DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0211172) (hereinafter referred to as just Nam) in view of Nam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0215792).
Regarding claim 1 Nam discloses a display device comprising: a video decoder configured to decode video frames (Fig. 3 - image decoder 325; paragraph [0129] – to this end, the image processing unit 320 may include an image decoder 325, a scaler 335, an image quality processing unit 635, an image encoder (not shown), an OSD processing unit 340, a frame rate converter 350, a formatter 360, etc.; paragraph [0130] – the image decoder 325 decodes a demultiplexed image signal, and the scaler 335 performs scaling so that the resolution of the decoded image signal can be output from the display 180); a display configured to output video (Fig. 1 – display 180; paragraph [0067] – referring to Fig. 1, an image display system 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include an image display apparatus 100 including a display 180, a set-top box 300, and a server 600); and a processor (Fig. 3 processor 330; paragraph [0141] – the processor 330 may control overall operations of the image display apparatus 100 or the signal processing unit 170) configured to: control a resolution of a first video frame to be changed, based on the first video frame that is to be output by the display having a resolution that is different from a resolution of a previous video frame having been detected among the video frames decoded by the video decoder (paragraph [0076] – the image display apparatus 100 may compare a previous frame image and at least one region of a current frame image, calculate image type information based on a result of the comparison, set an image quality based on the information for the image type, and, if the image type information for the current frame image changes while image quality setting to a first image quality is performed, keep performing the image quality setting corresponding to the first image quality – accordingly, it is possible to improve accuracy of calculation of image type information and perform image quality processing according thereto – in particular, despite a change in the image quality, it is possible to maintain the image quality intact or vary the image quality smoothly, thereby reducing flicker that can be caused due to a great variation of the image quality; paragraph [0227] - if original quality of a received image signal is changed at a first point in time, the image quality setting unit 634 changes an image quality setting from a first setting to a second setting in sequence and the image quality processing unit 635 may perform image quality processing according to the sequential change of the first setting to the second setting – accordingly, it is possible to reduce flicker when the image quality is changed due to the change of the original quality of the received image signal – in particular, when the original quality of the image signal is changed, the quality may be changed smoothly rather than radically). However, Nam fails to explicitly disclose control a resolution of a first video frame and at least one second video frame, which is adjacent to the first video frame, to be changed, based on the first video frame that is to be output by the display having a resolution that is different from a resolution of a previous video frame having been detected among the video frames decoded by the video decoder.
Referring to the Nam et al. reference, Nam et al. discloses a display device comprising: control a resolution of a first video frame and at least one second video frame, which is adjacent to the first video frame, to be changed, based on the first video frame that is to be output by the display having a resolution that is different from a resolution of a previous video frame having been detected among the video frames decoded by the video decoder (paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had controlled a resolution of a first video frame and at least one second video frame, based on the first video frame that is to be output having a resolution that is different from a resolution of a previous video frame as disclosed by Nam et al. in the device disclosed by Nam in order to change the picture quality gradually to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality.
Regarding claim 2, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the resolution of the first video frame and a plurality of second video frames, of the at least one second video frame, by applying pre-configured quality factor changes to the first video frame and the plurality of second video frames, wherein the quality factor changes comprise a sharpness value (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraphs [0175]-[0185] – the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time).
Regarding claim 3, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness value of the first video frame to be reduced, and control the sharpness values for the plurality of second videos frames after the first video frame to sequentially increase, based on the resolution of the first video frame being higher than the resolution of the previous video frame (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 4, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-3 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the reduced sharpness value to be restored to an original set value in a specific video frame among the plurality of second video frames, after the first video frame (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 5, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether a scene change is made in the first video frame (Nam: paragraph [0356] – the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may determine whether a scene change occurs in the current frame image (S1125)).
