DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,293,168 to Pirone in view of GB 2 194 276 A Davenport further in view of US 2017/0332818 A1 to Jones.
Regarding claim 1, Pirone discloses a compression framing system (Fig.2) configured to engage with opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.1) of a building opening, the compression framing system having at least one compression frame (Fig.2), each compression frame comprising: a first compression arm (1, left, Fig.2) and a second compression arm (right, Fig.2), each compression arm having: a body member (hollow tube of 1 and internal tube 4) having an inner body end (end of 1 toward the center of the frame, Fig.2) and an outer body end (ends of 1 attached to 2) associated with the inner body end; and a foot (2) configured to engage with the outer body end of the body member (Fig.2), the foot (2) being further configured to engage directly with a corresponding opposing mounting surface of the opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.1); an inner support beam (5) configured to engage with the inner body end of the first compression arm (5 engages with tube 4 within 1) and the inner body end of the second compression arm (5 engages with the other tube 4 within 1) to secure the first compression arm to the second compression arm (Fig.2); and an expansion controller (threaded portions of 4 and 5) associated with the body member of the first compression arm (Fig.2); wherein the expansion controller is configured to selectively adjust a separation distance between the foot of the first compression arm and the foot of the second compression arm (the distance adjusts by turning the threaded portions).
Pirone does not disclose a shock bracket configured to engage with the body member; wherein each shock bracket is configured to engage with a protective structure to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces.
Pirone also does not disclose wherein the foot is a pivot foot.
Davenport discloses a compression frame (6) having a shock bracket (11) configured to engage with the body member; wherein each shock bracket is configured to engage with a protective structure (2) to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.2).
Jones discloses wherein each shoe is pivotally engaged with one of the compression arms (Fig. 1a-1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the compression frame of Pirone with a bracket as taught by Davenport so to enable a user to secure a security panel to a building opening thereby enabling the closure of the opening without the need to use mechanical fasteners thereby preserving the structural framing of the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have pivotally attached the foot to the compression arm as taught by Jones so to enable the compression frame to securely engage the opening even in an instance when the compression frame is not installed exactly perpendicular to the framing members of the opening.
Regarding claim 2, Davenport discloses wherein each shock bracket is configured to reduce a shock exerted on an attached compression frame by an impact made to the protective structure (an impact is capable of being spread through the structure and through the multiple brackets, thereby capable of reducing the shown to the frame).
Regarding claim 8, Pirone discloses a compression framing system (Fig.2) configured to engage with opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.1) of a building opening, the compression framing system having at least one compression frame (Fig.2), each compression frame comprising: a first compression arm (1 on left, Fig.2) and a second compression arm (1 on right, Fig.2), each compression arm having: a body member (hollow tube 1 with inner tube 4); and a foot (2) configured to engage with the body member (Fig.2), the foot being further configured to engage directly with a corresponding opposing mounting surface (Fig.1) of the opposing mounting surfaces, wherein the engagement of the foot with the body member allows a corresponding portion of the foot to be selectively rotated (foot threads into the body, allowing rotation); and an expansion controller (thread on rod 5) associated with the first compression arm and the second compression arm; wherein the expansion controller is configured to selectively adjust a separation distance between the foot of the first compression arm and the foot of the second compression arm (turning along threads of rod 5 allow distance to be altered).
Pirone does not disclose a bracket assembly configured to engage with the body member; wherein each bracket assembly is configured to engage with a protective structure to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces.
Pirone also does not disclose wherein the foot is a pivot foot.
Davenport discloses a compression frame (6) having a shock bracket (11) configured to engage with the body member; wherein each shock bracket is configured to engage with a protective structure (2) to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.2).
Jones discloses wherein each shoe is pivotally engaged with one of the compression arms (Fig. 1a-1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the compression frame of Pirone with a bracket as taught by Davenport so to enable a user to secure a security panel to a building opening thereby enabling the closure of the opening without the need to use mechanical fasteners thereby preserving the structural framing of the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have pivotally attached the foot to the compression arm as taught by Jones so to enable the compression frame to securely engage the opening even in an instance when the compression frame is not installed exactly perpendicular to the framing members of the opening.
Claim(s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,293,168 to Pirone in view of GB 2 194 276 A Davenport.
Regarding claim 13, Pirone discloses a compression framing system (Fig.2) configured to engage with opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.1) of a building opening, the compression framing system having at least one compression frame (Fig.2), each compression frame comprising: a first compression arm (1 on left with internal tube 4) and a second compression arm (1 on the right with internal tube 4), each compression arm having: a body member (1); and a surface mount (2) associated with the body member, the surface mount being configured to engage directly with a corresponding opposing mounting surface (Fig.1) of the opposing mounting surfaces; an expansion controller (5 with threads and inner tube 4) associated with the first compression arm and the second compression arm; wherein the expansion controller is configured to selectively adjust a separation distance between the surface mount of the first compression arm and the surface mount of the second compression arm (members are moved along the threads to alter the distance). wherein each shock bracket is configured to engage with a protective structure to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces.
Pirone does not disclose a shock bracket configured to engage with the body member; wherein each shock bracket is configured to engage with a protective structure to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces.
Davenport discloses a compression frame (6) having a shock bracket (11) configured to engage with the body member; wherein each shock bracket is configured to engage with a protective structure (2) to secure the protective structure to the opposing mounting surfaces (Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the compression frame of Pirone with a bracket as taught by Davenport so to enable a user to secure a security panel to a building opening thereby enabling the closure of the opening without the need to use mechanical fasteners thereby preserving the structural framing of the opening.
Regarding claim 17, Davenport discloses wherein the compression framing system comprises two compression frames (top and bottom of Fig.1), wherein a first compression frame of the two compression frames is configured to be parallel with a second compression frame of the two compression frames (Fig.1) upon engagement of the compression framing system with the opposing mounting surfaces (Fig. 1 and 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8, 13, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, 12, 14, 17, 19, and 20 of copending Application No. 18/173,601 (reference application; the application has been allowed but has yet to be published as a patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elements of the instant claims are included within the co-pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the double patenting rejection has been overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose the combination of elements forming the compression framing system, specifically the relationship between the compression arms, the brackets, and the pivot feet/surface mount. The claims deemed allowable above, claims 3, 6, 7, 9, 14, 18, and 20, all further limit either the pivot foot, the expansion controller, or the shock bracket in a way which is not taught in the relevant areas of the prior art. One would not have been motivated to combine taught elements of prior art in order to form the compression framing system of the present invention. Further, the prior art of record does not disclose the combination of the compression framing system including the security glass frame.
Regarding the pivot foot, the prior art of record would not have been motivated to form the pivot foot with mounting tabs engaging the body, the mounting tabs engaging a fixed pivot axis, and a pivot shoe pivotally secured to the fixed pivot axis in addition to the recited elements of the compression framing element itself. Similarly, the prior art fails to disclose details of the shock bracket in combination with the elements of the compression framing element.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635