Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II drawn to a method of delivering a heart valve assembly in the reply filed on 8/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the annulus frame" in line 10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Since claim 13 is rejected under 112b, claims 14-17 which depend therefrom are also rejected under 112b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hariton (CA3085266A1) in view of Schreck (2014/0222140A1).
In regard to claim 13, Hariton teaches a method of delivering a heart valve assembly to an aortic annulus which has native aortic leaflets, comprising:
providing a heart valve assembly (fig 1E) comprising:
a valve frame 30 having a cylindrical body (fig 1E) with an inflow end and an outflow end, a plurality of commissure posts (see vertical posts at the top of 30) connected to the outflow end (fig 1E),
and a leaflet 62 assembly sutured to the plurality of commissure posts and the valve frame, the leaflet assembly having a plurality of leaflets;
an outflow frame 56 having a plurality of connection posts, with each connection post connected to one of the plurality of commissure posts; (see figure 1F)
and wherein the valve frame 30 and the annulus frame 56 (interpreted as best understood to refer to the outflow frame) are made from different materials; (abstract)
providing a delivery system 100 having:
a balloon catheter (fig 2A-D) having a shaft 106 having a distal end (towards tip, fig 2A),
a balloon 120 provided on the shaft 106 adjacent the distal end (fig 2B-C),
and a frame seat located on the shaft 106 directly proximal to the balloon 120 (portion of shaft proximal to the balloon);
a sheath 114 assembly having a capsule 110, 112;
and crimping the heart valve assembly on to the balloon catheter (pg 5: tubular frame is compressed around the body balloon portion; pg 23: operator crimps tubular frame around balloon)
sliding the capsule to cover the balloon and the frame seat; (pg 28, last p: closing the capsule: 110, 112; see fig 3A);
advancing the delivery system with the heart valve assembly ensheathed by the capsule (fig 3A) to the location of an aortic annulus in a human heart with the valve frame at the location of the aortic annulus; (pg 6; p 1: delivery to an annulus of a native heart valve; pg 27, p 3: native valve being an aortic valve)
withdrawing the capsule such that the capsule does not cover the outflow frame (figures 2A-2C; Fig 3A-B), and such that the outflow frame begins to self-expand while the valve frame remains crimped (fig 3A-B);
inflating the balloon 120 to expand the valve frame (fig 2D);
deflating the balloon; (fig 3G; pg 28, p 6: balloon is deflated)
and withdrawing the balloon catheter. (fig 3H; pg 28, p 6: tool is withdrawn)
However, Hariton teaches the valve is disposed in an opposite orientation on the catheter with the outflow frame around the distal end rather than a proximal end with comparison to the balloon.
Schreck teaches by seating the outflow frame 102 around the frame seat and the valve frame (inflow side 104) over the balloon 222 (see figure 16B) to deliver a valve to an aortic annulus 206.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the catheter of Hariton to deliver the valve in an opposite orientation as taught by Schreck in order to use a different surgical approach and to deliver the device to the aortic annulus instead of the mitral valve (coming from the opposite direction).
In regard to claim 14, Hariton meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 13, and further teaches providing the outflow frame 56 with a ring of V-shaped of members (46, proximal row), with each V- shaped member having two struts that are connected at a vertex (fig 1E), and defining an outflow end opposite the vertex (fig 1E), and wherein a rounded eyelet tip 44, 49 is provided at the outflow end of some of the V-shaped members (fig 1E).
Hariton further teaches providing an ear hub 130 (extends from central portion as shown in figures 3E-F; ear hub does not appear to convey any particular structure; it is recommended to further clarify this structure) on the shaft 106 immediately proximal to the frame seat (fig 3E-F);
and wherein the eyelet 44, 49 engages (defined as is involved with) the ear hub 130 when the valve frame is seated around the frame seat and the annulus frame (interpreted as the outflow frame as discussed in the rejection of claim 13) is seated over the balloon 120 (see fig 3E-F).
However, as discussed in the rejection of claim 13, Hariton does not teach the outflow end of the stent is towards the proximal end of the balloon catheter. Hariton teaches the valve being delivered in an opposite orientation.
Scheck teaches the valve delivered in the opposite orientation as discussed in the rejection of claim 13. (see figure 16B)
When flipped as discussed in the rejection of claim 13, Scheck will teaches that ear hub 130 of Hariton will engage with the eyelets either directly or indirectly which are at the outflow end of the stent of Hariton.
The examiner recommends more closely claiming the structure of the outflow end.
In regard to claim 15, Hariton meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 13, and further teaches providing the outflow frame as a self-expanding material (pg 3, p1, flanges are composed of nickel titanium) and the valve frame 30 as a balloon expandable material. (pg 3, p 1: tubular frame is composed of cobalt chromium)
In regard to claim 16, Hariton meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the valve frame is made from cobalt-chromium. (pg 3, p 1: tubular frame is composed of cobalt chromium)
In regard to claim 17, Hariton meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 16, and further teaches the outflow frame is made from Nitinol. (pg 3, p1, flanges are composed of nickel titanium).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIE BAHENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774