DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both Inventions have considerable overlapping subject matter, thus, any field of search for the apparatus claims would necessarily overlap with the field of search for methods. This is not found persuasive because Invention I can be used without lowering the actuator plate to simultaneously move the plurality of support lift pins and the clamp lift pin to place the electronic component in contact with the top surface of the table, thus, the prior art applicable to Invention I would not necessarily be applicable to Invention II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the top of the support lift pins is vertically offset below the top of the clamp lift pin(s)” should be corrected as --wherein [[the]]a top of the support lift pins is vertically offset below [[the]]a top of the at least one clamp lift pin[[(s)]]--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the top of the support lift pins is vertically offset below the top of the clamp lift pin(s)” should be corrected as --wherein [[the]]a top of the support lift pins is vertically offset below [[the]]a top of the at least one clamp lift pin[[(s)]]--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recite further limitations of “the electronic component”. However, the scope of the claim is indefinite. Claim 1 (which upon claim 10 depends) recites “an electronic component” as an intended use in the preamble of the claim. It is not clear whether “an/the electronic component” is a structural part of the instant invention, “a lift and clamp system”. For examination purposes, “the electronic component” is interpreted as an intended use, therefore, the prior art only needs to be “capable” of performing the intended use.
Claim 17 recite further limitations of “the electronic component”. However, the scope of the claim is indefinite. Claim 11 (which upon claim 17 depends) recites “an electronic component” as an intended use in the preamble of the claim. It is not clear whether “an/the electronic component” is a structural part of the instant invention, “a lift and clamp system”. For examination purposes, “the electronic component” is interpreted as an intended use, therefore, the prior art only needs to be “capable” of performing the intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lanee et al (US 2009/0067954 A1).
Regarding claim 1¸ Lanee et al (‘954) discloses a lift and clamp system (figs4A-4C) for an electronic component 410 (para[0030]) comprising:
a table 401,404 (para[0030]) for supporting the electronic component 410 on a top surface thereof;
a single actuator (a vertical base part of an element 408, figs4A-4C, para[0030]);
an actuator plate (a horizontal plate part of the element 408, figs4A-4C, para[0030]) operatively coupled to the single actuator, wherein the actuator plate is vertically moveable (figs4A-4C, para[0030],[0031]); and
a plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b (para[0030]) extending upwardly from the actuator plate, wherein vertical movement of the actuator plate vertically adjusts the vertical position of the electronic component 410 supported on at least one of the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b (para[0030],[0031], figs4A-4C), wherein vertical movement of the actuator plate selectively clamps (fig4C) and unclamps (fig4B) the electronic component 410 to the table 401,404.
Regarding claim 2¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b comprises a plurality of support lift pins 403a,403b (para[0030]) and at least one clamp lift pin 405a,405b (para[0030]), wherein the plurality of support lift pins 403a,403b have a top end for supporting the electronic component 410 (fig4B), wherein each of the at least one clamp lift pin 405a,450b includes a clamp device (a horizontal plate on a top end of the clamp lift pin 405a,405b) secured to a top portion thereof.
Regarding claim 3¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 2, wherein the table 401,404 defines a plurality of holes (figs4A-4C, where the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b pass through) extending completely vertically through the table 401,404, wherein each of the support lift pins 403a,403b is positioned within one of the plurality of holes (figs4A-4C).
Regarding claim 4¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 3, wherein the at least one clamp lift pin 405a,450b is positioned within one of the plurality of holes (figs4A-4C).
Regarding claim 5¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 2, wherein the clamp device is integrally formed with the clamp lift pin 405a,405b (the clamp device is the horizontal plate on the top end of the clamp lift pin 405a,405b).
Regarding claim 6¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 2, wherein the clamp device is operatively coupled to the clamp lift pin 405a,405b (The clamp device is the horizontal plate on the top end of the clamp lift pin 405a,405b and the clamp device and the clamp lift pin operate together).
Regarding claim 8¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b are operatively coupled to the actuator plate (figs4A-4C, via elements 406a,406b).
Regarding claim 9¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 2, wherein a top of the support lift pins 403a,403b is vertically offset below a top of the at least one clamp lift pin 405a,405b to define a vertical gap therebetween (fig4B).