Regarding claim 6, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, and 5 including that wherein based on the resolution of the first video frame being higher than the resolution of the previous video frame, and not being a video frame in which the scene change is made, the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness value of the first video frame to be reduced; and control the sharpness value of a second video frame, from among the plurality of second video frames, in which the scene change occurs, to be restored to an original setting value (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; paragraph [0356] – the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may determine whether a scene change occurs in the current frame image (S1125); paragraph [0360] – if no scene change occurs in the step of S1125, the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may compensate for the calculated probabilities for a plurality of image types (S1135); paragraph [0364] – the image quality setting unit 634 may perform image quality setting based on the compensated or filtered probability information for the plurality of image types (S1138); Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 7, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness value of a second video frame, from among the plurality of second video frames, in which the scene change has not occurred, to be sequentially increased or to have a same sharpness value as the sharpness value of the first video frame (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; paragraph [0356] – the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may determine whether a scene change occurs in the current frame image (S1125); paragraph [0360] – if no scene change occurs in the step of S1125, the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may compensate for the calculated probabilities for a plurality of image types (S1135); paragraph [0364] – the image quality setting unit 634 may perform image quality setting based on the compensated or filtered probability information for the plurality of image types (S1138); Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 8, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 including that wherein based on the resolution of the first video frame being lower than the resolution of the previous video frame, the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness values to be sequentially reduced, relative to the sharpness value of the first video frame, for successive second video frames from among the plurality of second video frames; and control the sharpness value of further second video frames, from among the plurality of second video frames, to be restored to an original setting value (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 9, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 including that wherein based on the resolution of the first video frame being lower than the resolution of the previous video frame, and the first video frame not being a video frame in which a scene change occurs, the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness value of a second video frame, from among the plurality of second video frames, in which the scene change occurs, to be reduced (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; paragraph [0356] – the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may determine whether a scene change occurs in the current frame image (S1125); paragraph [0360] – if no scene change occurs in the step of S1125, the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may compensate for the calculated probabilities for a plurality of image types (S1135); paragraph [0364] – the image quality setting unit 634 may perform image quality setting based on the compensated or filtered probability information for the plurality of image types (S1138); Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 10, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, and 9 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness values to be sequentially reduced of one or more second video frames between the second video frame and the first video frame which is subject to the scene change; or control the sharpness value of the second video frame and control the sharpness value of the first video frame to be restored to an original set value (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; paragraph [0356] – the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may determine whether a scene change occurs in the current frame image (S1125); paragraph [0360] – if no scene change occurs in the step of S1125, the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may compensate for the calculated probabilities for a plurality of image types (S1135); paragraph [0364] – the image quality setting unit 634 may perform image quality setting based on the compensated or filtered probability information for the plurality of image types (S1138); Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 15, Nam discloses a method of operating a display device comprising: receiving a video signal (Figs. 1 and 2); decoding the received video signal (Fig. 3 - image decoder 325; paragraph [0129] – to this end, the image processing unit 320 may include an image decoder 325, a scaler 335, an image quality processing unit 635, an image encoder (not shown), an OSD processing unit 340, a frame rate converter 350, a formatter 360, etc.; paragraph [0130] – the image decoder 325 decodes a demultiplexed image signal, and the scaler 335 performs scaling so that the resolution of the decoded image signal can be output from the display 180); detecting a first video frame having a resolution different from a resolution of a previous frame among a plurality of video frames within the decoded video signal; and controlling the resolution of the first video frame to be changed, based on the first video frame that is to be output by the display including the resolution that is different from the resolution of the previous video frame (paragraph [0076] – the image display apparatus 100 may compare a previous frame image and at least one region of a current frame image, calculate image type information based on a result of the comparison, set an image quality based on the information for the image type, and, if the image type information for the current frame image changes while image quality setting to a first image quality is performed, keep performing the image quality setting corresponding to the first image quality – accordingly, it is possible to improve accuracy of calculation of image type information and perform image quality processing according thereto – in particular, despite a change in the image quality, it is possible to maintain the image quality intact or vary the image quality smoothly, thereby reducing flicker that can be caused due to a great variation of the image quality; paragraph [0227] - if original quality of a received image signal is changed at a first point in time, the image quality setting unit 634 changes an image quality setting from a first setting to a second setting in sequence and the image quality processing unit 635 may perform image quality processing according to the sequential change of the first setting to the second setting – accordingly, it is possible to reduce flicker when the image quality is changed due to the change of the original quality of the received image signal – in particular, when the original quality of the image signal is changed, the quality may be changed smoothly rather than radically). However, Nam fails to explicitly disclose detecting at least one second video frame adjacent to the first video frame; and controlling the resolution of the first video frame and at least one second video frame to be changed, based on the first video frame that is to be output by the display including the resolution that is different from the resolution of the previous video frame.
