DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 23 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues the claim feature in claim 2 of “transmitting, from the UE, a request to change an active antenna array configuration of the UE to a requested antenna array configuration, wherein the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration” is not disclosed by the combination of Zhinong (Of Record) in view of He (Of Record), further in view of Chen (Of Record), further in view of Nilsson (Of Record), and further in view of Parkvall (Of Record). However the examiner respectfully disagrees.
More specifically the applicant argues on Pg. 7 of the remarks the claim feature of the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration is not disclosed in the teachings of Nilsson. For example the applicant argues the teachings of Nilsson with respect to Para’s [0001-0003], [0005-0006], [0052], [0027-0028] of Nilsson on (Pg. 7 of the remarks) which were cited in the office action, and states that although Para [0027] describes a UE informing the base station of the preferred precoding weights, the cited paragraphs are silent regarding any change of antennas at the UE. However the rejection of claim 2 is an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, and the applicant is arguing the teachings of Nilsson individually for not disclosing the claim feature of the beam weights are included in a request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE or that the indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration is based on a prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration (i.e., Pg. 8 of the remarks)
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The teachings of Zhinong discloses the UE transmitting “a request to change an active antenna array configuration of the UE to a requested antenna array configuration” which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE (Zhinong, see Para [0043]) which was stated on Pg. 10 of the office action. Zhinong does not teach the request includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However it would be obvious to perform such claim features for the requested antenna array configuration disclosed in Zhinong because the requested antenna array configuration requires determining beam weights to use for the new reconfigured antenna array configuration in order to perform communications between the UE and the base station.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the UE disclosed in Nilsson which identifies preferred precoding weights c, f (i.e., “beam weights”) to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE and informs (i.e., “request”) the base station of said preferred precoding weights (i.e., “beam weights”) as disclosed in (Para [0027]) of Nilsson to be performed for the requested antenna array configuration as disclosed in Zhinong.
There is no reason why the request for the reconfigured or changed active antenna array configuration of the UE disclosed in Zhinong could not include an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration since the teachings of Nilsson disclose a request from the UE may include beam weights to use for an antenna array configuration to be used by the UE, and the requested antenna array configuration requires determining beam weights to be used for the newly reconfigured antenna array configuration in order to perform communications between the UE and the base station.
Therefore combining the teachings of Nilsson with Zhinong for the requested antenna array configuration results in the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE including the beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. Therefore the combination of at least Zhinong in view of Nilsson discloses wherein the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration”.
In regards to the applicants regarding the teachings of He and Parkvall on Pg.’s 8-9 of the remarks with respect to the claim feature of “a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration”, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the combination of He in view of Parkvall disclose the claim feature. For example the applicant argues on Pg. 8 of the remarks that “accordingly, similar to He, the prediction in Parkvall is based on movement of the UE. However the claim or the applicants specification does not describe how the prediction of the best beam is being performed. Therefore the claimed prediction does not limit the prediction from being based on movement of the UE as disclosed in Parkvall.
The applicant further argues on PG. 8 of the remarks, that He and Parkvall describe two different results of movement of the UE 1) change of antenna and 2) change of best beam and that neither reference discloses or suggests that the best beam would also change due to the change of antenna, or that a prediction based on movement would be appliable if the antenna configuration is also changed. However the applicant is arguing the references of He and Parkvall individually for not disclosing the claim feature of “a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration” as the rejection of claim 2 is an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 and is based on a combination of references.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The combined teachings of He in view of Parkvall would arrive to the claim feature of the prediction of the best beam being used with the requested antenna array configuration. For example, He discloses the antenna array configuration will be changed for the UE based on movement of the UE exceeding a threshold (He, see Para’s [0071] & [0083-0084]). Such movement exceeding the threshold suggests a change to the antenna array configuration will be performed for the UE at a certain location. The teachings of Parkvall disclose a best beam may be based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE (Parkvall, see Para [0025]). Such determined or predicted best beam would be applied based on a prediction of where the UE will be located at a future time. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the best beam determined to be used for the UE at a predicted location as disclosed in Parkvall would also be applied to a changed antenna array configuration being used by the UE that could be determined at such a location as disclosed in He which results in performing the claim feature of “a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration”. The movement of the UE exceeding a certain threshold in which a different antenna array configuration will be used as disclosed in Para [0083] of He will require a different optimized or best beam at the location.
It would be obvious to predict the best beam at such a location where the antenna array configuration is changed based on the teachings of Parkvall who discloses a best beam may be determined based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE, (Parkvall, see Para [0025]) which would result in applying the best beam for the changed antenna array configuration. Therefore the prediction of the best beam being applied based on movement of the UE at a certain location could also be appliable for a changed antenna array configuration determined at the location based on the combined teachings of He in view of Parkvall. For the reasons explained the combination of He in view of Parkvall discloses the claim feature of “a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration”.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning on (Pg. 9 of the remarks), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In regards to the applicants argument regarding dependent claim 4 over the combination of references, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues that the teachings of Zhinong discloses determining or selecting the change of an antenna array configuration based on measuring reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration rather than teaching prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However for reasons explained above, the combination of He in view of Parkvall discloses the claim feature of “prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration” and the teachings of Zhinong is not relied upon for disclosing the claim feature. The applicant is arguing the teachings of Zhinong individually for not disclosing the claim feature of “wherein the prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration is based on measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration” in claim 4, (i.e., Pg. 9 of the remarks) as the rejection of claim 4 is an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 and is based on a combination of references.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim feature in claim 4 of “wherein the prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration is based on measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration”, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration as disclosed in He in view of Parkvall may be based on initially performing measuring of reference signals first, during communication with the current antenna array configuration for determining to change to the requested antenna array configuration as disclosed in Zhinong in which the prediction of the best beam may then be performed for the determined requested antenna array configuration. For the reasons explained, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall discloses the claim feature in claim 4 of “wherein the prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration is based on measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 10, 12, 14, 18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), and further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhinong discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising: detecting, at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10), an antenna array change condition; (see Fig. 2 i.e., steps 203-205 & Para’s [0019] i.e., Thus, the currently activated antenna array configuration may be continuously monitored, and if a degradation is determined (i.e., “antenna array change condition”), the selection process is triggered, [0020-0021] i.e., The figures of merit may be determined by the terminal and may be communicated between the terminal and the base station such that either the terminal or the base station may trigger the selection process, [0037] i.e., the terminal logic 31 may be configured to activate one of a plurality of different antenna array configurations, & [0042] i.e., In case in step 203 is determined that the transmission quality has degraded (i.e., “antenna array change condition”), the method 200 is continued in step 205. In step 205 is determined if a trigger event for starting a selection process for selecting an antenna array configuration has occurred. The trigger event evaluated in step 205 may comprise for example the degradation of the figure of merit determined in step 203, a comparison of the current figure of merit with a predetermined threshold value (i.e., “antenna array change condition”)…For example the selection process for selecting an antenna array configuration may be triggered if the current figure of merit is below a certain predefined threshold value (i.e., “antenna array change condition”))
transmitting, from the UE (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10), a request to change an active antenna array configuration of the UE to a requested antenna array configuration; (see Fig. 1 i.e., antenna array configuration in UE may be changed & Fig. 2 i.e., antenna array selection 206 & Para’s [0009] i.e., the selection process comprises that an antenna array configuration is activated depending on the figures of merit, [0020], [0037] i.e., activating one of a plurality of different antenna array configurations & [0042-0043] i.e., Occasionally, cyclic, or triggered by certain figure of merit the values, the base station 20 enables the terminal 30 to change the current antenna array configuration. Additionally or as an alternative, the terminal 30 may request the base station to enable a change the current antenna array configuration (i.e., “requested antenna array configuration”)…Activating an antenna array configuration may imply for example…a change of some (i.e., “subset”) of the antenna elements (i.e., “active antennas”) within an array)
receiving, from a base station (see Fig. 1, base station 20, an indication of a new antenna array configuration for the UE (see Para [0043] i.e., the base station may decide or propose to change to one of the antenna configurations and reports (i.e., “indication”) this to the terminal 30).
