mapping information storage and the mapping being searched for is not currently in the HMB 218, the mapping information may need to be swapped into the HMB 218 (at 618). When this swapping in of mapping information is needed, the controller 102 will need to make a PCIe access to update the mapping information (e.g. the FTL mappings region 222 of the HMB 218) (at 622)…”].
Regarding claim 14, as per claim 10, Su teaches in response to a request to shut down the memory system, the cache manager stores in the non-volatile media portions of the address map in the memory of the host system and in the volatile memory of the memory system [Su paragraph 0047, last lines “…According to a data flushing procedure starting prior to a power-off event or a periodically update of mapping information, the update of the large table H2F is completed by downloading the logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs from the host memory buffer HMB to the flash memory 102 via the buffers Buf0 and Buf1…”(Where power off reads on shutdown.)].
Regarding claim 15, as per claim 10, SU teaches wherein the first portion of the address map updated during the one or more write operations is accomplished using logical addresses defined in the first portion of the address map [SU paragraph 0022, middle lines “…A spare block selected to receive write data is named an active block. A spare block selected as a destination for user data collected from a source block due to garbage collection is named a destination block. A physical-to-logical mapping table F2H of an active block or a destination block may be dynamically updated on a volatile memory (e.g. dynamically managed on an SRAM of a control unit/controller of a data storage device), and then being converted (by a reverse conversion) to update a logical-to-physical mapping table H2F. The control unit refreshes the entire logical-to-physical mapping table H2F on the flash memory or only refreshes the updated part of the logical-to-physical mapping table (H2F) on the flash memory. The physical-to-logical mapping table F2H dynamically updated on the volatile memory according to the update of the active/destination block is generally referred to as a small table…” and paragraph 0045-0046 all lines “…the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB. For example, the control unit 104 uploads the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 from the buffer Buf2 to the host-side buffer HMB. In step S316, the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab in the host memory buffer HMB is stored back in the flash memory 102 through the buffers of the control unit 104. For example, the control unit 104 operates the buffers Buf0 and Buf1 in the ping-pong mode to transfer the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 downloaded from the host memory buffer HMB to the flash memory 102 for non-volatile storage (preventing it from being lost due to power loss)…”]
Regarding claim 16, as per claim 10, Hahn1 teaches during powering up the memory system, the cache manager copies the first portion of the address map from the non-volatile media to the volatile memory and the second portion of the address map from the non-volatile media to the memory of the host system [Hahn column 5, lines 46-51 “…at startup to initialize FTL caches 102 and 104 are illustrated. Referring to FIG. 4B, in step 500, on startup of the host system, storage device 200 is initialized. In step 502, the primary and secondary FTL caches are populated with frequently read data, such as data that is frequently read on boot up…”].
Regarding claim 18, as per claim 10, Hahn2 teaches the memory of the host system includes message queues for communications between the host system and the memory system [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…such as general data buffers 228 for temporary storage of host data being written to the NVM system 100 (for example data associated with a host write command)…” and paragraph 0046, first lines “…The queue may be designated the submission queue (SQ) in some implementations…” and paragraph 0041, middle lines “…such as general data buffers 228 for temporary storage of…data retrieved from storage locations on the NVM system (for example data accessed based on a host read command)…” and paragraph 0048, middle lines “…then the data read from the non-volatile memory 104 is transferred to the appropriate data buffer in the data buffer region 228 of host RAM 216 and the controller 102 signals completion of the read to the host 212 (at 626, 628)…”].
Regarding claim 19, as per claim 10, Hahn2 teaches the host system and the memory system communicate over the communication channel in accordance with a communication protocol for peripheral component interconnect express bus [Hahn2 paragraph 0047, all lines “…When this swapping in of mapping information is needed, the controller 102 will need to make a PCIe access to update the mapping information (e.g. the FTL mappings region 222 of the HMB 218) (at 622)…”].
Regarding claim 20, as per claim 10, Hahn2 teaches the memory of the host system is accessible to the controller at a speed greater than accessing the non-volatile media [Hahn2 figure 5, feature 508 “Time” HMB 1 µsec”].
Regarding claim 23, as per claim 1, Su teaches the controller is configured to, after the second portion of the address map in the host memory is updated, update a non-active portion of the address map in the memory system [Su paragraph 0036, last lines “…In some exemplary embodiments, the updated ones or all of the logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs buffered in the host memory buffer HMB are stored back in the flash memory 102 according to the assigned priority (e.g. the sub-table H2F_Tab with the highest priority is stored back in the flash memory 102 earlier than the other sub-tables H2F_Tabs)…” and paragraph 0022, middle lines “…The control unit refreshes the entire logical-to-physical mapping table H2F on the flash memory or only refreshes the updated part of the logical-to-physical mapping table (H2F) on the flash memory. The physical-to-logical mapping table F2H dynamically updated on the volatile memory according to the update of the active/destination block is generally referred to as a small table…”(where the “all” and “entire” means the non-active portions.)].