Referring to the Nam et al. reference, Nam et al. discloses a method of operating a display device comprising: detecting at least one second video frame adjacent to the first video frame; and controlling the resolution of the first video frame and at least one second video frame to be changed, based on the first video frame that is to be output by the display including the resolution that is different from the resolution of the previous video frame (paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had controlled a resolution of a first video frame and at least one second video frame, based on the first video frame that is to be output having a resolution that is different from a resolution of a previous video frame as disclosed by Nam et al. in the method disclosed by Nam in order to change the picture quality gradually to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality.
Regarding claim 16, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 15 including that the method further comprises: controlling the resolution of the first video frame and a plurality of second video frames, of the at least one second video frame, by applying pre-configured quality factor changes to the first video frame and the plurality of second video frames, wherein the quality factor changes comprise a sharpness value (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraphs [0175]-[0185] – the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time).
Regarding claim 17, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 15 and 16 including that the method further comprises: controlling the sharpness value of the first video frame to be reduced, and control the sharpness values for the plurality of second videos frames after the first video frame to sequentially increase, based on the resolution of the first video frame being higher than the resolution of the previous video frame (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 18, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 15-17 including that the method further comprises: controlling the reduced sharpness value to be restored to an original set value in a specific video frame among the plurality of second video frames, after the first video frame (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 19, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 15 and 16 including that wherein based on the resolution of the first video frame being lower than the resolution of the previous video frame, the method further comprises: controlling the sharpness values to be sequentially reduced, relative to the sharpness value of the first video frame, for successive second video frames from among the plurality of second video frames; and controlling the sharpness value of further second video frames, from among the plurality of second video frames, to be restored to an original setting value (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Regarding claim 20, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 15 and 16 including that wherein based on the resolution of the first video frame being lower than the resolution of the previous video frame, and the first video frame not being a video frame in which a scene change occurs, the method further comprises: controlling the sharpness value of a second video frame, from among the plurality of second video frames, in which the scene change occurs, to be reduced (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; paragraph [0356] – the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may determine whether a scene change occurs in the current frame image (S1125); paragraph [0360] – if no scene change occurs in the step of S1125, the quality calculator 632 in the signal processing device 170 may compensate for the calculated probabilities for a plurality of image types (S1135); paragraph [0364] – the image quality setting unit 634 may perform image quality setting based on the compensated or filtered probability information for the plurality of image types (S1138); Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Nam et al. as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Adachi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0157482).
Regarding claim 11, Nam in view of Nam et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2, but fails to disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain frequency component information of the decoded video frames; and detect a video frame whose frequency component is changed, from among the decoded video frames.
Referring to the Adachi reference, Adachi discloses a display device comprising: the processor is further configured to: obtain frequency component information of the decoded video frames; and detect a video frame whose frequency component is changed, from among the decoded video frames (Fig. 1; paragraph [0057] – a video signal is input to a video signal processing circuit 11, and the input video signal is supplied to a frequency component analyzing device 12; paragraph [0058] – in the frequency component analyzing device 12, a frequency of each frequency band is extracted – in a histogram detecting/judging device 13, a method of image quality control is determined based on the histogram of the respective frequency bands; paragraph [0059] – in an image quality control device 14, the image quality of the video signal in the video signal processing circuit 11 is adjusted based on the method of the image quality control determined by the histogram detecting/judging device 13 – the video signal with the adjusted image quality is output to a display unit 15 so that the image of the video signal is displayed on the display unit 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had obtained frequency component information of the decoded video frames; and detected a video frame whose frequency component is changed, from among the decoded video frames as disclosed by Adachi in the device disclosed by Nam in view of Nam et al. in order to perform image quality control of the image based on the extracted frequencies.
Regarding claim 12, Nam in view of Nam et al. in view of Adachi discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, and 11 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness value of the first video frame to maintain an original set sharpness value, based on the resolution of the first video frame being higher than a resolution of the previous video frame or based on no change in the frequency component (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality; Adachi: Fig. 1; paragraph [0055] – the video display device performs the image quality control of the image based on the distribution of the extracted frequencies of the respective frequency bands – the image quality control is performed with respect to each of contrast, black level, sharpness, color reproduction, noise reduction, etc.; paragraph [0057] – a video signal is input to a video signal processing circuit 11, and the input video signal is supplied to a frequency component analyzing device 12; paragraph [0058] – in the frequency component analyzing device 12, a frequency of each frequency band is extracted – in a histogram detecting/judging device 13, a method of image quality control is determined based on the histogram of the respective frequency bands; paragraph [0059] – in an image quality control device 14, the image quality of the video signal in the video signal processing circuit 11 is adjusted based on the method of the image quality control determined by the histogram detecting/judging device 13 – the video signal with the adjusted image quality is output to a display unit 15 so that the image of the video signal is displayed on the display unit 15).
