DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Dependent claim 2 contains ranges which are broader (30-70%) than found in the independent claim 1 (30-50%). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub No. 2015/0183194 to Lehmann in view of US Pub No. 2009/0126411 to Callaway, US Pub No. 2012/0264343 to Wienke and US Pub No. 2011/0097530 to Gohil.
Regarding Claims 1-2
Lehmann teaches a laminated fabric comprising HDPE and PP laminated with a polyolefin film (Lehmann, abstract, paragraph [0007]- [0008]). Lehman teaches that the polyolefin film may comprise LDPE and PP such as between 0 and 100% of each component which overlaps the claimed range of between 30 and 50% of each component (Id., paragraph [0017], [0050]- [0053], [0060], [0080]). Lehmann teaches that the PP component may comprise PP homopolymer and PP copolymer (Id.). Lehman teaches that the mixture is kneaded and melted in a cylinder including a screw and then providing the molten resin raw material mixture through a die in a constant amount and then forming a resin layer by passing the molten resin through the die and bonding it to the fabric at temperatures between 230 to 300 degrees Celsius (Id., paragraph [0079], [0089]). Although Lehman does not specifically require two heating regions, the claimed temperatures overlap and therefore the limitation is met by the range of temperatures taught by Lehman since the designation of a “region” is arbitrary, additionally some variance in temperature would necessarily exist between one end of a die and the other. Lehman teaches that PET is a thermoplastic polymer resin of the polyester family which may be utilized (Id., paragraph [0061]). Lehman teaches that the different materials utilized in the cross-weave and the material composition of coating provides improved tear strength and reduced delamination when used in tarpaulin applications (Id., paragraph [0006]).
Lehmann teaches that the polyolefin film may comprise LDPE and PP such as between 0 and 100% of each component which overlaps the claimed range of between 30 and 50% of each component (Id., paragraph [0017], [0050]- [0053], [0060], [0080]). Lehmann teaches that the PP component may comprise PP homopolymer and PP copolymer (Id.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to form the composite of the prior art combination, adjust, vary and optimize the range, such as including an amount of 30-50% by weight of polypropylene and 10-20% by weight of copolymer relative to the total composition, motivated by the desire to form a conventional composite fabric based on the totality of the teachings of Lehman.
Lehmann does not specifically teach the claimed structure of the woven fabric. However, Callaway teaches a fabric useful for tarpaulins, comprising a fabric layer including two multifilament yarns which are arranged to cross and a ground yarn binding the two multifilament crossing yarns (Callaway, abstract, paragraph [0002], [0035], fig. 3B, 4B). Callaway teaches that the cross yarns may comprise polyolefins (Id., paragraph [0035], [0055], [0060]). Callaway teaches that the grounding yarn is preferably polyester, of which PET has been demonstrated by Lehman as being suitable for coated fabrics including tarpaulins (Id., paragraph [0034]). Callaway teaches that said fabrics possess sufficient dimensional stability to withstand the coating process (Id., paragraph [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the coated fabric and method of making said coated fabric of Lehman, and to utilize as the weave structure, the woven fabric of Callway, motivated by the desire to form a conventional tarpaulin and method of making said tarpaulin having improved dimensional stability to withstand the coating process.
Lehmann does not appear to teach the specific monomer mixture of the polyolefin copolymer. However, Wienke teaches a flexible sheet such as a tarpaulin comprising a resin layer of a copolymer of propylene and ethylene wherein the amount of ethylene monomer is between 5 and 20% which overlaps the claimed range of between 15 and 20%, the remainder would necessarily comprise between 80 and 95% of propylene monomer, overlapping the claimed range of between 80 and 85% by weight (Wienke, abstract, paragraphs [0039]- [0040], [0082]- [0085]). Wienke teaches that coated fabrics comprising this copolymer resin result in composites having light weight, high strength, outstanding weather resistance and flexibility (Id). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the composite of the Lehman and to utilize as the olefin copolymer, the propylene/ethylene copolymer of Wienke, motivated by the desire to form a conventional coated fabric having improved weight, strength, weather resistance and flexibility.
Lehmann teaches that the composition is extruded through a die such as a slot die but does not teach that the slot die is a T-shaped. However, Gohil teaches films of LDPE and/or polypropylene which are useful in forming laminates and tarpaulins, and are extruded through dies such as slot dies, T-shaped dies or “coat-hanger” dies (Gohil, abstract, paragraph [0058], [0066], [0118], [0140]), establishing functional equivalence between slot dies and T-dies for use in film forming operations. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the composition of Lehmann, and substituting the slot die of Lehmann with a T-shaped die, as suggested by Gohil, motivated by the desire to form a conventional method of making a film for laminate tarpaulins, comprising processing equipment known in the art as being functionally equivalent and predictably suitable for use in forming LDPE and Polypropylene films.
Conclusion
/VINCENT TATESURE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786