DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 describes the “the negative electrode active material comprises a silicon-carbon composite.” It is unclear whether the silicon-carbon composite is used to further describe the aforementioned “silicon particles” from claim 1, or whether this is a newly introduced element. For the purposes of this Office Action, the silicon-carbon composite in claim 7 is being interpreted as “silicon-carbon composite particles.”
Regarding claims 8 & 9, these claims are unclear on the basis that they are dependent on parent claim 7 and are henceforth rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shul Kee Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0178724A1), herein referred to as "Kim".
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a rechargeable lithium battery [0002] comprising:
a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material layer; and a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material layer [0036],
wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a positive electrode active material and Li5FeO4 [0063];
and the negative electrode active material layer comprises a negative electrode active material comprising about 10 wt% to about 15 wt% of silicon particles [0031].
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the positive electrode active material comprises a lithium nickel-based composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 1:
Chemical Formula 1 Lia1Nix1M1y1M2z1O2-b1Xb1 wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, 0.9≤a1≤1.2, 0.7≤x1≤1, 0≤y1≤0.2, 0≤z1≤0.2, 0.9≤x1+y1+z1≤1.1, and 0≤b1≤0.1; M1 and M2 are each independently one or more elements selected from among Al, B, Ba, Ca, Ce, Co, Cr, Cu, Fe, Mg, Mn, Mo, Nb, Si, Sr, Ti, V, W, and Zr; and X is one or more elements selected from among F, P, and S (Kim Chemical Formula 1 [0041-0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the positive electrode active material comprises a lithium nickel-based composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Chemical Formula 2 Lia2Nix2Coy2M3z2O2-b2Xb2 wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, 0.9≤a2≤1.8, 0.7≤x2<1, 0<y2≤0.2, 0≤z2≤0.2, 0.9≤x2+y2+z2≤1.1, and 0≤b2≤0.1; M3 is one or more elements selected from among Al, B, Ba, Ca, Ce, Cr, Fe, Mg, Mn, Mo, Nb, Si, Sr, Ti, V, W, and Zr; and X is one or more elements selected from among F, P, and S (Kim Chemical Formula 1 [0041-0044]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the positive electrode active material comprises a lithium nickel-based composite oxide or a lithium nickel-cobalt-manganese oxide represented by Chemical Formula 3:
Chemical Formula 3 Lia3Nix3Coy3M4z3M5w3O2-b3Xb3 wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, 0.9≤a3≤1.8, 0.7≤x3≤0.98, 0.01≤y3≤0.19, 0.01≤z3≤0.19, 0≤w3≤0.19, 0.9≤x3+y3+z3+w3≤1.1, and 0≤b3≤0.1; M4 is one or more elements selected from among Al and Mn; M5 is one or more elements selected from among B, Ba, Ca, Ce, Cr, Fe, Mg, Mo, Nb, Si, Sr, Ti, V, W, and Zr; and X is one or more elements selected from among F, P, and S (Kim Chemical Formula 1 [0041-0044]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the positive electrode active material layer further comprises a binder and a conductive material [0069].
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a silicon-carbon composite [0092].
Regarding Claims 10 & 11, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the rechargeable lithium battery further comprises an electrolyte solution, wherein the electrolyte solution comprises a non-aqueous organic solvent and a lithium salt [0102-0103].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0178724 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches The rechargeable lithium battery, wherein based on a total amount of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material layer, an amount of Li5FeO4 is about 1 wt% to about 10 wt% (the lithium iron oxide represented by Chemical Formula 3 {Li5FeO4} are included as the positive electrode additive [0063]; the positive electrode additive may be included in an amount of 0.1 to 5 parts by weight; [0064]).
It is noted that Kim et al. differ in the exact same lithium iron oxide weight percent range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the lithium iron oxide weight percent range of Kim overlap the instant claimed 1 wt% to about 10 wt% and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 8 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0178724 A1) in view of Young-Min Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0280060 A1), herein referred to as "Kim '060".
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Kim teaches the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a silicon-carbon composite, wherein the silicon-carbon composite is in a form of the silicon particles and an amorphous carbon, wherein the negative electrode active material further comprises crystalline carbon.
Kim does not teach an amorphous carbon coated on the surface of the silicon particles.
Kim ‘060 directs to the rechargeable lithium battery, wherein the silicon-carbon composite is in a form of the silicon particles and an amorphous carbon coated on a surface of the silicon particles, wherein the negative electrode active material further comprises crystalline carbon [0043].
Kim ‘060 further teaches that inclusion of amorphous carbon on the surface of the silicon nanoparticles in the negative active material composite results in the suppression or reduction side reaction(s), resulting in the improved performance of the negative active material composite [0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to have modified the negative electrode active material of Kim by coating the silicon nanoparticles with amorphous carbon in order to suppress or reduce side reactions as suggested by Kim ‘060, in order to improve the performance of the negative active material composite.
Conclusion
/J. ALEX SINCLAIR/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721