DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
In response to applicant’s amendment, dated 06/23/2026, the examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claim 8 and the amendment so claims 1, 16 and 18. The examiner has considered applicant’s arguments in light of the amended claims and withdraws the rejections set forth in the Office Action mailed 03/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (CN 204269901) in view of Zhang (CN 116360060).
Zhang (CN 116360060) – Figure 4A
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses “a fixed focal module (Fig. 2, ref.# 18), comprising a fixed lens group (Fig. 2, ref.# 18) and a fixed barrel (paragraph 0023), the fixed lens group comprising a front fixed lens and a plurality of inner fixed lenses (Fig. 2, ref.# 18), the fixed barrel fixing the front fixed lens and the plurality of inner fixed lenses (See Fig. 2), the front fixed lens and the inner fixed lenses each having an optical effective region, the optical effective region of the front fixed lens being smaller than or equal to the optical effective region of each inner fixed lens (See Fig. 2, ref.# 18), and the fixed lens group having a fixed lens group optical axis; a focus module (Fig. 2: ref.# 23, 24), adjacent to the fixed focal module and comprising a focus lens (Fig. 2, ref.# 17) [and a focus barrel fixing the focus lens], the focus lens having a focus lens optical axis, and the focus lens optical axis being aligned with the fixed lens group optical axis (See Fig. 2); an actuation module (Fig. 2, ref.# 20), the fixed focal module being fixed on the actuation module (See Fig. 2), the focus module (Fig. 2, ref.# 23, 24) being located in the actuation module (Fig. 2, ref.# 20), and the actuation module being configured to actuate the focus module to move along the focus lens optical axis (paragraph 0022); and a sensing module (Fig. 2, ref.# 16), having a sensing optical axis, the sensing optical axis being aligned with the fixed lens group optical axis and the focus lens optical axis (See Fig. 2).”
The newly added limitation “and a focus barrel fixing the focus lens” corresponds to the cancelled limitation of claim 8. In the Office Action mailed 03/30/2026, the examiner had associated the outer section of ref.# 17 of Wang as the focus barrel. Under the interpretation of Wang wherein the entire structure of ref.# 17 Wang is the lens and that “Wang does not disclose a focus barrel located in the actuation module, and the focus lens 17 of Wang is directly connected to the actuation module 20 (fixed base 21 via elastic sheet 22”” as argued by the applicant, then Wang does not disclose a ”focus barrel fixing the focus lens” as added.
However, a camera module that includes a “focus barrel fixing a focus lens” was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Zhang (See Fig. 4A; page 8 of translation, 2nd paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to include a focus barrel fixing the focus lens in order to securely hold the lens, or use more than one lens, for focusing as suggested by Zhang on page 8 of translation, 2nd paragraph.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses “wherein the actuation module further comprises a housing (See Fig. 2), an actuator (Fig. 2, ref.# 23, 24), a connecting member (Fig. 2, ref.# 22), and a base (Fig. 2, ref.# 21), the actuator, the connecting member, and the base are located in the housing (See Fig. 2), the base supports the connecting member (See Fig. 2), the actuator surrounds the connecting member and the connecting member is in contact with the focus module to enable the actuator to actuate the connecting member (See Fig. 2), the connecting member moves the focus module along the focus lens optical axis, the housing has a window, and the fixed barrel is fixed to the window (See Fig. 2).” (paragraph 0022)
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses “wherein the focus module comprises a focus barrel (Fig. 2, outer section of ref.# 17), the focus barrel fixes the focus lens (Fig. 2, ref.# 17), the window corresponds to a contact region between the connecting member and the focus barrel (See Fig. 2), the actuation module comprises a covering layer, the covering layer is located above the window, and the fixed barrel is located on the covering layer (Fig. 2).” (paragraph 0022)
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses “wherein the housing further comprises an opening, and the opening corresponds to part of the contact region between the connecting member and the focus barrel.” (See Fig. 2: housing includes opening for light to pass to lenses)
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses “wherein the sensing module comprises a circuit board (Fig. 2, ref.# 15), a sensor (Fig. 2, ref.# 16), and a holder (Fig. 2, ref.# 19), the sensor (Fig. 2, ref.# 16) and the holder (Fig. 2, ref.# 19) are located on the circuit board (Fig. 2, ref.# 15), and the holder covers the sensor (See Fig. 2).”
