DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 6/1/26, have been considered but are not persuasive. With regards to applicant’s remarks to the “silicone air cushion adapted to be attached to and detached from the stock of the rifle together with said recoil pad as a monolithic unit”. It is noted that the term “monolithic” in the art has a specific meaning which generally means “made from a single block of material”; which obviously does not pertain in this application. It is understood by the examiner that applicant means “monolithic” to mean “joined” (see applicant’s specification par. 0027, stating “As can be seen in Figure 2, a silicone air cushion (30) containing air is joined to the front side of the recoil pad (20) which joins with the stock (10) [] Thus, as shown in Figure 3, the silicone air cushion (30) and the recoil pad (20) are made monolithic. The silicone air cushion (30) can be attached to and detached from the stock (10) together with the recoil pad (20).” and original claim 1, which recites “a recoil pad adapted to be attached to and detached from a rear end of the stock and allows the stock to be set on a user’s shoulder’ and a silicone air cushion adapted to be attached to and detached from the stock with the recoil pad at the front side of a joint of the recoil pad with the stock”. (both, as well as Figs. 1-2, showing that the recoil pad and air cushion are distinct elements that are joined together). Merely reciting words in the specification does not, in and of itself, inherently enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make, and or use, the invention as claimed. It is further noted that in the reply filed 9/4/25, applicant argued “This limitation establishes a very specific layered architecture. In particular, this arrangement is, in order, the stock, the removable recoil pad, and the distinct silicone cushion immediately forward of the pad-stock interface. The concave insert of the Graham patent is molded as a single piece of elastomeric material with an integral gas fill. It does not reside in a discrete layer nor is it removable as a separate cushion component.” (Applicant’s remarks, 9/4/25, page 9) In the remarks dated 12/4/25 applicant argues that the Krueger patent does not anticipate the claims because the pneumatic cushion is an “internal component of the recoil pad structure, rather than a separate intermediate unit positioned between the stock and the reoil pad as a distinct layer.” (Applicant’s remarks, 12/4/25, page 6) The specification does not disclose two embodiments, one where there are discrete layers with a removable separate cushion component and one where the silicone air cushion and recoil pad is a monolithic unit. If these are two separate embodiments then the new claims would be mutually exclusive from the previous claims and the claims would be subject to election by original presentation. However the specification, which discloses a recoil pad and silicone air cushion as being separate pieces that are joined together, and defines that “joining together” as “monolithic”, therefore the term will be applied as used in the specification (i.e. joined). While the applicant may be his or her own lexicographer, however, a term in a claim may not be given a meaning repugnant to the usual meaning of that term. See In re Hill, 161 F.2d 367, 73 USPQ 782 (CCPA 1947).
With regards to applicant’s comments concerning the amendments pertaining to “said silicone air cushion being joined [] by injection molding”. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964. Regarding the process for making the claimed recoil pad assembly or the Product by Process Claims, applicant is direct to MPEP § 2113. Therefore the recoil pad and silicone air cushion being joined/produced by an injection molding process is not pertinent in this instance to the patentability of this product claim.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, which requires that the specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor [] of carrying out his invention. (See MPEP 2164.01) Claim 4 requires that the silicone air cushion “prevents the rifle from muzzle climb by the air in the interior volume of said silicone air cushion”. Merely making a statement in the specification that the silicone air cushion does this, does not, in and of itself, enable one of ordinary skill in the art how to make the silicone air cushion so that it performs in such a manner. It is not inherent, or ordinary, for a recoil pad located at the buttstock of a rifle to prevent the climb of the muzzle of that rifle and it is not clear how the physics would even allow that to occur. It is not clear that it is the recoil pad, at all, that prevents the climb of the muzzle. The specification, as filed, does not fulfill the enablement requirement because one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to make the silicone air cushion so that the silicone air cushion (and not something else) prevents muzzle climb of the rifle. Rise, or climb, of a rifle is caused by the centerline of the barrel being above the firearms’ center of mass, the climb happens when the buttstock is below the center of mass. There is nothing in the specification that provides for the silicone air cushion to change that distance between the centerline and the center of mass. While the silicone air cushion would inherently reduce the felt recoil (i.e. reduce pressure transmitted from the rifle to the shooter), there is nothing disclosed that would prevent the climb of the muzzle (i.e. torque).
