DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 7/2/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-14, filed 7/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. US 20220022282.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 20220022282.
As to claim 1:
Lee et al. discloses:
A UE assistance information (UAI) transmission method, comprising:
transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met;
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(where
“UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer”/”UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station” maps to “transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met”, where “transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “UE” maps to “terminal”, ‘UAI message” maps to “target UAI”, “base station” maps to “network device”, “upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “in a case that a target condition is met”
wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI and
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(where
“the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig})”/” The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating … the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system”/“upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI”, “upon expiration of the idle timer”/”based…on expiration of the second timer” maps to “target condition”, “configure the UE”/”receive from a base station…control signaling indicating…the second timer”/”sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages”/”first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection” maps to “that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI”
that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state and
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
(where
“UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state”, where “UAI” maps to “target UAI”, “requesting” maps to “preference”, “desired state to release a connection” maps to “leaving a connected state”
a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running.
(where
“upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “idle timer”/”timer T346f”/”second timer” maps to “timer”, “requesting a connection release”/”UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection” maps to “the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “expiration”/”not running”/”expiration” maps to “is not running”
Lee et al. teaches a base station configurating a UE to transmit a UAI message for releasing a connection upon expiration of a timer.
As to claim 5:
Lee et al. discloses:
wherein the target
condition further comprises one or more of the following:
…
the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI;
…
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
As to claim 7:
Lee et al. discloses:
a value of a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state, the timer for the preference for leaving a connected state being associated with the preference for leaving a connected state
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
As to claim 8:
Lee et al. discloses:
A UAI reception method, comprising:
receiving, by a network device, target UAI transmitted by a terminal, wherein the target UAI is transmitted in a case that the terminal meets a target condition; and
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(where
“UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer”/”UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station” maps to “transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met”, where “transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “UE” maps to “terminal”, ‘UAI message” maps to “target UAI”, “base station” maps to “network device”, “upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “in a case that a target condition is met”
…releasing the terminal by the network device based on the target UAI;
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
(where
“UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state”, where “UAI” maps to “target UAI”, “requesting” maps to “preference”, “desired state to release a connection” maps to “leaving a connected state”
wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI and that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state and a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running.
(where
“upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “idle timer”/”timer T346f”/”second timer” maps to “timer”, “requesting a connection release”/”UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection” maps to “the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “expiration”/”not running”/”expiration” maps to “is not running”
Lee et al. teaches a base station configurating a UE to transmit a UAI message for releasing a connection upon expiration of a timer.
As to claim 9:
Lee et al. discloses:
a value of a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state, the timer for the preference for leaving a connected state being associated with the preference for leaving a connected state
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
As to claim 10:
Lee et al. discloses:
A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a
program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program,
when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met;
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(where
“UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer”/”UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station” maps to “transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met”, where “transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “UE” maps to “terminal”, ‘UAI message” maps to “target UAI”, “base station” maps to “network device”, “upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “in a case that a target condition is met”
wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI and
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(where
“the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig})”/” The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating … the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system”/“upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI”, “upon expiration of the idle timer”/”based…on expiration of the second timer” maps to “target condition”, “configure the UE”/”receive from a base station…control signaling indicating…the second timer”/”sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages”/”first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection” maps to “that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI”
that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state and
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
(where
“UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state”, where “UAI” maps to “target UAI”, “requesting” maps to “preference”, “desired state to release a connection” maps to “leaving a connected state”
a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running.
(where
“upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “idle timer”/”timer T346f”/”second timer” maps to “timer”, “requesting a connection release”/”UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection” maps to “the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “expiration”/”not running”/”expiration” maps to “is not running”
Lee et al. teaches a base station configurating a UE to transmit a UAI message for releasing a connection upon expiration of a timer.
As to claim 14:
Lee et al. discloses:
wherein the target
condition further comprises one or more of the following:
…
the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI;
…
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
As to claim 16:
Lee et al. discloses:
a value of a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state, the timer for the preference for leaving a connected state being associated with the preference for leaving a connected state
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
As to claim 17:
Lee et al. discloses:
A network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program
stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program, when
executed by the processor, causes the network device to perform the steps of the method
according to
A UAI reception method, comprising:
receiving, by a network device, target UAI transmitted by a terminal, wherein the target UAI is transmitted in a case that the terminal meets a target condition; and
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(where
“UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer”/”UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station” maps to “transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met”, where “transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “UE” maps to “terminal”, ‘UAI message” maps to “target UAI”, “base station” maps to “network device”, “upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “in a case that a target condition is met”
…releasing the terminal by the network device based on the target UAI;
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
(where
“UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state”, where “UAI” maps to “target UAI”, “requesting” maps to “preference”, “desired state to release a connection” maps to “leaving a connected state”
wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI and that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state and a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running.
