DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acedo et al. (EP2952832A1) and in further view of Jeong (Translation of DE102021209384A1), hereinafter referred to as Acedo and Jeong.
[AltContent: textbox (Second Plate)][AltContent: textbox (First Plate)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Acedo Figure 3D
Regarding Claim 1, Acedo discloses a thermal management module, comprising:
a heat exchanger (603) in fluid communication with a first circuit (containing the flow paths Ri-Ro and Ei-Eo, as shown in figure 3E) having a first fluid (6033) therein and a second circuit (secondary flow circuit, Si-So, shown in figure 3E) having a second fluid (“water flow”) therein, wherein the heat exchanger comprises:
a plurality of first plates (shown in annotated figure 3D);
a plurality of second plates (shown in annotated figure 3D, “the integral heat exchanger 601, 602, 603 is preferably a plate-to-plate heat exchanger which consists of a number of plates made of stainless steel”), wherein the first plates and the second plates are alternatingly arranged in a stacked relationship (shown in figure 3D, wherein the plates are stacked in order to produce the fluid flow paths); and
a divider plate (63) disposed between one of the first plates and an adjacent one of the second plates (shown in annotated figure 3D), wherein the plates cooperate to form at least a first flow path (Ei-Eo), a second flow path (Ri-Ro), and a third flow path (Si-So) for at least one of the fluids, and wherein
the fluids are in thermal energy exchange relationship with one another (shown in figures 3C-3D), wherein
the divider plate (63) divides the heat exchanger into a first portion (shown in figure 3D, being the left portion of the heat exchanger containing the Ei-Eo flow path) and a second portion (shown in figure 3D, being the right portion of the heat exchanger containing the Si-So flow path),
the first portion (shown in figure 3D, being the left portion of the heat exchanger containing the Ei-Eo flow path) is in fluid communication with the first circuit (shown in figure 3D), and
the second portion (shown in figure 3D, being the right portion of the heat exchanger containing the Si-So flow path) is in fluid communication with the second circuit (secondary flow circuit, Si-So, shown in figure 3E), and wherein
the first portion includes all of the inlets and outlets (shown in figure 3D) of the first flow path (Ei-Eo) and the outlet (shown in figure 3C) of the second flow path (Ri-Ro).
Although the diagram in figure 3E of Acedo shows the inlets and outlets for the first flow path and the second flow path being on the same side of the heat exchanger, Acedo fails to explicitly disclose the first portion includes all of the inlets and outlets of the first flow path and the second flow path.
Jeong, also drawn to a stacked plate heat exchanger having an expansion valve for a refrigerant flow with multiple fluids flowing through said stacked plate heat exchanger and a divider plate, teaches a first portion (shown in figure 5, being the right side of the stacked plate heat exchanger (P8-P12)) includes all of the inlets and outlets of a first flow path (RP1) and a second flow path (RP2). It is noted that Jeong teaches flow path RP1 travels through the heat exchanger upstream of an expansion valve (41, see figure 9), wherein the refrigerant flow path is labeled R2 downstream from said expansion valve.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per MPEP 2143-I, a simple substitution of one known element for another, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the simple substitution is related to substituting the inlet for the second fluid path not being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path with the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path; further the prior art to Jeong teaches the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path is known for minimizing piping for the fluid flow path. Therefore, since modifying the prior art to Acedo with having the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the heat exchanger device; and in view of the teachings of the prior art to Jeong there will be reasonable expectations of success with heat being exchanged between the working fluids, it would have been obvious to have modified the invention of Acedo by having the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path in order to conform to a predetermined piping configuration or to minimize overall piping within the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Acedo further discloses the first flow path (Ei-Eo) receives therein a relatively high-pressure, high-temperature first fluid (see intended use analysis below) from the first circuit (containing the flow paths Ri-Ro and Ei-Eo, as shown in figure 3E).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “high-pressure” and “high-temperature”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 3, Acedo further discloses the second flow path (Ri-Ro) receives therein a relatively low-pressure, low-temperature first fluid (see intended use analysis below) from the first circuit (containing the flow paths Ri-Ro and Ei-Eo, as shown in figure 3E).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “low-pressure” and “low-temperature”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 4, Acedo further discloses the third flow path (Si-So) receives therein the second fluid from the second circuit (secondary flow circuit, Si-So, shown in figure 3E).
