DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 04/22/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the priority documents received on 06/17/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 04/22/2024is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyengar et al (US 20220291395), hereinafter Iyengar, in view of Asano et al (US 7271769), hereinafter Asano.
Regarding claim 1,
Iyengar discloses an antenna module (a circular polarization GNSS receiver 600, Fig 6A) comprising:
a first radiating element (a first linear polarization antenna 610, Fig 6A; paragraph [0101]);
a second radiating element (a second linear polarization antenna 620, Fig 6A; paragraph [0101]);
a first hybrid coupler (a 90 degree hybrid coupler 630, Fig 6A) including a first input terminal (a port 2, Fig 6A) and a second input terminal (a port 3, Fig 6A), and a first output terminal (a port 1, Fig 6A) and a second output terminal (a port 4, Fig 6A); and
a feed circuit (an RF front end 640, Fig 6A) connected to the first input terminal and the second input terminal (Fig 6A) and configured to supply a radio-frequency signal to the first radiating element and the second radiating element (paragraph [0014]), wherein
the first radiating element and the second radiating element are configured to be capable of radiating a radio wave in a first frequency band (paragraph [0014]),
the first radiating element is connected to the first output terminal (Fig 6A),
the second radiating element is connected to the second output terminal (Fig 6A), and
a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal is adjusted to fall within a range of greater than −90° and less than 90° (Fig 6A).
Iyengar does not teach:
a first substrate and a second substrate disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions,
the first linear polarization antenna 610 (the first radiating element) disposed on the first substrate,
the second linear polarization antenna 620 (the second radiating element) disposed on the second substrate.
However, Asano teaches an antenna module (an antenna device, Fig 3) comprises a first substrate (a panel 32, Fig 3) and a second substrate (a panel 32, Fig 3) disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions (Fig 3), a first radiating element (an antenna structure 36, Fig 3) disposed on the first substrate, a second radiating element (an antenna structure 37, Fig 3) disposed on the second substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first substrate and a second substrate disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions, a first radiating element disposed on the first substrate, a second radiating element disposed on the second substrate in Iyengar, as taught by Asano, in order to provide an antenna device having polarization diversity.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (port 4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (port 1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (port 3)][AltContent: textbox (port 2)][AltContent: textbox (Iyengar (US 20220291395))]
[AltContent: textbox (Iyengar (US 20220291395))]
[AltContent: textbox (y)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (x)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (z)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Asano (US 7271769))]
Regarding claim 3,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Asano teaches main surfaces of the first substrate and the second substrate are disposed in separate planes (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Iyengar teaches the antenna module is configured to accommodate a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal that are adjusted to −90° or 90° (Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 8,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Asano teaches each of the first radiating element and the second radiating element is configured to be capable of radiating a radio wave in two different polarization directions (one polarization in x direction and one polarization in y direction, Fig 3).
Regarding claim 9,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Asano teaches a polarization direction (a polarization in z direction, Fig 3) of a radio wave radiated from the first radiating element and a polarization direction (a polarization in y direction, Fig 3) of a radio wave radiated from the second radiating element coincide with each other.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyengar et al (US 20220291395), hereinafter Iyengar, in view of Asano et al (US 7271769), hereinafter Asano, and Kim et al (US 20200163204), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 2,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Iyengar as modified does not teach a conductive connection portion connecting the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Kim teaches an antenna module (an antenna module 246, Fig 4B) comprises a conductive connection portion (a transmission line 423, Fig 4B) connecting a first substrate (a dielectric layer 437-1, Fig 4B) and a second substrate (a dielectric layer 437-2, Fig 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna module comprising a conductive connection portion connecting a first substrate and a second substrate in Iyengar as modified, as taught by Kim, in order to provide an electronic device having improved quality of communication.
[AltContent: textbox (Kim (US 20200163204))]
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyengar et al (US 20220291395), hereinafter Iyengar, in view of Asano et al (US 7271769), hereinafter Asano, and Timofeev et al (US 20160013563), hereinafter Timofeev.
Regarding claim 5,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Iyengar as modified does not teach the feed circuit includes phase adjustment circuit components configured to adjust respective phases of radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal.
