DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11-20, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Revett (4552234).
Revett discloses a bottomhole assembly, comprising:
Re claims 1, 12, 13, 18 (method claim 18 is pertinent because when the assembly is put in the operation, it will result in the steps as called for in the method claims):
a downhole conveyance that is extendable from a terranean surface, through a wellbore, and to a subterranean formation (i.e., fig. 1); and
a perforating tool 10 configured to couple to the downhole conveyance and create a perforation cluster in the subterranean formation (i.e., figs.1-2), the perforation cluster comprising perforations arranged along a longitudinal direction of the wellbore, the perforations comprising one or more first perforations extending along a first azimuthal direction (i.e., one in center), one or more second perforations extending along a second azimuthal direction (i.e., one on left next to the center) at a first offset angle with respective to the first azimuthal direction, and one or more third perforations extending along a third azimuthal direction (i.e., one on right next to the center) at a second offset angle with respective to the first azimuthal direction, the one or more second perforations and the one or more third perforations being alternative/opposite with each other along the longitudinal direction of the wellbore, and at least two of the second azimuthal directions being different form each other (i.e., figs. 2-5).
Re claim 2, the one or more second perforations are even-numbered perforations (when two on the left counted by operator as desired), and the one or more third perforations are odd-numbered perforations (when one on the right counted by operator as desired).
Re claims 3, 14, 19, the first offset angle and the second offset angle range between about 0 degree and about 25 degrees (i.e., col. 3:23-27, fig. 2).
Re claim 4, at least one of the second azimuthal direction or the third azimuthal direction is different than the first azimuthal direction (i.e. fig. 2).
Re claims 5, 20, the first offset angle is equal in magnitude and opposite in sign to the second offset angle (i.e., fig. 2).
Re claim 9, the perforating tool comprises shaped charges, detonating directions of the shaped charges being phased at azimuths smaller than about 60 degrees (i.e., figs. 1-4).
Re claims 11, 17, 23, The bottom hole assembly of claim 1, wherein the perforating tool comprises a high-pressure coiled tubing jetting tool, a laser tool, or an abrasive jet perforating tool (i.e., background).
Re claim 15, at least two of the third azimuthal directions are different from each other (i.e., figs. 2-5).
Re claim 16, each of the perforations extends along a unique direction (i.e., figs. 2-5).
Re claims 24, a first set of in-line perturbed perforations arranged along a first longitudinal direction of the wellbore, the first longitudinal direction being vertical at an azimuth of 0 degrees; and a second set of in-line perturbed perforations arranged along a second longitudinal direction of the wellbore, the second longitudinal direction being horizontal at an azimuth of 90 degrees (i.e., figs. 2-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, 21-22, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Revett.
Re claims 6, 21, Revett teaches the first offset angle is about −15 degrees, and the second offset angle is about +15 degrees, but is silent on the first offset angle is about −10 degrees, and the second offset angle is about +10 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the assembly of Revett with the first offset angle about −10 degrees and the second offset angle about +10 degrees (this creates azimuthal spacing narrower), for obtaining effective circumferential penetration of earth formations traversed by well bores, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. This also applies to claims 7, 8, 10, 22, and 25 since they are directed to range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xia (11761311) teaches a perforation cluster of a longitudinal section of a wellbore. Batarseh (11739616) teaches offset perforations by a downhole laser tool. Hardesty et al. (20150267516) teaches offset perforations by a downhole perforating gun.
/YONG-SUK (PHILIP) RO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676