DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The expressions 1.27 ≤ d1/TTL ≤ 5.72, 0.44 ≤ d3/TTL ≤ 4.97, 0.7 ≤ d5/TTL ≤ 10.64, and 3.47 ≤ d7/TTL ≤ 16.14 of claims 4-7, respectively, do not accurately convey the camera optical system embodiments presented in the application (see also paragraphs 17, 22, 27, 32, 77, 81, 85 and 88 of the specification). The data tables presented in the specification for each embodiment produces values outside of the recited expressions. It is assumed that the decimal points are likely misplaced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asami et al. (USPG Pub No. 2018/0024320), hereinafter “Asami”.
Regarding claim 1, Asami discloses a camera optical lens (see Fig. 7), comprising: from an object side to an image side, a first lens (L1) having positive refractive power (Paragraph 57), a second lens (L2) having negative refractive power (Paragraph 57), a third lens (L3) having positive refractive power (Paragraph 57), and a fourth lens (L4) having positive refractive power (Paragraph 57); wherein a focal length of the optical camera lens is defined as f (Table 13), a focal length of the first lens is defined as f1, a focal length of the second lens is defined as f2, an on-axis thickness of the second lens is defined as d3, an on-axis thickness of the third lens is d5, an on-axis thickness of the fourth lens is defined as d7, a total optical length from an object side surface of the first lens to an image plane of the camera optical lens along an optic axis of the camera optical lens is defined as TTL, and a refractive index of the first lens is defined as n1, and following relational expressions are satisfied: 1.50≤TTL/f≤2.50; 1.00≤f1/f≤1.50; -12.00≤f2/d3<-4.00; n1≥1.70; and 1.50≤d7/d5≤5.00 (Table 13).
Regarding claim 2, Asami discloses wherein a central curvature radius of an object side surface of the third lens is defined as R5, and a central curvature radius of an image side surface of the third lens is defined as R6, and a following relational expression is satisfied: 1.00≤R5/R6≤5.00 (Table 13).
Regarding claim 3, Asami discloses wherein an on-axis distance from an image side surface of the first lens to an object side surface of the second lens is defined as d2, and a following relational expression is satisfied: 1.00≤d3/d2≤5.00 (Table 13).
Regarding claim 5, Asami discloses wherein an object side surface of the second lens (L2) is concave in a paraxial region, and an image side surface of the second lens (L2) is concave in the paraxial region (see Fig. 7, Table 13); a central curvature radius of the object side surface of the second lens is defined as R3, a central curvature radius of the image side surface of the second lens is defined as R4, and following relational expressions are satisfied: -2.24≤f2/f≤-0.41 (Table 13); 0.01≤(R3+R4)/(R3-R4)≤0.66 (Tables 7, 9, 15, 19); and 0.044≤d3/TTL≤0.497 (Table 13).
Regarding claim 6, Asami discloses wherein an object side surface of the third lens (L3) is concave in a paraxial region, and an image side surface of the third lens (L3) is convex in the paraxial region (see Fig. 7, Table 13); a focal length of the third lens is defined as f3, a central curvature radius of an object side surface of the third lens is defined as R5, a central curvature radius of an image side surface of the third lens is defined as R6, and following relational expressions are satisfied: 0.77≤f3/f≤8.67 (Table 13); 0.75≤(R5+R6)/(R5-R6)≤120.93 (Table 13); and 0.070≤d5/TTL≤1.064 (Table 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asami (USPG Pub No. 2018/0024320) in view of Tang et al. (USP No. 8,358,473), hereinafter “Tang”.
Regarding claim 4, Asami discloses wherein the object side surface of the first lens (L1) is convex in a paraxial region (see Fig. 7, Table 13); an on-axis thickness of the first lens is defined as d1, a central curvature radius of an object side surface of the first lens is defined as R1, a central curvature radius of an image side surface of the first lens is defined as R2, and following relational expressions are satisfied: and 0.127≤d1/TTL≤0.572 (Table 13). Asami discloses the claimed invention except for -3.68≤(R1+R2)/(R1-R2)≤-0.62. In the same field of endeavor, Tang discloses -3.68≤(R1+R2)/(R1-R2)≤-0.62 (Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the camera optical lens of Asami with -3.68≤(R1+R2)/(R1-R2)≤-0.62 of Tang for the purpose of providing a lens having good correction results in aspects of the longitudinal spherical aberration, astigmatic field curving, and distortion (Col. 9, Lines 34-67).
Regarding claim 8, Asami discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens and the fourth lens are made of glass, respectively. In the same field of endeavor, Tang discloses wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens and the fourth lens are made of glass, respectively (Col. 31, Lines 29-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the camera optical lens of Asami with wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens and the fourth lens are made of glass, respectively of Tang for the purpose of providing flexibility in selecting refractive power (Col. 31, Lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 9, Asami further discloses wherein an F-number FNO of the camera optical lens is smaller than or equal to 2 (Table 13).
Regarding claim 10, Asami discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an image height of the camera optical lens is defined as IH, and a following relational expression is satisfied: TTL/IH≤6.93. In the same field of endeavor, Tang discloses wherein an image height of the camera optical lens is defined as IH, and a following relational expression is satisfied: TTL/IH≤6.93 (Table 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the camera optical lens of Asami with wherein an image height of the camera optical lens is defined as IH, and a following relational expression is satisfied: TTL/IH≤6.93 of Tang for the purpose of providing a lens having good correction results in aspects of the longitudinal spherical aberration, astigmatic field curving, and distortion (Col. 9, Lines 34-67).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asami (USPG Pub No. 2018/0024320) in view of Amanai (USP No. 7,092,172).
Regarding claim 7, Asami discloses wherein an object side surface of the fourth lens (L4) is convex in a paraxial region (see Fig. 7, Table 13); a focal length of the fourth lens is defined as f4, a central curvature radius of an object side surface of the fourth lens is defined as R7, a central curvature radius of an image side surface of the fourth lens is defined as R8, and following relational expressions are satisfied: 0.45≤f4/f≤2.63 (Table 13); -4.89≤(R7+R8)/(R7-R8)≤-0.28 (Table 13). Asami discloses the claimed invention except for and 0.347≤d7/TTL≤1.614. In the same field of endeavor, Amanai discloses and 0.347≤d7/TTL≤1.614 (The First Embodiment: Numerical Data 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the camera optical lens of Asami with and 0.347≤d7/TTL≤1.614 of Amanai for the purpose of providing a miniaturized and light-weight lens (Col. 1, Lines 30-31).
Prior Art Citations
Kubota et al. (USPG Pub No. 2012/0229922) is being cited herein to show a camera optical lens relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2/21/2026