DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 7 and 13-18 remain withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-6, 8-11 and 19 under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by Chao have been fully considered. Regarding claim 1, the arguments are not persuasive. The Applicant acknowledges that Chao teaches a “changeless” AoA to optimize output power of the wind turbine. Chao discusses some difficulties obtaining this concept in section 2.2. The Applicant considers the optimization of the concept and a discussion of difficulties (such as abrupt changes in pitch at the boundary of upwind and downwind zones) as some sort of teaching away from maintaining a first constant AoA for each blade in an upstream zone and a second constant AoA for each blade in a downstream zone. Teaching of a preferred embodiment does not teach away from alternatives. Chao anticipates the limitations of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 10 are not persuasive. To the extent possible, Chao strives for a continuous function. It is not clear how Applicant’s invention distinguishes over Chao. The rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 11 are persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chao et al. (“Optimization of Blade Pitch in H-rotor Vertical Axis Wind Turbines”, Applicant’s submitted IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chao teaches a method of enhancing the performance of a vertical axis turbine (VAT) comprising at least two turbine blades, said method comprising: integrating blade pitch control with the VAT (abstract) to maintain a first constant AoA for each blade in an upstream zone and a second constant AoA for each blade in a downstream zone (asymmetric) (see Fig. 2 and section 2.1-2 detailing the optimal pitch angles on the upstream and downstream side to maintain a “changeless” angle of attack).
Regarding claim 2, Chao teaches the VAT comprises 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 blades (see Fig. 1 showing 3 blades).
Regarding claim 3, Chao teaches the VAT comprises 3 blades.
Regarding claim 4, Chao teaches the VAT comprises a Darrieus-type rotor (Chao teaches an H-Darrieus style).
Regarding claims 5-6, Chao teaches the enhanced performance is manifested as an increase of time-averaged net power coefficient (Cp), wherein the Cp is greater than about 0.45 (see Fig. 6 showing a Cp of 0.460-0.463)
Regarding claim 8, Chao teaches the method of claim 1, comprising an asymmetric control scheme.
Regarding claim 9, Chao teaches the VAT is capable of generating positive torque in both upstream and downstream cycles (see section 4.1).
Regarding claim 10, Chao teaches the blade pitch control comprises a continuous function (see Fig. 2 showing the continuous curve of blade pitch).
Regarding claim 19, Chao teaches a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a computing device to cause the computing device to control a vertical axis turbine (VAT) comprising at least two turbine blades (see Fig. 1) to enhance the performance of the VAT by: integrating blade pitch control with the VAT (abstract) to maintain a first constant AoA for each blade in an upstream zone and a second constant AoA for each blade in a downstream zone (asymmetric) (see Fig. 2 and section 2.1-2 detailing the optimal pitch angles on the upstream and downstream side to maintain a “changeless” angle of attack), wherein the blade pitch is continuously adjusted using actuators (see Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao in view of Hirai (US6379115).
Regarding claim 12, Chao teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the VAT comprises an anemometer.
In an analogous art, Hirai teaches a vertical axis wind turbine. Hirai teaches an anemometer (11) to measure wind speed and direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Chao and change it so that the VAT comprises an anemometer as taught by Hirai to measure wind speed and direction.
Regarding claim 20, Chao teaches the computer program product of claim 19, but fails to explicitly teach the VAT comprises an anemometer.
In an analogous art, Hirai teaches a vertical axis wind turbine. Hirai teaches an anemometer (11) to measure wind speed and direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer program product of Chao and change it so that the VAT comprises an anemometer as taught by Hirai to measure wind speed and direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAMERON A CORDAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745