DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. The following is a non-final office action in response to the applicant’s submission received 04/22/2024.
2. Claims 1 – 16 are currently pending and have been examined.
3. Claims 8 – 16 are newly added claims.
4. Claims 1 – 7 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
There is/are no IDS submitted at this time for consideration.
Foreign Priority/Domestic benefit
There is no claim to foreign priority according to the application data sheet and filing receipt.
Domestic priority has been claimed with respect to United States Patent Application No. 17/578,285 filed January 18, 2022; United States Patent Application No. 16/178,221 filed November 1, 2018; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/580,659, filed on November 2, 2017 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/627,429, filed on February 7, 2018.
Oath/Declaration
1. The applicant’s oath/declaration filed on 04/22/2024 has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Claim Objection
Claim 16 dependency is incorrect, appropriate correction is required.
Drawings objection
1. The applicant’s drawings submitted on 04/22/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes except for the following:
A. The sheets of drawings should be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1. These numbers, if present, must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. The numbers can be placed on the right-hand side if the drawing extends too close to the middle of the top edge of the usable surface. The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. The number of each sheet should be shown by two Arabic numerals placed on either side of an oblique line, with the first being the sheet number and the second being the total number of sheets of drawings, with no other marking.
Claim interpretation
1. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily) [MPEP 2106 Sec I, C]. “Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). [MPEP 2111.01 Sec II]. Thus, the Examiner interprets Applicant’s claims "in view of the specification" and does not “import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim”.
2. When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations does not have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Objection to the specification (Abstract)
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
The abstract repeats information in the title, appropriate correction or explanation is required.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
A. Claims 8 – 16 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 8 of U.S. Patent No 11, 258, 690. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
B. Claims 8 – 16 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 11 of U.S. Patent No 11, 996, 999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 8 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timothy et al. (Comparison of AT‐Tester with Other Popular Testers for Quality of Service Experience (QoSE) of an Internet Connection, August 2009) in view of James et al. ( Study on net-neutrality regulation, 18 September 2017).
Regarding claim 8, Timothy discloses: A method comprising:(See page 3, second and third paragraphs: a methodology by which a subscriber can measure his/her quality-of-service experience using multiple testers), comprising:
running one or more tests to determine a first set of parameters of the internet connection between a first (table 6 on page 16 deals with 4 testers that are present at the client side and connects via a given ISP to a server (page 3 , third paragraph the author decides to experiment with multiple testers, see also section 4 on page 15). In order to use the testers it must be downloaded to a client PC and connects to a particular ISP. The PC can perform communication wirelessly or each PC can be connected directly to the ISP router for communication. figure 1 - 4, 6 – 7 depicts the interface on the client PC that are used to perform speed testing from any given ISP; page 17, third row establishes the idea the test is performed using particular servers (second device); the different testers of table 6 on page 16 (first row (AT tester, speedtest.net, etc.) runs a plurality of tests (third row of table ) to determine various set of parameters (Metrics (second row of table 6)).
running one or more tests to determine a second set of parameters of the internet connection between a (table 6 on page 16 deals with 4 testers that are present at the client side and connects via a given ISP to a server (page 3, third paragraph the author decides to experiment with multiple testers, see also section 4 on page 15). In order to use the testers, it must be downloaded to a client PC and connects to a particular ISP. The PC can perform communication wirelessly or each PC can be connected directly to the ISP router for communication. figure 1 - 4, 6 – 7 depicts the interface on the client PC that are used to perform speed testing from any given ISP; page 17, third row establishes the idea the test is performed using particular servers (second device); the different testers of table 6 on page 16 (first row (AT tester, speedtest.net, etc) runs a plurality of tests (third row) to determine various set of parameters (Metrics (second row of table 6)).
Timothy discloses every aspect of claim 1, except: performing net neutrality test based on the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters that involves a single server (this could have been deduced by a person having ordinary skill in the art since the metrics gathered in table one can assess the ISP as to net neutrality), however to account for such difference seen the reference of James: On the 38th page there is a table label Figure 7, that deals with a large list of tester names and its descriptions pertaining to detect non net neutrality, implying that net neutrality can be determine at the same time. One of the testing software is “Adkintun” which is seen on 41st page, and the description is seen as being modify routers that can be placed at various location to measure the internet connection. Hence using the modify routers in place of the testers of the primary reference will determine the quality of the ISP internet connection. Multiple router means multiple parameters being received/collected which in turn is used to determining non-net neutrality which also at the same time can determine net neutrality if it occurs. In another scenario on the 32nd page discloses: “…The measurement clients reside in the homes of 4,281 panellists who receive service by the 13 participating ISPs. The participating ISPs collectively account for over 80% of U.S. residential broadband Internet connections…. The metrics discussed in this Report are derived from traffic flowing between a measurement client (located within the modem or router within a panellist’s home) and a measurement server. For each panellist, the tests use the measurement server for which the latency between the measurement client and server is the lowest value. As a result, the metrics measure performance along a specific path within each ISP’s network, through a point of interconnection between the ISP’s network and the network on which the chosen measurement server resides.”
