DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to an amendment filed on 8/24/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-18 were canceled, claims 20-26, 28-34, 36-38 were amended, and no new claims were added. Thus, claims 19-38 are pending for this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 8/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/24/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 38 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 38 line 2, “countered sock” should be changed to --contoured sock-- in order to correct the typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot” (claim 27) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 27, the phrase “a plate portion of a boot connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion” in lines 4-5 is unclear whether applicant is claiming a boot as part of the invention or not (applicant appears to want to claim part of a boot, but a boot has not been positively claimed, therefore it is not clear if the boot is part of the claimed invention or not).
Furthermore, the phrase “the plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot” is unclear as based on applicant’s disclosure (i.e. Fig. 1A), it appears the sock is disposed over the plate portion, rather than the plate portion disposed over the sock (see also page 10 lines 17-19). Examiner has interpreted this claim limitation to by a typographical error since there is no evidence of the plate portion being disposed over the sock and thus has interpreted the claim to read “the plate portion is configured to be disposed under a sock within a boot”.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grim (US 5,329,705).
Regarding claim 35, Grim discloses (Figs. 1-3) a method, comprising:
positioning a patient's foot in a boot (support member 20 that encloses lower leg, ankle and foot, Col. 3 lines 21-28) to ensure a correct fit of the patient's foot to the boot (via straps 28);
connecting a shin support structure (struts 16) to the boot (Col. 3 lines 25-38); and
connecting an offloading element (frame 14) to the shin support structure (see connection in Fig. 2), wherein the offloading element in combination with the shin support structure and boot prevent a tri-axial movement of the patient's foot (due to lack of hinges or other joints in the orthotic, i.e. see Fig. 3, tri-axial movement of foot is prevented).
Regarding claim 36, Grim discloses skin around the patient's foot does not contact the offloading element (prevented to contact offloading element via sole assembly 52, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 37, Grim discloses wherein the offloading element is positioned exterior from the boot (see Fig. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 38, Grim discloses wherein the boot further comprises a contoured sock (see contouring of sole assembly 52 (considered a sock) in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingimundarson (US 2005/0234378) in view of Grim (US 5,329,705).
Regarding claim 27, Inginmundarson discloses (Figs. 1-4) an apparatus, comprising:
a shin support structure (frame element 40 and fastening device 22, see Fig. 4); and
an offloading element (comprising lateral and medial support members 12,14; ankle portion 16; medial connection 18; foot plate 20) connected to the shin support structure having a stem portion twisted towards a front of a tibia of a wearer.
Inginmundarson does not disclose a plate portion of a boot connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion, wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot.
However, Grim teaches (Figs. 1-2) a plate portion of a boot (area 56 of support member 20) connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion (connected to bottom of outer sole 14 of stem portion), wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed under a sock within a boot (area 56 is disposed under sock 52, having an inflatable bladder, disposed within boot 20, see Fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Inginmundarson to include a plate portion of a boot connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion, wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot, as taught by Grim, for the purpose of providing improved cushioning to a user when walking so that user comfort is improved (Abstract Grim).
Regarding claim 28, modified Inginmundarso discloses a bladder disposed in the sock (bladder assembly 64 disposed within sock 52 Grim).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingimundarson (US 2005/0234378) in view of Grim (US 5,329,705), and further in view of Ganapathy (US 2011/0077564)
Regarding claim 29, modified Inginmundarso discloses the bladder is configured to rapidly inflate (via pump 132, Col. 5 lines 40-48 Grim), but is silent regarding rapid deflation.
However, Ganapathy teaches (Figs. 1-4) a sock having a bladder (bladder 30) that is configured to rapidly inflate (via supply line 94) and rapidly deflate (via slits 144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder of modified Ingimundarson to be configured to rapidly inflate and deflate, as taught by Ganapathy, for the purpose of ensuring the bladder is controllable to user’s current condition and improve portability by preventing bladder from being popped when not in use.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingimundarson (US 2005/0234378) in view of Grim (US 5,329,705), and further in view of Cox (US 2010/0069807).
