DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on November 21, 2025, claims 1, 3, and 16 have been amended, and claims 19 and 21 have been canceled with claim 7 having been previously canceled. Claim 22 is new. Accordingly, claims 1-6, 8-18, 20, and 22 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on November 21, 2025, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated August 25, 2025, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6, 8-18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a back fabric panel comprises an upper end, a lower end, a left edge, a right edge, and a unitary piece of the second type of fabric” at lines 12-13. Due to the wording of the claim, it is unclear if the back fabric panel is mean to be a unitary piece, or if the back fabric panel is meant to include some additional unitary piece. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. Based on Applicant’s disclosure, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein a back fabric panel comprises an upper end, a lower end, a left edge, and a right edge, the back fabric panel being a unitary piece of the second type of fabric”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “two uninterrupted portions of fabric, wherein each of the two uninterrupted portions extends under a respective one” at line 23. It is unclear if the uninterrupted portions of fabric are meant to be portions of one or more of the two fabric panels previously recited in the claims, or if the portions are meant to be some other fabric portions separate from the two fabric panels. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. Based on Applicant’s disclosure and if meant to refer back to the previously introduced two fabric panels, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein one of the two fabric panels extends”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the jersey comprises a front fabric panel and a back fabric panel” at line 2. It is unclear how these front and back fabric panels relate to the two fabric panels of the jersey as introduced in claim 16 from which claim 17 depends. Are the front and back fabric panels the same as the two fabric panels or different panels? Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. If meant to refer to the same panels, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “the two panels comprise a front fabric panel and a back fabric panel”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 2-6, 8-15, 18, 20, and 22 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4-6, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0016238 to Camilleri (hereinafter, “Camilleri”), in view of US 2020/0037675 to Schutz (hereinafter, “Schutz”), and in view of US 2021/0219628 to Rendone (hereinafter, “Rendone”).
Regarding claim 1, Camilleri teaches athletic shorts (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; pants (100) can be shorts as depicted in Fig. 20; shorts (100) are capable of being used during athletic activities; abstract; [0034], [0058]), comprising: a front fabric panel formed of a first type of fabric and configured to cover a portion of a front side of a wearer (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; front pieces (110) of shorts (100) formed of a first fabric and capable of covering a portion of a front side of a hypothetical wearer; [0056]; Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)); and a back fabric panel formed of a second type of fabric and joined to the front fabric panel and configured to cover a portion of a back side of the wearer (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; back piece (116) of shorts formed of a second fabric and capable of covering a portion of a back side of a hypothetical wearer; back piece (116) is joined to front piece (110) along side seams (160)), wherein the back fabric panel has a greater area than the front fabric panel (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; back piece (116) has a greater area than front piece (110)); wherein the front fabric panel has a first length in a longitudinal direction extending from an upper end of the athletic shorts to a lower end of the athletic shorts, the back fabric panel has a second length in the longitudinal direction (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; front piece (110) and back piece (116) of shorts (100) each have respectively lengths in the longitudinal direction extending from upper end to lower end of shorts (100)); wherein the back fabric panel comprises an upper end, a lower end, a left edge, a right edge (See Camilleri, Fig. 20; back piece (116) includes upper end proximate waistband (106), lower end at leg openings, and left and right edges at side seams (160)), and a unitary piece of the second type of fabric that spans from the upper end of the back fabric panel to the lower end of the back fabric panel and from a left edge of the back fabric panel to the right edge of the back fabric panel (See, Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; back piece (116) is a single piece of fabric spanning between upper, lower, and left and right edges; [0047]).
That said, although the front panel and the back panel of Camilleri have a first length and a second length, respectively, Camilleri is silent to the first length being less than the second length.
However, Schutz, in a related lower body garment art for a wheelchair user, is directed to a pair of adaptive pants for a wheelchair user (See Schutz, Figs. 1A-2; abstract). More specifically, Schutz teaches a front panel and a back panel of a lower body garment having first and second lengths, respectively, the first length being less than the second length (See Schutz, Fig. 2; height of back panel of garment (100) has a greater height than that of a front panel; [0042]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to gradually increase the length of the shorts of Camilleri from front to back as disclosed by Schutz in order to allow for a more comfortable fit for a user while in a seated position, such as when seated in a wheelchair (See Schutz, [0042]; abstract).
That said, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri is silent to the second type of fabric being different from the first type of fabric and wherein the second type of fabric comprises a fabric weight heavier than a fabric weight of the first type of fabric.
