Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that figures 5-7 all have the same feature of figs. 1-4 regarding the height of the shield member being smaller than the height of the two components. This is not found persuasive because figs. 5, 6 and 7 each have a distinct feature such as a ground electrode embedded in the mounting board, the shield member comprised of two stacked solder balls, and the shield member comprised of two stacked balls with copper cores. These elements represent different embodiments regardless of the structures having similar height relationships between the shield member and the components. The specification itself also indicates that these features point to distinct embodiments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-9 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter. Specifically claims 7 and 18 require “a ground electrode disposed between the land electrode and the fourth main surface”. This feature is directed to Species 2 which was NOT the elected species.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter. Specifically claim 11 requires “a third electronic component and a fourth electronic component…a fourth height from the main surface of the mounting board to a top surface of the third electronic component is higher than the second height and the third height, and the connection shield member is connected to the outer shield electrode”. This feature is directed to Species 7 which was NOT the elected species.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter. Specifically claim 13 requires “a heat dissipation member”. This feature is directed to Species 10 which was NOT the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 12, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsubo et al. (US PG. Pub. 2020/0281102).
Regarding claim 1 – Otsubo teaches a high frequency module (fig. 2 & 4a, 1a [paragraph 0064] Otsubo states, “high-frequency module 1a”) comprising: a mounting board (2 [paragraph 0065] Otsubo states, “multilayer wiring board 2”) having a main surface (20a); a first electronic component (3a [paragraph 0069] Otsubo states, “component 3a and the component 3b”) and a second electronic component (3b) disposed on the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2); and at least one shield member (5 [Abstract] Otsubo states, “shield member 5”) disposed on the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2), wherein the shield member (5) is positioned between the first electronic component (3a) and the second electronic component (3b; see figure 2), and is adjacent to the first electronic component (3a) and the second electronic component (3b; figure 2 shows an overhead view with the shield 5 being adjacent to that of components 3a and 3b), and a first height (see height of shield 5 in figure 4a) from the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2) to a top portion of the shield member (5) is lower than at least one of a second height (height of first electronic component 3a) from the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2) to a top surface of the first electronic component (3a), and a third height (height of second electronic component 3b) from the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2) to a top surface of the second electronic component (3b; claimed height features of the shield, first and second electronic components shown in figure 4a; see annotated figure 4A below).
Regarding claim 2 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein the first height (fig. 4A, see H1 above) is lower than both the second height (see H2 above) and the third height (see H3 above).
Regarding claim 10 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 1, further comprising: a resin layer (fig. 4A, 4 [Abstract] Otsubo states, “sealing resin layer 4”) disposed on the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2) and covering at least a part of the first electronic component (3a) and at least a part of the second electronic component (3b); and an outer shield electrode (6 [paragraph 0043] Otsubo states, “shield film 6”) covering the resin layer (4).
Regarding claim 12 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein an outer edge of each of the first electronic component (fig. 2, 3a) and the second electronic component (3b) has a rectangular shape in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting board (2; claimed structure shown in figure 2), and the shield member (5) has an L shape along two adjacent sides of the first electronic component (3a) or the second electronic component, in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2; claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 19 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 2, further comprising: a resin layer (fig. 4A, 4 [Abstract] Otsubo states, “sealing resin layer 4”) disposed on the main surface (20a) of the mounting board (2) and covering at least a part of the first electronic component (3a) and at least a part of the second electronic component (3b); and an outer shield electrode (6 [paragraph 0043] Otsubo states, “shield film 6”) covering the resin layer (4).
Regarding claim 20 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 2, wherein an outer edge of each of the first electronic component (fig. 2, 3a) and the second electronic component (3b) has a rectangular shape in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting board (2; claimed structure shown in figure 2), and the shield member (5) has an L shape along two adjacent sides of the first electronic component (3a) or the second electronic component, in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2; claimed structure shown in figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. in view of Gabriel (US Patent 5796170)
Regarding claim 3 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first electronic component and the second electronic component includes a board having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to each other, a circuit portion provided on the first main surface of the board, and a plurality of bump electrodes connected to the circuit portion, and is connected to the mounting board through the plurality of bump electrodes, and the first height is higher than a height from the main surface of the mounting board to the first main surface of the board.