And a reconfigured active antenna array having the new antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0042] i.e., selecting an antenna array configuration is initiated in step 206…One of the supported antenna array configurations of the terminal 30 is then activated based on the determined figured of merit & [0043] i.e., changed antenna array configuration (i.e., “new antenna array configuration”)… Activating an antenna array configuration may imply for example…a change of some (i.e., “subset”) of the antenna elements (i.e., “active antennas”) within an array)
While Zhinong discloses the UE changes to a reconfigured active antenna array having the new antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0042-0043] i.e., changed antenna array configuration (i.e., new antenna array configuration)), Zhinong does not disclose the claim feature of training a reconfigured active antenna array having the new antenna array configuration based on reference signals to use for beam training. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003).
He discloses training a reconfigured active antenna array having a new antenna array configuration based on reference signals to use for beam training (see Fig. 10B & Para’s [0008-0009] i.e., new configuration for the one or more antennas based on performance level change, [0033] i.e., updating the phased array antenna configuration, [0060-0061] i.e., During beamforming training, a sequence of training symbols/frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception. After the successful completion of beamforming training, a communication (e.g., millimeter-wave) may be established, [0083], [0092] i.e., changes in the UE 110 environment will trigger a change in the antenna configuration (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”), [0094] i.e., Changes in the UE’s 110 environment may therefore result in or trigger a change of the phased array antenna configuration (or re-configuration), [0100] i.e., The UE 110 will use all available beam (covering all intended directions) to receive the training beams and report the received training beams ID of the beams having the strongest signal back to gNB 202…Upon receipt of the training beams, the UE 110 will report the training beam having the best quality (strongest signal)…After the UE 110 reports the best quality beams back to the gNB 202, the gNB 202 may begin to transmit using the best quality beams when sending signals to UE 110, and the UE 110 may begin to receive using the corresponding beam (i.e., “beam training”) & [0107] i.e., Based on the determined environment, the UE 110 selects and configures a pattern of the phased array antennas at 1012 (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”). Subsequently, a sequence of training beams is received from the gNB 202 on the selected phased array antennas (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”) and the training beams with the strongest signal are reported back to the gNB 202 at 1014 (i.e., “beam training”))
(He suggests during beamforming training, a sequence of training/symbols frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception (see Para [0060]) and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0100] & [0107]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed antenna array configuration requested by the UE for changing to a reconfigured active antenna array as disclosed in the teachings of Zhinong to perform beam training for the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of He, because the motivation lies in He that beamforming training allows each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration.
The combination of Zhinong in view of He does not disclose further receiving from the base station an indication of resources for the reference signals to use for beam training. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821).
Chen discloses receiving from a base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training on an active antenna array of a UE (see Fig.’s 10-12 & Para’s [0081] i.e., antenna model 200 for a WTRU may be configured with M antenna panels, where each antenna panel may be configured antenna elements, [0084] i.e., DL beam management procedures, [0126-0127] i.e., the WTRU may send an explicit request of a DL RS resources/sets required for DL beam training…for example, the WTRU may transmit a list of WTRU panels (e.g., one or multiple WRTU panel IDs) to the network, by assuming the network is aware of the required amount of DL RS resources/sets from a history request of WTRU capability reporting…As a response (i.e., “indication”), the network (TRP/gNB) may send back a triggering DCI to trigger one or more aperiodic DL RS resource set(s) for beam measurements, [0128-0129] i.e., P1 beam management procedure…the example beam sweeping procedure 1000 (i.e., part of “beam training”) may include the TRP 1001 providing the WTRU 1004 with DL RS configuration 1006 (i.e., “indication of resources for the reference signals”), [0130-0132] i.e., For a P3 procedure with the example DL RX beam sweeping procedure 1200, with the assistance information from the WTRU, the WTRU may be configured with an appropriate amount of DL RS resources (e.g., in DCI trigger 1206 (i.e., “indication”) triggering aperiodic DL RS) for the WTRU 1204 to sweep its RX beams on antenna panels 1231 and 1232 (i.e., each antenna panel may be an active antenna array of the WTRU) & [0136] i.e., WTRU panels (i.e., “antenna array”) that are involved in the measurement process (i.e., “beam training”)).
(Chen suggests the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management, (see Fig.’s 10-12 &Para’s [0084] & [0127-0132])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam training process performed by the UE on the reconfigured active antenna array based on reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He to further receive from the base station an indication of resources for the reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in the teachings of Chen who discloses receiving from a base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training on an active antenna array of a UE, because the motivation lies in Chen that the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management.
While Zhinong discloses the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE, (Zhinong, see Para [0043]), the combination of Zhinong in view of He, and further in view of Chen does not disclose the request includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271).
