DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s RCE filed on 7/6/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 now require the following:
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the guide ramp is not for guiding the bolt. Here is the invention:
As shown and as described, the guide ramp 350 will guide the door, so as to then align the bolt to be aligned with the aperture. That is two different things.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the guide ramp guiding the door to align the bolt with the aperture. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2516969 to Dorille in view of US Pat No 2,232,020 to Bernhardt and US Pat No 4,192,039 to Haberle et al (Haberle).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 17, Dorille discloses a door strike assembly capable of being used on a barn door and configured to receive a door lock bolt.
The strike assembly comprises a main body (7) having a first side to contact a door frame or wall, a second side and a third side opposed to the second side. The second and third sides are extending transversally from the first side. The main body comprises a bolt receiving aperture disposed within the second side of the main body to receive the door lock bolt therein.
A strike base (3) disposed at the first side of the main body. The strike base comprises a main body contacting portion to be fastened to the door frame or wall, and a plurality of connecting members (6) to fasten the main body contacting portion to the door frame or wall, and a plurality of apertures disposed within the main body contacting portion to receive the plurality of connecting members therethrough.
A receiving member (4) is connected to the main body connecting portion of the strike base.
First, Dorille fails to disclose that the main body is attached to the door frame via a connection of at least one of the second and third sides with the receiving member.
In this embodiment, Dorille discloses that the main body (7) is attached to the door frame via a connection of a screw (8) passing through other sides of the main body and the main body connecting portion.
However, Dorille discloses another embodiment (fig 6), wherein a main body (22) is attached to a door frame via a connection of at least one of a lateral side of the main body with a receiving member (15).
Bernhardt teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a main body (14) that is attached to a door frame via a connection of at least one of a second and a third side of the main body with a receiving member (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the main body and the receiving member described by Dorille, dimensionally so as to be through the lateral side, as taught by the other embodiment of Dorille, and that the side is either a second or third side, as taught by Bernhardt, since it would be considered as a design consideration within the art to use any of the two ways to secure the two members in place.
Second, Dorille fails to disclose that the assembly comprises a guide ramp disposed next to the bolt receiving aperture on the second side of the main body, on the same surface as the bolt receiving aperture, the guide ramp being configured to guide the barn door to align the lock bolt toward the bolt receiving aperture.
Haberle teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a guide ramp (3) to guide a door (1) during closing against a frame (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly described Dorille with a guide ramp, as taught by Haberle, in order to guide the door into a closing position with the frame.
At the instant, the combination is capable of providing the guide ramp next to the bolt receiving aperture, since it will not affect the design or function of the guide ramp.
As to claims 4 and 11, Dorille illustrates that the receiving member is located within and extends along the second side of the main body.
As to claims 5 and 12, Dorille illustrates that the main body includes an upper side and a lower side opposite the upper side, the upper and lower sides extending between the first, second and third sides.
As to claims 7 and 14, Bernhardt teaches that the third side of the main body is connected to the receiving member with a fastener.
As to claim 19, Dorille illustrates that the receiving member is located within and extends along one or the pair of sides of the main body.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2516969 to Dorille in view of US Pat No 2,232,020 to Bernhardt, US Pat No 4,192,039 to Haberle et al (Haberle) and further in view of US Pat No 2,042,024 to Schlage.
Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt and Haberle, fails to disclose a bolt securing member connected to the receiving member. Dorille discloses a one-piece member.
Schlage teaches that it is well known in the art to either provide a receiving member as a one piece (fig 2) or as providing a bolt securing member (13) connected to the receiving member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the receiving member described by Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt and Haberle, with a bolt securing member, as taught by Schlage, in order to provide a surface for the bolt when is secured within, so as to prevent damage to the receiving member.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2516969 to Dorille in view of US Pat No 2,232,020 to Bernhardt, US Pat No 4,192,039 to Haberle et al (Haberle) and further in view of US Pat No 1,894,913 to Sadler.
Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt and Haberle, fails to disclose that the main body includes an outer side opposite the main side, the main body further including an angled side extending from the outer side toward the first side.
Sadler teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a main body (24) shaped so as to includes an outer side opposite the first side and an angled side extending from the outer side toward the first side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the main body described by Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt and Haberle, shaped so as to includes an outer side opposite the first side and an angled side extending from the outer side toward the first side, as taught by Sadler, since the esthetic of the main body have no effect on the function of the device.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2516969 to Dorille in view of US Pat No 2,232,020 to Bernhardt, US Pat No 4,192,039 to Haberle et al (Haberle) and further in view of US Pat No 2,731,822 to Bargman.
As to claims 8 and 15, Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt and Haberle, fails to disclose that the strike assembly further comprises a connecting member disposed between the door frame and the main body contacting portion of the strike base, wherein the connecting member is connected to the main body contacting portion.
Bargman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a connecting member (31) disposed between a door frame and a main body contacting portion (24) of a strike base, wherein the connecting member is connected to the main body contacting portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the strike assembly described by Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt and Haberle, with a connecting member, as taught by Bargman, in order to provide more support or reinforcement to the striker base.
As to claims 9 and 16, Bargman teaches that the receiving member (32) is fastened to the connecting member (by screws 29, 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 18-20 would also be allowed since the claims depend from claim 17 above.
Response to Arguments
In view of the current amendment, a new 112 2nd paragraph rejection has been made on the record to claims 1 and 17.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims 1-16 in view of Dorille, as modified by Bernhardt, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As to claim 17, as mentioned before, a new 112 2nd paragraph rejection has been made on the record. However, upon amendment to overcome the issue, the claim also presents previously allowable subject matter presented in the parent case.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
September 10, 2026