However, Timofeev teaches an antenna module (an array 50, Fig 1A) comprises a feed circuit (a 90ºhybrid 12, Fig 1A) includes phase adjustment circuit components (a delay line 24 and a 180ºphase shifter 14, Fig 1A) configured to adjust respective phases of radio-frequency signals to be supplied to a first input terminal and a second input terminal (Fig 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an array comprising a feed circuit including phase adjustment circuit components configured to adjust respective phases of radio-frequency signals to be supplied to a first input terminal and a second input terminal in Iyengar as modified, as taught by Timofeev, in order to provide an improved antenna with a wide frequency bandwidth and less interference.
[AltContent: textbox (Timofeev (US 20160013563))]
Regarding claim 6,
Iyengar in view of Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Iyengar as modified does not teach a phase adjustment circuit disposed at least between the feed circuit and the first input terminal or between the feed circuit and the second input terminal.
However, Timofeev teaches an antenna module (an array 50, Fig 1A) comprises a phase adjustment circuit (a delay line 24, Fig 1A) disposed at least between a feed circuit (a 90ºhybrid 12, Fig 1A) and a first input terminal or between the feed circuit and a second input terminal (Fig 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an array comprising a phase adjustment circuit disposed at least between a feed circuit and a first input terminal or between the feed circuit and a second input terminal in Iyengar as modified, as taught by Timofeev, in order to provide an improved antenna with a wide frequency bandwidth and less interference.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeng et al (US 20070279298), hereinafter Leeng, in view of Iyengar et al (US 20220291395), hereinafter Iyengar, and Asano et al (US 7271769), hereinafter Asano.
Regarding claim 16,
Leeng discloses a communication device (a wireless communication device 100, Fig 5) comprising:
a baseband integrated circuit (a processing unit 120, Fig 5; paragraph [0032]) that performs baseband processing on signals exchanged with an antenna module (an antenna module 110, Fig 5); and
Leeng does not teaches the antenna module including
a first substrate and a second substrate disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions,
a first radiating element disposed on the first substrate,
a second radiating element disposed on the second substrate,
a first hybrid coupler including a first input terminal and a second input terminal, and a first output terminal and a second output terminal, and
a feed circuit connected to the first input terminal and the second input terminal and configured to supply a radio-frequency signal to the first radiating element and the second radiating element, wherein
the first radiating element and the second radiating element are configured to be capable of radiating a radio wave in a first frequency band,
the first radiating element is connected to the first output terminal,
the second radiating element is connected to the second output terminal, and
a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal is adjusted to fall within a range of greater than −90° and less than 90°.
However, Iyengar discloses an antenna module (a circular polarization GNSS receiver 600, Fig 6A) including
a first radiating element (a first linear polarization antenna 610, Fig 6A; paragraph [0101]),
a second radiating element (a second linear polarization antenna 620, Fig 6A; paragraph [0101]),
a first hybrid coupler (a 90 degree hybrid coupler 630, Fig 6A) including a first input terminal (a port 2, Fig 6A) and a second input terminal (a port 3, Fig 6A), and a first output terminal (a port 1, Fig 6A) and a second output terminal (a port 4, Fig 6A), and
a feed circuit (an RF front end 640, Fig 6A) connected to the first input terminal and the second input terminal (Fig 6A) and configured to supply a radio-frequency signal to the first radiating element and the second radiating element (paragraph [0014]), wherein
the first radiating element and the second radiating element are configured to be capable of radiating a radio wave in a first frequency band (paragraph [0014]),
the first radiating element is connected to the first output terminal (Fig 6A),
the second radiating element is connected to the second output terminal (Fig 6A), and
a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal is adjusted to fall within a range of greater than −90° and less than 90° (Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna module including a first radiating element, a second radiating element, a first hybrid coupler including a first input terminal and a second input terminal, and a first output terminal and a second output terminal, and a feed circuit connected to the first input terminal and the second input terminal and configured to supply a radio-frequency signal to the first radiating element and the second radiating element, wherein the first radiating element and the second radiating element being configured to be capable of radiating a radio wave in a first frequency band, the first radiating element being connected to the first output terminal, the second radiating element being connected to the second output terminal, and a phase difference between radio-frequency signals being supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal being adjusted to fall within a range of greater than −90° and less than 90° in Leeng, as taught by Iyengar, in order to provide an antenna module having improved quality services.