Nilsson discloses transmitting, from a UE (see Fig.’s 1-2 i.e., UE1), a request which includes an indication of beam weights to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE based on a best beam to use with the antenna array configuration of the UE (see Para’s [0001-0003] i.e., the present invention relates to a method for determining precoding weights in a communication system such as MIMO (i.e., it is known in the art of communications that a MIMO system includes communication between a UE antenna array configuration and a base station antenna array configuration)…In precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas at the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE. The precoding weights may be calculated at the UE and then the UE informs the base station which precoding weights that should be used, [0006] i.e., different precoding weights will generate precoding beams in different directions, [0052] i.e., the communication system is a MIMO system (i.e., the UE uses an “antenna array configuration” in the MIMO system), [0027] i.e., for each user equipment UE1, UE2, identify preferred precoding weights “c”, “f” (i.e., “beam weights”), and inform (i.e., “request”) the BS 11 of said preferred precoding weights (i.e., preferred precoding weights refers to a best beam for the UE); and the selection to use a part of the coverage area is based on the information of the preferred precoding weights “c” , “f” provided by the user equipment’s, [0028] i.e., The new functionality of the BS 11 includes determining a subset of precoding weights stored in the codebook that generates one or more precoding beams c, f within the selected part of the coverage area 14. However, the determined subset of precoding weights needs to be known to the BS, UE1 and UE2 in order to achieve communication using precoding beams c and f with reduced signaling, and the BS therefore needs to inform the UE1 and UE2 of the determined subset of precoding weights generating the precoding beams c and f within the selected part of the coverage area, & [0046-0051] i.e., at step 81 each UE identifies precoding weights (i.e., “beam weights”) corresponding to a preferred precoding beam (i.e., “best beam”). Thereafter, each UE transfers information (i.e., “request”) to the base station in step 82).
(Nilsson suggests in precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas of the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE (see Para [0002]) and for reducing the amount of information between the UE and the base station based on the UE informing the precoding weights to the base station (see Para’s [0004], [0025], [0028], & [0031-0034])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, and further in view of Chen to include an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration and based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on the teachings of Nilsson who discloses transmitting, from a UE a request which includes an indication of beam weights to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE based on a best beam to use with the antenna array configuration of the UE, because the motivation lies in Nilsson that in precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas of the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE and for reducing the amount of information between the UE and the base station based on the UE informing the precoding weights to the base station.
While the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson discloses changing the antenna array configuration of the UE based on movement of the UE exceeding a threshold (He, see Para’s [0071] & [0083-0084]), the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson does not disclose the claim feature of a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894).
Parkvall discloses a UE predicts a best beam based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE (see Para’s [0025] i.e., a radio node may determine a best beam…A best beam may be based on a prediction or estimation, e.g. of movement of the UE & [0054] i.e., To handle UE movements, where the best reception beam changes & [0060] i.e., radio node may be a terminal or wireless device 10 & [0072]).
(Parkvall suggests the prediction of the best beam is used for determining an associated beam in the opposite communication direction for determining an optimal beam pair for communication based on the movement of the UE (see Para [0025]) and for efficiently updating resource allocation for the PUSCH transmission by the UE according to the optimal beam pair including the best beam, (see Para’s [0025] & [0054])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed or reconfigured antenna array configuration of the UE based on the movement of the UE exceeding a threshold as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson to predict a best beam to use with the requested or changed antenna array configuration based on the teachings of Parkvall who discloses a UE predicts a best beam based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE, which results in a prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration, because the motivation lies in Parkvall that the prediction of the best beam is used for determining an associated beam in the opposite communication direction for determining an optimal beam pair for communication based on the movement of the UE and for efficiently updating resource allocation for the PUSCH transmission by the UE according to the optimal beam pair including the best beam.
Regarding Claims 4, 14, and 22 the combination of He, in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method and apparatus of claims 2, 12, and 20 including the prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration (He, see Para’s [0071] & [0083-0084] & Parkvall, see Para [0025]), but does not disclose wherein the prediction is based on measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121).
Zhinong discloses the selection of a changed antenna array configuration is based on measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0019] i.e., the current figure of merit may be determined depending on a training sequence received from the base station via the currently activated antenna array configuration. Thus, the currently activated antenna array configuration may be continuously monitored, and if a degradation is determined, the selection process is triggered , [0021-0022], [0024] i.e., The corresponding figure of merit is determined based on corresponding pilot signals received from the base station at the terminal via the corresponding antenna array configuration (i.e., active antenna array configuration”), [0027], & [0041-0043])
(Zhinong suggests measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration is performed by the UE for determining if the quality of the active antenna array configuration has degraded in order to select a different antenna array configuration providing better communication quality, (see Para’s [0019-0024], [0027], & [0041-0043])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the prediction of the best beam to use with the changed or reconfigured antenna array configuration of the UE based on the movement of the UE exceeding a threshold as disclosed in He, in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall to be based on measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration for determining the changed or requested antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of Zhinong, because the motivation lies in Zhinong that the measurements of reference signals received during communication with the active antenna array configuration is performed by the UE for determining if the quality of the active antenna array configuration has degraded in order to select a different antenna array configuration providing better communication quality.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Zhinong in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claim 2, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein training the reconfigured active antenna array with the new antenna array configuration based on the reference signals comprises: measuring each of the reference signals using the new active antenna configuration to determine a best beam; and transmitting a beam training message including a beam index of the best beam. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003).
He discloses wherein training the reconfigured active antenna array with the new antenna array configuration based on the reference signals comprises: measuring each of the reference signals using the new active antenna configuration to determine a best beam; (see Fig.’s 10 B-C & Para’s [0007], [0100], & [0107] i.e., Subsequently, a sequence of training beams is received from the gNB 202 on the selected phased array antennas and the training beams with the strongest signal are reported back to the gNB 202 at 1014 & [0108] i.e., the UE determines a best beam direction for each of phased array antennas based on at least one of signal quality or strength)
and transmitting a beam training message including a beam index of the best beam (see Para’s [0100] i.e., the UE will report the training beam having the best (strongest signal)…In this example, and for purposes of discussion, the UE 110 reports training beam 2 (sector 2) and antenna 2 as having the best quality. After the UE 110 reports the best quality beams back to the gNB, the gNB may begin to transmit using the best quality beams when sending signals to UE 110, and the UE 110 may begin to receive using the corresponding receive beam or do beam fine alignment & [0107])
(He suggests during beamforming training, a sequence of training/symbols frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception (see Para [0060]) and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0100] & [0107])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed antenna array configuration requested by the UE for changing to a reconfigured active antenna array as disclosed in the teachings of Zhinong in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall to perform beam training for the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of He who discloses the beam training includes measuring each of the reference signals using a new active antenna configuration to determine a best beam; and transmitting a beam training message including a beam index of the best beam, because the motivation lies in He that the beamforming training allows each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhinong discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, at a base station from a user equipment (UE), a request to change an active antenna array configuration of the UE to a requested antenna array configuration, (see Fig. 1 i.e., antenna array configuration in UE may be changed & Fig. 2 i.e., antenna array selection 206 & Para’s [0009] i.e., the selection process comprises that an antenna array configuration is activated depending on the figures of merit, [0020], [0037] i.e., activating one of a plurality of different antenna array configurations & [0042-0043] i.e., Occasionally, cyclic, or triggered by certain figure of merit the values, the base station 20 enables the terminal 30 to change the current antenna array configuration. Additionally or as an alternative, the terminal 30 may request the base station to enable a change the current antenna array configuration (i.e., “requested antenna array configuration”)…Activating an antenna array configuration may imply for example…a change of some (i.e., “subset”) of the antenna elements (i.e., “active antennas”) within an array)
determining whether to grant or deny the requested antenna array configuration, (see Para [0043] i.e., the base station may decide (i.e., “grant or deny”) or propose to change to one of the antenna configurations and reports this to the terminal 30).
