DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (US20060183020) in view of Kim, D (US20140193696) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on April 19th, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Davidson discloses a cylindrical secondary battery comprising a can (cylindrical container-27, [0039]) and a terminal part (positive terminal-23 and negative terminal-25, [0039]) comprising:
Davidson further discloses wherein the cylindrical secondary battery further comprises an electrode assembly (cathode and anode disposed in the container, [0011]) and an electrode current collector plate in the can (negative current collector-47, [0045]).
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of the specifications, “the second terminal and electrode current collector are welded to each other so as to electrically connect the electrode assembly to each of the first terminal and the second terminal” can be interpreted to mean any structure wherein the second terminal is welded to a current collector, and wherein the terminals are electrically connected to the electrode assemblies.
Davidson discloses wherein the positive electrode terminal is welded to the positive electrode current collector ([0039]). Davidson further discloses wherein the second terminal and the electrode current collector plate are welded to each other so as to electrically connect the electrode assembly to each of the first terminal and the second terminal (negative current collector-47 is welded to negative terminal plate-53, [0045]). Therefore, since Davidson discloses wherein the positive electrode terminal is connected to the positive current collector and the negative electrode terminal is connected to the negative electrode current collector, it is the examiner’s position that Davidson discloses where each of the first terminal and the second terminal are electrically connected to the electrode assemblies.
Therefore, Davidson discloses wherein the second terminal and electrode current collector are welded to each other so as to electrically connect the electrode assembly to each of the first terminal and the second terminal.
Davidson discloses a first terminal outside the can (positive terminal-23 or negative electrode terminal-25, [0039]).
Davidson does directly disclose a second terminal coupled to the terminal hole of the can, arranged inside and outside of the can and wherein the second terminal is riveted to the first terminal from an outside of the can wherein the first electrode plate of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly is electrically connected to each of the first terminal and the second terminal such that the first terminal and the second terminal have a same polarity as the first electrode plate.
Kim, D discloses a terminal structure that comprises two terminal structures wherein one terminal is disposed in a through hole terminal and another terminal is disposed outside the battery case (Fig. 1/2, shows first terminal structure 122 and 123 where 122 is disposed in the through hole and the terminal structure 123 is disposed outside the battery case, Fig. 1/2, [0037]). Kim, D further discloses wherein the terminal pin structure is formed wherein there is a first terminal piece arranged outside the battery case and a second terminal piece arranged inside the battery case (Fig. 5 shows first current collector-121 as second terminal piece disposed inside the battery case, Fig. 5, and terminal pin-122 that is disposed outside the battery can as the first terminal piece, [0036]) the Kim; D teaches that this structure provides a terminal with reduced weight and reduced corrosion formation ([009]).
The examiner notes that Kim in view of Kim, D would provide a terminal structure wherein the first terminal would be placed on top of the electrode terminal-50 structure of Kim, forming the first terminal on the second terminal.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Kim, D to have a second terminal coupled to the terminal hole of the can, arranged inside and outside of the can and wherein the second terminal is riveted to the first terminal from an outside of the can wherein the first electrode plate of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly is electrically connected to each of the first terminal and the second terminal such that the first terminal and the second terminal have a same polarity as the first electrode plate.. This modified structure would yield the expected result of with reduced weight and reduced corrosion formation.
Regarding Claim 6, Davidson in view of Kim, D discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Davidson discloses wherein a terminal groove is concavely formed in an area corresponding to the second terminal on an outer surface of the first terminal (terminal groove is formed in top structure of negative terminal-25 & negative electrode terminal-53 and top structure of battery terminal can, Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 7, Davidson in view Kim, D discloses the limitations as set forth above. Davidson further discloses wherein the can comprises an upper surface portion and a cylindrical side portion extending downward from the upper surface portion (upper surface portion-93, and container-27 has a side portion, Fig. 1, [0047]) and the terminal hole is formed through the upper surface portion (terminal hole is formed in upper surface portion-93 section, Fig. 1/1A), and the cylindrical secondary battery further comprises a cap assembly coupled to the side portion to seal the can (gasket-45 acts as a cap assembly coupled to the side portion to seal the can, [0052], Fig. 1/1A).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (US20060183020) in view of Kim, D (US20140193696) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on April 19th, 2024) further in view of Kim (US20230327303) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on April 19th, 2024).
Regarding Claim 2, Davidson in view of Kim, D discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Davidson discloses a second terminal comprises a first region parallel to an inner surface of the can in which the terminal hole is formed, and a second region extending from the first region and penetrating the terminal hole of the can to the outside of the can (negative terminal-25 and negative terminal plate-53 has flat portion extending out of cylindrical container which acts as second region, and parallel section that forms terminal hole that acts as first region, Fig. 2, [0047]).
Davidson does not directly disclose a jig groove into which a riveting processing jig is insertable is formed in the second region.
