DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (Fig7a-7c, 10a-10b) in the reply filed on 1/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 will be examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the adhesive, magnet (note: magnetometer is considered to be the hall effect sensor 445), LED, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitner et al. US 20080296912 (hereinafter referred to as Whitner) and further in view of Goldenson US 20170226774 (hereinafter referred to as Goldenson)
Claim 1. Whitner teaches a device, comprising:
a compartment (30,40) designed to be attached to a door (D) and be disposed outside a deadbolt base (P);
designed to detect whether a deadbolt lock turnpiece (K/170) installed on the deadbolt base is in a horizontal or vertical position (configured to based on bolt position, paragraph 35); and
a wireless transmitter (RF/IR receiver, paragraph 36- circuit 80 is equipped to receive and send IR/RF signals therefore it is configured to have a wireless transmitter that is operatively connected to receive output and further communicate with wireless transmitter 200 – see paragraphs 35-42) disposed within the compartment (fig1-3) and operatively connected to receive output (receives and communicates information of bolt position and therefore turnpiece position).
Although Whitner teaches that there are signals detected and transmitted (paragraph 35) and the deadbolt status is indicated (paragraph 35), Whitner does not explicitly teach that the status of the deadbolt is sensed, and therefore does not explicitly teach that there is a sensor that is designed to detect the deadbolt lock turnpiece is in a horizontal or vertical position, wherein the wireless transmitter receives output from the sensor.
Goldenson teaches a device comprising a sensor (magnetometer 106) designed to detect whether the deadbolt lock turnpiece (not labeled explicitly, see fig3a) is in a horizontal or vertical position, wherein the wireless transmitter (not explicitly labeled, components that allow the status of the door to be communicated to a user at a remote location, paragraph 23) receives output from the sensor (the sensor is used to determine door position, based on bolt position, paragraphs 7 and 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Whitner with the explicit addition of the sensor as taught by Goldenson in order to reduce the wiring and create a simpler system for detecting the position of the bolt (Goldenson, paragraph 4).
Claim 2. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the compartment is dimensioned to hold one or more battery (Whitner, fig1-3).
Claim 3. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the one or more battery comprises a 9 volt battery. (Whitner paragraph 34)
Claim 4. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the one or more battery comprises a AAA battery. (Whitner paragraph 34)
Claim 5. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the one or more battery comprises a coin battery. (Whitner paragraph 34 details explicitly that the batteries can be standard batteries, and then lists examples along with “etc,” therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Whitner is capable of also teach the one or more battery comprises a coin battery because it is well known in the art that a coin battery is also a standard battery.)
Claim 6. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the compartment is designed to be positioned adjacent to a portion of the deadbolt base. (Whitner, fig1-3)
Claim 7. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the compartment is designed to surround the deadbolt base. (Whitner fig1-3)
Claim 8. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a magnetometer (Goldenson 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Whitner with a magnet, wherein the sensor is magnetometer, as taught by Goldenson in order to reduce the wiring and create a simpler system for detecting the position of the bolt (Goldenson, paragraph 4).
Claim 9. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a magnet (Goldenson 106) however the combination does not teach it positioned on the deadbolt lock turnpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the magnet to be on the deadbolt lock turnpiece in order to detect the deflection of the turnpiece (by detecting the magnetic field due to the deflection of the magnet, Goldenson paragraph 16) since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is of routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.
Claim 10. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising an LED disposed within the compartment. (Whitner paragraph 13)
Claim 11. Whitner in view of Goldenson teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the compartment comprises an adhesive on one surface capable of attachment to the door. (Whitner paragraph 33)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to cover devices with detection capabilities.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 12322232, US 4899564, US 5423583.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675