However, Rendone, in a related sport garment art, is directed to a sports garment, such as a bra, formed of differing front and back fabric panels (See Rendone, Figs. 10-12; abstract). More specifically, Rendone teaches the second type of fabric being different from the first type of fabric and wherein the second type of fabric comprises a fabric weight heavier than a fabric weight of the first type of fabric (See Rendone, Figs. 10-12; front panel (1150) of garment comprises a fabric material lighter than a fabric material of back panel (1200); [0096], [0099]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the front of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri from a lighter weight material type than a back of the garment as disclosed by Rendone for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, reducing a weight of the garment overall (See Rendone, [0096], [0099]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein: a lateral direction is defined perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction, and the back fabric panel is joined to the front fabric panel at lateral seams (See Camilleri Figs. 2-4 and 20; front piece (110) and back piece (116) are joined along lateral seams (160), the lateral direction being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 4, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the portion of the back side of the wearer extends higher on the wearer than the portion of the front side of the wearer (See Schutz, Figs. 1A-2; the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri as described above as modified by Schutz extend higher on back side of wearer than front side; Examiner notes that the limitation further describes functional limitations of claim 1; that said, the portion of the back side of the hypothetical wearer is capable of extending higher on the hypothetical wearer than the portion of the front side of the hypothetical wearer).
Regarding claim 5, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches a waistband defining the upper end of the athletic shorts, wherein the waistband comprises a curved shape configured to rise higher above the back fabric panel than above the front fabric panel (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4; waistband (106) of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri as described above as modified by Schutz would have a curved shape that rises above the back panel higher than the front panel; waistband (106) defines an upper end of the modified athletic shorts).
Regarding claim 6, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 5 above) further teaches wherein the waistband has an arcuate lateral profile that curves upward from above a midpoint of the front fabric panel to above a midpoint of the back fabric panel (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4; waistband (106) of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri as described above as modified by Schutz would have an arcuate lateral profile that curves upward from above a midpoint of front panel to above a midpoint of back panel).
Claim 3, as best can be understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO2014/155487 to Takamoto et al. (hereinafter, “Takamoto”).
Regarding claim 3, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein: the front fabric panel comprises an upper end and a lower end that are opposite ends of the front fabric panel along the longitudinal direction (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; front piece (110) of shorts (100) includes upper end and lower end at opposite ends of front piece (110) along height of shorts (100)), the upper end and the lower end of the back fabric panel are opposite ends of the back fabric panel along the longitudinal direction (See Camilleri, Figs. 2-4 and 20; back piece (116) includes upper end and lower end at opposite ends of back piece (116) along height of shorts (100)), the upper end of the back fabric panel is higher along the longitudinal direction than the upper end of the front fabric panel (See Schutz, Figs. 1A-2; the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri as described above as modified by Schutz include back panel that extends higher along longitudinal direction than upper end of front panel).
That said, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri is silent to the lower end of the front fabric panel is lower along the longitudinal direction that the lower end of the back fabric panel.
However, Takamoto, in a related lower body garment art, is directed to lower body wear for sports (See Takamoto, Figs. 1A-1B; abstract). More specifically, Takamoto teaches the lower end of the front fabric panel is lower along the longitudinal direction that the lower end of the back fabric panel (See Takamoto, Fig. 1A; lower end of front of shorts is lower than lower end of back of shorts along height of shorts).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to make the lower end of the front panel of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri lower than the lower end of the back as disclosed by Takamoto for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, aesthetic purposes as desired by the wearer and/or to provide additional protective coverage for the front side of the wearer’s leg as desired by the wearer.
Claims 8-9, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2016/0040325 to Hussey et al. (Hereinafter, “Hussey”).
Regarding claim 8, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the first type of fabric comprises a breathability less than a breathability of the second type of fabric.
However, Hussey, in a related sport garment art, is directed to a textile construction for a sport garment in various embodiments (See Hussey, Figs. 1-8B; abstract). More specifically, Hussey teaches wherein the first type of fabric comprises a breathability less than a breathability of the second type of fabric (second textile panel positioned in areas of desired breathability is a knitted eyelet mesh fabric having increased elasticity and breathability compared to other portions of the garment; See Hussey, [0113]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the back panel of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri from the knitted eyelet mesh fabric disclosed by Hussey for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing increased breathability and flexibility on the rear of the garment as desired by Camilleri which seeks improved comfort for a wearer while in a seated position such as a wheelchair user (See Camilleri, Fig. 2; [0001]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the first type of fabric comprises a stretchability less than a stretchability of the second type of fabric.
However, Hussey, in a related sport garment art, is directed to a textile construction for a sport garment in various embodiments (See Hussey, Figs. 1-8B; abstract). More specifically, Hussey teaches wherein the first type of fabric comprises a stretchability less than a stretchability of the second type of fabric (second textile panel positioned in areas of desired breathability and flexibility is a knitted eyelet mesh fabric having increased elasticity and breathability compared to other portions of the garment; See Hussey, [0113]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the back panel of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri from the knitted eyelet mesh fabric disclosed by Hussey for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing increased breathability and flexibility on the rear of the garment as desired by Camilleri which seeks improved comfort for a wearer while in a seated position such as a wheelchair user (See Camilleri, Fig. 2; [0001]-[0005]).
