DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2025, 7/29/2025, 3/26/2025, 7/3/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should be in narrative form. “Various disclosed embodiments include illustrative” and “given by way of non-limiting example, an illustrative module for“ should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Funahashi et al. (2003/0200761).
Funahashi et al. in figures 1-19, disclose a drive unit comprising a frame (4) and an inverter module (5) comprising a housing having an open face (41) and inverter circuitry (9) disposed in at least a portion of the housing. The open face of the inverter module is coupled to a sealing surface (8) of the frame, and wherein at least a portion of the inverter circuitry extends beyond a plane of the sealing surface and into a cavity of the frame (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Funahashi in figures 1-2, disclose the open face of the inverter module, which faces the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 3, Funahashi in figures 1-2, disclose a first z-height elevation between the sealing surface of the frame and a closed surface of the housing that is opposite of the open face of the housing is smaller than a second z-height elevation between the closed surface of the housing and a surface of the at least a portion of the inverter circuitry disposed in the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 4, Funahashi in figures 1-2, disclose the at least a portion of the inverter circuitry, which is disposed in the cavity of the frame independent of direct contact with the frame.
Regarding claim 5, Funahashi in figures 1-2, disclose the inverter module being coupled to the frame, which forms a common space within the housing of the inverter module and the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 6, Funahashi in figures 1-2, disclose the sealing surface of the frame, which is configured to sealably engage a sealing surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 7, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the frame (304) of the drive unit, which is arranged in a first orientation and the inverter module (306) is arranged in a second orientation opposite of the first orientation.
Regarding claim 8, Funahashi in figures 1-18, disclose an inverter module (301) comprising a housing (341, figure 15) having an open face and inverter circuitry (305) disposed in at least a portion of the housing. The open face of the housing is configured to engage a sealing surface (308) of a frame of a drive unit. wherein at least a portion of the inverter circuitry extends beyond a plane of the sealing surface and into a cavity of the frame based on the open face of the housing engaging the sealing surface of the frame.
Regarding claim 9, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the open face of the inverter module, which faces the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 10, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose a first z-height elevation between the sealing surface of the frame and a closed surface of the housing that is opposite of the open face of the housing is smaller than a second z-height elevation between the closed surface of the housing and a surface of the at least a portion of the inverter circuitry disposed in the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 11, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the at least a portion of the inverter circuitry, which is disposed in the cavity of the frame independent of direct contact with the frame.
Regarding claim 12, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the inverter module being coupled to the frame forms a common space within the housing of the inverter module and the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 13, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the sealing surface of the frame, which is configured to sealably engage a sealing surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 14, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the frame of the drive unit, which is arranged in a first orientation and the inverter module is arranged in a second orientation opposite of the first orientation.
Regarding claim 15, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 10-15, disclose a vehicle comprising a drive unit (302) having a frame arranged in a first orientation and an inverter module coupled to a sealing surface of the frame. The inverter module comprising inverter circuitry (305) disposed in at least a portion of a housing of the inverter module with at least a portion of the inverter circuitry arranged in a second orientation opposite of the first orientation that extends beyond a plane of the sealing surface and into a cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 16, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the housing having an open face facing the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 17, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose a first z-height elevation between the sealing surface of the frame and a closed surface of the housing that is opposite of an open face of the housing is smaller than a second z-height elevation between the closed surface of the housing and a surface of the at least a portion of the inverter circuitry disposed in the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 18, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the at least a portion of the inverter circuitry, which is disposed in the cavity of the frame independent of direct contact with the frame.
Regarding claim 19, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the inverter module being coupled to the frame forms a common space within the housing of the inverter module and the cavity of the frame.
Regarding claim 20, Funahashi in figures 1-2, 15, disclose the sealing surface of the frame sealably engages a sealing surface of the housing.
Conclusion
/HAU V PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615