DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 and 21-24 in the reply filed on 24 AUG 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miller (US Pat. No. 4,642,898).
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses:
A support (FIG 1), 10, comprising:
a main body 12 comprising an attachment part 25 for removably attaching the support to a tool (see col. 3, ll. 13-32); an adjustment part 40 attached to the main body and comprising a mount 50 for removably mounting a distance measurement device 41 thereto;
wherein the mount is movable with respect to the main body to adjust a position of the distance measurement device with respect to the main body (col. 2, l. 52-col. 3, l. 3).
Regarding claims 2-4, FIG 1 of Miller discloses that the adjustment part may be used as claimed.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 11, FIG 1 of Miller discloses that the mount may be used as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, FIG 1 of Miller discloses that the attachment part comprises a clamp as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, FIG 1 of Miller discloses that the distance measurement device may be used as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Eldridge et al. (US Pat. No. 5,333,391).
Miller discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Miller does not disclose a ratchet mechanism or a rack-and-pinion mechanism as claimed. Eldridge et al. discloses a rack-and-pinion mechanism (see col. 3, ll. 5-16) used for the purpose of moving an adjustment device incrementally. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the rack-and-pinion mechanism taught by Eldridge et al. in conjunction with the Miller adjustment part to move the adjustment part of Miller incrementally.
Claims 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Teetzel et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0214551).
Miller discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Miller does not disclose bayonet-fitment connectors as claimed. Teetzel et al. discloses bayonet-fitment connectors (see [0061]) used for the purpose connecting components in a measuring device. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the bayonet-fitment connectors taught by Teetzel et al. in conjunction with the Miller device for the purpose of connecting components of the Miller device together.
Claims 15, 16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Shi et al. (US Pat. No. 10,627,201).
Miller discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Miller does not disclose a distance measuring wheel or display as claimed. Shi et al. discloses a distance measuring wheel 2 and a display 3 used for the purpose of measuring distance. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the measuring wheel and display taught by Shi et al. in conjunction with the Miller device as an alternate means of measuring distance with the Miller device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
6 OCT 2026