Regarding claim 30, modified Ingimundarson discloses a shin support structure, but does not disclose the shin support structure further comprises a plurality of screws and a slide fixing, wherein the slide fixing allows the plurality of screws to be adjusted to different positions.
However, Cox teaches (Figs. 1-7) an orthotic device having a shin support (boot tread 136) that includes a plurality of screws (“screws”, paragraph [0032]) and a slide fixing (leg attachment 112) wherein the slide fixing allows the plurality of screws to be adjusted to different positions (paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shin support structure of modified Ingimundarson to include a plurality of screws and a slide fixing, wherein the slide fixing allows the plurality of screws to be adjusted to different positions, as taught by Cox, for the purpose of allowing for adjustability of the shin support to the leg length of a user so that user comfort can be improved.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingimundarson (US 2005/0234378) in view of Grim (US 5,329,705), and further in view of Hsiao-Wecksler (US 2012/0289870), Sankai (US 2010/0121232) and Lussier (US 2010/0036306).
Regarding claim 31, modified Ingimundarson discloses a shin support, but does not disclose the shin support structure further comprises: a controller; and a proximity sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device.
However, Hsiao-Wecksler discloses the shin support further comprises a controller (controller 30) that communicates with a plurality of sensors (sensors 32,34,36) that provide feedback to the controller (paragraph [0059]). Hsiao-Wecksler does not disclose the sensor is a proximity sensor wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device, however Lusslier teaches (Fig. 1-10) an apparatus comprising a proximity sensor (sensor 606, which can include a proximity sensor, paragraph [0091]) in communication with the controller (paragraph [0093]), wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device (paragraph [0093]). While Lusslier does not disclose the shin support structure comprises the proximity sensor, Sankai teaches (Fig. 1-5) an apparatus comprising a shin support member (shin fastening member 180) that includes a sensor (sensors 301,304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of modified Ingimundarson to include a controller and a sensor in communication with the controller, as taught by Hsaio-Wecksler, for the purpose of providing feedback regarding operation of the apparatus to the controller so that control of the operations of the apparatus can be improve (paragraph [0059]); and to further modify the apparatus of modified Ingimundarson such that the sensor is a proximity sensor wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device, as taught by Lusslier, for the purpose of providing a feedback loop to update the controller on the current state of the apparatus so that power can be conserved and operation can be adjusted based on presence of user (paragraph [0094]); and to further modify the proximity sensor of modified Ingimundarson to be included in the shin support structure, as taught by Sankai, as it has been held that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice because shifting the position of the sensor would not have modified operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingimundarson (US 2005/0234378) in view of Grim (US 5,329,705), Hsiao-Wecksler (US 2012/0289870), Sankai (US 2010/0121232) and Lussier (US 2010/0036306), and further in view of Ludlow (US 20090187124).
Regarding claim 32, modified Ingimundarson discloses a controller and proximity sensor, but does not disclose the controller is further configured to calculate how often the patient engages with the support device through data generated by the proximity sensor.
However, Ludlow teaches (Fig. 1) a controller (PCB, paragraph [0053]) configured to calculate how often the patient engages with the support device through data generated by the proximity sensor (uses a counter to record number of times user engages with the device, paragraph [0056] and [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of modified Ingimundarson such that controller is further configured to calculate how often the patient engages with the support device through data generated by the proximity sensor, as taught by Ludlow, for the purpose of determine user compliance for the training so that treatment program can be modified or caretakers alerted in case of poor compliance (paragraph [0085] Ludlow).
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingimundarson (US 2005/0234378) in view of Grim (US 5,329,705) and further in view of Deirmendjian (US 5,891,073).
Regarding claim 33, modified Ingimundarson discloses a sock but does not disclose the sock comprises a raised portion that allows for pressure redistribution of a patient's foot to ensure a plantar aspect of the patient's foot is supported.