Claim 10, as best can be understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2010/0071115 to Sadato (hereinafter, “Sadato”).
Regarding claim 10, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the first type of fabric comprises an abrasion resistance greater than an abrasion resistance of the second type of fabric.
However, Sadato, in a related sport garment art, is directed to an improved abrasion resistance fabric for use in textile products such as clothing products (See Sadato, abstract). More specifically, Sadato teaches wherein the first type of fabric comprises an abrasion resistance greater than an abrasion resistance of the second type of fabric (woven fabrics, such twill, are preferable for use in sports clothing which require abrasion resistance; See Sadato, [0065]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the front panel of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri from the twill weave fabric disclosed by Sadato for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing increased abrasion resistance on an exposed outer surface of a garment made to be worn by a seated wearer, wherein the back panel would not be exposed when the wearer is seated (See Camilleri, Fig. 2; [0043]-[0044]; Sadato, [0065]).
Claims 11-12, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sadato and in view of Hussey.
Regarding claim 11, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the first type of fabric is woven.
However, Sadato, in a related sport garment art, is directed to an improved abrasion resistance fabric for use in textile products such as clothing products (See Sadato, abstract). More specifically, Sadato teaches wherein the first type of fabric is woven (woven fabrics, such twill, are preferable for use in sports clothing which require abrasion resistance; See Sadato, [0065]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the front panel of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri from the twill weave fabric disclosed by Sadato for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing increased abrasion resistance on an exposed outer surface of a garment made to be worn by a seated wearer, wherein the back panel would not be exposed when the wearer is seated (See Camilleri, Fig. 2; [0043]-[0044]; Sadato, [0065]).
That said, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz, Rendone, and Sadato, as discussed above) is silent to the second type of fabric is knitted.
However, Hussey, in a related sport garment art, is directed to a textile construction for a sport garment in various embodiments (See Hussey, Figs. 1-8B; abstract). More specifically, Hussey teaches the second type of fabric is knitted (second textile panel positioned in areas of desired breathability and flexibility is a knitted eyelet mesh fabric having increased elasticity and breathability compared to other portions of the garment; See Hussey, [0113]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the back panel of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri from the knitted eyelet mesh fabric disclosed by Hussey for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing increased breathability and flexibility on the rear of the garment as desired by Camilleri which seeks improved comfort for a wearer while in a seated position such as a wheelchair user (See Camilleri, Fig. 2; [0001]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz, Rendone, Sadato, and Hussey, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 11 above) further teaches wherein the first type of fabric is twill (front panel, as modified above, is a twill woven fabric; See Sadato, [0065]) and the second type of fabric is mock eyelet (back panel, as modified, is a knitted eyelet mesh fabric; See Hussey, [0113]).
Claims 13-15, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN 6,347,413 to Sciscente et al. (hereinafter, “Sciscente”).
Regarding claim 13, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz and Rendone, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to left and right pockets located between the front fabric panel and the back fabric panel, and pads, wherein one of the pads is located within each of the left pocket and the right pocket.
However, Sciscente, in a related garment art, is directed to a lower body garment having a pair of pads positioned in pockets (See Sciscente, Figs. 1-9; abstract). More specifically, Sciscente teaches left and right pockets located between the front fabric panel and the back fabric panel, and pads, wherein one of the pads is located within each of the left pocket and the right pocket (See Sciscente, Fig. 9; shorts (16) include pads (10) positionable in respective pockets on hip portion of shorts which would be located between front and back panels of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the hip pockets and pads of Sciscente at a hip portion of the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri in order to provide padded protection at a hip area of the wearer for lessening injury from impacts (See Sciscente, Col. 1, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 14, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz, Rendone and Sciscente, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 13 above) further teaches wherein the left pocket and the right pocket are each configured to be positioned at a respective hip of the wearer (See Sciscente, Fig. 9; pockets and pads (10) are capable of being positioned at respective hips of a hypothetical wearer).
Regarding claim 15, the modified athletic shorts of Camilleri (i.e., Camilleri in view of Schutz, Rendone and Sciscente, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 13 above) further teaches wherein the left pocket and the right pocket are open pockets and the pads are removably disposed in the pockets (See Sciscente, Fig. 9; pads (10) are capable of being removably disposed in pockets having slitted openings).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant’s arguments, filed November 21, 2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as Applicant’s arguments appear to be drawn only to the newly amended limitations and previously presented rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18, 20, and 22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732