and transmitting, from the base station, an indication of a new antenna array configuration for the UE (see Para [0043] i.e., the base station may decide or propose to change to one of the antenna configurations and reports (i.e., “indication”) this to the terminal 30).
While Zhinong discloses the UE changes to the requested antenna array configuration having the new antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0042-0043] i.e., changed antenna array configuration (i.e., new antenna array configuration)), Zhinong does not disclose the claim feature of performing beam training for the new antenna array configuration based on reference signals to use for beam training. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003).
He discloses a UE performing beam training for a new antenna array configuration based on reference signals to use for beam training (see Fig. 10B & Para’s [0008-0009] i.e., new configuration for the one or more antennas based on performance level change, [0033] i.e., updating the phased array antenna configuration, [0060-0061] i.e., During beamforming training, a sequence of training symbols/frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception. After the successful completion of beamforming training, a communication (e.g., millimeter-wave) may be established, [0083], [0092] i.e., changes in the UE 110 environment will trigger a change in the antenna configuration (i.e., new “antenna array configuration”), [0094] i.e., Changes in the UE’s 110 environment may therefore result in or trigger a change of the phased array antenna configuration (or re-configuration), [0100] i.e., The UE 110 will use all available beam (covering all intended directions) to receive the training beams and report the received training beams ID of the beams having the strongest signal back to gNB 202…Upon receipt of the training beams, the UE 110 will report the training beam having the best quality (strongest signal)…After the UE 110 reports the best quality beams back to the gNB 202, the gNB 202 may begin to transmit using the best quality beams when sending signals to UE 110, and the UE 110 may begin to receive using the corresponding beam (i.e., “beam training”) & [0107] i.e., Based on the determined environment, the UE 110 selects and configures a pattern of the phased array antennas at 1012 (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”). Subsequently, a sequence of training beams is received from the gNB 202 on the selected phased array antennas (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”) and the training beams with the strongest signal are reported back to the gNB 202 at 1014 (i.e., “beam training”))
(He suggests during beamforming training, a sequence of training/symbols frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception (see Para [0060]) and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0100] & [0107]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the antenna array configuration requested by the UE for changing to a new antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of Zhinong to perform beam training for the changed or new antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of He, because the motivation lies in He that beamforming training allows each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration.
The combination of Zhinong in view of He does not disclose the claim features of transmitting from the base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training; and transmitting, from the base station, a set of reference signals on the resources. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821).
Chen discloses receiving from a base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training on an active antenna array of a UE (see Fig.’s 10-12 & Para’s [0081] i.e., antenna model 200 for a WTRU may be configured with M antenna panels, where each antenna panel may be configured antenna elements, [0084] i.e., DL beam management procedures, [0126-0127] i.e., the WTRU may send an explicit request of a DL RS resources/sets required for DL beam training…for example, the WTRU may transmit a list of WTRU panels (e.g., one or multiple WRTU panel IDs) to the network, by assuming the network is aware of the required amount of DL RS resources/sets from a history request of WTRU capability reporting…As a response (i.e., “indication”), the network (TRP/gNB) may send back a triggering DCI to trigger one or more aperiodic DL RS resource set(s) for beam measurements, [0128-0129] i.e., P1 beam management procedure…the example beam sweeping procedure 1000 (i.e., part of “beam training”) may include the TRP 1001 providing the WTRU 1004 with DL RS configuration 1006 (i.e., “indication of resources for the reference signals”), [0130-0132] i.e., For a P3 procedure with the example DL RX beam sweeping procedure 1200, with the assistance information from the WTRU, the WTRU may be configured with an appropriate amount of DL RS resources (e.g., in DCI trigger 1206 (i.e., “indication”) triggering aperiodic DL RS) for the WTRU 1204 to sweep its RX beams on antenna panels 1231 and 1232 (i.e., each antenna panel may be an active antenna array of the WTRU) & [0136] i.e., WTRU panels (i.e., “antenna array”) that are involved in the measurement process (i.e., “beam training”)).
and transmitting, from the base station, a set of reference signals on the resources (see Para’s [0121], [0126-0128] i.e., As a response, the network (TRP/gNB) may send back a triggering DCI to trigger one or more aperiodic DL RS resource sets for beam measurements & [0131-0132])
(Chen suggests the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management, (see Fig.’s 10-12 &Para’s [0084] & [0127-0132])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam training process performed by the UE on the new antenna array configuration based on reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, to further receive from the base station an indication of resources for the reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in the teachings of Chen who discloses receiving from a base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training on an active antenna array of a UE and transmitting, from the base station, a set of reference signals on the resources, because the motivation lies in Chen that the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management.
While Zhinong discloses the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE (Zhinong, see Para [0043]), the combination of Zhinong in view of He, and further in view of Chen does not disclose the request includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271).
