DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit that the discrete voltage levels (V1-V8) of Gazit are output by the SIMLO converter 10, two discrete values of voltage on each output (O/Pn, n=1-7) may alternate from one to each other by virtue of multiple pulse width modulation (PWM) signals from PWM unit 14, the duty cycle and the phase difference belong to the PWM signals, not the discrete voltage levels, the duty cycle and the phase difference of the PWM signals are configured to alternate two discrete values of voltage. However, in the amended claim 1, the communication processing unit is configured for modulating a communication signal into a plurality of control signals with a preset duty cycle and a preset phase difference. Thus, the plurality of control signals in the amended claim 1 are different from the discrete voltage levels (V1-V8) of Gazit.
Examiner submits that Gazit teaches of modulating a communication signal into a plurality of control signals (V1-V8 as shown in Fig.2B) with a preset duty cycle (preset duty cycle according to PWM control signal 20, Fig.2B) and a preset phase difference (preset phase difference between each pair of voltages, for example V1 and V2, Fig.2B). The duty cycle and the phase difference are set and controlled by PWM control signals (#20, Fig.2B). Thus, Gazit teaches of modulating a communication signal into a plurality of control signals (V1-V8 as shown in Fig.2B) controlled by PWM controller (#14, Fig.2C) to have a preset duty cycle and a preset phase difference (as shown in Fig.2B). Therefore, the plurality of control signals in the amended claim 1 are the same as the discrete voltage levels (V1-V8) of Gazit.
Applicants submit that the purpose and the technical means of the amended claim 1 are different from those of Freear. Freear does not disclose the feature "the switching network is configured for generating a multi-level carrier signal corresponding to the communication signal according to the plurality of control signals, wherein (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal are less than or equal to a first threshold, respectively, n represents the number of levels of the carrier signal, and n is an odd number greater than or equal to 3" of the amended claim 1.
Examiner submits that Gazit teaches of providing the function of harmonic cancellation in converter 107 (Paragraph 0055). Freear teaches of generating a multi-level carrier signal (Figures 24 and 44), wherein (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal are less than or equal to a first threshold (harmonic component of the signal is maintained below a first threshold, Abstract, Paragraph 0019 and Fig.23), respectively, n represents the number of levels of the carrier signal (n= 3 or 5, Figures 23 – 24), and n is an odd number greater than or equal to 3 (n = 3 or 5, Figures 23 – 24) (Paragraphs 0009 and 0029). Therefore, Freear teaches of having the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal to be less than or equal to a first threshold for improved power quality and efficiency. Thus, the combination of Gazit and Freear teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 14 – 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gazit et al (US 2020/0136523) in view of Freear et al (US 2015/0348531).
Re claims 1 and 14, Gazit teaches of a power line carrier communication apparatus (#107, Figures 1H and 2C), comprising a communication processing unit (#10 and #14, Figures 1H and 2C), a switching network (#12a, Figures 1B and 1D, #12d, Fig.1J, #12, Figures 1H and 2C), and an impedance network (#16a, Figures 1B and 1D, #16d, Fig.1J, #16, Figures 1H and 2C); wherein the communication processing unit is configured for modulating a communication signal into a plurality of control signals (V1-V8 as shown in Fig.2B) with a preset duty cycle (preset duty cycle according to PWM control signal 20, Fig.2B) and a preset phase difference (preset phase difference between each pair of voltages, for example V1 and V2, Fig.2B), and the communication signal comprises communication data (PWM, Paragraph 0049 and #14, Figures 1H and 2C); the switching network is configured for generating a multi-level carrier signal (output of #12, O/P1 – O/P7, Figures 1H and 2B – 2C, multi-level carrier signal as shown in Fig.2B) corresponding to the communication signal according to the plurality of control signals (see Table 1 and Fig.2B), wherein n represents the number of levels of the carrier signal (n=7, Table 1 and Fig.2B), and n is an odd number greater than or equal to 3 (n=7, Table 1 and Fig.2B); and the impedance network is configured for filtering the carrier signal (L2 of Figures 1B, 1D and 1J, Paragraph 0056) and then coupling a filtered carrier signal to a power line (Line and Neutral line, Figures 1D, 1G, 1H and 2C). Gazit further teaches of providing the function of harmonic cancellation in converter 107 (Paragraph 0055). However, Gazit does not specifically mention of the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal are less than or equal to a first threshold, respectively.
Freear teaches of generating a multi-level carrier signal (Figures 24 and 44), wherein (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal are less than or equal to a first threshold (harmonic component of the signal is maintained below a first threshold, Abstract, Paragraph 0019 and Fig.23), respectively, n represents the number of levels of the carrier signal (n= 3 or 5, Figures 23 – 24), and n is an odd number greater than or equal to 3 (n = 3 or 5, Figures 23 – 24) (Paragraphs 0009 and 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the harmonic cancellation in Gazit by having the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal to be less than or equal to a first threshold for improved power quality and efficiency.
