DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 7/12/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over
Arzelier et al., (US 2018/0220373), (hereinafter, Arzelier) in view of Wu et al., (US 2025/0254657), (hereinafter, Wu).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Arzelier discloses a user equipment (UE) (= device 102, see [0041]), comprising:
a terminal equipment (TE), for providing services to a user of the user equipment (UE); and a mobile termination (MT) (= an application 202 and a modem 204 at a device; and the modem 204 has knowledge of radio coverage condition for the device, see [0047-48]);
wherein the mobile termination (MT) is configured to send to the terminal equipment (TE) an information for indicating a coverage (= AT commands and responses enable sending information or instruction between application/TE and modem/MT through terminal adaptor/TA, see [0048]; and status/radio coverage condition from modem/MT to application/TE, see [0047 and 0049]).
Arzelier explicitly discloses the claimed limitations of: “a discontinuous satellite coverage” and “wherein the information indicates: whether an access-stratum of the user equipment (UE) is deactivated due to the discontinuous satellite coverage or is activated when the user equipment (UE) comes out of the discontinuous satellite coverage, or one or more parameters broadcasted in a SystemInformationBlockType32 (SIB32) or a SystemInformationBlockType32-NB (SIB32-NB)”.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses a claimed limitations of: ““a discontinuous satellite coverage” and “wherein the information indicates: whether an access-stratum of the user equipment (UE) is deactivated due to the discontinuous satellite coverage or is activated when the user equipment (UE) comes out of the discontinuous satellite coverage, or one or more parameters broadcasted in a SystemInformationBlockType32 (SIB32) or a SystemInformationBlockType32-NB (SIB32-NB)”(see [0096 and 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 2 and 13, as mentioned in claims 1 and 12, Arzelier further discloses user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the information is sent from the mobile termination (MT) to the terminal equipment (TE) using an attention (AT) command (see, [0048]).
Regarding claim 3 and 14, as mentioned in claims 2 and 13, Arzelier further discloses user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the attention (AT) command includes a set command including <n>, and <n> is for controlling a presentation of one or more unsolicited result codes of the AT command (= code-points can be introduced in on AT command from modem to application, in order to notify the application of the radio coverage condition every time the radio coverage condition changes (i.e., unsolicited information), see [0055-56]).
Regarding claim 4 and 15, as mentioned in claims 3 and 14, Arzelier further discloses user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the attention (AT) command includes a read command for returning <n> and <indicator>, and <indicator> is for indicating current coverage status for the terminal equipment (TE) or the user equipment (UE) (= see, [0055-56 and 0058]); but explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of: “indicating current discontinuous coverage status for the terminal equipment (TE) or the user equipment.”
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses a claimed limitations of: “indicating current discontinuous coverage status for the terminal equipment (TE) or the user equipment.”(see, [0096 and 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 5 and 16, as mentioned in claims 3 and 14, Arzelier further discloses user equipment (UE)/method, wherein in <n>, “0” is used to disable presentation of the one or more unsolicited result codes of the AT command (see, [0055-56]).
Regarding claim 6 and 17, as mentioned in claims 3 and 14, Arzelier further discloses user equipment (UE)/method, , wherein in <n>, “1” is used to enable presentation of the one or more unsolicited result codes of the AT command (see, [0056]).
Regarding claim 7 and 18, as mentioned in claims 3 and 14, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein in <indicator>, “0” is used to indicate that the user equipment (UE) is in a satellite coverage.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein in <indicator>, “0” is used to indicate that the user equipment (UE) is in a satellite coverage (see, [0096 and 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Edge with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 3, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein in <indicator>, “1” is used to indicate that the user equipment (UE) is currently out of satellite coverage or in the discontinuous satellite coverage.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses disclose the user equipment (UE)/method wherein in <indicator>, “1” is used to indicate that the user equipment (UE) is currently out of satellite coverage or in the discontinuous satellite coverage (see, [0096 and 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 3, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the attention (AT) command includes a read command for returning at least one <n>, <indicator> for indicating current discontinuous coverage status for the user equipment (UE).
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses disclose the user equipment (UE)/method wherein the attention (AT) command includes a read command for returning at least one <n>, <indicator> for indicating current discontinuous coverage status for the user equipment (UE) (see, [0096 and 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 9, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the one or more parameters broadcasted in the SystemInformationBlockType32 (SIB32) or the SystemInformationBlockType32-NB (SIB32-NB) are a number of satellite IDs present in satellite assistance information, ephemeris parameters, a service start time (t-ServiceStart), an elevation right angle, an elevation left angle, a reference point longitude, a reference point latitude, or a radius.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses disclose the user equipment (UE)/method wherein the one or more parameters broadcasted in the SystemInformationBlockType32 (SIB32) or the SystemInformationBlockType32-NB (SIB32-NB) are a number of satellite IDs present in satellite assistance information, ephemeris parameters, a service start time (t-ServiceStart), an elevation right angle, an elevation left angle, a reference point longitude, a reference point latitude, or a radius) (see, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 10, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the ephemeris parameters are an inclination, an argument of perigee, a right ascension, a mean anomaly, an eccentricity, a b-star decimal, a b-star exponent, or an epoch star.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses the user equipment (UE)/method wherein the ephemeris parameters are an inclination, an argument of perigee, a right ascension, a mean anomaly, an eccentricity, a b-star decimal, a b-star exponent, or an epoch star (see, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 12, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein the one or more parameters broadcasted in the SystemInformationBlockType32 (SIB32) or the SystemInformationBlockType32-NB (SIB32-NB) are a number of satellite IDs present in satellite assistance information, ephemeris parameters, a service start time (t-ServiceStart), an elevation right angle, an elevation left angle, a reference point longitude, a reference point latitude, or a radius.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses the user equipment (UE)/method wherein wherein the one or more parameters broadcasted in the SystemInformationBlockType32 (SIB32) or the SystemInformationBlockType32-NB (SIB32-NB) are a number of satellite IDs present in satellite assistance information, ephemeris parameters, a service start time (t-ServiceStart), an elevation right angle, an elevation left angle, a reference point longitude, a reference point latitude, or a radius (see, [0080, 0096 and 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned in claim 19, Arzelier explicitly fails to disclose the user equipment (UE)/method, wherein, the ephemeris parameters are an inclination, an argument of perigee, a right ascension, a mean anomaly, an eccentricity, a b-star decimal, a b-star exponent, or an epoch star.
However, Wu, which is an analogous art discloses the user equipment (UE)/method wherein, the ephemeris parameters are an inclination, an argument of perigee, a right ascension, a mean anomaly, an eccentricity, a b-star decimal, a b-star exponent, or an epoch star (see, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Wu with Arzelier for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides an advance knowledge of network coverage information thereby allowing devices and network to prepare for upcoming unavailability network periods and subsequently improving various operations of device in the network.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.