(where
“upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “idle timer”/”timer T346f”/”second timer” maps to “timer”, “requesting a connection release”/”UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection” maps to “the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “expiration”/”not running”/”expiration” maps to “is not running”
Lee et al. teaches a base station configurating a UE to transmit a UAI message for releasing a connection upon expiration of a timer.
As to claim 18:
Lee et al. discloses:
a value of a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state, the timer for the preference for leaving a connected state being associated with the preference for leaving a connected state
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
As to claim 19:
Lee et al. discloses:
A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory
readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and when the program or instructions
are executed by a processor, the steps of the method according to
A UE assistance information (UAI) transmission method, comprising:
transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met;
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(where
“UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer”/”UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station” maps to “transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met”, where “transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “UE” maps to “terminal”, ‘UAI message” maps to “target UAI”, “base station” maps to “network device”, “upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “in a case that a target condition is met”
wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI and
(“…the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig}), among other examples. In some cases, the release preference prohibit timer may be referred to herein as a “T346f” timer or a third timer.”; Lee et al.; 0071)
(“The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating a first duration for an inactivity timer, initiate the inactivity timer and a second timer based on identifying the period of inactivity, the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system.”; Lee et al.; 0157)
(where
“the base station 105-a may configure the UE 115-a for sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages, using the RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., in addition to the configuration of the release preference prohibit timer) using a setup option (e.g., SetupRelease {ReleasePreferenceConfig})”/” The communications manager 1010 may receive, from a base station, control signaling for communications in a wireless communications system, the control signaling indicating … the second timer having a second duration that is shorter than the first duration for the inactivity timer, and transmit, based at least in part on an expiration of the second timer, a first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection for the communications in the wireless communications system”/“upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI”, “upon expiration of the idle timer”/”based…on expiration of the second timer” maps to “target condition”, “configure the UE”/”receive from a base station…control signaling indicating…the second timer”/”sending release assistance messages, such as UAI messages”/”first uplink message indicating a request to release a connection” maps to “that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI”
that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state and
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
(where
“UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state”, where “UAI” maps to “target UAI”, “requesting” maps to “preference”, “desired state to release a connection” maps to “leaving a connected state”
a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running.
(where
“upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “idle timer”/”timer T346f”/”second timer” maps to “timer”, “requesting a connection release”/”UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection” maps to “the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “expiration”/”not running”/”expiration” maps to “is not running”
Lee et al. teaches a base station configurating a UE to transmit a UAI message for releasing a connection upon expiration of a timer.
As to claim 20:
Lee et al. discloses:
A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory
readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and when the program or instructions
are executed by a processor, the steps of the method according to
A UAI reception method, comprising:
receiving, by a network device, target UAI transmitted by a terminal, wherein the target UAI is transmitted in a case that the terminal meets a target condition; and
(“Accordingly, the UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired or has not been initiated). In other words, the expiration of the idle timer may be an example of a trigger for transmitting one or more uplink messages 220 (e.g., UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure….”; Lee et al.; 0082)
(“The UE may identify one or more triggers for transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer 515-b, a launch state of an application of the UE, or a combination thereof. The UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station and initiate a third timer 515-c, which may be an example of a T346f timer (e.g., configured via RRC signaling) as described herein….”; Lee et al.; 0097)
(where
“UE may transmit a UAI message upon expiration of the idle timer”/”UE may transmit the UAI 510-a to the base station” maps to “transmitting, by a terminal, target UAI to a network device in a case that a target condition is met”, where “transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “UE” maps to “terminal”, ‘UAI message” maps to “target UAI”, “base station” maps to “network device”, “upon expiration of the idle timer” maps to “in a case that a target condition is met”
…releasing the terminal by the network device based on the target UAI;
(“In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to send an uplink message 220 in order to initiate a connection release. For example, the UE 115-a may transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state).”; Lee et al.; 0074)
(where
“UAI messages) as part of a connection release procedure”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state”, where “UAI” maps to “target UAI”, “requesting” maps to “preference”, “desired state to release a connection” maps to “leaving a connected state”
wherein the target condition comprises that the terminal is configured by the network device to provide the target UAI and that the target UAI comprises a preference for leaving a connected state and a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running.