Re claim 15, Gazit teaches of a power line carrier communication system (PLC, Paragraph 0045 and #100, Fig.1A), comprising a power line carrier communication apparatus (#107, Figures, 1A, 1H and 2C), wherein power line carrier communication apparatus comprises a communication processing unit, a switching network, and an impedance network; the communication processing unit is configured for modulating a communication signal into plurality of control signals (V1-V8 as shown in Fig.2B) with a preset duty cycle (preset duty cycle according to PWM control signal 20, Fig.2B) and a preset phase difference (preset phase difference between each pair of voltages, for example V1 and V2, Fig.2B), wherein the communication signal comprises communication data; the switching network is configured for generating a multi-level carrier signal corresponding to the communication signal according to the plurality of control signals, wherein n represents the number of levels of the carrier signal, and n is an odd number greater than or equal to 3; and the impedance network is configured for filtering the carrier signal and then coupling a filtered carrier signal to a power line (see claim 1). Gazit further teaches of providing the function of harmonic cancellation in converter 107 (Paragraph 0055). However, Gazit does not specifically mention of the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal are less than or equal to a first threshold, respectively.
Freear teaches of generating a multi-level carrier signal (Figures 24 and 44), wherein (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal are less than or equal to a first threshold (harmonic component of the signal is maintained below a first threshold, Abstract, Paragraph 0019 and Fig.23), respectively, n represents the number of levels of the carrier signal (n= 3 or 5, Figures 23 – 24), and n is an odd number greater than or equal to 3 (n = 3 or 5, Figures 23 – 24) (Paragraphs 0009 and 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the harmonic cancellation in Gazit by having the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics contained in the carrier signal to be less than or equal to a first threshold for improved power quality and efficiency.
Re claims 2 and 16, Gazit teaches of wherein the switching network comprises a plurality of switching elements (two series switches of switch network Sn, Fig.1D and Fig.1F, Paragraphs 0032 and 0034), and the communication processing unit is further configured for providing the plurality of control signals to the corresponding plurality of switching elements, respectively (as shown in (#12a, Figures 1B and 1D, #12d, Fig.1J).
Re claims 4 and 18, Gazit teaches of wherein the communication processing unit (#10 and #14, Figures 1H and 2C) further comprises a protocol processor (#14, PWM, Figures 1H and 2C) and a modulation module; wherein the protocol processor (#14, PWM, Figures 1H and 2C) is configured for encapsulating the communication data in accordance with a preset communication protocol to obtain the communication signal (PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) protocol, Paragraphs 0024 and 0042); and the modulation module (#10, Fig.2B) is configured for modulating the communication signal into control signals with a preset duty cycle (preset duty cycle according to PWM control signal 20, Fig.2B) and a preset phase difference (preset phase difference between each pair of voltages, for example V1 and V2, Fig.2B).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gazit and Freear in view of Hwang et al (US 2014/0194076).
Re claims 3 and 17, Gazit and Freear teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 15 as well as Freear teaches of the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics being in a Fourier expansion equation of the carrier signal (Paragraph 0131 and Fig.18). Gazit furthers shows that a duty cycle will determine the phase difference in the waveform as set by each voltage pair (Fig.2B). However, Gazit and Freear do not specifically teach of guaranteeing coefficients of the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics of the carrier signal to be less than or equal to a second threshold, by modulating a duty cycle and a phase difference of control signals.
Hwang teaches of guaranteeing coefficients of the harmonics of the carrier signal to be less than or equal to a second threshold, by modulating a duty cycle (Paragraphs 0008 and 0035, Equation 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a Fourier expansion so as to determine the (n+1)th and lower orders of harmonics. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined coefficients of the harmonics of the carrier signal to be less than or equal to a second threshold by modulating a duty cycle and a phase difference of control signals to rapidly minimize harmonic spurs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gazit and Freear in view of Achtzehn et al (US 2019/0097543).
Re claim 13, Gazit and Freear teach all the limitations of claim 1 except of further comprising a drive unit configured for generating a drive signal of the switching network according to the plurality of control signals.
Achtzehn teaches of a drive unit (#20, Fig.1) configured for generating a drive signal of the switching network according to the plurality of control signals (Driver 20 applies voltage signals to the gate of the transistor of converter switch 18 to drive the converter switch, Paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated a drive signal of the to drive the switching network according to the plurality of control signals to improves a switch's performance by ensuring rapid on/off switching.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 12 and 19 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633