DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 4/19/2024 and 6/5/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/22/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11, 12, 14-17, and 20 and Ang [US 2019/0320493 A1] on pages 11-13 (and dependent claims 2-6, 9, 11, 12, and 14-17 on page 13) have been considered but are moot based on new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments including at least one defined signal configured for devices of the device group, the at least one defined signal configured to cause a transition from the first low-power operating state to a second low-power operating state.
Applicant's arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) of claim 4 on page 10, and claims 5-9 on pages 10-11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 4: applicant’s arguments on page 10 include “claim 4, when viewed in light of the Specification, is clear regarding the meaning of the "low-power off state." For example, the Specification describes "the wireless communication device may remain, enter and/or transition into a low-power off state (e.g., another sub-state, such as LP-WUS-OFF)" and "[i]n the low-power off state, the wireless communication device can stop, disable and/or cancel monitoring of the DL, including the monitoring for the defined signal (e.g., LP-WUS)" at paragraph [0049]”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Initially, it is noted applicant has merely asserted “low-power off state” is definite based on pointing to a single recitation and has not addressed other portions including para. [15, 46-48, and Fig. 7] pointed to in the rejection. Further, while applicant has pointed to a paragraph describing what the device “can” do in a “low-power off state”, the para. 49 does not specify what “low-power off state” is. Para. 49 provides an example that “low-power off state” is “another sub-state, such as LP-WUS-OFF”, and looking to descriptions of “LP-WUS-OFF”, para. 15 describes “LP-WUS-OFF”, along with “LP-WUS_IDLE, LP-WUS_INACTIVE, LP-WUS-ON” as novel operating sub-states, without definition(s). Accordingly, as indicated on page 6 of the OA of 4/6/2026, whether “low-power off state” describes A) “low-power operating state where power is off” [applicant’s para. 49 of “stop, disable and/or cancel monitoring of the DL”], B) “low-power operating state is off/disabled”, C) “a state where e.g. a receiver is not monitoring such as DRX ON” compared to DRX OFF during a DRX period” [applicant’s para. 49 of “stop, disable and/or cancel monitoring of the DL”], D) in the case of two receivers (e.g. Fig. 3), both receivers are off” [applicant’s para. 49 of “stop, disable and/or cancel monitoring of the DL”], or E) something else, is unclear. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) rejection of claim 4 is maintained.
Regarding claims 5-9: applicant’s arguments on pages 10-11 include “the "first state" and the "second state" as claimed in claims 5-9 are clear in view of the Specification. For example, the Specification describes "[i]n certain embodiments, the first state and the second state may each comprise: the first low-power operating state, a low-power off state (e.g., LP-WUS-OFF sub-state), a combination state that incorporates at least one period of being in the first low-power state (e.g., combination state that combines LP-WUS-ON and LPW-WUS-OFF sub-states), and/or a legacy state" at paragraph [0114]”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant has recited a portion of para. 114 and has merely asserted based on the portion of para. 114, “first state” and “second state” are definite, however, as indicated on page 7 of the OA, “first state” and “second state” does not exclude “low-power state” and “low-power off state”, and as described above, it is unclear what “low-power off state” is. As further support of the examiner’s stance, claim language does not exclude both “first state” and “second state” being the same and thus, the claim limitation “transitioning, by the wireless communication device, between a first state and a second state,” does not provide clarity. As indicated on page 7 of the OA, it is assumed “first state” and “second state” are (somehow) different states. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) rejections of claim 5-9 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6: line 5 includes “that the network intends to wake up the wireless communication device” which should be “” to obviate 35 U.S.C. 112 issues of what is “intended” by the network or how “intention” of the network is determined.
