DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Because the phase fraction ratio of claim 1 includes 1.0 to the tenth decimal place, the claim is considered definite because silicon can still be positively recited in a small amount while the phase fraction ratio is still 1.0 to the tenth decimal place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (PGPub 2025/0273676).
Considering Claim 1, Deng discloses an anode active material for a lithium secondary battery (negative electrode active material [Abstract] for lithium secondary battery [0060, 0215, 0216]) comprising a lithium-silicon oxide particle (negative active material particle [0090], contains Li2SiO3 and Li2Si2O5 [Abstract, 0076, 0077, 0101]), and optionally further includes Li2Si2O5 (contains Li2Si2O5 [Abstract, 0076, 0101]),
wherein a phrase fraction ratio defined by Equation 1 of the lithium-silicon oxide particle is in a range from 0.55 to 1.0:
[Equation 1]
phase fraction = P(LS)/(P(LS)+P(Si))
wherein, in Equation 1, P(LS) is a sum of a phase fraction of Li2SiO3 and a phase fraction of Li2Si2O5 obtained by Rietveld Refinement using an X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, P(Si) is a phase fraction of silicon obtained by Rietveld Refinement using the XRD analysis (Li2Si2O5 corresponds to first diffraction XRD peak [0063, Figure 1], Li2SiO3 corresponds to second diffraction peak [0063, Figure 1], and Si corresponds to third diffraction peak [0078, Figure 1], peak intensity ratio of Li2Si2O5 to Li2SiO3 to Si of 40 to 60: 100 to 145: 100, or phase combined as 0.58 to 0.67 [0185]; first, second, and third diffraction peaks have half-peak width of 0.85 to 1.3° [0009], 0.5 to 0.95° [0010], and 1 to 1.5° [0078] respectively or phase combined as 0.47 to 0.69; the distribution of Li2Si2O5 and Li2SiO3 grains helps to alleviate volume expansion of the silicon-based negative electrode active material in a cycle process to improve the initial coulombic efficiency and cycle life in addition to the high energy density [0007], so providing phases within these ranges for a range of 0.55 to 1.0 to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Considering Claim 2, Deng discloses that a crystallite size measured by the XRD analysis of Li2SiO3 is 8 nm or more (Li2SiO3 grain size ranges from 11 nm to 18 nm [0016], concerning crystallites [0115]).
Considering Claim 3, because Deng discloses a grain size range from 11 nm to 18 nm [0016], it appears that a calculation using Equation 2 will produce results of the claimed range of 8 nm or more.
Considering Claim 4, Deng discloses that the crystallite size of Li2SiO3 is 15 nm to 18 nm (Li2SiO3 grain size ranges from 11 nm to 18 nm for improved cycle life [0016], so choosing within this range for a range of 15 to 18 nm to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Considering Claim 5, Deng discloses that Li2SiO3 corresponds to second diffraction peak [0063, Figure 1], and Si corresponds to third diffraction peak [0078, Figure 1], peak intensity ratio of Li2Si2O5 to Li2SiO3 to Si of 40 to 60: 100 to 145: 100, or phase combined as 0.58 to 0.67 [0185]; first, second, and third diffraction peaks have half-peak width of 0.85 to 1.3° [0009], 0.5 to 0.95° [0010], and 1 to 1.5° [0078] respectively or phase combined as 0.47 to 0.69; the distribution of Li2Si2O5 and Li2SiO3 grains helps to alleviate volume expansion of the silicon-based negative electrode active material in a cycle process to improve the initial coulombic efficiency and cycle life in addition to the high energy density [0007], so providing phases within these ranges for a range of 0.60 to 1.0 to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 8, Deng discloses a lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery [0060, 0215, 0216]), comprising:
a cathode (positive electrode [0060, 0216]); and
an anode facing the cathode (electrodes separated by interposed separator [0060] after stacked arrangement [0216]) and including the anode active material for a lithium secondary battery of claim 1 (negative electrode made of the negative electrode active material [0060], see claim 1).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (PGPub 2025/0273676) and further in view of Park et al. (PGPub 2025/0062322).
Considering Claims 6 and 7, Deng discloses a carbon material coating layer for improved cycle life [0017]. However, Deng is silent to amorphous carbon or natural/artificial graphite.
Park discloses a silicon-carbon composite that includes silicon particles and carbon layers [Abstract]. The first and second carbon layer may each comprise amorphous carbon and graphite, which would encompass either natural or artificial graphite [0141]. These materials impart conductivity and suppress reactivity with the electrolyte solution [0140].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the negative electrode material of Deng with the carbon layers of Park in order to impart conductivity and suppress reactivity with the electrolyte solution [0140].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: considering claim 9, Deng renders the phase fraction ratio obvious as cited above in claim 1. However, Deng forms particles by heating a raw material containing Si and O such as silicon and silicon dioxide by using vapor deposition, then cooling, and subsequently crushing the deposit to obtain a crushed product for particles [0027-0031]. Vapor deposition is performed quickly with uniform dispersion [0116, 0114], and the crushing is performed to meet preset parameters [0117]. Solvent is only considered for the already formed active material for coating purposes [0125]. As the manufacturing method of vapor deposition is done quickly and achieves appropriate crystallinity [0115], one of ordinary skill in the art would not introduce solvent steps and drying steps to add to the manufacturing time while potentially altering the reaction and desired properties as claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725