Nilsson discloses transmitting, from a UE (see Fig.’s 1-2 i.e., UE1), a request which includes an indication of beam weights to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE based on a best beam to use with the antenna array configuration of the UE (see Para’s [0001-0003] i.e., the present invention relates to a method for determining precoding weights in a communication system such as MIMO (i.e., it is known in the art of communications that a MIMO system includes communication between a UE antenna array configuration and a base station antenna array configuration)…In precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas at the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE. The precoding weights may be calculated at the UE and then the UE informs the base station which precoding weights that should be used, [0006] i.e., different precoding weights will generate precoding beams in different directions, [0052] i.e., the communication system is a MIMO system (i.e., the UE uses an “antenna array configuration” in the MIMO system), [0027] i.e., for each user equipment UE1, UE2, identify preferred precoding weights “c”, “f” (i.e., “beam weights”), and inform (i.e., “request”) the BS 11 of said preferred precoding weights (i.e., preferred precoding weights refers to a best beam for the UE); and the selection to use a part of the coverage area is based on the information of the preferred precoding weights “c” , “f” provided by the user equipments, [0028] i.e., The new functionality of the BS 11 includes determining a subset of precoding weights stored in the codebook that generates one or more precoding beams c, f within the selected part of the coverage area 14. However, the determined subset of precoding weights needs to be known to the BS, UE1 and UE2 in order to achieve communication using precoding beams c and f with reduced signaling, and the BS therefore needs to inform the UE1 and UE2 of the determined subset of precoding weights generating the precoding beams c and f within the selected part of the coverage area, & [0046-0051] i.e., at step 81 each UE identifies precoding weights (i.e., “beam weights”) corresponding to a preferred precoding beam (i.e., “best beam”). Thereafter, each UE transfers information (i.e., “request”) to the base station in step 82).
(Nilsson suggests in precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas of the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE (see Para [0002]) and for reducing the amount of information between the UE and the base station based on the UE informing the precoding weights to the base station (see Para’s [0004], [0025], [0028], & [0031-0034])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, and further in view of Chen to include an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration and based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on the teachings of Nilsson who discloses transmitting, from a UE a request which includes an indication of beam weights to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE based on a best beam to use with the antenna array configuration of the UE, because the motivation lies in Nilsson that in precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas of the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE and for reducing the amount of information between the UE and the base station based on the UE informing the precoding weights to the base station.
While the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson discloses changing the antenna array configuration of the UE based on movement of the UE exceeding a threshold (He, see Para’s [0071] & [0083-0084]), the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson does not disclose the claim feature of a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894).
Parkvall discloses a UE predicts a best beam based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE (see Para’s [0025] i.e., a radio node may determine a best beam…A best beam may be based on a prediction or estimation, e.g. of movement of the UE & [0054] i.e., To handle UE movements, where the best reception beam changes & [0060] i.e., radio node may be a terminal or wireless device 10 & [0072]).
(Parkvall suggests the prediction of the best beam is used for determining an associated beam in the opposite communication direction for determining an optimal beam pair for communication based on the movement of the UE (see Para [0025]) and for efficiently updating resource allocation for the PUSCH transmission by the UE according to the optimal beam pair including the best beam, (see Para’s [0025] & [0054])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed or reconfigured antenna array configuration of the UE based on the movement of the UE exceeding a threshold as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson to predict a best beam to use with the requested or changed antenna array configuration based on the teachings of Parkvall who discloses a UE predicts a best beam based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE, which results in a prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration, because the motivation lies in Parkvall that the prediction of the best beam is used for determining an associated beam in the opposite communication direction for determining an optimal beam pair for communication based on the movement of the UE and for efficiently updating resource allocation for the PUSCH transmission by the UE according to the optimal beam pair including the best beam.
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Zhinong in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claim 12, but does not disclose the claim features of receiving a beam training message including a beam index of a best beam. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003).
He discloses wherein training the new antenna array configuration based on the reference signals comprises: measuring each of the reference signals using the new active antenna configuration to determine a best beam; (see Fig.’s 10 B-C & Para’s [0007], [0100], & [0107] i.e., Subsequently, a sequence of training beams is received from the gNB 202 on the selected phased array antennas and the training beams with the strongest signal are reported back to the gNB 202 at 1014 & [0108] i.e., the UE determines a best beam direction for each of phased array antennas based on at least one of signal quality or strength)
and receiving by the base station a beam training message indicating a beam index of the best beam (see Para’s [0100] i.e., the UE will report the training beam having the best (strongest signal)…In this example, and for purposes of discussion, the UE 110 reports training beam 2 (sector 2) and antenna 2 as having the best quality. After the UE 110 reports the best quality beams back to the gNB, the gNB may begin to transmit using the best quality beams when sending signals to UE 110, and the UE 110 may begin to receive using the corresponding receive beam or do beam fine alignment & [0107])
(He suggests during beamforming training, a sequence of training/symbols frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception (see Para [0060]) and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0100] & [0107])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed or new antenna array configuration requested by the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Zhinong in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall to perform beam training for the changed or new antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of He who discloses the beam training includes measuring each of the reference signals using a new active antenna configuration to determine a best beam; and receiving a beam training message indicating a beam index of the best beam, because the motivation lies in He that the beamforming training allows each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration.
Regarding Claim 20, Zhinong discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10 comprises a memory); and one or more processors coupled to the memory (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10 & Para [0036]) and, individually or in combination, configured to: detecting, at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10), an antenna array change condition; (see Fig. 2 i.e., steps 203-205 & Para’s [0019] i.e., Thus, the currently activated antenna array configuration may be continuously monitored, and if a degradation is determined (i.e., “antenna array change condition”), the selection process is triggered, [0020-0021] i.e., The figures of merit may be determined by the terminal and may be communicated between the terminal and the base station such that either the terminal or the base station may trigger the selection process, [0037] i.e., the terminal logic 31 may be configured to activate one of a plurality of different antenna array configurations, & [0042] i.e., In case in step 203 is determined that the transmission quality has degraded (i.e., “antenna array change condition”), the method 200 is continued in step 205. In step 205 is determined if a trigger event for starting a selection process for selecting an antenna array configuration has occurred. The trigger event evaluated in step 205 may comprise for example the degradation of the figure of merit determined in step 203, a comparison of the current figure of merit with a predetermined threshold value (i.e., “antenna array change condition”)…For example the selection process for selecting an antenna array configuration may be triggered if the current figure of merit is below a certain predefined threshold value (i.e., “antenna array change condition”))
transmitting, from the UE (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 10), a request to change an active antenna array configuration of the UE to a requested antenna array configuration; (see Fig. 1 i.e., antenna array configuration in UE may be changed & Fig. 2 i.e., antenna array selection 206 & Para’s [0009] i.e., the selection process comprises that an antenna array configuration is activated depending on the figures of merit, [0020], [0037] i.e., activating one of a plurality of different antenna array configurations & [0042-0043] i.e., Occasionally, cyclic, or triggered by certain figure of merit the values, the base station 20 enables the terminal 30 to change the current antenna array configuration. Additionally or as an alternative, the terminal 30 may request the base station to enable a change the current antenna array configuration (i.e., “requested antenna array configuration”)…Activating an antenna array configuration may imply for example…a change of some (i.e., “subset”) of the antenna elements (i.e., “active antennas”) within an array)
receiving, from a base station (see Fig. 1, base station 20, an indication of a new antenna array configuration for the UE (see Para [0043] i.e., the base station may decide or propose to change to one of the antenna configurations and reports (i.e., “indication”) this to the terminal 30).
