DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-18 and 20) in the reply filed on December 03, 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the face portion (claim 15) and adapter module (claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "507" and "503" have both been used to designate display (see figs 5A and 6).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “configured to be releasably securable to the plurality of connection means” in claim 2, and “configured to releasably attach a side panel layer” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, reads “the core module and the interface portion comprise a plurality of connection means, the one or more modular devices and the one or more modular interface devices being configured to be releasably securable to the plurality of connection means”. It is unclear how the one or more modular devices and the one or more modular interface devices are attached and removed. Par. [0058] merely discloses the core module comprises a plurality of connection means 109, which in this example are holes configured to provide coupling with bolts. The modular devices may be installed or mounted in the internal compartment using the connection means 109. The specification fails to disclose the connection mean for the one or more modular devices and for the one or more modular interface devices.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear if the “one or more modular devices and/or one or more modular interface devices” are the same elements disclosed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is unclear if “a display” is the same element as the “face portion” disclosed in claim 15. In view of the Specification (see Figures 5A and 6), Examiner’s interpretation is that both limitations refer to the display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 12-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)92) as being anticipated by Cole (US 2007/0225079).
Regarding claim 1, Cole discloses a modular article (Fig. 1) comprising: a core module (22) including: a back panel and an internal compartment configured to house one or more internal modules and one or more modular devices (see Fig. 11); a door (246) to the internal compartment coupled to the core module (22) and being configurable to comprise at least one aperture (258) configured to facilitate use of the one or more modular devices (258 is a slot which tickets and other media elements may be dispensed, see Par. [0122])) in the internal compartment; and an interface portion (202) coupled to the core module (22), the interface portion having a first portion (see bottom portion comprising button panel in 206) and a second portion (see top portion comprising 228), each of the first portion and the second portion being configured to receive one or more modular interface devices (button panel and display 228).
Regarding claim 9, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1, wherein the first portion comprises an interface device shelf (206) configured to receive at least one of the one or more modular interface devices (unnumbered in Fig. 11, see 112 in Fig. 9), the device shelf (206) being releasably coupled to the core module (22)(in Fig. 1, 24 is releasably coupled to the core module 22, Par. [0046]: “The door 24 is movable between a first, open position whereby access is permitted to an interior of the gaming machine 20, and a second, closed position (as illustrated in FIG. 1) in which access to the interior is generally prevented.).
Regarding claim 10, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 9, wherein the device shelf (206) is releasably coupled to the core module (22) with a locking mechanism (see Par. [0054 and 0055]: “Preferably, movement of the lever 50 is controlled by the lock 48. When the lock 48 is locked, then the lever 50 can not be actuated and the panel 30 can not be opened. As illustrated the lock 48 and lever 50 are preferably mounted to the door 24. Movement of the door 24 from the closed to the open position may be similarly controlled. As illustrated, a door lock 52 and lever 54 are preferably mounted to the housing 22.”).
Regarding claim 12, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1, wherein the first portion (see bottom portion comprising button panel in 206) is nearly, but is not, horizontal.
Regarding claim 13, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1, wherein the one or more modular devices housed in the internal compartment comprises one or more dispensing means (see Par. [0122]: “a slot 258 through which tickets or other media or elements may be dispensed.”).
Regarding claim 14, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 13, wherein the one or more dispensing means comprises one or more of: a boarding pass printer; a bag tag printer; and a receipt printer (see Par. [0122]: “a slot 258 through which tickets or other media or elements may be dispensed.”).
Regarding claim 20, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1, wherein the modular article is a kiosk.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole in view of Bowron (US 2002/0194793).
Regarding claim 2, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1.
Cole fails to specifically disclose wherein the core module and the interface portion comprise a plurality of connection means, the one or more modular devices and the one or more modular interface devices being configured to be releasably securable to the plurality of connection means.
Bowron teaches a modular article wherein a core module and an interface portion comprise a plurality of connection means (see for example 18 in Fig. 7), one or more modular devices and one or more modular interface devices (hardware) being configured to be releasably securable to the plurality of connection means (see Par. [0038] “Holes 17 are suitable for receiving fasteners 18. Providing the series of holes 17 facilitates reconfiguration of the cross members, allowing one to reconfigure the kiosk housing to receive different components using only simple hand tools” and Par. [0039] “Thus, the hardware components are independent components suitable for easy removal and replacement with like or different components, as desired.”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Bowron and make Cole’s modular article with the core module and the interface portion comprising a plurality of connection means, the one or more modular devices and the one or more modular interface devices being configured to be releasably securable to the plurality of connection means, in order to easily attach and remove the modular devices from the modular article.
Regarding claim 3, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 2, wherein the core module (22) further comprises side panels (see Fig. 1) forming sides of the internal compartment.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 3.
Cole fails to specifically disclose the core module further comprises cross members arranged between the side panels, the cross members comprising at least some of the plurality of connection means.
