DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/641,177 filed on 06/01/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S 20240007236, Jan. 4, 2024) in view of Akoum et al. US 20220173855, Jun. 2, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, MANOLAKOS discloses a method performed by an apparatus on a user equipment (UE) side, the method comprising: generating measurement data that associates a measurement with location information associated with the apparatus( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system);
wherein the location information associated with the apparatus is obtained before the transmitting the measurement data(page 7, par(0052), line 1-10, UE access to WLAN, LMF use LPP to obtain a location of UE that just described for UE access to a gNB, LPP messages transferred between a WLAN and the LMF, via the AMF and N3IWF to support network-based positioning of UE and transfer of other location information from WLAN to LMF, LPP messages transferred between N3IWF and the LMF, via the AMF, to support network-based positioning of UE based on location related information and location measurements, LPP and LPP messages transferred between the UE and the LMF via the AMF, N3IWF, and serving WLAN for UE to support UE assisted or UE based positioning of UE by LMF).
MANOLAKOS discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting the measurement data carrying a measurement result of the measurement and the location information to a device in a radio access network (RAN) for use by the RAN.
Akoum is the same field of invention teaches transmitting the measurement data carrying a measurement result of the measurement and the location information to a device in a radio access network (RAN) for use by the RAN(page 5, par(0047), line 10-20, the radio access network(RAN) for resource allocation, determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE, and a positioning server wirelessly connected to the UE make decisions on the positioning method and the measurements needed at the base station and at the UE. The positioning server collect the information and send the velocity and positioning info back to the client).
MANOLAKOS and Akoum are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based transmitting the measurement data carrying the location information to a device in a radio access network (RAN) device for use by the RAN the teaching of MANOLAKOS to include the determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE, and a positioning server wirelessly connected to the UE teaching of Akoum because it is providing significant venue for localization improvements, through the use of large bandwidths, massive antenna arrays and network densification.
Regarding Claim 2, MANOLAKOS discloses obtaining a data format for the measurement data, wherein the data format defines at least a field for the location information (page 4, par (0037), line 1-10, location of the UE estimated at least in part based on measurements of RF signals communicated between the UE and one or more other UEs).
Regarding Claim 3, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data defined by the data format indicates at least one of environment information; channel information ( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment including two TRPs (format) producing directional beams for transmitting RF reference signals, and a UE);
first measurement results corresponding to first measured parameters that are configured by the RAN ( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE);
or second measurement results corresponding to second measured parameters that are determined by the apparatus ( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE).
Regarding Claim 4, MANOLAKOS discloses transmitting identifier (ID) information that indicates a particular wireless channel parameter measured by the apparatus or a particular environment parameter measured by the apparatus ( page 3, par (0034), line 1-10, cell refer to a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station and associated with an identifier for distinguishing neighboring cells operating via the same or a different carrier), the particular wireless channel parameter or the particular environment parameter represented as the measurement result in the measurement data( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment).
Regarding Claim 5, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data is transmitted in physical layer control signaling ( page 7, par (0054), line 1-5, wireless communications in the 5G NR Positioning System utilize a physical-layer communication).
Regarding Claim 6, MANOLAKOS discloses a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of control information carrying the measurement data is scrambled by an ID common to a group of apparatuses ( page 9, par (0072), line 5-10, channel estimation is performed, the data of the shared physical channel demodulated and decoded, allowing the received device to access the data of the shared physical channel. The accuracy verified by using cyclic redundancy check (CRC)).
Regarding Claim 7, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data is transmitted in a data channel ( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE).
Regarding Claim 8, MANOLAKOS discloses a CRC of control information scheduling the measurement data in the data channel is scrambled by an ID common to a group of apparatuses ( page 9, par (0072), line 5-10, channel estimation is performed, the data of the shared physical channel demodulated and decoded, allowing the received device to access the data of the shared physical channel. The accuracy verified by using cyclic redundancy check (CRC)).
Regarding Claim 9, MANOLAKOS discloses a measurement data configuration is transmitted by the apparatus or received from the RAN(page 5, par(0047), line 10-20, the radio access network(RAN) for resource allocation, determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE), and the measurement data configuration indicates at least one of first granularity of a location size indicated by the location information( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system);
second granularity of the measurement data; or a number of locations in a measurement report carrying the measurement data ( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated locations of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE).