And a reconfigured active antenna array having the new antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0042] i.e., selecting an antenna array configuration is initiated in step 206…One of the supported antenna array configurations of the terminal 30 is then activated based on the determined figured of merit & [0043] i.e., changed antenna array configuration (i.e., “new antenna array configuration”)… Activating an antenna array configuration may imply for example…a change of some (i.e., “subset”) of the antenna elements (i.e., “active antennas”) within an array)
While Zhinong discloses the UE changes to a reconfigured active antenna array having the new antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0042-0043] i.e., changed antenna array configuration (i.e., new antenna array configuration)), Zhinong does not disclose the claim feature of training a reconfigured active antenna array having the new antenna array configuration based on reference signals to use for beam training. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003).
He discloses training a reconfigured active antenna array having a new antenna array configuration based on reference signals to use for beam training (see Fig. 10B & Para’s [0008-0009] i.e., new configuration for the one or more antennas based on performance level change, [0033] i.e., updating the phased array antenna configuration, [0060-0061] i.e., During beamforming training, a sequence of training symbols/frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception. After the successful completion of beamforming training, a communication (e.g., millimeter-wave) may be established, [0083], [0092] i.e., changes in the UE 110 environment will trigger a change in the antenna configuration (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”), [0094] i.e., Changes in the UE’s 110 environment may therefore result in or trigger a change of the phased array antenna configuration (or re-configuration), [0100] i.e., The UE 110 will use all available beam (covering all intended directions) to receive the training beams and report the received training beams ID of the beams having the strongest signal back to gNB 202…Upon receipt of the training beams, the UE 110 will report the training beam having the best quality (strongest signal)…After the UE 110 reports the best quality beams back to the gNB 202, the gNB 202 may begin to transmit using the best quality beams when sending signals to UE 110, and the UE 110 may begin to receive using the corresponding beam (i.e., “beam training”) & [0107] i.e., Based on the determined environment, the UE 110 selects and configures a pattern of the phased array antennas at 1012 (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”). Subsequently, a sequence of training beams is received from the gNB 202 on the selected phased array antennas (i.e., re-configured “antenna array configuration”) and the training beams with the strongest signal are reported back to the gNB 202 at 1014 (i.e., “beam training”))
(He suggests during beamforming training, a sequence of training/symbols frames using a sector sweep (beam sweep over different directions) provides the necessary signals to allow each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception (see Para [0060]) and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the antenna array configuration (see Para’s [0100] & [0107]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed antenna array configuration requested by the UE for changing to a reconfigured active antenna array as disclosed in the teachings of Zhinong to perform beam training for the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration as disclosed in the teachings of He, because the motivation lies in He that beamforming training allows each device to determine appropriate antenna system settings for both transmission and reception and for selecting beams having the best signal quality for sending and receiving signals between the UE and the base station via the changed or re-configured antenna array configuration.
The combination of Zhinong in view of He does not disclose further receiving from the base station an indication of resources for the reference signals to use for beam training. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821).
Chen discloses receiving from a base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training on an active antenna array of a UE (see Fig.’s 10-12 & Para’s [0081] i.e., antenna model 200 for a WTRU may be configured with M antenna panels, where each antenna panel may be configured antenna elements, [0084] i.e., DL beam management procedures, [0126-0127] i.e., the WTRU may send an explicit request of a DL RS resources/sets required for DL beam training…for example, the WTRU may transmit a list of WTRU panels (e.g., one or multiple WRTU panel IDs) to the network, by assuming the network is aware of the required amount of DL RS resources/sets from a history request of WTRU capability reporting…As a response (i.e., “indication”), the network (TRP/gNB) may send back a triggering DCI to trigger one or more aperiodic DL RS resource set(s) for beam measurements, [0128-0129] i.e., P1 beam management procedure…the example beam sweeping procedure 1000 (i.e., part of “beam training”) may include the TRP 1001 providing the WTRU 1004 with DL RS configuration 1006 (i.e., “indication of resources for the reference signals”), [0130-0132] i.e., For a P3 procedure with the example DL RX beam sweeping procedure 1200, with the assistance information from the WTRU, the WTRU may be configured with an appropriate amount of DL RS resources (e.g., in DCI trigger 1206 (i.e., “indication”) triggering aperiodic DL RS) for the WTRU 1204 to sweep its RX beams on antenna panels 1231 and 1232 (i.e., each antenna panel may be an active antenna array of the WTRU) & [0136] i.e., WTRU panels (i.e., “antenna array”) that are involved in the measurement process (i.e., “beam training”)).
(Chen suggests the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management, (see Fig.’s 10-12 &Para’s [0084] & [0127-0132])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam training process performed by the UE on the reconfigured active antenna array based on reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He to further receive from the base station an indication of resources for the reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in the teachings of Chen who discloses receiving from a base station an indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training on an active antenna array of a UE, because the motivation lies in Chen that the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management.
While Zhinong discloses the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE (Zhinong, see Para [0043]), the combination of Zhinong in view of He, and further in view of Chen does not disclose the request includes an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271).
Nilsson discloses transmitting, from a UE (see Fig.’s 1-2 i.e., UE1), a request which includes an indication of beam weights to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE based on a best beam to use with the antenna array configuration of the UE (see Para’s [0001-0003] i.e., the present invention relates to a method for determining precoding weights in a communication system such as MIMO (i.e., it is known in the art of communications that a MIMO system includes communication between a UE antenna array configuration and a base station antenna array configuration)…In precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas at the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE. The precoding weights may be calculated at the UE and then the UE informs the base station which precoding weights that should be used, [0006] i.e., different precoding weights will generate precoding beams in different directions, [0052] i.e., the communication system is a MIMO system (i.e., the UE uses an “antenna array configuration” in the MIMO system), [0027] i.e., for each user equipment UE1, UE2, identify preferred precoding weights “c”, “f” (i.e., “beam weights”), and inform (i.e., “request”) the BS 11 of said preferred precoding weights (i.e., preferred precoding weights refers to a best beam for the UE); and the selection to use a part of the coverage area is based on the information of the preferred precoding weights “c” , “f” provided by the user equipments, [0028] i.e., The new functionality of the BS 11 includes determining a subset of precoding weights stored in the codebook that generates one or more precoding beams c, f within the selected part of the coverage area 14. However, the determined subset of precoding weights needs to be known to the BS, UE1 and UE2 in order to achieve communication using precoding beams c and f with reduced signaling, and the BS therefore needs to inform the UE1 and UE2 of the determined subset of precoding weights generating the precoding beams c and f within the selected part of the coverage area, & [0046-0051] i.e., at step 81 each UE identifies precoding weights (i.e., “beam weights”) corresponding to a preferred precoding beam (i.e., “best beam”). Thereafter, each UE transfers information (i.e., “request”) to the base station in step 82).