Regarding Claim 8, Acedo further discloses the first portion (shown in figure 3D, being the left portion of the heat exchanger containing the Ei-Eo flow path) is an internal heat exchanger (see intended use analysis below).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “internal heat exchanger”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 9, Acedo further discloses the second portion (shown in figure 3D, being the right portion of the heat exchanger containing the Si-So flow path) is a chiller (see intended use analysis below).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “chiller”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 10, Acedo further discloses the first flow path (Ei-Eo) is located entirely in the first portion of the heat exchanger (shown in figure 3D).
Regarding Claim 11, Acedo further discloses the second flow path (Ri-Ro) is located in at least one of the first portion and the second portion of the heat exchanger (shown in figure 3C).
Regarding Claim 12, Acedo further discloses the third flow path (Si-So) is located entirely in the second portion of the heat exchanger (shown in figure 3D).
Regarding Claim 13, Acedo further discloses an expansion valve assembly (40) fluidly connected to the heat exchanger (shown in figure 3E), wherein the expansion valve assembly is in fluid communication with the first circuit (shown in figures 3D-3E).
Regarding Claim 14, Acedo further discloses the expansion valve assembly (40) is in fluid communication with at least one of the first flow path (Ei-Eo) and the second flow path (Ri-Ro).
Regarding Claim 15, Acedo further discloses the expansion valve assembly (40) includes an expansion valve for changing a relatively high-pressure, high-temperature first fluid from the first circuit into a relatively low-pressure, low-temperature first fluid (see intended use analysis below).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “for changing a relatively high-pressure, high-temperature first fluid from the first circuit into a relatively low-pressure, low-temperature first fluid”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 16, Acedo further discloses the second flow path (Ri-Ro) receives the relatively low-pressure, low-temperature first fluid from the expansion valve (shown in figure 3E) assembly (see intended use analysis below).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “relatively low-pressure, low-temperature first fluid”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 17, Acedo further discloses the relatively high-pressure, high-temperature first fluid from the first circuit (containing the flow paths Ri-Ro and Ei-Eo, as shown in figure 3E) is in thermal energy exchange relationship with the relatively low-pressure, low temperature first fluid from the expansion valve assembly (40, shown in figure 3E).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “the relatively high-pressure, high-temperature first fluid from the first circuit is in thermal energy exchange relationship with the relatively low-pressure, low temperature first fluid”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 18, Acedo further discloses the relatively low-pressure, low temperature first fluid from the expansion valve assembly (40, shown in figure 3E) is in thermal energy exchange relationship (shown in figures 3C-3E) with the second fluid from the second circuit (secondary flow circuit, Si-So, shown in figure 3E).
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “the relatively high-pressure, high-temperature first fluid”, “the relatively low-pressure, low temperature first fluid”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 19, although Acedo further discloses the thermal management module is integrated into a thermal management system (shown in figures 3C-3E), and wherein the thermal management system further includes at least one of a compressor (20) and a condenser (30) in the first circuit shown in figure 3E), Acedo fails to disclose the thermal management module is integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle.
Jeong, also drawn to a stacked plate heat exchanger having an expansion valve for a refrigerant flow with multiple fluid flows through said stacked plate heat exchanger and a divider plate, teaches the thermal management module (shown in figure 9) is integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle (see abstract), and wherein the thermal management system further includes at least one of a compressor (60) and a condenser (55) in a first circuit (shown in figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Acedo with the thermal management module being integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle, as taught by Jeong, the motivation being “the installation space can be reduced and the line man-hour can be reduced”.
