DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites that the blood vessel comprises a blood vessel of the forearm. Claim 22 recites that the blood vessel location is in an arm of the patient.
The specification does not explicitly discuss an arm or forearm location, but discloses studies involving a basilic vein of a sheep ([0076] - [0078], as published). Although the basilic vein of a sheep is understood to be located in a limb of the sheep, the disclosure of metrics performed upon a basilic vein of a sheep is insufficient to establish 112(a) possession of the genus of ‘blood vessels in the arm or forearm’ at the time of the invention.
Claims 21 - 22 are thus determined to present new matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 - 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,138. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to for ultrasound guided optoacoustic measurement of blood oxygenation. Instant claims 1 and 4 - 9 are directed towards structures for use in the method of the reference claims; and the method of instant claims 10 - 21 is suggested by the method of the reference claims. In particular:
Claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, are each suggested by reference claim 2.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of reference claim 2 to include the recited features, in order to use conventional probes of differing shapes.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of reference claim 2 to include the recited features, in order to facilitate positioning the probes.
Claim 6 is suggested by reference claim 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of reference claim 2 to include the features of reference claim 5, in order to facilitate interrogating the blood vessel.
Regarding claims 7, 18, and 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of reference claim 2 to include the recited features, in order to facilitate hygienic practices.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of reference claim 2 to include the recited features, in order to facilitate diagnosis of the patient.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of reference claim 2 to include the recited features, in order to facilitate interrogating blood vessels in the forearm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 6 and 8 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruck et al. (US 2008/0071172, of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Bruck shows a patient interface comprising a holder (attachment 3, [0090] and fig. 1A; “adapted to be adjacent to a bodily area,” [0092]) having a hole opening (space 35, [0093] and fig. 1A) that is dimensioned to securely hold an ultrasound probe (ultrasound probe 2, [0090] and fig. 1A) and, in the same hole opening, securely hold an optoacoustic probe (combination of (i) fiber 6, [0090] and fig. 1A, and (ii) opto-acoustic signal receivers, [0092]).
Examiner notes that the device of claim 1 does not comprise an ultrasound probe or an optoacoustic probe. Regarding the functional language of claim 1, applicant is reminded that recitation of intended use or functional language in a claim to a device must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use or recited functions, then it meets the claim. In this case, the patient interface of Bruck is at least physically capable of being used “for ultrasound guided optoacoustic measurement of blood oxygenation in a blood vessel,” as recited in the claim’s preamble. Moreover, the patient interface of Bruck is at least physically capable of being used with an optoacoustic probe that is “subsequently applied to a site on a patient,” as evidenced by [0100] - [0103], which discusses optoacoustic measurement of blood oxygenation (step 3, [0103]) after obtaining an ultrasound image (step 1, [0101]). Further, the patient interface of Bruck is at least physically capable of being used at a site “where the ultrasound probe is able to detect a major vein and the optoacoustic probe is able to detect blood oxygenation in the detected major vein.” The patient interface of Bruck therefore meets the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Bruck discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Further, the patient interface of Bruck is capable of being used with an ultrasound probe and optoacoustic probe that have different geometric shapes (see different probe shapes in fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 5, Bruck discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Further, the patient interface of Bruck includes a sloping rest structure adjacent to the hole opening (see any sloped surface in fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Bruck discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Bruck further shows that the holder is configured to securely hold the optoacoustic probe at an angle different from that of the ultrasound probe (see angles of the probes in fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Bruck discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Bruck further shows a processor configured to approximate blood oxygenation of the detected blood vessel (step 3, [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruck in view of Adams et al. (US 5,997,481).
Regarding claim 7, Bruck discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above.
Bruck fails to show a disposable cover that is applied over a surface of the patient interface.
Adams discloses a probe cover for an ultrasonic imaging probe (a disposable, sterile probe cover or sheath is typically placed over the probe prior to use with each patient, and discarded after the examination is complete, col. 1, lines 32 - 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Bruck to include a disposable cover that is applied over a surface of the patient interface, as taught by Adams, in order to facilitate hygienic practices, as is conventional in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's comments on page 7 regarding the Double Patenting rejections are acknowledged. The rejections are deemed proper and are maintained.
Applicant argues on page 7 that Bruck does not teach the amended features of claim 1.
This is not persuasive for reasons explained in the art rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798