Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rotharmel et al. (US-5305860).
Regarding claim 15, Rotharmel et al. discloses providing) a valve arrangement (fig 1-9, 10) comprising: - a valve seat member (52) adapted in size and shape to define a valve seat and a flow-through opening (at least 33); - a valve member (at least 136/142) adapted to be displaceable relative the valve seat along a displacement axis in response to a damping fluid pressure force overcoming an opening force threshold (col. 9 lines 52-65, at least when the pressure is great enough to overcome 166), wherein the opening force is provided by damping fluid flow pressure acting on an inlet side of the valve member (col. 9 lines 39-50, wherein the inlet has been interpreted at or near 142 in an upward direction), and the opening force threshold being at least partly adjustable by a force actuator (86 and col. 1, lines 13-16, at least adjustable valving), - wherein the valve member (136/142) and the valve seat member (52) provide a chamfer restriction extending to the valve seat (figs 7 and 9, col. 8, lines 23-29), the chamfer restriction provided with an opening cross-section which decreases from an inner lateral position to an outer lateral position relative the displacement axis (figs 7 and 9, conical shape), ii. adjusting the valve member such that - for a first damping fluid flow, the damping fluid pressure force displacing the valve member from the valve seat acts on a first pressure area portion (52 at or near inlet) on the inlet side of the valve member (at least when 136/33 is partially open or opening), and - for a second damping fluid flow greater than the first damping fluid flow, the first pressure area portion decreases from a first area size to a smaller second area size (figs 7 and 9 at least conical surface 52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: As to claim 1, the closest prior art of record, Rotharmel et al. (US-5305860), discloses a valve arrangement ( at least fig 9) for regulating damping fluid flow of a shock absorber (Abstract), comprising: - a valve seat member (52) adapted in size and shape to define a valve seat (col. 8, lines 23-29 and at least figs 1, 7, and 9) and a flow-through opening (at least 33); - a valve member (fig 7, 136/142) adapted to be displaceable relative the valve seat along a displacement axis during use in response to a damping fluid pressure force overcoming an opening force threshold (col. 9 lines 52-65), wherein the damping fluid pressure force is provided by damping fluid pressure acting on an inlet side of the valve member (col. 9 lines 39-50, wherein the inlet has been interpreted at or near 142 in an upward direction), the opening force threshold being at least partly adjustable by a force actuator (col. 1, lines 13-16, at least adjustable valving), wherein - the valve member (136/142) and the valve seat member (52) are adapted to provide a chamfer restriction extending to the valve seat (col. 8, lines 23-29), the chamfer restriction provided with an opening cross-section which decreases from an inner lateral position to an outer lateral position relative the displacement axis (fig 7 and 9, conical surface), - a chamfer restriction angle between a first chamfer restriction surface provided by the valve seat member (52) and a second chamfer restriction surface provided by the valve member (136/142) (fig 7 and 9, and col. 8, lines 23-29 and shown in FIG. 9, the conical peripheral surface 142 cooperatively mates with, and sealingly engages, a reciprocally angled seat 52 in the piston stop axial passage 33, also shown in FIG. 10). In other words, Rotharmel et al. discloses a first and second chamfer restriction interface with a reciprocally angled or a zero restriction angle between them.
As to claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a valve member adapted to be displaceable relative the valve seat along a displacement axis during use in response to a damping fluid pressure force overcoming an opening force threshold, wherein the damping fluid pressure force is provided by damping fluid pressure acting on an inlet side of the valve member, the opening force threshold being at least partly adjustable by a force actuator, and wherein a non-zero chamfer restriction angle between a first chamfer restriction surface provided by the valve seat member and a second chamfer restriction surface provided by the valve member in a lateral direction is equal to or less than 45 degrees.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 1-3, filed 7/24/2026, with respect to claims 1-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-14 has been withdrawn. Regarding claim 15, Applicant has not argued against the rejection of art of record with regards to Rotharmel et al. (US-5305860). With regards to Rotharmel et al., Applicant argues that the prior art lacks wherein a non-zero chamfer restriction angle between a first chamfer restriction surface provided by the valve seat member and a second chamfer restriction surface provided by the valve member in a lateral direction is equal to or less than 45 degrees because Rotharmel et al. discloses a first and second chamfer restriction interface with a zero restriction angle between them. Examiner notes that the amended limitations regarding the non-zero restriction angle and the shock absorber are not required by claim 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616