(where
“upon expiration of the idle timer, for example, if a timer T346f is not running (e.g., if the timer T346f has expired”/”transmitting the UAI 510-a, which may be an example of an uplink message requesting a connection release as described herein. For example, the UE may transmit the UAI 510-a in response to an expiration of the second timer”/”transmit a UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection with the base station 105-a (e.g., the UE 115-a may send a UAI message including a releasePreference(preferredRRC-State) field indicating a request to enter an idle state, an inactive state, or an out of connected state” maps to “a timer for the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “idle timer”/”timer T346f”/”second timer” maps to “timer”, “requesting a connection release”/”UAI message including one or more fields indicating a request of a desired state to release a connection” maps to “the preference for leaving a connected state is not running”, where “expiration”/”not running”/”expiration” maps to “is not running”
Lee et al. teaches a base station configurating a UE to transmit a UAI message for releasing a connection upon expiration of a timer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 11, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20220022282 in view of Jung US 20240188174 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 4/2/2026).
As to claim 2:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is periodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a first prohibit timer; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is an aperiodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a second prohibit timer.
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is periodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a first prohibit timer; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is an aperiodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a second prohibit timer.
(“For reference, when the new prohibit timer described above in operation 1f-20 is set, in operation 1f-35, the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 may start or restart a new timer with the new prohibit timer value when the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 transmits the preset RRC message including the Preferred STS-GapConfig to the NW1 1f-04. The Preferred STS-GapConfig may indicate configuration information different from the measurement configuration information (MeasConfig) in the aforementioned embodiment. In detail, one or more Preferred STS-GapConfigs according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be different from MeasGapConfig of the aforementioned embodiment as below. [0198] Preferred STS-GapConfig is configuration information transmitted from the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 to the NW1 1f-04 for a request. [0199] Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0197-0199)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gap capability of Jung et al. into Lee et al.. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the connection release capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jung et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved MUSIM operation (Jung et al., Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … periodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … first prohibit timer., each of the first prohibit timer. being associated with one periodic Gap preference; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … aperiodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … second prohibit timer. each of the second prohibit timer. being associated with one aperiodic Gap preference.
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … periodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … first prohibit timer., each of the first prohibit timer. being associated with one periodic Gap preference; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … aperiodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … second prohibit timer. each of the second prohibit timer. being associated with one aperiodic Gap preference.
(“Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0199)
(where a “new prohibit timer” is associated with step 1f-20 and also step 1f-40 in FIG. 1F, where step 1f-20 could be periodic and step 1f-35 could be one-shot, or vice versa)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gap capability of Jung et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the connection release capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jung et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved MUSIM operation (Jung et al., Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the target UAI comprises multi-card UAI,
and the multi-card UAI comprises one or more of the following:
a periodic Gap preference;
an aperiodic Gap preference; or
a preference for leaving a connected state,
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI comprises multi-card UAI,
and the multi-card UAI comprises one or more of the following:
a periodic Gap preference;
an aperiodic Gap preference; or
a preference for leaving a connected state,
(“Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0199)
(see FIG. 1F)
(“In operation 1g-35, the USIM 1 UE 1g-02 may transmit, to the NW1 1g-04, an RRC message or a NAS message including information indicating, for the USIM 2 UE 1g-03. preference to release an RRC connection mode with respect to the NW1 1g-04. The preset RRC message may indicate UEAssistanceInformation, a new RRC message, or the like, and the preset NAS message may indicate Registration Request, a Service Request message, ULInformationTransfer, or the like. The information indicating preference to release the RRC connection mode may indicate at least one of an indicator indicating preference to leave the RRC connection mode, a preferred RRC state (RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE or preference to RRC_CONNECTED), and paging restriction information. The information indicating preference to release the RRC connection mode may be included and transmitted only in the preset RRC message or may be included and transmitted only in the preset NAS message, or the preset NAS message may be included and transmitted in the preset RRC message.”; Jung; 0232)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gap capability of Jung et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the connection release capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jung et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved MUSIM operation (Jung et al., Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is periodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a first prohibit timer; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is an aperiodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a second prohibit timer.