Regarding claim 8: line 5 includes “may have” which should be “”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4: line 3 includes “low-power off state”, however, what the state encompasses is unclear. In a review of the specification, para. 15 discloses “novel low-power operating state and/or sub-states, such as LP-WUS_IDLE, LP-WUS_INACTIVE, LP-WUS-ON and/or LP-WUS-OFF. The novel approach may describe one or more transition operations between the novel low-power operating states and/or other operating states (e.g., legacy states)”, and para. 46-47 discloses “usage/use of a novel defined signal”, and para. 71 discloses “novel defined signal (e.g., LP-WUS signal) can be considered for applications that have power saving and/or low latency requirements”, also, para. 48 describes Fig. 7 with “second low-power operating state” however, Fig. 7 shows “first low-power operating state” and “low-power off state”, does not show any “second low-power operating state”, and appears to show the same “duty cycle” for both “first low-power operating state” and “low-power off state”. Accordingly, whether “low-power off state” describes A) “low-power operating state where power is off”, B) “low-power operating state is off/disabled”, C) “a state where e.g. a receiver is not monitoring such as DRX ON” compared to DRX OFF during a DRX period, D) in the case of two receivers (e.g. Fig. 3), both receivers are off, or E) something else, is unclear. Examination continued on the assumption the “low-power off state” may be a state where some function is disabled (e.g. intermittent monitoring).
Regarding claim 5: lines 25-31 includes “first state” and “second state” which can be identical, however, line 2 recites transitioning between “first state” and “second state”, further, “first state” and “second state” does not exclude “low-power state” and “low-power off state” and thus, is unclear, particularly in light of indefinite issues of claim 4 above. As further support of the examiner’s stance, claim language does not exclude both “first state” and “second state” being the same (lines 30-36: “wherein the first state and the second state each comprises: the first low-power operating state, a low-power off state, a combination state that incorporates at least one period of being in the first low-power operating state, or a legacy state comprising a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, a RRC inactive state, or a RRC connected state”) and thus, transitioning between “first state” and “second state” does not provide clarity. Examination continued on the assumption “first state” and “second state” are (somehow) different states.
Regarding claim 6: the claim, dependent upon claim 5, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 7: the claim, dependent upon claim 5, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 8: the claim, dependent upon claim 5, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 9: the claim, dependent upon claim 5, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He et al. (US 2024/0196328 A1) hereinafter He.
Regarding claim 1, He teaches a method (state model; para. 43-44 and Fig. 4) comprising: entering, by a wireless communication device of a device group, a first low-power operating state to monitor for at least one defined signal configured for devices of the device group (wakeup radio (WUR) signal (WUR-S) for group of devices / UEs; para. 72, WUR [first low-power operating state] entered from other states including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 74] and Fig. 4, UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S [defined signal]; para. [46, 59]), the at least one defined signal configured to cause a transition from the first low-power operating state to a second low-power operating state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to other state including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 56, 74] and Fig. 4); and monitoring, by the wireless communication device, for the at least one defined signal, while in the first low-power operating state (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59]).
Regarding claim 2, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches wherein monitoring for the at least one defined signal comprises monitoring for the at least one defined signal continuously or intermittently over a length of time (WUR-S monitoring duration [continuously] including active time and cycle [intermittently] controlled; para. 46), wherein the at least one defined signal includes a wake-up signal (WUS) (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a signal (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59]) for triggering state transition from the first low-power operating state to a second low-power operating state (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59], WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to other state including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 56, 74] and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches monitoring, by the wireless communication device, for the at least one defined signal, while the wireless communication device is in the first low-power operating state (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or in the second low-power operating state, wherein the second low-power operating state comprises: a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, a RRC inactive state, a RRC connected state (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59], WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to other state including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 56, 74] and Fig. 4, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or a state that incorporates at least one period of being in the first low-power operating state.