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses “wherein the base (Fig. 2, ref.# 21) comprises a platform and a plurality of supporting portions, the platform is located on the holder (Fig. 2, ref.# 19), and the supporting portions are leaned against the circuit board (Fig. 2, ref.# 15) through the holder.”
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses “a lens, the lens being located on the holder.” (Fig. 2, ref.# 191: an optical filter can be considered to be a lens with no power)
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses “wherein the focus module further comprises a focus barrel (Fig. 2, outer section of ref.# 17), and the focus barrel fixes the focus lens (Fig. 2, ref.# 17).”
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses “wherein the focus barrel (Fig. 2, ref.# 17) and the connecting member (Fig. 2, ref.# 22) are constructed as a linkage.”
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses “wherein the focus module is located in the actuation module, and a positioner fixes a relative position of the focus module and the actuation module.” (Fig. 2; paragraph 0022)
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses “wherein the focus lens optical axis is aligned with the fixed lens group optical axis in an optical active alignment manner, and the sensing optical axis is aligned with the fixed lens group optical axis and the focus lens optical axis in the optical active alignment manner.” (Fig. 2: fixed lens, focus lens and sensor aligned)
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses “wherein alignment of the focus lens optical axis with the fixed lens group optical axis in the optical active alignment manner is performed by a positioning sensor.” (paragraph 0023: the image sensor can act as a position sensor of the focus lens)
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (CN 204269901).
Regarding claims 14-15, Wang discloses all the structure set forth in the claims except (Claim 14) “wherein the image capture device has a focus range, and the focus range is between infinity and 15 centimeters” and (Claim 15) “wherein the image capture device has a field of view, and the field of view is between 90 degrees and 100 degrees.” However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Want to select a focus rang between infinity and 15 centimeter and to select a field of view between 90 – 100 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (CN 204269901) and Zhang (CN 116360060), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Liu, et al. (CN 216599819).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wang discloses an image capture device (See Claim 1 above). However, Wang does not teach the image capture device being used in a mobile phone. Thus, modified Wang disclose all the structure set forth in the claim 16 except:
“an input interface, configured to receive an input instruction; an image capture device, connected to the input interface,” “a main board, connected to the image capture device, the main board receiving the image signal from the image capture device; and a display, connected to the main board, the display having a translucent region, the front fixed lens being located in the translucent region, and the display receiving the image signal through the main board and then displaying an image according to the image signal.” However, utilizing a camera module in a mobile phone or computer was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Liu (See page 1 of translation, Background, 1st line: “mobile phone or tablet computer). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to include “an input interface, configured to receive an input instruction; an image capture device, connected to the input interface,” “a main board, connected to the image capture device, the main board receiving the image signal from the image capture device; and a display, connected to the main board, the display having a translucent region, the front fixed lens being located in the translucent region, and the display receiving the image signal through the main board and then displaying an image according to the image signal” in order to provide a mobile phone with a camera that has focus control in a compact size.
Regarding claim 13, 17 and 18, Wang discloses a camera system with focus control. However, an anti-shake function with the lens moving perpendicular to the optical axis is not disclosed in Wang. Thus, Wang teaches all the structure set forth in the claims except (Claim 13 and 17) “wherein the actuation module is further configured to actuate the focus module to generate corresponding movement on a plane perpendicular to the focus lens optical axis to offset hand shake” and (Claim 18) “an anti-shake module, the fixed focal module being fixed on the anti-shake module, the moving module being located in the anti-shake module, the anti-shake module being configured to actuate the moving module to generate corresponding movement on a plane perpendicular to the fixed lens group optical axis to align the moving lens optical axis and the fixed lens group optical axis with a center of imaging light”. However, the use of an actuation module to move a lens perpendicular to the focus to offset hand shake and/or to act as an anti-shake module was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Liu (See page 1 of translation, Background, line 2: “focusing and anti-shaking”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to include “wherein the actuation module is further configured to actuate the focus module to generate corresponding movement on a plane perpendicular to the focus lens optical axis to offset hand shake” and “an anti-shake module, the fixed focal module being fixed on the anti-shake module, the moving module being located in the anti-shake module, the anti-shake module being configured to actuate the moving module to generate corresponding movement on a plane perpendicular to the fixed lens group optical axis to align the moving lens optical axis and the fixed lens group optical axis with a center of imaging light” in order to improve the image quality of the image.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
August 31, 2026