Gabriel teaches wherein at least one of the first electronic component (fig. 4, 200) and the second electronic component includes a board (228 [column 4 lines 48-50] Gabriel states, “the dielectric body of the package, which comprises layers 224, 226, and 228”) having a first main surface (bottom surface of 228) and a second main surface (top surface of 228) opposite to each other, a circuit portion (240 [column 4 line 54] Gabriel states, “conductive layer 240”) provided on the first main surface (bottom surface of 228) of the board (228), and a plurality of bump electrodes (230 [column 4 line 56] Gabriel states, “solder balls 230”) connected to the circuit portion (240), and is connected to the mounting board (238) through the plurality of bump electrodes (230), and the first height (see height of the entire first electronic component) is higher than a height from the main surface (top surface of 238) of the mounting board (238) to the first main surface (bottom surface of 228) of the board (228; see annotated figure 4 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high frequency module having a first and second electronic component as taught by Otsubo with the first electronic component having a board and a circuit portion thereon that connects to a bump electrode connected to the mounting board with the first height of the entire first electronic component to the mounting board is higher than that of the distance between the board and the mounting board as taught by Gabriel because Gabriel states regarding this particular component arrangement, “provide an improved BGA package for integrated circuits for control of electromagnetic interference.” [column 2 lines 15-17]. Having an internal board within the component allows for increased wiring density creating space savings.
Regarding claim 16 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first electronic component and the second electronic component includes a board having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to each other, a circuit portion provided on the first main surface of the board, and a plurality of bump electrodes connected to the circuit portion, and is connected to the mounting board through the plurality of bump electrodes, and the first height is higher than a height from the main surface of the mounting board to the first main surface of the board.
Gabriel teaches wherein at least one of the first electronic component (fig. 4, 200) and the second electronic component includes a board (228 [column 4 lines 48-50] Gabriel states, “the dielectric body of the package, which comprises layers 224, 226, and 228”) having a first main surface (bottom surface of 228) and a second main surface (top surface of 228) opposite to each other, a circuit portion (240 [column 4 line 54] Gabriel states, “conductive layer 240”) provided on the first main surface (bottom surface of 228) of the board (228), and a plurality of bump electrodes (230 [column 4 line 56] Gabriel states, “solder balls 230”) connected to the circuit portion (240), and is connected to the mounting board (238) through the plurality of bump electrodes (230), and the first height (see height of the entire first electronic component) is higher than a height from the main surface (top surface of 238) of the mounting board (238) to the first main surface (bottom surface of 228) of the board (228; see annotated figure 4 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high frequency module having a first and second electronic component as taught by Otsubo with the first electronic component having a board and a circuit portion thereon that connects to a bump electrode connected to the mounting board with the first height of the entire first electronic component to the mounting board is higher than that of the distance between the board and the mounting board as taught by Gabriel because Gabriel states regarding this particular component arrangement, “provide an improved BGA package for integrated circuits for control of electromagnetic interference.” [column 2 lines 15-17]. Having an internal board within the component allows for increased wiring density creating space savings.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. in view of Uejima (US PG. Pub. 2019/0029109).
Regarding claim 4 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first electronic component is a transmission electronic component, and the second electronic component is a reception electronic component.
Uejima teaches a high frequency module (fig. 2 [title] Uejima states, “High-frequency module”) wherein the first electronic component (411) is a transmission electronic component ([paragraph 0060] Uejima states, “a power amplifier 411 that serves as a transmitter circuit device”), and the second electronic component (3131) is a reception electronic component ([paragraph 0061] Uejima states, “passive device 3131 that serves a receiver circuit device”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high frequency module having a first and second electronic component as taught by Otsubo with the first electronic component being a transmission electronic component and the second electronic component being a reception electronic component as taught by Uejima because Uejima states regarding this arrangement, “This configuration suppresses radiation of unwanted signals to outside (suppresses influence on the outside) even in a case where the unwanted signals are radiated from the transmitter circuit device. Further, unwanted coupling among the transmitter circuit device, the receiver circuit device, and the shielding conductor is suppressed” [paragraph 0011].