Regarding claim 5, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches transitioning, by the wireless communication device, between a first state and a second state (WUR [first state] entered from states [second state] including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 74] and Fig. 4), according to at least one of: an event, an indication in the at least one defined signal (configuration parameters indicate enabling of WUR; para. 50 and Fig. 5, WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to other state including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 56, 74] and Fig. 4, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), another defined signal, a specific type of defined signal, a defined length of time period when no signal is detected, a defined number of detections in which no signal is detected, energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal, an amount of change in energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal, energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal exceeds a pre-defined or configured first threshold, a result of comparing an amount of change in the energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal with a pre-defined or configured second threshold, channel quality measured after a condition between energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal and the pre-defined or configured first threshold is fulfilled, channel quality measured after a condition between an amount of change in energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal and the pre-defined or configured second threshold is fulfilled, channel quality measured after a condition between energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal and the pre-defined or configured first threshold is fulfilled, meets another condition with respect to a pre-defined or configured third threshold, or change of channel quality measured after a condition between an amount of change in energy detected from the at least one defined signal or the another defined signal and the predefined or configured second threshold is fulfilled, meets another condition with respect to a predefined or configured fourth threshold, wherein the first state and the second state each comprises: the first low-power operating state (WUR [first low-power operating state] entered from other states; para. 74 and Fig. 4, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a low-power off state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to state [low-power operating state] including RRC_CONNECTED / RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a combination state that incorporates at least one period of being in the first low-power operating state, or a legacy state comprising a radio resource control (RRC) idle state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to RRC_IDLE; para. 56), a RRC inactive state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to RRC_INACTIVE; para. 56), or a RRC connected state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to state [low-power operating state] including RRC_CONNECTED; para. 56).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 5.
He further teaches transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the first low-power operating state to the legacy state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to state [legacy] including RRC_CONNECTED / RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE; para. 56), in response to receiving the at least one defined signal that includes an indication that a network has a message for the wireless communication device, or that the network intends to wake up the wireless communication device (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition [wake up] from WUR to state including RRC_CONNECTED / RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Regarding claim 7, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 5.
He further teaches transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the first low-power operating state to the low-power off state (UE transitions from WUR to RRC_CONNECT [low-power off state]; para. 61-64), in response to the at least one defined signal not being detected after a first defined duration (UE measures [monitors for] WUR reference signal (WUR-RS); para. 61-64 and Fig. 6, condition for UE transitions from WUR to RRC_CONNECT includes number of successive failures of WUR-RS; para. 61-64, WUR-RS has periodicity [thus, successive failures with periodicity indicates after a defined duration]; para. 50), and transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the low-power off state to the first low-power operating state, after a second defined duration (switching delay between RRC_CONNECTED [low-power off state] to WUR after no earlier than n+k slots [second defined duration]; para. 58 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 5.
He further teaches transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the first low-power operating state to the legacy state (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to state [legacy] including RRC_CONNECTED / RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE; para. 56), in response to: the at least one defined signal (WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to state [legacy] including RRC_CONNECTED / RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or the at least one defined signal that includes an indication that a network may have a message for the wireless communication device, is not detected after a first defined duration, or the wireless communication device detects a cell change.
Regarding claim 9, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 5.
He further teaches transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the first low-power operating state to the second state (WUR [first state] entered from states [second state] including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 74] and Fig. 4), in response to the at least one defined signal indicating to transition specifically to the second state (WUR-S signals UE to enter RRC_CONNECTED state; para. 74).
Regarding claim 11, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches wherein the at least one defined signal is: scheduled on at least one resource specifically configured for the wireless communication device (WUR-S configuration includes WUR-specific discontinuous reception (DRX), repetition number, resource configuration including time/frequency domain [scheduled]; para. 56, WUR-S associated with UE ID [device specific resource]; para. 73, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or for the device group (WUR-S groupcast [device group] using shared sequence [device group resource]; para. 72).
Regarding claim 12, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches detecting, by the wireless communication device, at least one defined signal each corresponding to a respective cell (gNB configures UE to measure serving cell and neighbor cell on corresponding signals [corresponding defined signals]; para. 93) and indicative of at least one of: an existence of the respective cell (gNB configures UE to measure and report serving cell and neighbor cell on corresponding signals [corresponding defined signals, where measured value indicates existence]; para. 93, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a channel quality of the respective cell (gNB configures UE to measure serving cell and neighbor cell on corresponding signals [corresponding defined signals] for signal strength / quality; para. 93).