Claim 7-9 and 21-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. [US2019/0138220] hereinafter Hahn2 for consistency across the parent application, in view of Hahn et al. [US20190294350], hereinafter Hahn3, in view of Benisty et al. [US2017/0322897] further in view SU [US2019/0303299] . Hahn2 teaches adaptive device quality of service by host memory buffer range. Hahn3 teaches dynamic host memory allocation to a memory controller. Benisty teaches systems and methods for processing a submission queue. Su teaches control unit for data storage.
Regarding claim 7, Hahn2 teaches an apparatus [Hahn2 paragraph 0017, first lines “…a non-volatile memory system is disclosed…”] comprising:
a host system configured to communicate with a memory system, the host system [Hahn2 paragraph 0015, middle lines “…The controller is configured to store and retrieve data from a host memory buffer on a host in communication with the non-volatile memory system…”] further comprising:
host memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, first lines “…the physical memory on the host 212, such as RAM 216 on the host 212…”];
an address map cache of the host memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0029, first lines “…The RAM 116 in the NVM system 100, whether outside the controller 102, inside the controller or present both outside and inside the controller 102, may contain a number of items, including a copy of one or more pieces of the logical-to-physical mapping tables for the NVM system…”];
Hahn2 fails to explicitly teach an admin submission queue.
However, Hahn3 does teach an admin submission queue [Hahn3 paragraph 0049, all lines “…the host system 140 may use host memory 160 to store admin submission queues 152, admin completion queues 154, command submission queues (SQs) 162 and command completion queues (CQs) 164. The admin submission queues 152 and admin completion queues 154 may be used to control and manage the memory controller 122. In one embodiment, the admin submission queues 152 and admin completion queues 154 are NVMe admin submission queues and admin completion queues…”].
Hahn2 and Hahn3 are analogous arts in that they both deal with improving memory efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2’s swapping of portions of addresses from HMB to RAM with Hahn3’s teachings of admin submission queues for the benefit of increasing memory efficiency [Hahn3 paragraph 0020, last lines “…dynamically allocates host memory to the non-volatile memory controller during runtime make more efficient use of host memory…”].
a submission queue different from the admin submission queue [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…such as general data buffers 228 for temporary storage of host data being written to the NVM system 100 (for example data associated with a host write command)…” and paragraph 0046, first lines “…The queue may be designated the submission queue (SQ) in some implementations…”]; and
Hahn2 and Hahn3 fail to explicitly teach a completion queue.
However, Benisty does teach a completion queue [Benisty paragraph 0031, first lines “…A particular completion queue may correspond to a circular buffer with a fixed slot size used by the controller 102 to post status for completed commands.…”]
Hahn2, Hahn3 and Benisty are analogous arts in that they both deal with memory systems that use queues to improve performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2 and Hahn3 with Benisty’s submission queues being made of circular buffers with fixed sized slots for the benefit of reducing delay due to not having enough space in the completion queue [Benisty paragraph 0019, last lines “…The data storage device may thus reduce (e.g., eliminate) delay associated with being unable to report the completed command due to the corresponding CQ not having space to store the CQ entry…”].