Kim discloses a cylindrical secondary battery comprising a can (battery can for cylindrical battery, [008]) and a terminal part comprising: a second terminal coupled to a terminal hole of the can (electrode terminal-50 acts as second terminal), arranged inside and outside of the can (portion of electrode terminal-50 contains outer flange region-50b, [0099], and portion of electrode terminal-50 contains inner flange portion-50c portion exposed inside of the can, [0100]), and riveted to the first terminal from an outside of the can (electrode terminal is riveted, [009], first collecting plate is riveted to outer flange portion, [0019]). Kim further discloses wherein the second terminal comprises a first region parallel to an inner surface of the can in which the terminal hole is formed (through-hole-53 acts as terminal hole, body portion-50a is first region parallel to an inner surface of the can), and a second region extending from the first region and penetrating the terminal hole of the can to the outside of the can (outer flange-50b comprises second region that extends from body portion-50a and penetrated terminal hole, [0100], Fig. 6), and a jig groove into which a riveting processing jig is insertable is formed in the second region (rivet can be formed by caulking jig, [0121]). Kim teaches that this structure provides a structure with a simpler process of fastening the electrode terminal and the current collecting plate ([0025]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Davidson with the teachings of Kim to have wherein a jig groove into which a riveting processing jig is insertable is formed in the second region. This modified structure would yield the expected result of creating as simpler process of fastening the electrode terminal and the current collecting plate.
Regarding Claim 3, Davidson in view of Kim, D further in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Davidson does not directly disclose wherein ends of the first region and the second region are riveted to the first terminal.
Kim discloses wherein the ends of the first region and the second region are riveted to the top structure of the electrode terminal and battery can (first region and second region are riveted, [0111], and are riveted to the battery can, [0094]).
It is the examiner’s position that because the first and second region are riveted to the top structure of the battery terminal, that in modified Davidson, the first and second region would be riveted to the first terminal.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Davidson with the teachings of Kim and Kim, D to have wherein the first and second region are riveted to the first terminal.
Regarding Claim 4, Davidson in view of Kim, D further in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Davidson further discloses first to third insulating members arranged between the first region and the inner surface of the can, between the second region and the terminal hole, and between the first terminal and outer surface of the can, respectively (gasket-45 is interposed between the battery can and the battery terminal, Fig. 2, [0045], acts as first to third insulating members as it is made from insulating material, [0049]).
Regarding Claim 5, Davidson in view of Kim, D discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Davidson does not directly disclose wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are made of a same material.
Kim further discloses wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are made of the same material (electrode terminal-50 is made from conductive metallic material, [0117], current collecting plate-30 can be made from conductive metallic material, [0143]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Davidson with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are made of a same material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed January 29th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Davidson in view of Kim, D does not teach or suggest the terminal structure where the first and second terminal are of the same polarity and the first terminal is disposed outside the battery case and the second terminal is disposed inside the battery case, and wherein the first terminal and second terminal are connected to the same electrode plate.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the claim language “a first terminal outside of the can; and a second terminal coupled to a terminal hole of the can, arranged inside and outside of the can, and riveted to the first terminal from an outside of the can, wherein the cylindrical secondary battery further comprises an electrode assembly and an electrode current collector plate in the can, and the second terminal and the electrode current collector plate are welded to each other so as to electrically connect a first electrode plate of the electrode assembly to each of the first terminal and the second terminal such that the first terminal and the second terminal have a same polarity as the first electrode plate” can be interpreted to be any structure where the a single polarity terminal structure that is connected to one of the electrode plates has a structure where part of the terminal is disposed outside the case and part of the terminal is disposed inside the case.
Davidson discloses a first terminal outside the can (positive terminal-23 or negative electrode terminal-25, [0039]).
Davidson does directly disclose a second terminal coupled to the terminal hole of the can, arranged inside and outside of the can and wherein the second terminal is riveted to the first terminal from an outside of the can wherein the first electrode plate of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly is electrically connected to each of the first terminal and the second terminal such that the first terminal and the second terminal have a same polarity as the first electrode plate.
Kim, D discloses a terminal structure that comprises two terminal structures wherein one terminal is disposed in a through hole terminal and another terminal is disposed outside the battery case (Fig. 1/2, shows first terminal structure 122 and 123 where 122 is disposed in the through hole and the terminal structure 123 is disposed outside the battery case, Fig. 1/2, [0037]). Kim, D further discloses wherein the terminal pin structure is formed wherein there is a first terminal piece arranged outside the battery case and a second terminal piece arranged inside the battery case (Fig. 5 shows first current collector-121 as second terminal piece disposed inside the battery case, Fig. 5, and terminal pin-122 that is disposed outside the battery can as the first terminal piece, [0036]) the Kim; D teaches that this structure provides a terminal with reduced weight and reduced corrosion formation ([009]).
The examiner notes that Kim in view of Kim, D would provide a terminal structure wherein the first terminal would be placed on top of the electrode terminal-50 structure of Kim, forming the first terminal on the second terminal.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Kim, D to have a second terminal coupled to the terminal hole of the can, arranged inside and outside of the can and wherein the second terminal is riveted to the first terminal from an outside of the can wherein the first electrode plate of the electrode plate of the electrode assembly is electrically connected to each of the first terminal and the second terminal such that the first terminal and the second terminal have a same polarity as the first electrode plate.. This modified structure would yield the expected result of with reduced weight and reduced corrosion formation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728