DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology such as the term “comprising”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “blinds” recited in Claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure mentions the term “blinds” only once in the Specification and does not provide any detail as to what the applicant considers a “blind.” For the purposes of examination, any canopy section that has means for passing light and/or fluid through the canopy will be considered sufficient to meet this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown in US Patent 5868152. Brown teaches an umbrella, comprising: a shaft (11); a first canopy (A, see below); and a second canopy (B), wherein: the first canopy has alternating solid material and open sections (between adjacent petals 29); the second canopy has alternating solid material and open sections (between adjacent petals 29); the first canopy is attached to the shaft above the second canopy (see Fig. 6 where canopy A overlaps canopy B); and the first canopy and the second canopy are configured to rotate relative to each other around the shaft (See Fig. 6).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Engdahl et al. in US Patent 4962780. Engdahl teaches an umbrella, comprising: a shaft (16); a first canopy (13); and a second canopy (14), wherein: the first canopy is made of a polarized translucent material (“flexible polarizing film” – See Column 3, lines 25-28); the second canopy is made of a polarized translucent material (“flexible polarizing film” – See Column 3, lines 25-28); the first canopy is attached to the shaft above the second canopy (see Fig. 1); and the first canopy and the second canopy are configured to rotate relative to each other around the shaft (see Figs. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Glaeser in US Patent 3863660. Brown is silent on the use of blinds in the canopy. Glaeser teaches an umbrella including a canopy (Fig. 2) having blinds (22 – see Fig. 3B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brown by using a canopy having blinds as taught by Glaeser for the first and/or second canopies in order to, as Glaeser teaches, control the quality of sunlight that passes through the canopy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vazquez et al., EP 0632976, and DE 19705572 teach umbrellas.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636