Regarding claim 10¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 1, wherein the electronic component 410 is at least one of a wafer (para[0030]), a substrate, a flat panel, a solar panel, a printed circuit board, a film layer, and a reticle.
Regarding claim 11¸ Lanee et al discloses a lift and clamp system (figs4A-4C) for an electronic component 410 (para[0030]) comprising:
a table 401,404 (para[0030]) for supporting the electronic component 410 on a top surface thereof;
a single actuator (a vertical base part of an element 408, figs4A-4C, para[0030]);
an actuator plate (a horizontal plate part of the element 408, figs4A-4C, para[0030]) operatively coupled to the single actuator, wherein the actuator plate is vertically moveable (figs4A-4C, para[0030],[0031]); and
a plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b (para[0030]) extending upwardly from the actuator plate, wherein vertical movement of the actuator plate vertically adjusts the vertical position of the electronic component 410 supported on at least one of the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b (para[0030],[0031], figs4A-4C), wherein vertical movement of the actuator plate selectively clamps (fig4C) and unclamps (fig4B) the electronic component 410 to the table 401,404, wherein the 401,404 defines a plurality of holes (figs4A-4C, where the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b pass through) extending completely vertically through the table 401,404, wherein each of the support lift pins 403a,403b is positioned within one of the plurality of holes (figs4A-4C), wherein the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b,405a,405b comprises a plurality of support lift pins 403a,403b (para[0030]) and at least one clamp lift pin 405a,405b (para[0030]), wherein the plurality of support lift pins 403a,403b have a top end for supporting the electronic component 410 (fig4B), wherein each of the at least one clamp lift pin 405a,450b includes a clamp device (a horizontal plate on a top end of the clamp lift pin 405a,405b) secured to a top portion thereof.
Regarding claim 12¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 11, wherein the clamp device is integrally formed with the clamp lift pin 405a,405b (the clamp device is the horizontal plate on the top end of the clamp lift pin 405a,405b).
Regarding claim 13¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 11, wherein the clamp device is operatively coupled to the clamp lift pin 405a,405b (The clamp device is the horizontal plate on the top end of the clamp lift pin 405a,405b and the clamp device and the clamp lift pin operate together).
Regarding claim 15¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of lift pins 403a,403b are operatively coupled to the actuator plate (figs4A-4C, via elements 406a,406b).
Regarding claim 16¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 11, wherein a top of the support lift pins 403a,403b is vertically offset below a top of the at least one clamp lift pin 405a,405b to define a vertical gap therebetween (fig4B).
Regarding claim 17¸ Lanee et al discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 11, wherein the electronic component 410 is at least one of a wafer (para[0030]), a substrate, a flat panel, a solar panel, a printed circuit board, a film layer, and a reticle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanee et al (US 2009/0067954 A1) in view of Shang et al (US 7,160,392 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Lanee et al (‘954) discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 2, however, does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of lift pins are integrally formed with the actuator plate. It has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the separate structures would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04 V. B.). Also, Shang et al (‘392) teaches that it is both known in the art to either have a plurality of lift pins 150,152 being separated from an actuator plate 154 (fig1) or have a plurality of lift pins 150,152 being integrated to an actuator plate 15 (fig3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lanee et al to have the plurality of lift pins integral to the actuator plate, as taught by Shang et al, for the purpose of simultaneously moving the plurality of pins and the actuator plate.
Regarding claim 14, Lanee et al (‘954) discloses the lift and clamp system of claim 11, however, does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of lift pins are integrally formed with the actuator plate. It has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the separate structures would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04 V. B.). Also, Shang et al (‘392) teaches that it is both known in the art to either have a plurality of lift pins 150,152 being separated from an actuator plate 154 (fig1) or have a plurality of lift pins 150,152 being integrated to an actuator plate 15 (fig3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lanee et al to have the plurality of lift pins integral to the actuator plate, as taught by Shang et al, for the purpose of simultaneously moving the plurality of pins and the actuator plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kamaishi et al (US 2006/0060141 A1), Rieschl et al (US 2013/0288477 A1), and Hatoh et al (US 2014/0311676 A1) teach similar lift and clamp systems.
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723