However, Deirmendjian teaches (Fig. 1-7) a sock (brace including outer layer 15) that comprises a raised portion (cushion 19 at raised heel portion 17) that allows for pressure redistribution of a patient's foot to ensure a plantar aspect of the patient's foot is supported (Col. 5 lines 25-32 and Col. 6 lines 19-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sock of modified Ingimundarson to include a raised portion that allows for pressure redistribution of a patient's foot to ensure a plantar aspect of the patient's foot is supported, as taught by Deirmendjian, for the purpose of achieving the healing position during the stance phase by passively loading the ankle joint into valgus and dorsiflexion (Col. 6 lines 19-21 Deirmendjian) and providing protection during both the swing phase of the gait cycle and the stance phase without compromising performance (Col. 5 lines 25-32 Deirmendjian).
Regarding claim 34, modified Ingimundarso discloses the boot comprises a swan line (“swan line” defined by applicant to mean where the heel of wearer of boot is in position higher than front of foot, see page 21 lines 28-29. In this case, swan line of modified invention is the point on sock where heel of user is raised due to the cushion 19 of Deirmendjian, see Fig. 5 Deirmendjian), the swan line operable to prevent high heel pressures from developing within a patient's foot (Col. 5 lines 25-32 and Col. 6 lines 19-21 Deirmendjian).
Double Patenting
Claims 27-28 and 30 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 4, respectively, of US Patent 11,998,509 in view of Grim (US 5,329,705).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
For claim 1:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent claim 1
Application claim 1
An offloading support device, comprising:
a shin support structure;
an offloading element connected to the shin support structure, wherein the offloading element has a stem portion twisted towards a front of a tibia of a wearer, and
a plate portion connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion; and
a module positioned within the shin support structure, the module including a fluid reservoir connected to a bladder.
An apparatus, comprising:
a shin support structure; and
an offloading element connected to the shin support structure having a stem portion twisted towards a front of a tibia of a wearer; and
a plate portion of a boot connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion,
wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 1 is obvious over patent claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
With respect to the additional features recited in application claim 1, patent claim 1 fails to recite a plate portion of a boot connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion, wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot.
However, Grim teaches (Figs. 1-2) a plate portion of a boot (area 56 of support member 20) connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion (connected to bottom of outer sole 14 of stem portion), wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed under a sock within a boot (area 56 is disposed under sock 52, having an inflatable bladder, disposed within boot 20, see Fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of claim 1 of patent to include a plate portion of a boot connected to a bottom of the twisted stem portion, wherein the plate portion is configured to be disposed over a sock within a boot, as taught by Grim, for the purpose of providing improved cushioning to a user when walking so that user comfort is improved (Abstract Grim).
For dependent claims 28 and 30, the recited limitations are contained in patent claims 5 and 4, respectively.
Claims 29 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 11,998,509 in view of Grim (US 5,329,705) and further in view of Ganapathy (US 2011/0077564).
Regarding claim 29, modified claim 1 does not disclose discloses the bladder is configured to rapidly inflate and deflate.
However, Ganapathy teaches (Figs. 1-4) a sock having a bladder (bladder 30) that is configured to rapidly inflate (via supply line 94) and rapidly deflate (via slits 144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder of modified claim 1 of patent to be configured to rapidly inflate and deflate, as taught by Ganapathy, for the purpose of ensuring the bladder is controllable to user’s current condition and improve portability by preventing bladder from being popped when not in use.
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 11,998,509 in view of Grim (US 5,329,705) and further in view of Hsiao-Wecksler (US 2012/0289870), Sankai (US 2010/0121232) and Lussier (US 2010/0036306).
Regarding claim 31, modified claim 1 of patent discloses a shin support, but does not disclose the shin support structure further comprises: a controller; and a proximity sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device.