Regarding claim 13, Nam in view of Nam et al. in view of Adachi discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, and 11 including that wherein the processor is further configured to: control the sharpness value of a second video frame whose frequency component is changed, from among the plurality of second video frames, after the first video frame is changed (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality; Adachi: Fig. 1; paragraph [0055] – the video display device performs the image quality control of the image based on the distribution of the extracted frequencies of the respective frequency bands – the image quality control is performed with respect to each of contrast, black level, sharpness, color reproduction, noise reduction, etc.; paragraph [0057] – a video signal is input to a video signal processing circuit 11, and the input video signal is supplied to a frequency component analyzing device 12; paragraph [0058] – in the frequency component analyzing device 12, a frequency of each frequency band is extracted – in a histogram detecting/judging device 13, a method of image quality control is determined based on the histogram of the respective frequency bands; paragraph [0059] – in an image quality control device 14, the image quality of the video signal in the video signal processing circuit 11 is adjusted based on the method of the image quality control determined by the histogram detecting/judging device 13 – the video signal with the adjusted image quality is output to a display unit 15 so that the image of the video signal is displayed on the display unit 15).
Regarding claim 14, Nam in view of Nam et al. in view of Adachi discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, and 11 including that wherein based on a video frame whose frequency component is changed, among the decoded video frames, and is not a scene change video frame, the processor is further configured to: control a resolution to be changed by adjusting a sharpness value of a scene change video frame which is adjacent to the video frame whose frequency component is changed (Nam: paragraph [0030] – the image quality setting unit may be configured to output a noise reduction setting value or a sharpness setting value according to the set of image quality; Nam et al.: paragraph [0019] – the picture quality may include at least one of contrast, brightness, sharpness, color depth, and color temperature; paragraph [0175] – the controller 170 may control the display unit 180 such that the picture quality is gradually changed during a set time; paragraph [0176] – the controller may determine whether a target picture quality is greater than a current picture quality (S15); paragraph [0177] – the controller 170 may compare the target picture quality with the current picture quality to determine whether the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality; paragraph [0178] – when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment variable to -1 (decrement) (S17), and when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, set the picture quality adjustment variable to +1 (increment) (S19); paragraph [0179] – the picture quality adjustment variable may mean a picture quality adjustment direction – when the target picture quality is higher than the current picture quality, the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment direction variable to a positive value, and when the target picture quality is lower than the current picture quality, the picture quality adjustment direction variable to a negative value; paragraph [0183] – the controller 170 may change the picture quality settings according to the picture quality adjustment variable (S21); paragraph [0184] – the controller 170 may set a picture quality adjustment time, and may control the display unit 180 to change the picture quality in a stepwise manner from the current picture quality to the target picture quality during the picture quality adjustment time; paragraph [0185] – the picture quality adjustment time may be a time set to minimize the user’s discomfort in viewing images due to a sudden change in picture quality; Adachi: Fig. 1; paragraph [0055] – the video display device performs the image quality control of the image based on the distribution of the extracted frequencies of the respective frequency bands – the image quality control is performed with respect to each of contrast, black level, sharpness, color reproduction, noise reduction, etc.; paragraph [0057] – a video signal is input to a video signal processing circuit 11, and the input video signal is supplied to a frequency component analyzing device 12; paragraph [0058] – in the frequency component analyzing device 12, a frequency of each frequency band is extracted – in a histogram detecting/judging device 13, a method of image quality control is determined based on the histogram of the respective frequency bands; paragraph [0059] – in an image quality control device 14, the image quality of the video signal in the video signal processing circuit 11 is adjusted based on the method of the image quality control determined by the histogram detecting/judging device 13 – the video signal with the adjusted image quality is output to a display unit 15 so that the image of the video signal is displayed on the display unit 15).
Conclusion
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
March 14, 2026