DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are pending, claims 9-11 and 18-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, claim 15 has been cancelled, and claims 1-8, 12-14, and 16-17 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous claim objections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 12-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shahmoon (US 2020/0174181).
Regarding claim 1, Shahmoon discloses a fiberscope (150, figure 5a) for stereoscopic imaging (three dimensional imaging [0023]), the fiberscope comprising: at least one wavefront manipulator (166, figure 5a) which, for creating a sample beam (illumination 65, figure 5a), is configured to pre-shape a wavefront of light (split the broadband illumination spatially…different locations on tissue [0055]) from a light source (illumination source 160, figure 5a) such that the pre-shaped light is focusable on an object point in an object region and raster-deflectable to a multiplicity of object points (different locations on tissue [0055]); an illumination fiber (60, figure 5a) for supplying a pre-shaped sample beam to the object region, wherein the illumination fiber is a multimode optical fiber (fiber…may be multimodal…[0033]) and supplies the pre-shaped sample beam to the object region without mechanical movement (spatial encoder…dispersive optical elements…different locations on tissue [0055]); a detector fiber (100, figure 5a) for supplying scattered light at least one of reflected and scattered at a respective object point to a detector (85, figure 5a) configured to capture the scattered light (see 95a, figure 5a) and being connected to a computer unit (180, figure 5a); wherein: i) the wavefront manipulator further is configured to create at least one of temporally separated sample beams and spectrally separated sample beams (different narrowband wavelengths…[0055]), which make a fixed stereo angle with each other (linear pattern 66…[0056]; 66, figure 5b), or ii) the wavefront manipulator, the illumination fiber and the detector fiber are each provided twice, with the wavefront manipulators further being configured to create at least one of the temporally separated sample beams and the spectrally separated sample beams (“or…”; see above); and, the computer unit being configured to form the stereoscopic image (182, figure 10) from at least one of the captured temporally separated scattered light and the captured spectrally separated scattered light (different narrowband wavelengths…[0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Shahmoon further discloses the illumination fiber and the detector fiber are arranged immediately adjacent to each other (see 60 and 100, figure 5a; Shahmoon | endoscope 150, figure 5a; interpreted the illumination and detector fibers are adjacent to one another since they are in an endoscope).
Regarding claim 16, Shahmoon further discloses a display apparatus for displaying the stereoscopic image (computer…display devices [0022]; Shahmoon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahmoon (US 2020/0174181), in view of Takaoka (US 2013/0329224).
Regarding claim 2, Shahmoon discloses a fiberscope (150, figure 5a ) for stereoscopic imaging (three dimensional imaging [0023]), the fiberscope comprising: at least one wavefront manipulator (166, figure 5a) which, for creating a sample beam (illumination 65, figure 5a), is configured to pre-shape a wavefront of light (split the broadband illumination spatially…different locations on tissue [0055]) from a light source (illumination source 160, figure 5a) such that the pre-shaped light is focusable on an object point in an object region and raster-deflectable to a multiplicity of object points (different locations on tissue [0055]); an illumination fiber (60, figure 5a) for supplying a pre-shaped sample beam to the object region, wherein the illumination fiber is a multimode optical fiber (fiber…may be multimodal…[0033]) and supplies the pre-shaped sample beam to the object region without mechanical movement (spatial encoder…dispersive optical elements…different locations on tissue [0055]); a detector fiber (100, figure 5a) for supplying scattered light at least one of reflected and scattered at a corresponding object point (see 95a, figure 5a) to a corresponding detector (85, figure 5a) configured to capture the scattered light and being connected to a computer unit (180, figure 5a); and, the computer unit being configured to compose the stereoscopic image (182, figure 10) from the captured scattered light. Shahmoon is silent regarding at least two detector fibers.
Takaoka teaches an apparatus (201, figure 30) with two light source units (221 and 222, figure 30), two illumination fibers (251 and 252, figure 30), and two detection fibers (7 and 8, figure 30). The illumination fiber (251, figure 30) is connected to the first light source unit (221, figure 30) and emits light Lia (Lia, figure 30). Illumination fiber (252, figure 30) is connected to the second light source unit (222, figure 30) and emits light Lib (Lib, figure 30). Lib has a wavelength that has a relatively long spatial coherence length, while Lia has a wavelength with a relatively short spatial coherence length ([0121]). The illumination fibers have different emission regions ([0127]). Wavelength switching unit (204, figure 30) has a function of selectively switching wavelengths by switching between wavelength filters (241 and 242, figure 32 | [0123]). The light from the two detection fibers (7-8, figure 30) is output to the wavelength switching unit and then detected by the first and second detecting units (24a-b, figure 32). This allows illumination with a plurality of coherence lengths by one probe ([0127]).
It would have been obvious to modify the fiberscope of Shahmoon with two light source units (221 and 222, figure 30), two illumination fibers (251 and 252, figure 30), at least two detector fibers (7-8, figure 30), wavelength switching unit (204, figure 30), and detecting unit (24, figure 30) as taught by Takaoka. Doing so would provide illumination with a plurality of coherence lengths by one probe ([0127]). The modified fiberscope would have at least two detector fibers (7-8, figure 30; Takaoka).