The statistics captured are:
• Download speed: measured for each client at 5-second intervals within a 30-second time interval, every 2 hours
• Upload speed: measured for each client at 5-second intervals within a 30-second time interval, every 2 hours
In conclusion, there are multiple clients performing tests over the internet via a modem or router within the panelist home by used of a single connected server. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Timothy’s system in view of James. The motivation for making the above modification would have been “Measuring Broadband America is the most notable active net-neutrality monitoring programme underway in the USA”, see section 4.4 on the 31st page.
Note to the applicant:
The reference of Ano et al. (A TCP Throughput Comparison Method for Multi-homing Internet Customers, 2003) also discloses the missing features accounted for by James above, see figure 1 (multiple paths from tester to single server) and section 2 on the first page: “Testers are placed in multi-homing customer’s networks so that different routes can be taken. The measurements via the different routes should be done cyclically and automatically to observe the performance. To manage the testers at many end points, a manager is introduced in one of the customer’s network. Combining this reference with the reference of James above would render the applicant’s claimed invention to be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The reference of Riccardo Ravaioli (Active interference of network neutrality, 2016) deals entirely with network neutrality and on page 32 under section 2.5.5 number “1” and “2”, deals with multiple flows to a single server involving test measurements using packets pertaining to Packsen tool. Further on page 41 table 2.1 deals with net neutrality violations and it is stated for the Packsen tool “…it runs Mann-Whitney U-test on the distributions of inter-arrival times of the two flows to detect differentiation...”. As a result, the reference of Riccardo has the core inventive concept of detecting net neutrality involving a single server with multiple flows, which when incorporated with the reference of James seen in the rejection of claim 1 pertaining to two different routers, would render the applicant’s claim invention to be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 9, Timothy further discloses: The method of Claim 8 further comprises determining internet connection up- time based on the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters. [see section 2.1 (3rd – 4th pages), “availability”, that is the amount of time the internet was up for accessing. The parameters/metric used are seen in table 6; also see first paragraph on page 8].
Claim 10, Timothy further discloses: The method of Claim 8 further comprises determining internet connection speed based on the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters. [see section 2.1 (3rd - 4th page), the metric used is the uploading and downloading of data/file].
Claim 11, Timothy further discloses: The method of Claim 8 further comprises determining internet downtime based on the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters. [see section 2.1 (3rd – 4th page): the availability attempt is computed using the F attempts failed, hence the failed attempts signify the downtime of the network].
Claim 12, Timothy further discloses: The system for testing broadband internet connectivity of Claim 8, wherein the one or more tests are a speed test or a ping test. [see table 6 on page 16, second and third rows].
Claim 13, Timothy further discloses: The method of Claim 8 further comprises generating Internet Service Provider statistics based on the first set parameters; wherein Internet Service Provider statistics includes internet connection up-time. [see section 2.1, “availability”, that is the amount of time the internet was up for accessing. The metric/parameters used are seen in table 6; also see first paragraph on page 8]
Claim 14, Timothy further discloses: The method of Claim 8 further comprises generating Internet Service Provider statistics based on the first set parameters; wherein Internet Service Provider statistics includes internet connection speed. [see table 6, upload and download speed].
Claim 15, Timothy further discloses: The method of Claim 8 further comprises generating Internet Service Provider statistics based on the first set parameters; wherein Internet Service Provider statistics includes internet connection value. [see figure 1, this is AT tester being used on a PC (stand alone, also see the secondary reference) stores ISP values used for inter connection with regards to the ISP being measured].
Claim 16, James further discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein the device is at least one remote server. [page 32 discloses: “…The measurement clients reside in the homes of 4,281 panellists who receive service by the 13 participating ISPs. The participating ISPs collectively account for over 80% of U.S. residential broadband Internet connections…. The metrics discussed in this Report are derived from traffic flowing between a measurement client (located within the modem or router within a panellist’s home) and a measurement server. For each panellist, the tests use the measurement server for which the latency between the measurement client and server is the lowest value. As a result, the metrics measure performance along a specific path within each ISP’s network, through a point of interconnection between the ISP’s network and the network on which the chosen measurement server resides.”
The statistics captured are:
• Download speed: measured for each client at 5-second intervals within a 30-second time interval, every 2 hours
• Upload speed: measured for each client at 5-second intervals within a 30-second time interval, every 2 hours
In conclusion, there are multiple clients performing tests over the internet by used of a single connected serve.
Conclusion
MAHARISHI V. KHIRODHAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MAHARISHI V KHIRODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463