DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0138904, filed on 10/19/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15-17, 19 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuter et al [US 2014/0262036 A1]
In regards to claims 1, Reuter discloses substrate treatment apparatus comprising: a process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116 and 118) configured to process a wafer (Fig. 1, 102) therein;
a load lock chamber (Fig. 1, 124) configured to accommodate the wafer (Fig. 1, 102) and configured to switch (Paragraph [0036-39 & 0049-50]) between an atmospheric state and a vacuum state (Paragraph [0056]); and
Reuter does not specify in details in Fig. 1-2 a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber.
However, Reuter discloses in Fig. 5 a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Reuter in Fig. 5 with Fig. 1-2 to discloses a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber for purpose of provide increased process capability in a substrate processing system without substantially increasing the floor space footprint of the substrate processing system as disclosed by Reuter (Paragraph [0032]).
In regards to claims 2. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a front opening unified pod (FOUP) (Fig. 1-2, 126) configured to accommodate the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102); an equipment front end module (EFEM) (Fig. 1-2,106) provided between the FOUP (Fig. 1-2, 126) and the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), the EFEM configured to transfer the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) to the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) in the atmospheric state; and a transfer chamber (Fig. 1-2, 110) provided between the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116, 118) and the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), the transfer chamber (Fig. 1-2, 110) configured to transfer the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) to the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116, 118) in the vacuum state (see paragraphs [0035] and [0040] and figure 1).
In regards to claims 3. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 1, wherein the load lock radical supply comprises: a radical generator (Fig. 1-2, 249) configured to generate the radicals from a gas including hydrogen; and a radical supply line (Fig. 1-2, 256) configured to supply the radicals from the radical generator to the load lock chamber (see paragraphs [0050], [0057], and [0074] and figure 2).
In regards to claims 4. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 3, wherein the radical generator comprises at least one of a remote plasma generator (Fig. 1-2, 256), a microwave plasma device, or a direct plasma device (see paragraphs [0050], [0057], and [0074] and figure 2).
In regards to claims 7. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 1, wherein the load lock radical supply is further configured to remove a Cl component in a film generated on a surface of the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) based on supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber (see paragraph [0055] and figure 2).
In regards to claims 9. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 2, wherein, when the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) is transferred into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122, 444A, 444B) from the FOUP (Fig. 1-2, 126), the load lock radical supply is configured to supply the radicals into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74]).
In regards to claims 11. Reuter discloses a substrate treatment method comprising:
transferring a wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) from a load lock chamber into a process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116, 118);
depositing a film on the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102);
transferring the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) on which the film is deposited to the load lock chamber (Fig. 1, 124) after depositing the film on the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102); and
Reuter does not specify in details in Fig. 1-2 supplying radicals into the load lock chamber after the wafer is transferred into the load lock chamber.
However, Reuter discloses in Fig. 5 supplying radicals into the load lock chamber after the wafer is transferred into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Reuter in Fig. 5 with Fig. 1-2 to discloses supplying radicals into the load lock chamber after the wafer is transferred into the load lock chamber for purpose of provide increased process capability in a substrate processing system without substantially increasing the floor space footprint of the substrate processing system as disclosed by Reuter (Paragraph [0032]).
In regards to claims 13. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment method of claim 11, wherein the supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber comprises removing a Cl component in the film (see paragraph [0055] and figure 2).
In regards to claims 15. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment method of claim 11, further comprising: transferring a first wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) from a front opening unified pod (FOUP) (Fig. 1-2, 126) into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122); and supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) before transferring the first wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) from the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) into the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116, 118).
In regards to claims 16. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment method of claim 15, wherein the supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) before the transferring the first wafer from the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) into the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116, 118) comprises removing oxygen (Paragraph [0057]) from a surface of the first wafer or oxidizing the surface of the first wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102).
In regards to claims 17. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment method of claim 16, further comprising, based on the transferring the first wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) from the FOUP (Fig. 1-2, 126) into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), and the transferring the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) on which the film is deposited into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122).
In regards to claims 19. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment method of claim 11, wherein the supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) comprises: generating radicals with a gas including hydrogen (Paragraph [0074 & 0057 & 0055]); and supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74]).
In regards to claims 20. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment method of claim 11, wherein the generating the radicals comprises using at least one of a remote plasma generator (Fig. 1-2, 256), a microwave plasma device, or a direct plasma device (see paragraphs [0050], [0057], and [0074] and figure 2).
