DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment received on July 21, 2026, has been entered in full.
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims interpretation under 35 USC 112 (f)/6th paragraph have been considered and are not persuasive, therefore, claims interpretation under 35 USC 112 (f)/6th paragraph have been maintained. Applicant argues in substance that “The claims do not use the term "means," and therefore there is a rebuttable presumption that §112(f) does not apply. The Office has not overcome that presumption because the complete terms "imaging units," "first imaging unit," and "second imaging unit" connote sufficiently definite image-acquisition structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim limitations as filed uses a term “unit(s)” that is a generic placeholder (also called nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 112 (2nd paragraph) have been considered and are persuasive, therefore, rejection under 35 USC 112 (2nd paragraph) have been withdrawn.
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 103 as presented in the amendment filed have been fully considered and are persuasive, therefore rejections under 35 USC 103 have been withdrawn.
5. With respect to double patenting rejection, since applicant did not address double patenting rejection issue, office still maintains double patenting rejection on the respective claims.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 13, 15 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-8, 15 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,020,417 B2 (herein referred to as Buzaglo). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 7 of Buzaglo (claim 7 includes the subject matter of claim 7 and 1; and the citations have been made both in claim 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 1, Buzaglo discloses A method comprising:
obtaining one or more images of a defect located on a die of a semiconductor wafer (claim 1 – col. 12, lines 66-67;
applying a plurality of prediction models on the one or more images to obtain a plurality of classification decisions of the defect, each of the plurality of prediction models is configured to classify defects into one or more defect classes (claim 1 – col. 13, lines 11-20);
obtaining metrology information of the defect and utilizing the metrology information in combination with the plurality of classification decisions to determine a combined classification decision of the defect (claim 7 – col. 13, lines 38-42); and
outputting the combined classification decision (claim 1 – col. 13, line 21).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 8 of Buzaglo.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 1 of Buzaglo (col. 13, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 1 of Buzaglo (col. 13, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per claim 7; and further can also be rejected as per claim 18.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 8 of Buzaglo.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 1 of Buzaglo (col. 13, lines 1-4).
Claim Interpretation
10. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging units”, “first imaging unit”, “second imaging unit” in claims 10, 13, and 20.
The closest prior art(s) as cited do not teach “utilizing the metrology information in combination with the plurality of classification decisions to determine a combined classification decision of the defect; and outputting the combined classification decision” as recited in claims 1 and 13.
11. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16-17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Chen et al., U.S. Patent No. 8,135,204 B1 teaches a histogram of a defect (col. 11).
Luu et al., U.S. Patent Publication No. 7,229,845 B1 teaches a histogram of a defect (figure 3).
Price et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,293,970 B2, discloses a histogram of a defect.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
September 30, 2026