DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/09/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig 1 is missing reference numerals and/or terms to identify the components in the figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Resistive Pressure Sensor With Electrode Cracked Structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “to generate a sensing signal changing along with the electrical resistance”. However it is unclear if the sensing signal is what is providing a signal that is actually the amount of electrical resistance being detected or if the sensing signal detects something else but is being adjusted based on the electrical resistance. Therefore, the claim has been rendered indefinite. In applicant’s specification (see paragraph 0045 of instant specification) the sensing signal is described as being based on the change in electrical resistance. For the purpose of examination, examiner will treat the claim as described in the specification.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the crack structure further includes a plurality of first sub-cracks distributed along the first direction”. However it is unclear if the claim is referring to the already introduced “plurality of first sub-cracks” or introducing a new distinct set of “plurality of”.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the width of the each first sub-crack of a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks is within a range of 100 nanometers-3 micrometers.”. However it is unclear as to what width the claim is referring to. Claim 9 from which claim 10 depends, recites “each first sub-crack in a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks has a varying width in an extension direction”. However if each of the first sub-cracks in a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks has a varying width it the extension direction, it is unclear what width claim 10 is providing a working range for. Is it the minimum width, the average width, the width at every point or a maximum width. (See paragraph 0061 of the instant specification)
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a ratio of a maximum width of the each first sub-crack of a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks to a length of the substrate layer is less than or equal to a tensile strain of the substrate layer during preparation”. However it is unclear what part of the sensor or it’s components the claim is referring to as there is no recited manufacturing procedures. (See MPEP2173.05(p))
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the claims recite “a part of the plurality of the first sub-cracks” but claim 9 from which both claims depend on has already introduced “a part of the plurality of the first sub-cracks”. It is unclear if the claims are referring to the same part as introduced in claim 9 or new respective distinct parts.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation "an extension direction of the each first sub-crack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 from which claim 12 depends only recites “the substrate layer extends along a first direction, and the crack structure includes a plurality of first sub-cracks arranged at intervals along the first direction ”.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites “a plurality of second sub-cracks”. However “a plurality of first sub-cracks” is not introduced until claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al US20200240859 (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a sensor (high sensitivity crack sensor, abstract), comprising:
a substrate layer (flexible substrate) configured to deform in response to an external force; and
an electrode layer (conductive thin film) arranged on the substrate layer,
wherein the electrode layer includes a crack structure (Paragraph 0055), and a deformation of the substrate layer changes a dimension of the crack structure to change an electrical resistance of the electrode layer and to generate a sensing signal changing along with the electrical resistance (Paragraphs 0053-0063, Figs 3-7, and 10).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the substrate layer (flexible substrate) extends along a first direction (See Figs 3-7), and the crack structure includes a plurality of first sub-cracks arranged at intervals along the first direction. (Paragraphs 0049-0051, Paragraphs 0063-0070, See also Fig 4)
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the substrate layer (flexible substrate) extends along a first direction (See Figs 3-7), the crack structure includes a plurality of second sub-cracks arranged at intervals along a second direction, each second sub-crack of the plurality of second sub-cracks extends along the first direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Paragraph 0151 discloses elongating and stretching bi-axially to generate cracks in multiple directions, See Fig 16).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the crack structure (See Figs 3-7 and 16) further includes a plurality of first sub-cracks distributed along the first direction. (Paragraph 0151 discloses elongating and stretching bi-axially to generate cracks in multiple directions, See Fig 16)
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the plurality of first sub- cracks are non-uniformly distributed in the first direction. (Paragraphs 0064-0065, 0153-0157, See Figs 3-8)
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the substrate layer (flexible substrate) has a beam-like structure or a plate-like structure, and the first direction is a length direction of the substrate layer. (Paragraphs 0053-0063, Figs 3-8, and 10)
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses each first sub-crack in a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks has a varying width in an extension direction. (Paragraphs 0049-0051, Paragraphs 0063-0070, See also Fig 4)
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the width of the each first sub-crack of a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks is within a range of 100 nanometers-3 micrometers. (Paragraphs 0083-0084, 0146)
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a ratio of a maximum width of the each first sub-crack of a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks to a length of the substrate layer is less than or equal to a tensile strain of the substrate layer during preparation. (Paragraphs 0083-0084, 0146)
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the electrode layer (conductive thin film) is electrically connected to two output ends (See Fig 10), and an included angle between a line connecting the two output ends and an extension direction of the each first sub-crack is within a range of 80 degrees-100 degrees. (Paragraph 0076, 0141-0142, 0165-0166)
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses the each first sub-crack of a part of the plurality of first sub-cracks is of a curved shape in an extension direction. (Paragraph 0065-0066, Fig 4)
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the electrical resistance of the electrode layer (conductive thin film) varies nonlinearly with the dimension of the crack structure. (Paragraph 0097-0101, 0139, See Figs 11-15)
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses the electrode layer (conductive thin film) includes a material including a first Young’s modulus, and the substrate layer (flexible substrate) includes a material (Paragraph 0081) including a second Young’s modulus, wherein the second Young’s modulus does not exceed 1/10 of the first Young’s modulus. (Paragraph 0081-0083 discloses the flexible substrate is made of a material made of a second Young’s Modulus that does not exceed 1/10 of the electrode layers material young modulus)
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al US20200240859 (hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Kang et al US20160123820 (hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the sensor according to claim 2.