(Nilsson suggests in precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas of the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE (see Para [0002]) and for reducing the amount of information between the UE and the base station based on the UE informing the precoding weights to the base station (see Para’s [0004], [0025], [0028], & [0031-0034])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the request to change the active antenna array configuration of the UE to the requested antenna array configuration which will be an antenna array configuration that is to be currently used by the UE as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, and further in view of Chen to include an indication of beam weights to use with the requested antenna array configuration and based on a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration based on the teachings of Nilsson who discloses transmitting, from a UE a request which includes an indication of beam weights to use with an antenna array configuration that is to be used by the UE based on a best beam to use with the antenna array configuration of the UE, because the motivation lies in Nilsson that in precoding, each of the multiple streams are emitted from the transmit antennas of the base station with independent and appropriate weighting per each antenna such that the throughput is maximized between the base station and the UE and for reducing the amount of information between the UE and the base station based on the UE informing the precoding weights to the base station.
While the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson discloses changing the antenna array configuration of the UE based on movement of the UE exceeding a threshold (He, see Para’s [0071] & [0083-0084]), the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson does not disclose the claim feature of a prediction of the best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894).
Parkvall discloses a UE predicts a best beam based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE (see Para’s [0025] i.e., a radio node may determine a best beam…A best beam may be based on a prediction or estimation, e.g. of movement of the UE & [0054] i.e., To handle UE movements, where the best reception beam changes & [0060] i.e., radio node may be a terminal or wireless device 10 & [0072]).
(Parkvall suggests the prediction of the best beam is used for determining an associated beam in the opposite communication direction for determining an optimal beam pair for communication based on the movement of the UE (see Para [0025]) and for efficiently updating resource allocation for the PUSCH transmission by the UE according to the optimal beam pair including the best beam, (see Para’s [0025] & [0054])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the changed or reconfigured antenna array configuration of the UE based on the movement of the UE exceeding a threshold as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, and further in view of Nilsson to predict a best beam to use with the requested or changed antenna array configuration based on the teachings of Parkvall who discloses a UE predicts a best beam based on a prediction or estimation of movement of the UE, which results in a prediction of a best beam to use with the requested antenna array configuration, because the motivation lies in Parkvall that the prediction of the best beam is used for determining an associated beam in the opposite communication direction for determining an optimal beam pair for communication based on the movement of the UE and for efficiently updating resource allocation for the PUSCH transmission by the UE according to the optimal beam pair including the best beam.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), and further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894) as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Chapman et al. US (2020/0021349).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall, discloses the method of claims 2 and 12, but does not disclose wherein the indication of beam weights is a pointer to an analog beamforming codebook index. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chapman et al. US (2020/0021349).
Chapman discloses wherein an indication of beam weights is a pointer to an analog beamforming codebook index (see Para [0027] i.e., The 3GPP specifications include a number of methods for generating precoding weights. A commonly used method is codebook based precoding, in which a standardized codebook consists of sets of beamforming weights. Each codebook entry comprises a set of weights that can generate a beam. One of the codebook entries is selected, according to feedback from the UE).
(Chapman suggests one of the codebook entries is selected according to feedback from the UEs for applying the correct set of beam weights, (see Para [0027])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the indication of beam weights received from the UE as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall to be a pointer to an analog beamforming codebook index as disclosed in Chapman who discloses wherein an indication of beam weights is a pointer to an analog beamforming codebook index because the motivation lies in Chapman that one of the codebook entries is selected according to feedback from the UEs for applying the correct set of beam weights by the base station.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), and further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rajagopal et al. US (2013/0315321).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claim 2, including determining a changed antenna array configuration that is better in response to detecting an antenna array change condition, (Zhinong, see Para’s [0042-0046]), but does not disclose wherein the antenna array change condition is based on an angular spread of dominant and sub-dominant clusters in a channel between the base station and the UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rajagopal et al. US (2013/0315321).
Rajagopal discloses an antenna array configuration (see Fig. 5 i.e., antenna array 501 for the BS 101 and the antenna array 502 for the MS 102) uses an angular spread of dominant and sub-dominant clusters in a channel between the base station and the UE, (see Fig. 5 & Para [0057] i.e., The design of the mmWave communication system requires a deeper understanding of the spatial channel model to understand the impact of beamforming on the system. FIG. 5 is a diagrammatic depiction of an exemplary mmWave spatial channel. The channel 500 as depicted represents typical spatial channel models such as those used in the Spatial Channel Model (SCM) and the WiGig 60 GHz channel models. The antenna array 501 for the BS 101 and the antenna array 502 for the MS 102 have respective array broadside orientations that are typically not aligned. Blockages 503 such as buildings may be located along the LOS between the two arrays 501, 502, and the mobile station may be moving at a vector 504 relative to the base station. Multiple spatial clusters 505, 506 (i.e., “dominant clusters”) are used to model multiple rays between the two arrays 501, 502. Multiple sub-path components within each ray (sub-clusters 507, 508, 509 and 510) (i.e., “sub-dominant clusters”) are used to model time-domain evolution of the channel. Each cluster 505 represents paths between the two arrays 501, 502, with a respective transmission (Tx) cluster angular spread 511 and a respective reception (Rx) cluster angular spread 512. Each sub-cluster 507, 508, 509 and 510 represents a group of sub-paths (such as sub-path 513) with a respective Tx sub-cluster angular spread 514 and a respective Rx sub-cluster angular spread 515).