Regarding Claim 10, MANOLAKOS discloses the location information indicates at least one of: a coordinate representing a location of the apparatus in space; an identifier of a region in which the apparatus is located; or a geographic coordinate equal to or based on the coordinate data ( page 10, par (0089), line 1-10, A location tracking component facilitates geographically locating the handset, this can occur when the user initiates the feedback signal).
Regarding Claim 11, MANOLAKOS discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations including generating measurement data that associates a measurement with location information associated with the apparatus( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system); the measurement data carrying a measurement result of the measurement and the location information, wherein the location information associated with the apparatus is obtained before the transmitting the measurement data(page 7, par(0052), line 1-10, UE access to WLAN, LMF use LPP to obtain a location of UE that just described for UE access to a gNB, LPP messages transferred between a WLAN and the LMF, via the AMF and N3IWF to support network-based positioning of UE and transfer of other location information from WLAN to LMF, LPP messages transferred between N3IWF and the LMF, via the AMF, to support network-based positioning of UE based on location related information and location measurements, LPP and LPP messages transferred between the UE and the LMF via the AMF, N3IWF, and serving WLAN for UE to support UE assisted or UE based positioning of UE by LMF).
MANOLAKOS discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except and transmitting outputting, for transmission to a device in a radio access network (RAN) for use by the RAN.
Akoum is the same field of invention teaches transmitting outputting, for transmission to a device in a radio access network (RAN) for use by the RAN(page 5, par(0047), line 10-20, the radio access network(RAN) for resource allocation, determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE, and a positioning server wirelessly connected to the UE make decisions on the positioning method and the measurements needed at the base station and at the UE. The positioning server collect the information and send the velocity and positioning info back to the client).
MANOLAKOS and Akoum are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based transmitting the measurement data carrying the location information to a device in a radio access network (RAN) device for use by the RAN the teaching of MANOLAKOS to include the determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE, and a positioning server wirelessly connected to the UE teaching of Akoum because it is providing significant venue for localization improvements, through the use of large bandwidths, massive antenna arrays and network densification.
Regarding Claim 12, MANOLAKOS discloses obtaining a data format for the measurement data, wherein the data format comprises defines at least a field for the location information(page 4, par (0037), line 1-10, location of the UE estimated at least in part based on measurements of RF signals communicated between the UE and one or more other UEs).
Regarding Claim 13, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data defined by the data format indicates at least one of: environment information; channel information ( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment including two TRPs (format) producing directional beams for transmitting RF reference signals, and a UE); first measurement results corresponding to first measured parameters that are configured by the RAN( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE); or second measurement results corresponding to second measured parameters that are determined by the apparatus( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE).
Regarding Claim 14, MANOLAKOS discloses transmitting identifier (ID) information that indicates a particular wireless channel parameter measured by the apparatus or a particular environment parameter measured by the apparatus( page 3, par (0034), line 1-10, cell refer to a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station and associated with an identifier for distinguishing neighboring cells operating via the same or a different carrier), the particular wireless channel parameter or the particular environment parameter represented as a measurement result in the measurement data ( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment).
Regarding Claim 15, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data is for transmission in physical layer control signaling ( page 7, par (0054), line 1-5, wireless communications in the 5G NR Positioning System utilize a physical-layer communication).
Regarding Claim 16, MANOLAKOS discloses a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of control information carrying the measurement data is scrambled by an ID common to a group of apparatuses ( page 9, par (0072), line 5-10, channel estimation is performed, the data of the shared physical channel demodulated and decoded, allowing the received device to access the data of the shared physical channel. The accuracy verified by using cyclic redundancy check (CRC)).
Regarding Claim 17, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data is for transmission in a data channel (page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE).
Regarding Claim 18, MANOLAKOS discloses a CRC of control information scheduling the measurement data in the data channel is scrambled by an ID common to a group of apparatuses (page 9, par (0072), line 5-10, channel estimation is performed, the data of the shared physical channel demodulated and decoded, allowing the received device to access the data of the shared physical channel. The accuracy verified by using cyclic redundancy check (CRC)).