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejections of the claims applicant contends that the combination of references does not disclose the claimed invention. Applicant’s arguments misrepresent the rejections of the claims and misrepresent the combination of the references. Applicant contends that the reference of Krueger does not disclose separate, distinct structural elements. This is not persuasive in that Krueger clearly does disclose separate, distinct structural elements wherein an air cushion (21), as a separate, distinct structural element is positioned as a unit onto a side of a recoil pad (13, 14, 15) that faces the stock of the rifle. In response to Applicant’s argument that Krueger includes additional structure (i.e. casing 6) not required by Applicant’s invention, it must be noted that Krueger discloses the invention as claimed. The fact that it discloses additional structure not claimed is irrelevant. The reference of Butler is utilized for the specific teaching of the type of material for the air cushion and not for the “positioning” of the gas chamber or the structural approach of the gas chamber as applicant contends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a recoil pad comprising a silicone air cushion the air cushion having the ability to reduce a load on the shoulder of a user by reducing an impact during firing, does not reasonably provide enablement for how the air in the interior volume of the air cushion has the ability to prevent a rifle from muzzle climb. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. There is nothing in the specification that disclose HOW the air in the interior volume of the air cushion can possibly prevent a rifle from muzzle climb. Claim 4 requires that the silicone air cushion “prevents the rifle from muzzle climb by the air in the interior volume of said silicone air cushion”. Merely making a statement in the specification that the silicone air cushion does this, does not, in and of itself, enable one of ordinary skill in the art how to make the silicone air cushion so that it performs in such a manner. It is not inherent, or ordinary, for a recoil pad located at the buttstock of a rifle to prevent the climb of the muzzle of that rifle and it is not clear how the physics would even allow that to occur. It is not clear that it is the recoil pad, at all, that prevents the climb of the muzzle. The specification, as filed, does not fulfill the enablement requirement because one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to make the silicone air cushion so that the silicone air cushion (and not something else) prevents muzzle climb of the rifle. (See MPEP 2164.01)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzola (US Patent 5,461,813) in view of Butler (US Patent 9,021,727). Mazzola discloses a recoil pad assembly for a stock of a rifle, the recoil assembly comprising: a recoil pad (18) having the ability to be attached to and detached from a rear end of the stock of the rifle so as to allow said recoil pad and the stock to bear against a shoulder of a user; and an air cushion (16) having the ability to be attached to and detached from the stock of the rifle [together with the recoil pad as a joined unit (applicant’s definition of “monolithic”), (it is noted that the process, or product by process, of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself; therefore, the limitation of “joined by injection molding in a leak-proof manner” has not been given patentable weight)] to a side of said reoil pad that faces the stock of the rifle (Fig. 2), said air cushion having air in a single interior volume thereof, said air cushion having the ability to reduce a load on the shoulder of the user by reducing an impact thereon during firing of the rifle and to prevent the rifle from muzzle climb by the air in the interior volume of said air cushion (in as much as Mazzola discloses an air cushion and applicant contends that it is the air cushion itself that performs this function). Mazzola discloses the claimed recoil pad but does not expressly disclose the air cushion comprised of silicone, Butler does. Butler teaches a recoil pad for a firearm, the recoil pad comprising a silicone air cushion (col. 4, lines 29-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize silicone as the material for the air cushion since silicone is a well-known material that can hold air and is not affected by temperatures allowing the device to be used in both warm and cold temperatures without becoming brittle, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the air cushion from silicone, since applicant has not disclosed that specifically utilizing silicone solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any material that would hold air. In re Kuhle 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
5. The recoil pad assembly of claim 4, further comprising: a valve (24) connected to said air cushion so as to allow the air to be introduced into the single interior volume of said silicone air cushion.
6. The recoil pad assembly of claim 5, further comprising: a valve cap (24; col. 2, lines22-32) affixed to said valve so as to prevent the air from escaping outwardly of said valve.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger (US Patent 1,246,117) in view of Butler (US Patent 9,021,727). Krueger discloses a recoil pad assembly for a stock of a rifle, the recoil assembly comprising: a recoil pad (13, 14, 15) having the ability to be attached to and detached from a rear end of the stock of the rifle so as to allow said recoil pad and the stock to bear against a shoulder of a user; and an air cushion (21) having the ability to be attached to and detached from the stock of the rifle [together with the recoil pad as a joined unit, (it is noted that the process, or product by process, of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself; therefore, the limitation of “joined by injection molding in a leak-proof manner” has not been given patentable weight)] to a side of said reoil pad that faces the stock of the rifle (Fig. 5), said air cushion having air in a single interior volume thereof, said air cushion having the ability to reduce a load on the shoulder of the user by reducing an impact thereon during firing of the rifle and to prevent the rifle from muzzle climb by the air in the interior volume of said air cushion (in as much as Krueger discloses an air cushion and applicant contends that it is the air cushion itself that performs this function). Krueger discloses the claimed recoil pad but does not expressly disclose the air cushion comprised of silicone, Butler does. Butler teaches a recoil pad for a firearm, the recoil pad comprising a silicone air cushion (col. 4, lines 29-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize silicone as the material for the air cushion since silicone is a well-known material that can hold air and is not affected by temperatures allowing the device to be used in both warm and cold temperatures without becoming brittle, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the air cushion from silicone, since applicant has not disclosed that specifically utilizing silicone solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any material that would hold air. In re Kuhle 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
5. The recoil pad assembly of claim 4, further comprising: a valve (22) connected to said air cushion so as to allow the air to be introduced into the single interior volume of said silicone air cushion.
6. The recoil pad assembly of claim 5, further comprising: a valve cap (22; page 2, line 24) affixed to said valve so as to prevent the air from escaping outwardly of said valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MICHELLE CLEMENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641