Leeng as modified does not teach a first substrate and a second substrate disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions, the first radiating element disposed on the first substrate, the second radiating element disposed on the second substrate.
However, Asano teaches an antenna module (an antenna device, Fig 3) comprises a first substrate (a panel 32, Fig 3) and a second substrate (a panel 32, Fig 3) disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions (Fig 3), a first radiating element (an antenna structure 36, Fig 3) disposed on the first substrate, a second radiating element (an antenna structure 37, Fig 3) disposed on the second substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first substrate and a second substrate disposed adjacent to each other and having different normal directions, a first radiating element disposed on the first substrate, a second radiating element disposed on the second substrate in Leeng as modified, as taught by Asano, in order to provide an antenna device having polarization diversity.
[AltContent: textbox (Leeng (US 20070279298))]
Regarding claim 18,
Leeng in view of Iyengar and Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 16.
Asano main surfaces of the first substrate and the second substrate are disposed in separate planes (Fig 3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeng et al (US 20070279298), hereinafter Leeng, in view of Iyengar et al (US 20220291395), hereinafter Iyengar and Asano et al (US 7271769), hereinafter Asano, and Kim et al (US 20200163204), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 17,
Leeng in view of Iyengar and Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 16.
Leeng as modified does not teach a conductive connection portion connecting the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Kim teaches an antenna module (an antenna module 246, Fig 4B) comprises a conductive connection portion (a transmission line 423, Fig 4B) connecting a first substrate (a dielectric layer 437-1, Fig 4B) and a second substrate (a dielectric layer 437-2, Fig 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna module comprising a conductive connection portion connecting a first substrate and a second substrate in Leeng as modified, as taught by Kim, in order to provide an electronic device having improved quality of communication.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeng et al (US 20070279298), hereinafter Leeng, in view of Iyengar et al (US 20220291395), hereinafter Iyengar and Asano et al (US 7271769), hereinafter Asano, and Timofeev et al (US 20160013563), hereinafter Timofeev.
Regarding claim 20,
Leeng in view of Iyengar and Asano discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 16.
Leeng as modified does not teach the feed circuit includes phase adjustment circuit components configured to adjust respective phases of radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal.
However, Timofeev teaches an antenna module (an array 50, Fig 1A) comprises a feed circuit (a 90ºhybrid 12, Fig 1A) includes phase adjustment circuit components (a delay line 24 and a 180ºphase shifter 14, Fig 1A) configured to adjust respective phases of radio-frequency signals to be supplied to a first input terminal and a second input terminal (Fig 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an array comprising a feed circuit including phase adjustment circuit components configured to adjust respective phases of radio-frequency signals to be supplied to a first input terminal and a second input terminal in Leeng as modified, as taught by Timofeev, in order to provide an improved antenna with a wide frequency bandwidth and less interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10-15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a difference between a line length from the first output terminal to the first radiating element and a line length from the second output terminal to the second radiating element is nλ”.
Regarding claim 10, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the feed circuit and the first hybrid coupler are disposed on a same substrate selected between the first substrate and the second substrate”.
Regarding claim 11, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a third radiating element disposed adjacent to the first radiating element on the first substrate; a fourth radiating element disposed adjacent to the second radiating element on the second substrate; and a second hybrid coupler including a third input terminal and a fourth input terminal, and a third output terminal and a fourth output terminal, and a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the third input terminal and the fourth input terminal is identical to a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the first input terminal and the second input terminal”.
Dependent claims 12-14 are considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a fifth radiating element disposed on the first substrate; a sixth radiating element disposed on the second substrate; and a third hybrid coupler including a fifth input terminal and a sixth input terminal, and a fifth output terminal and a sixth output terminal, and a phase difference between radio-frequency signals to be supplied to the fifth input terminal and the sixth input terminal is adjusted to fall within a range of greater than −90° and less than 90°”.
Regarding claim 19, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a difference between a line length from the first output terminal to the first radiating element and a line length from the second output terminal to the second radiating element is nλ”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845