Regarding claim 14, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 12.
He further teaches wherein the at least one defined signal includes an indication to: activate or deactivate monitoring of subsequent defined signals (WUR-S used to notify UE to receive paging messages and/or system information block (SIB) updates [subsequent defined signals]; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or indicate arrival of a paging message to one or more devices that moved from another cell to the respective cell.
Regarding claim 15, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, whether the wireless communication device is within a signal coverage region for receiving the at least one defined signal (UE transmits WUR release request when out-of-coverage [determining whether within coverage]; para. [44, 65]); and entering or maintaining, by the wireless communication device, the first low-power operating state in response to being within the signal coverage region (UE transmits WUR release request when out-of-coverage [thus, when within coverage, do not request release and maintain first low-power operating state]; para. [44, 65], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Regarding claim 17, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches receiving, by the wireless communication device, at least one of: a configuration for the at least one defined signal (received WUR-S configuration includes WUR-specific discontinuous reception (DRX), repetition number, resource configuration including time/frequency domain [scheduled]; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), an indication for triggering a transition between states (UE in WUR state monitors for WUR-S; para. [46, 59], WUR-S being signal/sequence to trigger transition from WUR to other state including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 56, 74] and Fig. 4), or an indication for indicating to the wireless communication device to enter the first low-power operating state (received configuration parameters indicate enabling of WUR; para. 50 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 17.
He further teaches wherein the configuration or the indication is received via at least one of: a dedicated signaling (UE determines to enable WUR based on UE-specific [dedicated] signaling; para. [117, 125], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a broadcast signaling (UE determines to enable WUR based on SIB [broadcast signaling]; para. [117, 125]), a user plane packet, or a downlink signaling during at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) establishment procedure, RRC resume procedure, RRC reconfiguration procedure, RRC reestablishment procedure, RRC release procedure, early data transmission procedure, or small data transmission procedure.
Regarding claim 19, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 17.
He further teaches wherein the configuration includes at least one of: at least one manner for transitioning between states; a manner for monitoring the at least one defined signal (received WUR-S configuration includes WUR-specific DRX, repetition number, resource configuration including time/frequency domain; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); a criteria for determining a signal coverage region or range for the at least one defined signal; a criteria or threshold for determining infeasibility of performing monitoring for the at least one defined signal, or for triggering a transition to a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or a RRC inactive state; a design or format of the at least one defined signal; or a design or format for at least one defined signal each corresponding to a respective cell.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including a wireless communication device of a device group (wakeup radio (WUR) signal (WUR-S) for group of devices / UEs; para. 72), comprising: at least one processor coupled with memory (processor coupled with memory storing program for execution; para. [27-32, 138] and Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Ang et al. (US 2019/0320493 A1, made of record in the IDS of 5/15/2025) hereinafter Ang.
Regarding claim 4, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches wherein entering the first low-power operating state comprises: transitioning between a low-power off state and the first low-power operating state (WUR [first low-power operating state] entered from states including RRC_INACTIVE / RRC_IDLE / RRC_CONNECTED; para. [43, 56, 74] and Fig. 4), according to a defined configuration (configuration parameters indicate enabling of WUR; para. 50 and Fig. 5, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or a configuration from a wireless communication node (configuration parameters from gNB indicate enabling of WUR; para. 50 and Fig. 5).