wherein the host memory is accessible to a controller of the memory system [Hanh2 paragraph 0020, first lines “…a flash memory controller is a device that manages data stored on flash memory and communicates with a host, such as a computer or electronic device…”];
wherein the controller is configured to store a portion of an address map in the address map cache of the host memory [Hanh2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…The portion of the RAM 216 allocated for the host memory buffer (HMB) 218 under control of the NVM system 100 may have multiple different regions each containing a different type or types of data than each other region. These regions may include a flash translation layer (FTL) mapping region 222 containing logical-to-physical mapping data for the NVM system 100…” and paragraph 0047, all lines “…Depending on the amount of mapping table information maintained in the FTL mappings region 222 in the HMB 218 and the need to swap in a different portion of the mapping table information into the HMB 218, for example if the NVM system 100 uses the HMB 218 for mapping information storage and the mapping being searched for is not currently in the HMB 218, the mapping information may need to be swapped into the HMB 218 (at 618). When this swapping in of mapping information is needed, the controller 102 will need to make a PCIe access to update the mapping information (e.g. the FTL mappings region 222 of the HMB 218) (at 622)…”];
Hahn2, Hahn3, and Benisty fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to update a portion of the address map in the memory system in response to one or more write operations; wherein, in response to the update to the portion of the address map in the memory system, the controller is configured to update the portion of the address map in the host memory according to an active portion of the address map in the memory system which was updated in response to the one or more write operations;
However, Su does teach wherein the controller is configured to update a portion of the address map in the memory system in response to one or more write operations [SU paragraph 0025, first lines “…The host 106 indicates a host block HBlk and a host page HPage (which form a logical address) of the write data, and the data storage device assigns a physical address and stores the write data at the physical address. In addition to the non-volatile storage of the write data, the flash memory 102 further stores logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs which form the logical-to-physical mapping table H2F…”]; wherein, in response to the update to the portion of the address map in the memory system, the controller is configured to update the portion of the address map in the host memory according to an active portion of the address map in the memory system [SU paragraph 0022, middle lines “…A spare block selected to receive write data is named an active block. A spare block selected as a destination for user data collected from a source block due to garbage collection is named a destination block. A physical-to-logical mapping table F2H of an active block or a destination block may be dynamically updated on a volatile memory (e.g. dynamically managed on an SRAM of a control unit/controller of a data storage device), and then being converted (by a reverse conversion) to update a logical-to-physical mapping table H2F. The control unit refreshes the entire logical-to-physical mapping table H2F on the flash memory or only refreshes the updated part of the logical-to-physical mapping table (H2F) on the flash memory. The physical-to-logical mapping table F2H dynamically updated on the volatile memory according to the update of the active/destination block is generally referred to as a small table…” and paragraph 0045-0046 all lines “…the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB. For example, the control unit 104 uploads the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 from the buffer Buf2 to the host-side buffer HMB. In step S316, the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab in the host memory buffer HMB is stored back in the flash memory 102 through the buffers of the control unit 104. For example, the control unit 104 operates the buffers Buf0 and Buf1 in the ping-pong mode to transfer the modified version of the target logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 downloaded from the host memory buffer HMB to the flash memory 102 for non-volatile storage (preventing it from being lost due to power loss)…”] which was updated in response to the one or more write operations [SU paragraph 0025, middle lines “…The host 106 indicates a host block HBlk and a host page HPage (which form a logical address) of the write data, and the data storage device assigns a physical address and stores the write data at the physical address. In addition to the non-volatile storage of the write data, the flash memory 102 further stores logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs which form the logical-to-physical mapping table H2F…” and paragraph 0047, middle lines “…a logical-to-physical mapping sub-table H2F_Tab#2 is modified for an update and then the updated version is stored back in the host memory buffer HMB…”];
Hahn2, Hahn3, Benisty and SU are analogous arts in that they deal with improving address translation in a memory system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2, Hahn3, and Benisty with SU’s teachings of updating the active mappings based on a write operation for the benefit of reducing the number of accesses to the flash memory and thus increasing the life of the flash memory [Su paragraph 0035, last lines “…the updated logical-to-physical mapping sub-tables H2F_Tabs normally are cached in the host memory buffer HMB instead of being immediately stored back in the flash memory 102. The number of accesses of the flash memory 102 can be reduced. The life of the flash memory 102 is thus effectively extended, solving the lack of conventional skills…”].
Hahn2 teaches wherein the host system is configured to submit requests to the memory system via the submission queue [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…such as general data buffers 228 for temporary storage of host data being written to the NVM system 100 (for example data associated with a host write command)…” and paragraph 0046, first lines “…The queue may be designated the submission queue (SQ) in some implementations…”]; and
wherein the host system is configured to receive responses from the storage system via the completion queue [Hahn2 paragraph 0041, middle lines “…such as general data buffers 228 for temporary storage of…data retrieved from storage locations on the NVM system (for example data accessed based on a host read command)…” and paragraph 0048, middle lines “…then the data read from the non-volatile memory 104 is transferred to the appropriate data buffer in the data buffer region 228 of host RAM 216 and the controller 102 signals completion of the read to the host 212 (at 626, 628)…”].
