DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered. They are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/22/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. Applicant submits that the combination does not teach continuously curved radial elements. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schone, Loercher and Somahara.
Applicant further submits that there is no motivation to combine Schone and Loercher because reversing the part so that the connection elements extends inward rather outward would obstruct airflow and increase turbulence. It has been held that the mere reversal of parts is an obvious modification. See In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schone US 9932990 in view of Loercher US 20210164495 and Somahara US 20030138321.
Regarding claim 1, Schone discloses a guiding grid (Figs. 5-8) in contact with an inlet of a fan, wherein the guiding grid comprises:
a plurality of circumferential elements (115) disposed concentrically relative to a central axis, spaced apart from each other in a radial direction, and forming different heights relative to a bottom surface in a side direction perpendicular to the central axis, wherein the heights relative to the bottom surface are reduced along the radial direction, and a closest one of the circumferential elements adjacent to the central axis forms a top height relative to the bottom surface, wherein the radial direction points outward from the central axis (Fig. 5);
a plurality of radial elements (114) connected between each of two adjacent circumferential elements, wherein the plurality of radial elements are disconnected with the central axis in the radial direction; and
from the farthest one of the circumferential elements a plurality of connection elements (119, Fig. 7) connected with each other through a farthest one of the circumferential elements, wherein the plurality of connection elements are directly connected with the farthest one of the circumferential elements and extend from the farthest one of the circumferential elements away the central axis (Figs. 7-8); and
the plurality of radial elements are successively connected with the plurality of circumferential elements from inside to outside (Fig. 5).
However, it does not teach that the connection elements toward the central axis; and that the plurality of radial elements form a continuous curve.
Loercher teaches a fan grid comprising connection elements (18) that extend away from (Figs 3-4) and towards (Figs. 6-7) the central axis.
Because both Schone and Loercher teach that fan grid connection elements can extend toward or away from the central axis, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the direction the connection elements extend as taught by Schone by reversing the direction as taught by Loercher in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a connection means for the fan guard.
Somahara teaches a fan guard wherein the plurality of radial elements (27) form a continuous curve (Fig. 2) in order to suppress pressure drop and noise ([0037]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the radial elements as taught by Schone by making them continuously curved as taught by Somahara in order to suppress pressure drop and noise.
Regarding claim 2, Schone further discloses that the plurality of connection elements are disposed on the bottom surface and equally spaced apart around the central axis (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Schone further discloses that each of the plurality of circumferential elements has an inclination angle relative to the central axis, and the inclination angles of the plurality of circumferential elements are increased along the radial direction outwardly, wherein the inclination angles are ranged from 0 to 90 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Schone further discloses that the inclination angle of the farthest one of the plurality of circumferential elements relative to the central axis is 90 (Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745