DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a pressure increasing mechanism” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: the pressure increasing mechanism includes heaters 31 arranged in the fuel tank 2 (par 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0174106 to Tang et al. (Tang).
In reference to claim 1, Tang teaches a fuel supply system (FIG. 1-9) for a hydrogen-powered aircraft including a propulsion device that uses hydrogen as an energy source (par 0001-0003 and 0018), the fuel supply system comprising a fuel tank (18, FIG. 1-9) that stores liquefied hydrogen (par 0018 and 0057); a pump (26, FIG. 2) that discharges the liquefied hydrogen from the fuel tank to supply the liquefied hydrogen to the propulsion device (par 0021); a pressure increasing mechanism (20, FIG. 1-9) that increases a tank internal pressure being a pressure in an inner part of the fuel tank (par 0047); a flow rate controller (66, FIG. 2) that controls a flow rate of the liquefied hydrogen to be supplied from the fuel tank (18, FIG. 2) to the propulsion device (16, FIG. 2); and a pressure controller (valves located at either inlet 50 or outlet 52, FIG. 2) that controls, on the basis of information which is about the flow rate of the liquefied hydrogen and is input from the flow rate controller (66, FIG. 2), the pressure increasing mechanism (20, FIG. 1-2) to adjust the tank internal pressure (par 0047).
In reference to claim 9, it claims the method of providing and configuring the apparatus of claim 1, thus, it is rejected based on the rejection of apparatus as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above and the associated method steps, which follow directly from the use of the apparatus, are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of U.S. Patent 9,255,664 to Gerstler et al. (Gerstler).
In reference to claim 2, Tang discloses fuel supply system as explained in the rejection of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the pressure increasing mechanism includes a heater arranged in the fuel tank. Gerstler teaches a cryogenic fuel system with auxiliary power provided by boil-off gas (FIG. 1) wherein the pressure increasing mechanism (114, FIG. 1) includes a heater (col 9, line 11) arranged in the fuel tank (110, FIG. 1) in order to increase pressure within the tank by not using the boil off gas within the tank when the need for gas from the consumer is increased (1-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang, to have the pressure increasing mechanism include a heater arranged in the fuel tank, as taught by Gerstler, in order to increase pressure within the tank by not using the boil off gas within the tank when the need for gas from the consumer is increased.
In reference to claim 3, Tang and Gerstler teach the fuel supply system as explained in the rejection of claim 2 above, but they do not explicitly teach wherein the pressure increasing mechanism includes heaters arranged apart from each other in the fuel tank.
However, the court holds that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In this case, the capacity of the pressure increasing mechanism is augmented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tang and Gerstler, to have the pressure increasing mechanism include heaters arranged apart from each other in the fuel tank in order to augment the capacity of the pressure increasing mechanism.
In reference to claim 5, Tang and Gerstler teach the fuel supply system as explained in the rejection of claim 2 above, and Tang additionally teaches wherein the pressure controller increases the tank internal pressure by raising the temperature of the heater when receiving information indicating an increase in the flow rate of the liquefied hydrogen from the flow rate controller (par 0042).
In reference to claim 6, Tang and Gerstler teach the fuel supply system as explained in the rejection of claim 5 above, and Tang additionally teaches wherein the pressure controller suppresses an increase in the tank internal pressure by lowering the temperature of the heater when receiving information indicating a decrease in the flow rate of the liquefied hydrogen from the flow rate controller (par 0042; intended use recitation, the system in FIG. 1-2 is capable of performing said functional language).
In reference to claim 7, Tang and Gerstler teach the fuel supply system as explained in the rejection of claim 2 above, and Gerstler additionally teaches a pressure sensor (112, FIG. 1) that detects the tank internal pressure, wherein the pressure controller increases the tank internal pressure by raising the temperature of the heater when the tank internal pressure detected by the pressure sensor falls below a predetermined first threshold (col 5, lines 35-50).
In reference to claim 8, Tang and Gerstler teach the fuel supply system as explained in the rejection of claim 7 above, and Gerstler additionally teaches wherein the pressure controller (190, FIG. 1) suppresses an increase in the tank internal pressure by lowering the temperature of the heater when the tank internal pressure detected by the pressure sensor exceeds a second threshold which is greater than the first threshold (col 6, lines 7-25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
1/30/2026