While He discloses performing certain operations after a period of time, He does not explicitly disclose wherein transitioning between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state is according to at least one of: a defined duty cycle between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state after a defined time period or according to a defined periodicity, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state according to a defined length of time period when no signal is detected, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state according to a defined number of detections in which no signal is detected, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state if energy detected from the at least one defined signal meets a condition with respect to a pre-defined or configured first threshold, or a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state if an amount of change in energy detected from the at least one defined signal meets a condition with respect to a pre-defined or configured second threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ang teaches wherein transitioning between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state is according to at least one of: a defined duty cycle between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state after a defined time period (after data transmission ceases [in low-power off state], timer starts, after timer expires, UE in low power state; para. 93 and Fig. 7) or according to a defined periodicity, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state according to a defined length of time period when no signal is detected, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state according to a defined number of detections in which no signal is detected, a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state if energy detected from the at least one defined signal meets a condition with respect to a pre-defined or configured first threshold, or a transition between the low-power off state and the first low-power operating state if an amount of change in energy detected from the at least one defined signal meets a condition with respect to a pre-defined or configured second threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ang to the system of He, where He’s powering down a main radio (para. 03-04) along with Ang’s use of secondary receiver with lower power consumption than a primary receiver (para. 82-83) improves user satisfaction by increasing battery life.
Regarding claim 16, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
While He discloses UE transmitting capability information regarding WUR-S, He does not explicitly disclose sending, by the wireless communication device, at least one of: a request for extending time domain resources for the at least one defined signal or increasing a transmission energy for the at least one defined signal, an indication of a time duration for the wireless communication device to transition from the first low-power operating state or a state incorporating the first low-power operating state, to a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or a RRC inactive state, or a capability of the wireless communication device to support the at least one defined signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ang teaches sending, by the wireless communication device, at least one of: a request for extending time domain resources for the at least one defined signal or increasing a transmission energy for the at least one defined signal, an indication of a time duration for the wireless communication device to transition from the first low-power operating state or a state incorporating the first low-power operating state, to a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or a RRC inactive state, or a capability of the wireless communication device to support the at least one defined signal (UE transmits capabilities message to base station regarding time required for primary receiver to be fully active after wake-up signal [supports WUR-S]; para. [95, 105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ang to the system of He, where He’s powering down a main radio (para. 03-04) along with Ang’s use of secondary receiver with lower power consumption than a primary receiver (para. 82-83) improves user satisfaction by increasing battery life.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Hyde et al. (US 2018/0255515 A1, made of record in the IDS of 5/15/2025) hereinafter Hyde.
Regarding claim 10, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches sending, by the wireless communication device, a message to a wireless communication node, prior to transitioning to a low-power off state (UE signals request [prior to] gNB to switch UE to RRC_CONNECTED, gNB responds with WUR mode release [thus prior to transition]; para. 64-65 and Fig. 6); and transitioning, by the wireless communication device, from the first low-power operating state to the low-power off state, after sending the message (UE signals gNB to switch UE to RRC_CONNECTED, gNB responds with WUR mode release and RRC configuration [thus transition after sending message]; para. 64-65 and Fig. 6).
He does not explicitly disclose to stop transmission of the at least one defined signals signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hyde discloses to stop transmission of the at least one defined signals signal (low power wake-up radio (LP-WUR) signal from BS stops after response from UE; para. 76-78).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Hyde to the system of He, where He’s powering down a main radio (para. 03-04) along with Hyde’s simple radio waveform (para. 60) improves user satisfaction by enabling longer use times before requiring recharging battery.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2020/0229095 A1) Shrestha.
Regarding claim 13, He discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
He further teaches detecting, by the wireless communication device, at least one defined signal each corresponding to a respective cell (gNB configures UE to measure serving cell and neighbor cell on corresponding signals [corresponding defined signals]; para. 93).
He does not explicitly disclose performing, by the wireless communication device, clock synchronization using the at least one defined signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shrestha teaches performing, by the wireless communication device, clock synchronization using the at least one defined signal (scenarios where wake up signal is not used for synchronization [thus, scenarios wake up signals used for synchronization]; para. 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Shrestha to the system of He, where He’s powering down a main radio (para. 03-04) along with Shrestha’s low-latency with high power savings (para. 106) improves user satisfaction by enabling longer use times before requiring recharging battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reial et al. (US 2021/0392584 A1) discloses wake-up DCI for wireless devices in connected mode.
Oteri et al. (US 2024/0196469 A1) discloses New Radio wakeup radio.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474