DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0045] the applicant says “correction processing unit 83 prints a test pattern” but according to the specification the correction processing unit is a part of the controller and is incapable of printing something.
Throughout the specification the applicant refers to the “upperlimit”, upper limit should have a space.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 the applicant refers to the “ejection malfunction nozzles” in both the singular and plural. When the singular is used it seems to imply the invention is capable of only fixing one nozzle and it is inconsistent. The different forms of ejection malfunction nozzle should be changed to be the same to be consistent.
Claims 1, 2 and 3 cite the “upperlimit value”, upper limit should have a space.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: a control unit and a correction processing unit in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The control unit’s structure can be found in paragraph [0038] and is a computer. The correction processing unit’s structure is also described in paragraph [0038].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the language in claim 1 is unclear in meaning and scope, particularly with respect to the language in the last paragraph of claim 1. In particular, the phrase “the processing unit preferentially sets as a target of the correction process…” is unclear as to how the processing unit “preferentially” sets as the target one nozzle over another. In particular it is not clear the scope of the term “preferentially sets”--specifically, what is required to be considered to preferentially set something relative to another thing? How is the preference determined? Additionally, it is not clear what the language “sets as a target of the correction process” is intended to mean. In particular what is meant by the term “target”-- does this mean the target is the element being corrected by the correction process or an element being used in the correction process. Also the claim language is not clear with respect to what the correction process comprises and how it is particularly being performed. Furthermore it is not clear how one nozzle is “earlier” or later since the claim has not recited any particular timing or arrangement with respect to the claimed nozzles that results in the earlier or later deposition of ink droplets. Additionally, it is unclear how the ejection malfunction nozzle as recited in lines 8-9 corresponds to the arranged nozzles previously recited in line 3 and whether these are intended to be different structures.
Regarding claim 5, the language of the claim is so unclear that the examiner does not know what is being claimed rendering the claim indefinite and unexaminable. This claim is not being examined in light of prior art till it is corrected to distinctly and understandably claim the invention. Specifically, the phrase “an increasing amount” because an increasing amount seems to imply the amount is changing over time but it is unclear what is meant by the phrase and how it is happening. Also, the phrase “the increasing amount is changed correspondingly to an ink droplet ejection order between this ejection malfunction nozzle and the two adjacent dots” is confusing because it is unclear what order means in this context and how an increasing amount can be changed to be between the ejection malfunction nozzle and the two adjacent dots.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hattori et al. (US 20140063101 A1).
Regarding claim 1, to the extent the claim language is clear and understandable, Hattori et al. teaches, a recording head configured to eject ink corresponding to an image to be printed, using arranged nozzles (paragraph [0052] and Fig 1. Elements 46C, M , Y and K), a control unit configured to determine nozzles corresponding to the image to be printed, correspondingly to a position of a print sheet, and cause the recording head to eject ink from the nozzles (paragraph [0074] and [0075] and Fig. 4 element 11) where the control units includes an equivalent computer (paragraphs [0084] and [0085]), a correction processing unit configured to detect an ejection malfunction nozzle and perform a correction process corresponding to the ejection malfunction nozzles where the unit creates a test pattern (paragraphs [0069] and [0070] and Fig. 4 elements 60, 90 and 94), wherein if the number of the detected ejection malfunction nozzles exceeds a predetermined upper limit value (were the upper limit for this device is 0), the correction processing unit preferentially sets as a target of the correction process an ejection malfunction nozzle that ejects an ink droplet earlier than nozzles corresponding to two adjacent dots of a dot corresponding to the ejection malfunction nozzle (paragraphs [0015], [0108] and [0114] Fig. 6A and Fig. 8 continued element S44).
Regarding claim 2, Hattori et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and also teaches The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein if the number of the detected ejection malfunction nozzles exceeds the predetermined upper limit value (where the upper limit value is considered to be 0), the correction processing unit (a) sets as a primary preference nozzle an ejection malfunction nozzle that ejects an ink droplet earlier than nozzles corresponding to the two adjacent dots (paragraph [0015]), (b) sets as a secondary preference nozzle an ejection malfunction nozzle that ejects an ink droplet earlier than one of nozzles corresponding to the two adjacent dots but ejects an ink droplet later than the other of nozzles corresponding to the two adjacent dots (paragraph [0018]), and (c) sets the primary preference nozzle and the secondary preference nozzle as targets of the correction process in an order of the primary preference nozzle, the secondary preference nozzle (paragraphs [0015], [0108] and [0114], Fig. 6A and B and Fig. 8 continued element S44).
Regarding claim 3, Hattori et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and also teaches wherein if the number of the ejection malfunction nozzles that ejects an ink droplet earlier than nozzles corresponding to the two adjacent dots exceeds a predetermined upper limit value (where the upper limit value is taken to be 0), the correction processing unit selects as targets of the correction process the ejection malfunction nozzles that eject ink droplets earlier than nozzles corresponding to the respective two adjacent dots such that the number of the selected ejection malfunction nozzles is equal to or less than the predetermined upper limit value among the ejection malfunction nozzles that eject an ink droplet earlier than nozzles corresponding to the respective two adjacent dots (paragraphs [0015], [0108] and [0114], Fig. 6A and B and Fig. 8 continued element S44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (US 20140063101 A1) in view of Yamanobe et al. (US 20070211101 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hattori et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and teaches were the correction processing unit increases an ink droplet amount of a nozzle corresponding to at least one of the two adjacent dots (paragraph [0113] and Fig. 9B) but fails to teach wherein regardless of an ejection malfunction type of the ejection malfunction nozzle, the correction processing unit (a) sets the ejection malfunction nozzle as a non-ejection nozzle. Yamanobe does teach wherein regardless of an ejection malfunction type of the ejection malfunction nozzle, the correction processing unit sets the ejection malfunction nozzle as a non-ejection nozzle (paragraphs [0010], and [0023]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to add Yamanobe’s method to Hattori’s method as an addition of the known practice in the art of turning off and compensating for malfunctioning nozzles in order to improve print quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamamoto et al. (US-20110032293-A1) and Jung et al. (US 20070153035 A1) are cited as having apparatuses similar to the disclosed invention.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Leslie J Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853