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is periodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a first prohibit timer; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is an aperiodic Gap preference, the prohibit timer comprises a second prohibit timer.
(“For reference, when the new prohibit timer described above in operation 1f-20 is set, in operation 1f-35, the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 may start or restart a new timer with the new prohibit timer value when the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 transmits the preset RRC message including the Preferred STS-GapConfig to the NW1 1f-04. The Preferred STS-GapConfig may indicate configuration information different from the measurement configuration information (MeasConfig) in the aforementioned embodiment. In detail, one or more Preferred STS-GapConfigs according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be different from MeasGapConfig of the aforementioned embodiment as below. [0198] Preferred STS-GapConfig is configuration information transmitted from the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 to the NW1 1f-04 for a request. [0199] Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0197-0199)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gap capability of Jung et al. into Lee et al.. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the connection release capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jung et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved MUSIM operation (Jung et al., Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … periodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … first prohibit timer., each of the first prohibit timer. being associated with one periodic Gap preference; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … aperiodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … second prohibit timer. each of the second prohibit timer. being associated with one aperiodic Gap preference.
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … periodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … first prohibit timer., each of the first prohibit timer. being associated with one periodic Gap preference; and
in a case that the Gap preference associated with the prohibit timer is one or … aperiodic Gap preferences, the prohibit timer comprises one or … second prohibit timer. each of the second prohibit timer. being associated with one aperiodic Gap preference.
(“Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0199)
(where a “new prohibit timer” is associated with step 1f-20 and also step 1f-40 in FIG. 1F, where step 1f-20 could be periodic and step 1f-35 could be one-shot, or vice versa)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gap capability of Jung et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the connection release capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jung et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved MUSIM operation (Jung et al., Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the target UAI comprises multi-card UAI,
and the multi-card UAI comprises one or more of the following:
a periodic Gap preference;
an aperiodic Gap preference; or
a preference for leaving a connected state,
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI comprises multi-card UAI,
and the multi-card UAI comprises one or more of the following:
a periodic Gap preference;
an aperiodic Gap preference; or
a preference for leaving a connected state,
(“Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0199)
(see FIG. 1F)
(“In operation 1g-35, the USIM 1 UE 1g-02 may transmit, to the NW1 1g-04, an RRC message or a NAS message including information indicating, for the USIM 2 UE 1g-03. preference to release an RRC connection mode with respect to the NW1 1g-04. The preset RRC message may indicate UEAssistanceInformation, a new RRC message, or the like, and the preset NAS message may indicate Registration Request, a Service Request message, ULInformationTransfer, or the like. The information indicating preference to release the RRC connection mode may indicate at least one of an indicator indicating preference to leave the RRC connection mode, a preferred RRC state (RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE or preference to RRC_CONNECTED), and paging restriction information. The information indicating preference to release the RRC connection mode may be included and transmitted only in the preset RRC message or may be included and transmitted only in the preset NAS message, or the preset NAS message may be included and transmitted in the preset RRC message.”; Jung; 0232)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the gap capability of Jung et al. into Lee et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the connection release capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jung et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved MUSIM operation (Jung et al., Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20220022282 in view of Jung US 20240188174 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 4/2/2026).
As to claim 4:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein the prohibit timer comprises a common prohibit timer.
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
(“For reference, when the new prohibit timer described above in operation 1f-20 is set, in operation 1f-35, the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 may start or restart a new timer with the new prohibit timer value when the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 transmits the preset RRC message including the Preferred STS-GapConfig to the NW1 1f-04. The Preferred STS-GapConfig may indicate configuration information different from the measurement configuration information (MeasConfig) in the aforementioned embodiment. In detail, one or more Preferred STS-GapConfigs according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be different from MeasGapConfig of the aforementioned embodiment as below. [0198] Preferred STS-GapConfig is configuration information transmitted from the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 to the NW1 1f-04 for a request. [0199] Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0197-0199)
However, Gurumoorthy et al. further teaches a prohibit timer capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein the prohibit timer comprises a common prohibit timer.