However, Bowron teaches the modular article wherein the core module further comprises cross members (20 and 18, Fig. 7) arranged between side panels, the cross members comprising at least some of the plurality of connection means (17).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Bowron and make the modified Cole’s modular article with the core module further comprising cross members arranged between the side panels, the cross members comprising at least some of the plurality of connection means, in order to easily attach and remove the modular devices from the modular article.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cole and Bowron, and further in view of Klein et al. (US 2013/0117137; hereinafter Klein).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 3.
The modified Cole fails to specifically disclose wherein each of the side panels comprises at least one releasable attachment point configured to releasably attach a side panel layer to one or each of the side panels.
Klein teaches a modular article wherein side panels (side panels of 1400) comprises at least one releasable attachment point configured to releasably attach a side panel layer (1462) to one of the side panels (see Par. [0063] “The kiosk system 1450 can further include a side panel 1462 attached to the kiosk 1400 for displaying information or advertisement panels and/or additional light boxes.“). See also side panel 1568 in the embodiment of Fig. 15.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Klein and make the modified Cole’s modular article with each of the side panels comprising at least one releasable attachment point configured to releasably attach a side panel layer to one or each of the side panels, in order to display advertisement panels and/or light boxes.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole and Bowron, and further in view of Jarrett et al. (US 2013/0191170; hereinafter Jarrett).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 3.
The modified Cole fails to specifically disclose a sidecar module releasably attachable to one of the side panels.
Jarrett teaches a modular article comprising a sidecar (12)(see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Jarrett and make the modified Cole’s modular article with a sidecar module releasably attachable to one of the side panels, in order to extend the functionality of the modular article (see Par. [0020]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 5.
The modified Cole fails to specifically disclose the sidecar module is configured to receive one or more modular devices and/or one or more modular interface devices.
Jarrett teaches the modular article comprising the sidecar module (12) is configured to receive one or more modular devices and/or one or more modular interface devices (25 and 26)(see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Jarrett and make the modified Cole’s modular article with the sidecar module configured to receive one or more modular devices and/or one or more modular interface devices, in order to extend the functionality of the modular article (see Par. [0020]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole and Bowron, and further in view of Steil et al. (US 2017/0091493; hereinafter Steil).
Regarding claim 8, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1.
Cole fails to specifically disclose the door is configurable to comprise the at least one aperture by arranging one or more removable insert portions to provide an aperture configuration.
Steil teaches (Figs 1 and 12) a modular article wherein a door (1200 in module 28) is configurable to comprise at least one aperture(1208) by arranging one or more removable insert portions (602) to provide an aperture configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Steil and make Cole’s modular article with the at least one aperture by arranging one or more removable insert portions to provide an aperture configuration, in order to align the at least one aperture with the one or more modular devices (see Par. [0073]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole and further in view of Birgeoglu et al. (US 10,409,323 hereinafter Birgeoglu).
Regarding claim 11, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 9.
Cole fails to specifically disclose the device shelf is interchangeable with one or more device shelves having different configurations to facilitate different configurations of modular interface devices.
Birgeoglu teaches a modular article (Fig. 24) wherein a device shelf (2406) is interchangeable with one or more device shelves having different configurations to facilitate different configurations of modular interface devices (see Par. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Birgeoglu and make Cole’s modular article with the device shelf interchangeable with one or more device shelves having different configurations to facilitate different configurations of modular interface devices, in order to add, replace or remove a modular interface device without having to replace other parts of the modular article (see col. 7 lines 53-62).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole and further in view of Gordon et al. (US 2008/0055491; hereinafter Gordon).
Regarding claim 15, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1.
Cole fails to specifically disclose the second portion comprises a face portion and a hinge mechanism configured to allow opening and closing of the face portion.
Gordon teaches a modular article (Figs. 1 and 8) wherein a second portion (top portion of 500) comprises a face portion (100) and a hinge mechanism (116) configured to allow opening and closing of the face portion.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Gordon and make Cole’s modular article with the second portion comprising a face portion and a hinge mechanism configured to allow opening and closing of the face portion, in order to adjust the angle of the face portion (see Par. [0043]).
Regarding claim 16, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 15.
Gordon further discloses the one or more modular interface devices comprises a display (100) coupled to the core module via the hinge mechanism (116).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole and further in view of Carroll et al. (US 2008/0255901; hereinafter Carroll).
Regarding claim 17, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1.
Cole fails to specifically disclose a base portion coupled to the core module, the base portion being configured to support the core module and to receive one or more base modules.
Carroll (Fig. 1) teaches a modular article comprising a base portion (28) coupled to the core module, the base portion (28) being configured to support a core module (72) and to receive one or more base modules (26).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Carroll and make Cole’s modular article with a base portion coupled to the core module, the base portion being configured to support the core module and to receive one or more base modules, in order to raise the modular article of the ground to a comfortable user level (see Par. [0037]).
Regarding claim 18, Cole discloses the modular article according to claim 1.
Carroll further teaches the one or more base modules comprises a stability plate (26).
Conclusion
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845