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “is integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Regarding Claim 20, Acedo discloses a method of managing thermal energy, comprising:
providing a thermal management module comprising a heat exchanger (603) in fluid communication with a first circuit (containing the flow paths Ri-Ro and Ei-Eo, as shown in figure 3E) and a second circuit (secondary flow circuit, Si-So, shown in figure 3E), wherein the heat exchanger comprises:
a plurality of first plates (shown in annotated figure 3D);
a plurality of second plates (shown in annotated figure 3D, “the integral heat exchanger 601, 602, 603 is preferably a plate-to-plate heat exchanger which consists of a number of plates made of stainless steel”), wherein the first plates and the second plates are alternatingly arranged in a stacked relationship (shown in figure 3D, wherein the plates are stacked in order to produce the fluid flow paths); and
a divider plate (63) disposed between one of the first plates and an adjacent one of the second plates (shown in annotated figure 3D), wherein the plates cooperate to form at least a first flow path (Ei-Eo) for receiving a first fluid from the first circuit (shown in figure 3E), a second flow path (Ri-Ro) for receiving the first fluid from the first circuit (shown in figure 3E), and a third flow path (Si-So) for receiving a second fluid from the second circuit (shown in figure 3E); wherein
the fluids are in thermal energy exchange relationship with one another (shown in figures 3C-3D), wherein the divider plate (63) divides the heat exchanger into a first portion (shown in figure 3D, being the left portion of the heat exchanger containing the Ei-Eo flow path) and a second portion (shown in figure 3D, being the right portion of the heat exchanger containing the Si-So flow path),
the first portion (shown in figure 3D, being the left portion of the heat exchanger containing the Ei-Eo flow path) is in fluid communication with the first circuit (shown in figure 3D), and
the second portion (shown in figure 3D, being the right portion of the heat exchanger containing the Si-So flow path) is in fluid communication with the second circuit (secondary flow circuit, Si-So, shown in figure 3E) and wherein
the first portion includes all of the inlets and outlets (shown in figure 3D) of the first flow path (Ei-Eo) and the outlet (shown in figure 3C) of the second flow path (Ri-Ro);
supplying at least one of the first fluid from the first circuit and the second fluid from the second circuit to the heat exchanger (shown in figure 3E); and
exchanging thermal energy between the first fluid in the second flow path and at least one of the first fluid in the first flow path (shown in figure 3E) and the second fluid in the third flow path (shown in figure 3E).
Although the diagram in figure 3E of Acedo shows the inlets and outlets for the first flow path and the second flow path being on the same side of the heat exchanger, Acedo fails to explicitly disclose the first portion includes all of the inlets and outlets of the first flow path and the second flow path.
Jeong, also drawn to a stacked plate heat exchanger having an expansion valve for a refrigerant flow with multiple fluid flows through said stacked plate heat exchanger and a divider plate, teaches a first portion (shown in figure 5, being the right side of the stacked plate heat exchanger (P8-P12)) includes all of the inlets and outlets of a first flow path (RP1) and a second flow path (RP2). It is noted that Jeong further teaches flow path RP1 travels through the heat exchanger upstream of an expansion valve (41, see figure 9), wherein the refrigerant is labeled R2 thereafter.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per MPEP 2143-I, a simple substitution of one known element for another, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the simple substitution is related to substituting the inlet for the second fluid path not being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path with the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path; further the prior art to Jeong teaches the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path is known for minimizing piping for the fluid flow path. Therefore, since modifying the prior art to Acedo with having the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the heat exchanger device; and in view of the teachings of the prior art to Jeong there will be reasonable expectations of success with heat being exchanged between the working fluids, it would have been obvious to have modified the invention of Acedo by having the inlet for the second fluid path being on the same side of a heat exchanger as the inlet/outlet for the first fluid path in order to conform to a predetermined piping configuration or to minimize overall piping within the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acedo et al. (EP2952832A1) and in further view of Jeong (Translation of DE102021209384A1) as applied in Claims 1-4 and 8-20 above and in further view of Tan et al. (Translation of CN116061651A), hereinafter referred to as Tan.
Regarding Claim 19, although Acedo further discloses the thermal management module is integrated into a thermal management system (shown in figures 3C-3E), and wherein the thermal management system further includes at least one of a compressor (20) and a condenser (30) in the first circuit shown in figure 3E), Acedo fails to disclose the thermal management module is integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle.
Tan, also drawn to a heat pump system with a plate heat exchanger, teaches the thermal management module (shown in figure 1) is integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle (see abstract), and wherein the thermal management system further includes at least one of a compressor (3) and a condenser (2) in a first circuit (shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Acedo with the thermal management module being integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle, as taught by Tan, the motivation being to “effectively avoids the traditional defrosting process with short time refrigeration effect, improves the comfort of the environment in the vehicle and driving safety” and “eliminate the problem of consuming too much battery electric energy in the defrosting process, so as to effectively solve the problem that the electric air conditioning system is low in low temperature climate, frost and defrosting, it also realizes the vehicle temperature overall adjustment, improves the comfort in the vehicle”.
A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed, regarding “is integrated into a thermal management system of a vehicle”, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. Please see Section 2114 of the MPEP entitled Functional Language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763