In regards to claims 21. Reuter discloses a substrate treatment apparatus comprising:
a process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116 and 118) configured to process a wafer (Fig. 1, 102) therein;
a load lock chamber (Fig. 1, 124) configured to accommodate a first wafer (Fig. 1, 102) and a second wafer (Fig. 1, 102), and configured to switch (Paragraph [0036-39 & 0049-50]) between an atmospheric state and a vacuum state (Paragraph [0056]);
a transfer chamber (Fig. 1-2, 110) provided between the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116 and 118) and the load lock chamber (Fig. 1, 124), the transfer chamber (Fig. 1-2, 110) configured to transfer the first wafer (Fig. 1, 102) to the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116 and 118) in the vacuum state (see paragraphs [0035] and [0040] and figure 1); a controller (Fig. 1, 136) configured to: control the transfer chamber (Fig. 1-2, 110) to transfer the first wafer (Fig. 1, 102) from the load lock chamber (Fig. 1, 124) into the process chamber (Fig. 1-2, 114, 116 and 118), control the process chamber(Fig. 1-2, 114, 116 and 118) to process the first wafer (Fig. 1, 102),
a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber; and
Reuter does not specify in details in Fig. 1-2 a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber and control the load lock radical supply to supply radicals into the load lock chamber.
However, Reuter discloses in Fig. 5 a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74]) and control the load lock radical supply to supply radicals into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Reuter in Fig. 5 with Fig. 1-2 to discloses a load lock radical supply configured to supply radicals into the load lock chamber for purpose of provide increased process capability in a substrate processing system without substantially increasing the floor space footprint of the substrate processing system as disclosed by Reuter (Paragraph [0032]).
In regards to claims 22. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 21, further comprising: a front opening unified pod (FOUP) (Fig. 1-2, 126) configured to accommodate the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102); and an equipment front end module (EFEM) (Fig. 1-2,106) provided between the FOUP (Fig. 1-2, 126) and the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), the EFEM (Fig. 1-2,106) configured to transfer the wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) to the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122) in the atmospheric state, wherein the controller (Fig. 1, 136) is further configured to: control the EFEM (Fig. 1-2,106) to transfer the second wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) from the FOUP (Fig. 1-2, 126) into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), control the transfer chamber (Fig. 1-2, 110) to transfer the first wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) from the process chamber into the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), and in a state in which the first wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) and the second wafer (Fig. 1-2, 102) are accommodated in the load lock chamber (Fig. 1-2, 120, 122), control the load lock radical supply to supply radicals into the load lock chamber (Paragraph [0073-74]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuter et al [US 2014/0262036 A1] in view of Kawaguchi et al [US 2009/0014324 A1]
In regards to claims 5. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 3,
Reuter does not specify wherein the load lock radical supply further comprises a radical supply amount control valve provided in the radical supply line and configured to open and close a flow path of the radical supply line.
Kawaguchi discloses wherein the load lock radical supply further comprises a radical supply amount control valve (Fig. 1-2, 212) provided in the radical supply line and configured to open and close a flow path of the radical supply line (Fig. 1-2. 218) (see paragraphs [0031]- [0032] and figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Kawaguchi with Reuter to teaches or discloses wherein the load lock radical supply further comprises a radical supply amount control valve provided in the radical supply line and configured to open and close a flow path of the radical supply line for purpose of providing a processing system having a load lock chamber and at least one processing chamber coupled to a transfer chamber, treating a substrate in the processing chamber with a chemistry comprising halogen, and removing volatile residues from the treated substrate in the load lock chamber as disclosed by Kawaguchi (Paragraph [0010]).
In regards to claims 6. Reuter discloses the substrate treatment apparatus of claim 5, wherein the load lock radical supply further comprises a pump provided on the radical supply line (see paragraphs [0031]- [0032] and figures 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 12, 14, 18 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“ wherein the process chamber comprises: a first gas supply configured to supply a first reactant gas of TiCl.sub.4 into the process chamber; and a second gas supply configured to supply a second reactant gas of NH.sub.3 into the process chamber and deposit a TiN film on the wafer through an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method.” as shown in claim 8.
“ wherein the load lock chamber comprises: a first wafer support configured to accommodate a first wafer before the process in the process chamber; and a second wafer support configured to accommodate a second wafer after the process in the process chamber, wherein in a state in which the first wafer and the second wafer are accommodated on the first wafer support and the second wafer support respectively, the load lock radical supply is configured to supply the radicals into the load lock chamber.” as shown in claim 10.
“wherein the supplying the radicals into the load lock chamber comprises an exhaust process and a cooling process based on supplying a radical gas or a mixed gas of radicals and nitrogen into the load lock chamber.” as shown in claim 12
“ wherein the depositing the film on the wafer comprises depositing a TiN film on the wafer through an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method.” as shown in claim 14.
“wherein the depositing the film on the wafer comprises: supplying a first reactant gas of TiCl.sub.4 into the process chamber; supplying a second reactant gas of NH.sub.3 into the process chamber; and depositing a TiN film on the wafer through an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method.” as shown in claim 18.
“wherein the process chamber comprises: a first gas supply configured to supply a first reactant gas of TiCl.sub.4 into the process chamber; and a second gas supply configured to supply a second reactant gas of NH.sub.3 into the process chamber and deposit a TiN film on the wafer through an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method, and wherein the load lock radical supply comprises: a radical generator configured to generate radicals from a gas including hydrogen; a radical supply line configured to supply the radicals from the radical generator to the load lock chamber; and a radical supply amount control valve provided in the radical supply line and configured to open and close a flow path of the radical supply line.” as shown in claim 23.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845