DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 4/22/2024 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inward facing lip”, “securing mechanism”, and “securing mechanism is at least one of a frictional interference fit, an adhesive, a tongue and groove mechanism, one or more detents, and a passive perimeter lip” must be shown and reference numbers provided therefor on the drawings and in the specification, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification should be amended to comply with the amended drawings by reflecting any added reference numbers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 10-13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the parent claim 3 recites the limitation “the side wall perimeter”, which lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 10-13, the parent claim 10 recites the open-ended and unclear limitation “from side to side” without specifying the sides of which particular component the claim is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-17, and 23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11, 119, 544 to Perez (cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 10, and 23, Perez discloses (Figs. 1-6) a protective mobile device case (100), comprising: a sidewall perimeter member (126) shaped to at least partially (completely) circumscribe a perimeter of a mobile device (200); a substantially planar back plate member (102) associated with the sidewall perimeter member and having an inward side and an outward side (i.e., opposite planar surfaces); a substantially planar set of ventilation channels (118) oriented along the inward side and oriented substantially parallel to each other along the inward side from side to side and having vent outlets oriented adjacent the sidewall perimeter member (126) and which vent to surrounding environment when the mobile device is placed within the protective mobile device case (via openings (134), Fig. 6)); and a substantially planar cooling gel layer associated with the inward side and in contact with at least a portion of the set of ventilation channels and configured to contact at least a portion of a back side of the mobile device (col. 5, ll. 24-40; col. 6, ll. 1-11; claims 5, 6, 11, and 12).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-11, 14-19, and 23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0363114 to Lin.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, 10, and 23, Lin discloses a protective mobile device case (Fig. 3), comprising: a sidewall perimeter member (1014) shaped to at least partially (completely) circumscribe a perimeter of a mobile device (100); a substantially planar back plate member (101) associated with the sidewall perimeter member and having an inward side and an outward side (i.e., opposite planar surfaces); a substantially planar set of ventilation channels (1012) embedded in and oriented substantially parallel to each other along the inward side from side to side and having vent outlets oriented adjacent the sidewall perimeter member and which vent to surrounding environment when the mobile device (100) is placed within the protective mobile device case (par. [0095], Fig. 3); and a substantially planar cooling gel layer (30) associated with the inward side and in contact with at least a portion of the set of ventilation channels (1012) and configured to contact at least a portion of a back side of the mobile device (100), (par. [0095], Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Perez discloses that the sidewall perimeter member (126) is sufficiently flexible (col. 8, ll. 40-44) to allow insertion of the mobile device (200) within the sidewall perimeter member and includes an inward facing lip (Figs. 1, 6) which runs along at least a portion of the sidewall perimeter member and is adapted to retain the mobile device (200) within the sidewall perimeter (Figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses that the back plate member (101) is integrally formed with the sidewall perimeter member (1014) as a single molded piece (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Perez discloses that the back plate member (102) is engaged with the sidewall perimeter member (126) via a securing mechanism, which is at least one of a frictional interference fit, an adhesive, a tongue and groove mechanism, one or more detents, and a passive perimeter lip (Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 9, Perez discloses that the ventilation channels (118) are distributed across substantially an entirety of the inward side (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses that the ventilation channels (1012) are distributed across substantially an entirety of the inward side (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses that the vent outlets (ends of (1012)) are oriented adjacent but separate from the sidewall perimeter member (1014) and are oriented outwardly facing along sides of the mobile device case (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Perez discloses that the vent outlets (134) are oriented within the sidewall perimeter member (126), (Figs. 1-4, 6).
Regarding claims 14-16, Perez discloses that the cooling gel layer extends across at least 50% (90%, 100%) of the inward side (col. 5, ll. 24-40; col. 6, ll. 1-11; claims 5, 6, 11, and 12).
Regarding claims 14-16, Lin discloses that the cooling gel layer extends across at least 50% (90%, 100%) of the inward side (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Perez discloses that the cooling gel layer is in contact with substantially all of the plurality of ventilation channels (118), (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses that the cooling gel layer (30) is in contact with substantially all of the plurality of ventilation channels (1012), (Fig. 3, par. [0093]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Lin discloses that the cooling gel layer (30) includes a hydrogel, wherein the hydrogel is at least one of a polyacrylamide hydrogel, a silicone hydrogel, a polymethacrylate hydrogel, and a polysodium acrylate hydrogel (pars. [0097], [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Perez or Lin, each taken alone.
Regarding claim 13, neither Perez nor Lin teaches that the set of ventilation channels are spaced apart 1 to 2 cm.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in cooling art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have spaced apart the ventilation channels of either Perez or Lin any optimal desired distance, including as claimed, in order to predictably achieve desired cooling efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 20-22, the limitations of claim 20 (“the cooling gel layer comprises: a dust film facing the set of ventilation channels; a lattice substrate adjacent the dust film and adapted to provide structural support to the cooling gel layer; an adhesive layer adjacent the lattice substrate and opposite the dust film; a hydrogel layer adjacent the adhesive layer opposite the lattice substrate; and a heat dissipating silicone layer facing the mobile device”) in combination with all of the limitations of the parent claim 1, are believed to render the combined subject matter, and claims 21-22 dependent therefrom, allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, because of the teaching of various cases and holders for portable devices, some with cooling arrangements (e.g., see the US 2023/0363114, US 12513859, US 2020/0288833, US 9608686, US 9436239, US 2014/0000844, and US 8218321).
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2835