Regarding claim 8, as per claim 7, Benisty does teach at least one of the submission queue or the completion queue comprises a circular buffer with a fixed slot size [Benisty paragraph 0030, first lines “…A particular submission queue may correspond to a circular buffer with a fixed slot size that the access device 130 uses to submit commands for execution by the controller 102…”]
Regarding claim 9, as per claim 7, Hahn2 teaches the controller is configured to, in response to a request received from the host system via the submission queue [Hahn2 paragraph 0046, first lines “…When the READ command is available for the NVM system 100 to execute…”], retrieve data from the memory system based on the portion of the address map in the address map cache of the host memory [Hahn2 paragraph 0046, most lines “…the controller 102 will first fetch the command from the queue/PRP region 230 in host RAM 216 (at 602). The queue may be designated the submission queue (SQ) in some implementations. The controller 102 will then decode and parse the command (at 604). If the command includes a physical region page (PRP) list, then the controller 102 will fetch the PRP list from the queue/PRP region 230 in host RAM 216 (at 606, 610). If no PRP list is included, then the controller 102 determines the location of the current logical-to-physical mapping information for logical addresses provided in the READ command (at 608). If the mapping information is already in NVM system RAM 116 it is retrieved from there (at 612)…”].
Regarding claim 21, Benisty teaches wherein the submission queue comprises a plurality of submission queues [Benisty figure 2, feature 0-7 and paragraph 0020, last lines “…The one or more host buffers 108 may store one or more submission queues (SQs) 150 and one or more completion queues (CQs) 152. The SQs 150, the CQs 152, or a combination thereof, may correspond to a non-volatile memory express (NVMe) protocol…”].
Regarding claim 22, Hanh3 teaches wherein admin submission queue is configured to receive commands comprising at least one of commands to manage namespaces, commands to attach namespaces, commands to create input/output submission or completion queues, commands to delete input/output submission or completion queues, or commands for firmware management [Hanh3 paragraph 66, all lines “…The host queue manager 246 is also configured to fetch and parse commands from the admin submission queue 152. In one embodiment, one of the commands that is fetched is for the memory controller to provide the host system 140 with an asynchronous event notification. The asynchronous event notification may be used to request a dynamic change in the size of the HMB 170. In one embodiment, the asynchronous event notification command that is fetched from the admin submission queue 152 is compliant with an NVMe Asynchronous Event Request. In one embodiment, the host queue manager 246 post to the admin completion queue 154 in order to inform the host of the asynchronous event. For example, the host queue manager 246 may post a response to the admin completion queue 154 to trigger a request a dynamic change in the size of the HMB 170…”].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. [US2019/0138220] hereinafter Hahn2 for consistency across the parent application, in view of Hahn [US10,268,584] hereinafter Hahn1 for consistency across the parent application, in view SU [US2019/0303299], further in view of Salihun [System address map initialization in x86/x64 architecture part 1: PCI-based systems]. Hahn2 teaches adaptive device quality of service by host memory buffer range. . Hahn teaches adaptive host memory buffer (HMB) caching using unassisted hinting. Su teaches control unit for data storage. Salihun teaches PCI boot processes that map system memory addresses.
Regarding claim 17, as per claim 10, Hahn2, Hahn1, and SU fail to explicitly teach the memory of the host system is identified to the memory system during the powering up via a base address register.
However, Salihun does teach the memory of the host system is identified to the memory system during the powering up via a base address register [Salihun page 2, heading “The boot process at a glance”, first lines “This sect ion explains the boot process in sufficient detail to understand the system address map and other bus protocol-related matters that are explained later in this article”. And page 3, 4th bullet point, “Chipset initialization. In this step the chipset registers are initialized, particularly the chipset base address register (BAR). We’ll have a look deeper into BAR later. For the time being, it’s sufficient that you know BAR controls how the chip registers and memory (if the device has its own memory) are mapped to the system address map”, and page 15, section “PCI bus base address registers initialization”, page 16, 2nd paragraph “Figure 7 shows the BAR format for the BAR that maps to CPU memory space. This article deals with this type of BAR because the focus is on the system address map, particularly the system memory map” and last paragraph of page 17, “The size of the memory range required by a PCI device is calculated from the number of writeable bits in the base address bits part of the BAR”]. The examiner has determined from Salihun’s teachings that it was well known to identify the host system memory accessible by the PCI device during the powering up process using the base address register. The examiner suggests applicant also consider the additional teachings in part 2 of this NPL titled “System address map initialization in x86/x64 architecture part 2: PCI express-based systems”].
Hahn2, Hahn1, SU and Salihun are all analogous arts in that they are related to mapping host memory for use in a memory system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hahn2, Hahn1, and SU, with Salihun’s teachings of accessing a BAR during boot-up to map host memory for the benefit of improving the overall PCI device memory read speed by prefetching the BAR that maps to CPU memory space [Salihun page 16, 2nd to last paragraph, last lines “…this feature is used to improve the overall PCI device memory read speed…”].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ERIC CARDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139