Regarding Claim 19, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data configuration indicates at least one of first granularity of a location size indicated by the location information( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system); second granularity of the measurement data; or a number of locations in a measurement report carrying the measurement data ( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated locations of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE).
MANOLAKOS discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a measurement data configuration is to be transmitted by the apparatus or received from the RAN.
Akoum is the same field of invention teaches a measurement data configuration is to be transmitted by the apparatus or received from the RAN (page 5, par(0047), line 10-20, the radio access network(RAN) for resource allocation, determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE).
Regarding Claim 20, MANOLAKOS discloses the location information indicates at least one of: a coordinate representing a location of the apparatus in space; an identifier of a region in which the apparatus is located; or a geographic coordinate equal to or based on the coordinate (page10, par (0089), line 1-10, A location tracking component facilitates geographically locating the handset, this can occur when the user initiates the feedback signal).
Regarding Claim 21, MANOLAKOS discloses method performed by a device in a radio access network (RAN), the method comprising receiving, from an apparatus on a user equipment (UE) side that wirelessly communicates with the RAN( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE), measurement data that associates a measurement that was performed by the apparatus with location information associated with the apparatus( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system); wherein the location information associated with the apparatus is obtained before the receiving the measurement data(page 7, par(0052), line 1-10, UE access to WLAN, LMF use LPP to obtain a location of UE that just described for UE access to a gNB, LPP messages transferred between a WLAN and the LMF, via the AMF and N3IWF to support network-based positioning of UE and transfer of other location information from WLAN to LMF, LPP messages transferred between N3IWF and the LMF, via the AMF, to support network-based positioning of UE based on location related information and location measurements, LPP and LPP messages transferred between the UE and the LMF via the AMF, N3IWF, and serving WLAN for UE to support UE assisted or UE based positioning of UE by LMF).
MANOLAKOS discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except decoding the measurement data to obtain the location information and a measurement result of the measurement.
Akoum is the same field of invention teaches decoding the measurement data to obtain the location information and a measurement result of the measurement (page 10, par (0088-0089), line 1-20, video processing component provided for decoding multimedia content include a video component for processing video content received and, for recording and transmitting video content, a location tracking component facilitates geographically locating the handset).
MANOLAKOS and Akoum are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based transmitting the measurement data carrying the location information to a device in a radio access network (RAN) device for use by the RAN the teaching of MANOLAKOS to include the determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE, and a positioning server wirelessly connected to the UE teaching of Akoum because it is providing significant venue for localization improvements, through the use of large bandwidths, massive antenna arrays and network densification.
Regarding Claim 22, MANOLAKOS discloses obtaining a data format for the measurement data, wherein the data format defines at least a field for the location information (page 4, par (0037), line 1-10, location of the UE estimated at least in part based on measurements of RF signals communicated between the UE and one or more other UEs).
Regarding Claim 23, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data defined by the data format indicates at least one of: environment information; channel information ( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment including two TRPs (format) producing directional beams for transmitting RF reference signals, and a UE); first measurement results corresponding to first measured parameters that are configured by the RAN( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE); or second measurement results corresponding to second measured parameters that are determined by the apparatus( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE).
Regarding Claim 24, MANOLAKOS discloses receiving identifier (ID) information that indicates a particular wireless channel parameter measured by the apparatus or a particular environment parameter measured by the apparatus ( page 3, par (0034), line 1-10, cell refer to a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station and associated with an identifier for distinguishing neighboring cells operating via the same or a different carrier), the particular wireless channel parameter or the particular environment parameter represented as the measurement result in the measurement data( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment).
Regarding Claim 25, MANOLAKOS discloses the particular wireless channel parameter is one of: a large scale parameter; a small scale parameter; or a Doppler-domain parameter (page 8, par(0067), line 1-5, During uplink positioning at network node, after estimating a channel in the time-frequency domain, the channel converted to the delay doppler domain, and the characteristics of the channel extracted the channel characteristics comprise the location information about the UE).