However, Hsiao-Wecksler discloses the shin support further comprises a controller (controller 30) that communicates with a plurality of sensors (sensors 32,34,36) that provide feedback to the controller (paragraph [0059]). Hsiao-Wecksler does not disclose the sensor is a proximity sensor wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device, however Lusslier teaches (Fig. 1-10) an apparatus comprising a proximity sensor (sensor 606, which can include a proximity sensor, paragraph [0091]) in communication with the controller (paragraph [0093]), wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device (paragraph [0093]). While Lusslier does not disclose the shin support structure comprises the proximity sensor, Sankai teaches (Fig. 1-5) an apparatus comprising a shin support member (shin fastening member 180) that includes a sensor (sensors 301,304).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of modified claim 1 of patent to include a controller and a sensor in communication with the controller, as taught by Hsaio-Wecksler, for the purpose of providing feedback regarding operation of the apparatus to the controller so that control of the operations of the apparatus can be improve (paragraph [0059]); and to further modify the apparatus of modified claim 1 of patent such that the sensor is a proximity sensor wherein the controller is configured to determine if a patient is wearing the offloading support device, as taught by Lusslier, for the purpose of providing a feedback loop to update the controller on the current state of the apparatus so that power can be conserved and operation can be adjusted based on presence of user (paragraph [0094]); and to further modify the proximity sensor of modified claim 1 of patent to be included in the shin support structure, as taught by Sankai, as it has been held that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice because shifting the position of the sensor would not have modified operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 11,998,509 in view of Grim (US 5,329,705), Hsiao-Wecksler (US 2012/0289870), Sankai (US 2010/0121232) and Lussier (US 2010/0036306), and further in view of Ludlow (US 20090187124).
Regarding claim 32, modified claim 1 of patent discloses a controller and proximity sensor, but does not disclose the controller is further configured to calculate how often the patient engages with the support device through data generated by the proximity sensor.
However, Ludlow teaches (Fig. 1) a controller (PCB, paragraph [0053]) configured to calculate how often the patient engages with the support device through data generated by the proximity sensor (uses a counter to record number of times user engages with the device, paragraph [0056] and [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of modified claim 1 of patent such that controller is further configured to calculate how often the patient engages with the support device through data generated by the proximity sensor, as taught by Ludlow, for the purpose of determine user compliance for the training so that treatment program can be modified or caretakers alerted in case of poor compliance (paragraph [0085] Ludlow).
Claim(s) 33-34 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 11,998,509 in view of Grim (US 5,329,705) and further in view of Deirmendjian (US 5,891,073).
Regarding claim 33, modified claim 1 of patent discloses a sock but does not disclose the sock comprises a raised portion that allows for pressure redistribution of a patient's foot to ensure a plantar aspect of the patient's foot is supported.
However, Deirmendjian teaches (Fig. 1-7) a sock (brace including outer layer 15) that comprises a raised portion (cushion 19 at raised heel portion 17) that allows for pressure redistribution of a patient's foot to ensure a plantar aspect of the patient's foot is supported (Col. 5 lines 25-32 and Col. 6 lines 19-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sock of modified claim 1 of patent to include a raised portion that allows for pressure redistribution of a patient's foot to ensure a plantar aspect of the patient's foot is supported, as taught by Deirmendjian, for the purpose of achieving the healing position during the stance phase by passively loading the ankle joint into valgus and dorsiflexion (Col. 6 lines 19-21 Deirmendjian) and providing protection during both the swing phase of the gait cycle and the stance phase without compromising performance (Col. 5 lines 25-32 Deirmendjian).
Regarding claim 34, modified Ingimundarso discloses the boot comprises a swan line (“swan line” defined by applicant to mean where the heel of wearer of boot is in position higher than front of foot, see page 21 lines 28-29. In this case, swan line of modified invention is the point on sock where heel of user is raised due to the cushion 19 of Deirmendjian, see Fig. 5 Deirmendjian), the swan line operable to prevent high heel pressures from developing within a patient's foot (Col. 5 lines 25-32 and Col. 6 lines 19-21 Deirmendjian).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Smith (US 2013/0289452) discloses an exoskeleton having shin sensors.
Nobbe (US 7462160) discloses a shin support that is connected to offloading element via screws.
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785