However, Choi fails to disclose a total count of the plurality of first sub-cracks is within a range of 10-10000. Kang discloses a total count of the plurality of first sub-cracks. (Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0057, 0061, 0063 discloses that the number of cracks is not limited and may vary depending on various factors such as thickness and formation conditions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Kang into Choi for the purpose of increasing sensor sensitivity. The modification would allow for controlling the external force sensitivity detection level during operational use which can increase detection accuracy.
Choi in view of Kang disclose the claimed invention except for specifically teaching “a total count of the plurality of first sub-cracks is within a range of 10-10000.”, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to design the total count of the plurality of first sub-cracks to be within the range of 10-10000, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.05(II-A); Please note that in the instant application, see paragraph 0064, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the sensor according to claim 2.
However, Choi fails to disclose the substrate layer has a circular membrane-like structure, and the first direction is a radial direction of the substrate layer. Kang discloses the sensor although not circular itself it can be used in various applications for displacement sensing, pressure sensing, vibration sensing, artificial skin sensing, voice recognition systems and more with the sensor being attached to a circular structure around a user’s vocal cords or wrist (See Fig 15, Paragraphs 0106 and 0109)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Kang into Choi for the purpose of increasing sensor sensitivity. The modification would allow for controlling the external force sensitivity detection level during operational use which can increase detection accuracy.
Choi in view of Kang disclose the claimed invention except for specifically teaching “the substrate layer has a circular membrane-like structure, and the first direction is a radial direction of the substrate layer.” However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to design the sensor in a circular membrane-like structure and the first direction is a radial direction of the substrate layer, since it has been held that changing the shape of a device involves routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2143 (I)(D), MPEP2144.04(IV)(B); Please note that in the instant application, see paragraph 0047, 0053-0054, and 0059, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations).
Regarding claim 16 Choi discloses the sensor according to claim 1.
However, Choi fails to disclose a ratio of a thickness of the electrode layer to a thickness of the substrate layer is within a range of 1:20-1:2. Kang discloses a ratio of a thickness of the electrode layer (film-3) to a thickness of the substrate layer (base film-3) is within a range of 1:20-1:2. (Paragraph 0050-0052,0056, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Kang into Choi for the purpose of increasing sensor sensitivity. The modification would allow for controlling the external force sensitivity detection level during operational use which can increase detection accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lee et al US20200240860 discloses a highly sensitive sensor comprising a cracked transparent conductive thin film. The highly sensitive sensor relates to a sensor which is acquired by means of forming a fine crack in a transparent conductive thin film formed on a substrate and is for measuring external tension and pressure by means of measuring the change of electrical resistance due to changes, shorting or opening in a fine interconnection structure formed by the fine crack. Such highly sensitive transparent conductive crack sensor can be applied to high-precision measurement or an artificial skin, can also be utilized as a positioning detecting sensor by means of pixelating the sensor, and can be utilized in fields of precise measurements, biometric devices used on the human skin and the like, human motion measurement sensors, display panel sensors and the like.
KO US20180292196 discloses a deformation sensing sensor as disclosed includes a conductive material inside the body thereof such that, by sensing a change in resistance or capacitance resulting from a deformation, a degree of deformation of the measurement object can be detected. The body includes an elastic layer, which has a corrugation formed on one surface thereof, and a conductive layer, which is formed on the other surface of the elastic layer using a conductive material. When the body is deformed in the lateral direction of the surface on which the corrugation is formed, the change in resistance of the conductive layer before and after the deformation, or the change in capacitance thereof is measured, thereby detecting the degree of deformation of the measurement object.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855