Regarding Claim 26, MANOLAKOS discloses a device for deployment in a radio access network (RAN), the device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the device to perform operations including: receiving, from an apparatus on a user equipment (UE) side that wirelessly communicates with the RAN( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system, par(0133), processes of a specific apparatus, such as a special purpose computer or a similar special purpose electronic computing device), measurement data that associates a measurement that was performed by the apparatus with location information associated with the apparatus( page 4, par (0036), line 1-10, the estimated location of UE based on measurements of RF signals sent from and received by the UE, these measurements provide information regarding the relative distance and angle of the UE from one or more components in the positioning(location) system); wherein the location information associated with the apparatus is obtained before the receiving the measurement data(page 7, par(0052), line 1-10, UE access to WLAN, LMF use LPP to obtain a location of UE that just described for UE access to a gNB, LPP messages transferred between a WLAN and the LMF, via the AMF and N3IWF to support network-based positioning of UE and transfer of other location information from WLAN to LMF, LPP messages transferred between N3IWF and the LMF, via the AMF, to support network-based positioning of UE based on location related information and location measurements, LPP and LPP messages transferred between the UE and the LMF via the AMF, N3IWF, and serving WLAN for UE to support UE assisted or UE based positioning of UE by LMF).
MANOLAKOS discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except decoding the measurement data to obtain the location information and a measurement result of the measurement.
Akoum is the same field of invention teaches decoding the measurement data to obtain the location information and a measurement result of the measurement (page 10, par (0088-0089), line 1-20, video processing component provided for decoding multimedia content include a video component for processing video content received and, for recording and transmitting video content, a location tracking component facilitates geographically locating the handset).
MANOLAKOS and Akoum are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based transmitting the measurement data carrying the location information to a device in a radio access network (RAN) device for use by the RAN the teaching of MANOLAKOS to include the determine positioning the client make a positioning request for the target UE, and a positioning server wirelessly connected to the UE teaching of Akoum because it is providing significant venue for localization improvements, through the use of large bandwidths, massive antenna arrays and network densification.
Regarding Claim 27, MANOLAKOS discloses obtaining a data format for the measurement data, wherein the data format comprises at least the location information (page 4, par (0037), line 1-10, location of the UE estimated at least in part based on measurements of RF signals communicated between the UE and one or more other UEs).
Regarding Claim 28, MANOLAKOS discloses the measurement data defined by the data format indicates at least one of environment information( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment including two TRPs (format) producing directional beams for transmitting RF reference signals, and a UE); channel information; first measurement results corresponding to first measured parameters that are configured by the RAN( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE); or second measurement results corresponding to second measured parameters that are determined by the apparatus( page 5, par (0045), line 1-10, Base stations in the NG-RAN include a next generation evolved Node B, connected directly via other gNBs and provide LTE wireless access to UE).
Regarding Claim 29, MANOLAKOS discloses receiving identifier (ID) information that indicates a particular wireless channel parameter measured by the apparatus or a particular environment parameter measured by the apparatus ( page 3, par (0034), line 1-10, cell refer to a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station and associated with an identifier for distinguishing neighboring cells operating via the same or a different carrier), the particular wireless channel parameter or the particular environment parameter represented as the measurement result in the measurement data( page 8, par (0064), line 1-10, regarding the information of beams in a positioning system providing a simplified environment).
Regarding Claim 30, MANOLAKOS discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the particular wireless channel parameter is one of: a large-scale parameter; a small-scale parameter; or a Doppler-domain parameter.
Akoum is the same field of invention teaches the particular wireless channel parameter is one of: a large scale parameter; a small scale parameter; or a Doppler-domain parameter (page 8, par (0067), line 1-5, During uplink positioning at network node, after estimating a channel in the time-frequency domain, the channel converted to the delay doppler domain, and the characteristics of the channel extracted the channel characteristics comprise the location information about the UE).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S 20240007236, Jan. 4, 2024) in view of Akoum et al. US 20220173855, Jun. 2, 2022).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) both claims 4 and 6 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 11 would be allowable if (i) both claims 14 and 16 are incorporated into the independent claim 11.
Claim 21 would be allowable if (i) both claims 14 and 16 are incorporated into the independent claim 21.
Claim 26 would be allowable if (i) both claims 14 and 16 are incorporated into the independent claim 26.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464