(Rajagopal suggests beamforming at the Tx or Rx can thus select some of these clusters which offer good communication performance while providing acceptable beamforming gains, minimizing wasted energy in undesirable directions and avoiding interference (see Para [0058])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the antenna array change condition which determines a better antenna array configuration as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall to be based on an angular spread of dominant and sub-dominant clusters in a channel between the base station and the UE used by the antenna array configuration disclosed in Rajagopal because the motivation lies in Rajagopal that beamforming at the Tx or Rx can thus select some of these clusters which offer good communication performance while providing acceptable beamforming gains, minimizing wasted energy in undesirable directions and avoiding interference for the antenna array configuration.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), and further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Elliott et al. US (2021/0091974).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the antenna array change condition is based on a power consideration or a thermal consideration of the UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Elliott et al. US (2021/0091974).
Elliott discloses wherein an antenna array change condition is based on a power consideration or thermal consideration of the UE (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 102), (see Para’s [0016] i.e., The power consumption (i.e., “power consideration”) and the corresponding thermal buildup (i.e., “thermal consideration”) of high-throughput wireless nodes using phased array antennas may be significant…In some embodiments, a reduction in power consumption can be achieved by reducing a number of active segments in an antenna array (i.e., “antenna array change condition”), [0019], [0026] i.e., large phased array antennas into user devices 102A-102F, [0046], & [0049])
(Elliott suggests reducing a number of transmitting and receiving elements of an antenna array such as to reduce power consumption and thermal buildup for achieving power buildup reduction (see Para [0019])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the antenna array change condition as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall to be based on a power consideration of the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Elliott who discloses wherein an antenna array change condition is based on a power consideration of the UE because the motivation lies in Elliott for reducing a number of transmitting and receiving elements of an antenna array such as to reduce power consumption for achieving power buildup reduction.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), and further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Rangan et al. US (2016/0302146).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the antenna array change condition is based on support for additional radio-frequency chains utilizing a hybrid beamforming architecture. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rangan et al. US (2016/0302146).
Rangan discloses wherein the antenna array change condition is based on support for additional radio-frequency chains (see Para [0068] i.e., For example, exemplary embodiments can be configured to oversample spatially, using more antenna elements than would be required by a Nyquist criterion for a particular spatial resolution, antenna gain, and/or directivity…Moreover, although the above exemplary techniques are related to two-dimensional arrays, exemplary embodiments can also be applied to spatial oversampling with three-dimensional arrays. Such exemplary embodiments can utilize additional receiver chains and/or circuitry in conjunction with the additional antenna elements) utilizing a hybrid beamforming architecture (see Para [0037] i.e., hybrid beamforming architecture supported)
(Rangan suggests using more antenna elements than would be required for achieving a particular spatial resolution, antenna gain, and/or directivity, (see Para [0068])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the antenna array change condition as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall to be based on support for additional radio-frequency chains as disclosed in the teachings of Rangan, because the motivation lies in Rangan for using more antenna elements than would be required for achieving a particular spatial resolution, antenna gain, and/or directivity.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894) as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of CHA et al. US (2020/0220583).
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claims 2 and 12, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the indication of resources for reference signals to use for beam training includes a set of contiguous channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of CHA et al. US (2020/0220583).
CHA discloses wherein resources for reference signals to use for beam training includes a set of contiguous channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) (see Para’s [0271] i.e., when the CSI-RS is mapped to the adjacent REs on the frequency axis, the UE may perform the IDFMA based beam management procedure by processing the CSI-RS transmitted from the BS & [0272] i.e., when the adjacent REs on the frequency axis are configured (or allocated) as the CSI-RS RE)
(CHA suggests the CSI-RS’s are measured by the UE for acquiring channel state information in order to perform optimal beam selection based on the RSRPs measured on the different CSI-RSs for performing efficient beam management (see Para’s [0136] & [0143-0144])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for indication of resources for the CSI-RS reference signals used for beam training as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall to include or allocate a set of contiguous channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) to the for beam training as disclosed in the teachings of CHA because the motivation lies in CHA that the CSI-RS’s are measured by the UE for acquiring channel state information in order to perform optimal beam selection based on the RSRPs measured on the different CSI-RSs for performing efficient beam management
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhinong et al. US (2019/0007121) in view of He et al. US (2019/0150003), and further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2013/0142271), and further in view of Parkvall et al. US (2022/0070894) as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821), and further in view of Nilsson et al. US (2021/0175953).
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, the combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall discloses the method of claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the best beam corresponds to a reference signal with a greatest measured reference signal received power (RSRP) and the beam training message includes the RSRP of the best beam. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Chen et al. US (2021/0167821).
Chen discloses wherein a best beam corresponds to a reference signal with a greatest measured reference signal received power (RSRP) (see Para’s [0127-0128] & [0139] i.e., the WTRU may measure the TX beams and may report the best beam (e.g., in terms of measured RSRP) for each TRP panel)
(Chen suggests the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management, (see Fig.’s 10-12 &Para’s [0084] & [0127-0132])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam training process performed by the UE on the reconfigured active antenna array based on reference signals used for the beam training as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, and further in view of Parkvall to determine by the UE a best beam which corresponds to a reference signal with a greatest measured reference signal received power (RSRP) as disclosed in the teachings of Chen, because the motivation lies in Chen that the DL beam training is performed by the UE for performing Tx/Rx beam measurements in order to select an optimal or best TRP Tx beam and WTRU reception (Rx) beam for communication between the UE and the base station for achieving efficient beam management.
The combination of Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, further in view of Parkvall, and further in view of Chen does not disclose and the beam training message includes the RSRP of the best beam. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nilsson et al. US (2021/0175953).
Nilsson discloses a beam training message includes the RSRP of the best beam (see Para’s [0005-0006] i.e., beam management procedure…The terminal devices 300a-300f receives the reference signals in wide beams 150 and then reports the N best beams and their corresponding RSRP values to the network node 200)
(Nilsson suggests the terminal reports back the N best TX beams in order to find a suitable network node TX beam and a suitable terminal reception (RX) beam for performing communications between the terminal and the base station and for achieving efficient beam management, (see Para’s [0005-0006]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the beam management procedure performed by the UE which determines and reports a best beam which corresponds to a reference signal with a greatest measured reference signal received power (RSRP) in the beam training message for determining a suitable beam for communication as disclosed in Zhinong in view of He, further in view of Chen, further in view of Nilsson, further in view of Parkvall, and further in view of Chen to include the RSRP of the best beam in the beam training message based on the teachings of Nilsson who discloses a beam training message includes the RSRP of the best beam sent from the terminal to the network node, because the motivation lies in Nilsson that the terminal reports back the N best TX beams in order to find a suitable network node TX beam and a suitable terminal reception (RX) beam for performing communications between the terminal and the base station and for achieving efficient beam management.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ADNAN A BAIG whose telephone number is (571)270-7511. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am-5:00pm.
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461