(“The scheduling gap(s) configured by the network may include the following information: the type of SG (e.g., periodic or aperiodic (one-shot)), the SG timing advance, and the SG length. Additionally, when the SG is periodic, the periodicity for the SG is configured. Each of the gap configurations is associated with a unique gap ID, e.g., gap ID 1, gap ID 2, etc. As described above, the SG configuration may also include parameters defining a prohibit timer.”; Gurumoorthy et al.; 0063)
(“With respect to the operation of the prohibit timer, relative to the aforementioned embodiments, the timer may be configured initially by the network as part of any CONNECTED state configuration, e.g., an RRCConnectionReconfiguration. The reconfig message may indicate a timer value, e.g., T_MUSIM_SG_PROHIBIT, having a value in seconds, e.g., 1 s, 2 s, 5 s, 30 s, 60 s, etc., wherein specification may indicate a list of valid timer values and the reconfig message indicates one value from the set.”; Gurumoorthy et al.; 0079)
Where “a prohibit timer” is associated with “periodic or aperiodic (one-shot)”, where the “prohibit timer” is used for “periodic” and “aperiodic” and may be configured with the same value which maps to “common”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the prohibit timer capability of Gurumoorthy et al. into Lee et al.. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the prohibit timer capability as taught by the processing/communications of Gurumoorthy, the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved tune away operations (Gurumoorthy et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
Lee et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein the prohibit timer comprises a common prohibit timer.
However, Jung et al. further teaches a gap capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
(“For reference, when the new prohibit timer described above in operation 1f-20 is set, in operation 1f-35, the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 may start or restart a new timer with the new prohibit timer value when the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 transmits the preset RRC message including the Preferred STS-GapConfig to the NW1 1f-04. The Preferred STS-GapConfig may indicate configuration information different from the measurement configuration information (MeasConfig) in the aforementioned embodiment. In detail, one or more Preferred STS-GapConfigs according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be different from MeasGapConfig of the aforementioned embodiment as below. [0198] Preferred STS-GapConfig is configuration information transmitted from the USIM 1 UE 1f-02 to the NW1 1f-04 for a request. [0199] Preferred STS-GapConfig may include one or more gap patterns according to operations requested in operation 1f-25. For example, a plurality of gap offset values may be included in one long period (mgrp), and switching gap length, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator mapped to each gap offset may be included. Alternatively, switching gap repetition periodicity, gap offset, switching gap duration, switching gap timing advance, and refServCellIndicator may be included for each gap pattern. Alternatively, a particular gap pattern among the plurality of gap patterns may include an indictor indicating that a gap does not periodically occur but occurs in a one-shot manner or may not include a value of mgrp.”; Jung; 0197-0199)
However, Gurumoorthy et al. further teaches a prohibit timer capability which includes:
wherein the target UAI further comprises one or more of a periodic gap preference, or an aperiodic Gap preference, and a prohibit timer is associated with one or more periodic Gap preferences, and/or the prohibit timer is associated with one or more aperiodic Gap preferences;
wherein the prohibit timer comprises a common prohibit timer.
(“The scheduling gap(s) configured by the network may include the following information: the type of SG (e.g., periodic or aperiodic (one-shot)), the SG timing advance, and the SG length. Additionally, when the SG is periodic, the periodicity for the SG is configured. Each of the gap configurations is associated with a unique gap ID, e.g., gap ID 1, gap ID 2, etc. As described above, the SG configuration may also include parameters defining a prohibit timer.”; Gurumoorthy et al.; 0063)
(“With respect to the operation of the prohibit timer, relative to the aforementioned embodiments, the timer may be configured initially by the network as part of any CONNECTED state configuration, e.g., an RRCConnectionReconfiguration. The reconfig message may indicate a timer value, e.g., T_MUSIM_SG_PROHIBIT, having a value in seconds, e.g., 1 s, 2 s, 5 s, 30 s, 60 s, etc., wherein specification may indicate a list of valid timer values and the reconfig message indicates one value from the set.”; Gurumoorthy et al.; 0079)
Where “a prohibit timer” is associated with “periodic or aperiodic (one-shot)”, where the “prohibit timer” is used for “periodic” and “aperiodic” and may be configured with the same value which maps to “common”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the prohibit timer capability of Gurumoorthy et al. into Lee et al.. By modifying the processing/communications of Lee et al. to include the prohibit timer capability as taught by the processing/communications of Gurumoorthy, the benefits of improved efficiency (Lee et al.; 0039) with improved tune away operations (Gurumoorthy et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464