DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered. They are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Loercher does not teach radial or circumferential elements and thus it is not proper to be relied upon for teaching the connection elements facing toward the central axis. This argument is not persuasive since the design of the grid (whether honeycomb cells or a combination of radial and circumferential elements forming trapezoidal cells) bares no relation to direction of the connection elements or their function which is to secure the guard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schone US 9932990 in view of Loercher US 20210164495.
Regarding claim 1, Schone discloses a guiding grid (Figs. 5-8) in contact with an inlet of a fan, wherein the guiding grid comprises:
a plurality of circumferential elements (115) disposed concentrically relative to a central axis, spaced apart from each other in a radial direction, and forming different heights relative to a bottom surface in a side direction perpendicular to the central axis, wherein the heights relative to the bottom surface are reduced along the radial direction, and a closest one of the circumferential elements adjacent to the central axis forms a top height relative to the bottom surface, wherein the radial direction points outward from the central axis (Fig. 5);
a plurality of radial elements (114) connected between each of two adjacent circumferential elements, wherein the plurality of radial elements are disconnected with the central axis in the radial direction; and
from the farthest one of the circumferential elements a plurality of connection elements (119, Fig. 7) connected with each other through a farthest one of the circumferential elements, wherein the plurality of connection elements are directly connected with the farthest one of the circumferential elements and extend from the farthest one of the circumferential elements away the central axis (Figs. 7-8).
However, it does not teach that the connection elements toward the central axis.
Loercher teaches a fan grid comprising connection elements (18) that extend away from (Figs 3-4) and towards (Figs. 6-7) the central axis.
Because both Schone and Loercher teach that fan grid connection elements can extend toward or away from the central axis, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the direction the connection elements extend as taught by Schone by reversing the direction as taught by Loercher in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a connection means for the fan guard.
Regarding claim 2, Schone further discloses that the plurality of connection elements are disposed on the bottom surface and equally spaced apart around the central axis (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Schone further discloses that the plurality of radial elements are successively connected with the plurality of circumferential elements from inside to outside, and form a continuous straight line or a continuous curve (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Schone further discloses that each of the plurality of circumferential elements has an inclination angle relative to the central axis, and the inclination angles of the plurality of circumferential elements are increased along the radial direction outwardly, wherein the inclination angles are ranged from 0 to 90 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Schone further discloses that the inclination angle of the farthest one of the plurality of circumferential elements relative to the central axis is 90 (Fig. 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745