Regarding claim 3, Takaoka further teaches the at least two detector fibers have a fixed lateral spacing from one another (see 7-8, figure 31; Takaoka).
Regarding claim 8, Takaoka further teaches the at least two detector fibers are arranged such that a same detection region is observable (area of the emission region…is greater [0133]; Takaoka | the emission regions are interpreted to overlap | see figure 30).
Regarding claim 13, Takaoka further teaches at least two of the illumination fiber (see 251-252, figure 31; Takaoka) and the at least two detector fibers (7-8, figure 31) are arranged immediately adjacent to one another (see figure 31).
Regarding claim 17, Shahmoon further discloses a display apparatus for displaying the stereoscopic image (computer…display devices [0022]; Shahmoon).
Claim(s) 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahmoon (US 2020/0174181) and Takaoka (US 2013/0329224) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Dehghani (US 2022/0377217).
Regarding claim 4, Shahmoon and Takaoka disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 3. They are silent regarding the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies between 50 µm and 500 µm.
Dehghani teaches a stereoscopic camera where a first lens may be adjacent to a second lens ([0226]). The first and second lenses may be separated by a distance, where the distance may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The distance may be least 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]). The distance may be at most 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]).
It would have been obvious to modify the fiberscope to have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers be the various distances taught by Dehghani ([0226]). Doing so would provide a distance that may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The modified fiberscope would have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies between 50 µm and 500 µm (see options in [0226]).
Regarding claim 5, Shahmoon and Takaoka disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 3. They are silent regarding the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies between 100 µm and 400 µm.
Dehghani teaches a stereoscopic camera where a first lens may be adjacent to a second lens ([0226]). The first and second lenses may be separated by a distance, where the distance may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The distance may be least 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]). The distance may be at most 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]).
It would have been obvious to modify the fiberscope to have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers be the various distances taught by Dehghani ([0226]). Doing so would provide a distance that may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The modified fiberscope would have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies between 100 µm and 400 µm (see options in [0226] | maximum distance can be below 400 µm).
Regarding claim 6, Shahmoon and Takaoka disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 3. They are silent regarding the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies between 150 µm and 300 µm.
Dehghani teaches a stereoscopic camera where a first lens may be adjacent to a second lens ([0226]). The first and second lenses may be separated by a distance, where the distance may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The distance may be least 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]). The distance may be at most 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]).
It would have been obvious to modify the fiberscope to have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers be the various distances taught by Dehghani ([0226]). Doing so would provide a distance that may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The modified fiberscope would have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies between 150 µm and 300 µm (see options in [0226] | the distance can be between 150 and 300 µm).
Regarding claim 7, Shahmoon and Takaoka disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 3. They are silent regarding the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers is 200 µm.
Dehghani teaches a stereoscopic camera where a first lens may be adjacent to a second lens ([0226]). The first and second lenses may be separated by a distance, where the distance may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The distance may be least 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]). The distance may be at most 0.1 µm, 0.5 µm, 1 µm, 5 µm, 10 µm, 50 µm, 100 µm, 500 µm, 1 mm, 5 mm, 10 mm, 50 mm, or more ([0226]).
It would have been obvious to modify the fiberscope to have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers be the various distances taught by Dehghani ([0226]). Doing so would provide a distance that may be indicative of a measurable depth of the stereoscopic camera ([0226]). The modified fiberscope would have the fixed lateral spacing between the at least two detector fibers lies is 200 µm (see options in [0226] | the distance can be above 200 µm).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahmoon (US 2020/0174181) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takaoka (US 2013/0329224).
Regarding claim 12, Shahmoon discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Shahmoon is silent regarding the light source is provided twice.
Takaoka teaches an apparatus (201, figure 30) with two light source units (221 and 222, figure 30), two illumination fibers (251 and 252, figure 30), and two detection fibers (7 and 8, figure 30). The illumination fiber (251, figure 30) is connected to the first light source unit (221, figure 30) and emits light Lia (Lia, figure 30). Illumination fiber (252, figure 30) is connected to the second light source unit (222, figure 30) and emits light Lib (Lib, figure 30). Lib has a wavelength that has a relatively long spatial coherence length, while Lia has a wavelength with a relatively short spatial coherence length ([0121]). The illumination fibers have different emission regions ([0127]). Wavelength switching unit (204, figure 30) has a function of selectively switching wavelengths by switching between wavelength filters (241 and 242, figure 32 | [0123]). The light from the two detection fibers (7-8, figure 30) is output to the wavelength switching unit and then detected by the first and second detecting units (24a-b, figure 32). This allows illumination with a plurality of coherence lengths by one probe ([0127]).
It would have been obvious to modify the fiberscope of Shahmoon with two light source units (221 and 222, figure 30), two illumination fibers (251 and 252, figure 30), at least two detector fibers (7-8, figure 30), wavelength switching unit (204, figure 30), and detecting unit (24, figure 30) as taught by Takaoka. Doing so would provide illumination with a plurality of coherence lengths by one probe ([0127]). The modified fiberscope would have the light source is provided twice (221 and 222, figure 30; Takaoka).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
October 31, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795