Regarding claim 5 – Otsubo in view of Uejima teach the high frequency module according to Claim 4, wherein the transmission electronic component (Uejima; fig. 2, 411) includes a power amplifier ([paragraph 0054] Uejima states, “power amplifier 411”).
Regarding claim 6 – Otsubo in view of Uejima teach the high frequency module according to Claim 4, wherein the reception electronic component (Uejima; fig. 2, 3131) includes a low noise amplifier (fig. 1, 414 [paragraph 0056] Uejima states, “The receiver circuit 313 includes a matching circuit 413 and a low-noise amplifier 414”).
Regarding claim 17 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the first electronic component is a transmission electronic component, and the second electronic component is a reception electronic component.
Uejima teaches a high frequency module (fig. 2 [title] Uejima states, “High-frequency module”) wherein the first electronic component (411) is a transmission electronic component ([paragraph 0060] Uejima states, “a power amplifier 411 that serves as a transmitter circuit device”), and the second electronic component (3131) is a reception electronic component ([paragraph 0061] Uejima states, “passive device 3131 that serves a receiver circuit device”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high frequency module having a first and second electronic component as taught by Otsubo with the first electronic component being a transmission electronic component and the second electronic component being a reception electronic component as taught by Uejima because Uejima states regarding this arrangement, “This configuration suppresses radiation of unwanted signals to outside (suppresses influence on the outside) even in a case where the unwanted signals are radiated from the transmitter circuit device. Further, unwanted coupling among the transmitter circuit device, the receiver circuit device, and the shielding conductor is suppressed” [paragraph 0011].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. in view of Liao et al. (US PG. Pub. 2011/0090659).
Regarding claim 14 – Otsubo teaches the high frequency module according to Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the shield member includes a solder bump.
Liao teaches wherein the shield member (fig. 24, 26) includes a solder bump ([paragraph 0028] Liao states, “the first solder 26 is electrically connected to the inner shield 24”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high frequency module having a first and second electronic component and shield member therebetween as taught by Otsubo with the shield member including a solder bump as taught by Liao because Liao states, “after the first solder 26 and the inner shield 24 are formed on the grounding solder pad 214, the shield area is large to provide better shielding from low electromagnetic interference” [paragraph 0027]. Additionally solder will form a strong electrical and mechanical connection to the mounting board adding resilience to the module.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. in view of Murase (US PG. Pub. 2019/0267339).
Regarding claim 15 – Otsubo teaches a communication device comprising: the high frequency module according to Claim 1; but fails to teach a signal processing circuit connected to the high frequency module.
Murase teaches a communication device (fig. 1, 5 [paragraph 0038] Murase states, “communication device 5”) comprising: a high frequency module (1 [paragraph 0036] Murase states, “a high-frequency module (RF module) 1”); and a signal processing circuit (4 [paragraph 0038] Murase states, “baseband signal processing circuit (BBIC) 4”) connected to the high frequency module (1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high frequency module as taught by Otsubo with a signal processing circuit connected to the high frequency module as taught by Murase because Murase states, “A signal processed in the BBIC 4 is used, for example, as an image signal for image display, or as a voice signal for communication via a speaker.” [paragraph 0056].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US PG. Pub. 2022/0053631) discloses a component package.
Otsubo (US Patent 10863656) discloses a radio-frequency module.
Han et al. (US Patent 10177095) discloses a semiconductor device.
Kitazaki et al. (US PG. Pub. 2015/0043189) discloses a circuit module.
Shimamura et al. (US PG. Pub. 2013/0271928) discloses a circuit module.
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847