DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, and Species II, in the reply filed on 2/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 and 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chao et al. (“Optimization of Blade Pitch in H-rotor Vertical Axis Wind Turbines”, Applicant’s submitted IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chao teaches a method of enhancing the performance of a vertical axis turbine (VAT) comprising at least two turbine blades, said method comprising: integrating blade pitch control with the VAT (abstract) to maintain a first constant AoA for each blade in an upstream zone and a second constant AoA for each blade in a downstream zone (asymmetric) (see Fig. 2 and section 2.1-2 detailing the optimal pitch angles on the upstream and downstream side to maintain a “changeless” angle of attack).
Regarding claim 2, Chao teaches the VAT comprises 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 blades (see Fig. 1 showing 3 blades).
Regarding claim 3, Chao teaches the VAT comprises 3 blades.
Regarding claim 4, Chao teaches the VAT comprises a Darrieus-type rotor (Chao teaches an H-Darrieus style).
Regarding claims 5-6, Chao teaches the enhanced performance is manifested as an increase of time-averaged net power coefficient (Cp), wherein the Cp is greater than about 0.45 (see Fig. 6 showing a Cp of 0.460-0.463)
Regarding claim 8, Chao teaches the method of claim 1, comprising an asymmetric control scheme.
Regarding claim 9, Chao teaches the VAT is capable of generating positive torque in both upstream and downstream cycles (see section 4.1).
Regarding claim 10, Chao teaches the blade pitch control comprises a continuous function (see Fig. 2 showing the continuous curve of blade pitch).
Regarding claim 11, Chao teaches the second constant AoA is greater than the first constant AoA (see section 2.1 where Chao details increasing blade lift and reducing blade drag).
Regarding claim 19, Chao teaches a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a computing device to cause the computing device to control a vertical axis turbine (VAT) comprising at least two turbine blades (see Fig. 1) to enhance the performance of the VAT by: integrating blade pitch control with the VAT (abstract) to maintain a first constant AoA for each blade in an upstream zone and a second constant AoA for each blade in a downstream zone (asymmetric) (see Fig. 2 and section 2.1-2 detailing the optimal pitch angles on the upstream and downstream side to maintain a “changeless” angle of attack), wherein the blade pitch is continuously adjusted using actuators (see Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao in view of Hirai (US6379115).
Regarding claim 12, Chao teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the VAT comprises an anemometer.
In an analogous art, Hirai teaches a vertical axis wind turbine. Hirai teaches an anemometer (11) to measure wind speed and direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Chao and change it so that the VAT comprises an anemometer as taught by Hirai to measure wind speed and direction.
Regarding claim 20, Chao teaches the computer program product of claim 19, but fails to explicitly teach the VAT comprises an anemometer.
In an analogous art, Hirai teaches a vertical axis wind turbine. Hirai teaches an anemometer (11) to measure wind speed and direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer program product of Chao and change it so that the VAT comprises an anemometer as taught by Hirai to measure wind speed and direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US references 2025/0084817, 11486354, 2017/0260966, and 2010/0096854 teach wind turbine control methods.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745