Detailed Action
This is an Office Action for application 18/641,801, filed on 12/08/2025. Claims 1, 11 and 20 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that newly amended claim 1 language
generating a correlation network graph from the correlation matrix, the graph including a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of attributes and a plurality of undirected edges, each undirected edge connecting a corresponding pair of the plurality of nodes and being weighted according to a correlation value between a corresponding pair of the plurality of attributes.
is not taught by previously cited reference arts Mueller et al. (WO 2020/010350) and Chen et al. (US Pub 2025/0062953). Examiner agrees that Chen does not explicitly teach all the new language about the new features of the correlation network graph.
However, previously uncited portions of Mueller (Fig. 3A; Par. [0126, 282]) teach illustrating the strength of the connection in a graph based on coefficients associated with the connection and can include undirected graphs. Therefore, argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (WO 2020/010350) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub 2025/0062953).
Regarding claim 1, Mueller teaches
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving telemetry data from one or more system components, the telemetry data including a plurality of values associated with a plurality of attributes; (Fig. 1a; Abs. Par. [000115] a number of stored time series data variables (i.e. telemetry data including values and attributes) are received by the user in the process of generating the correlation graph)
storing the telemetry data in a data structure according to the plurality of attributes; (Fig. 1a; Abs., Par. [000115] a number of stored time series variables (i.e. telemetry data) are selected by the user in the process of generating the correlation graph)
generating graph, the graph including a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of attributes and a plurality of undirected edges, each undirected edge connecting a corresponding pair of the plurality of nodes and being weighted according to a correlation value between a corresponding pair of the plurality of attributes. (Fig. 3A; Par. [0126, 282] the strength of the connections between edges in the graph correspond to the size of the coefficient associated with connections between points in the graph)
Mueller does not explicitly teach
generating a correlation matrix from the data structure reflecting one or more relations between each of the plurality of attributes; and
generating a correlation network graph from the correlation matrix, the graph including a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of attributes.
However, from the same field, Chen teaches
generating a correlation matrix from the data structure reflecting one or more relations between each of the plurality of attributes; and (Fig. 3; Par. [0004, 58-9] correlation matrices are differences of correlations between batches of collected data metrics through determined statistics of the batches across timesteps (i.e. reflecting one or more relations between attributes))
generating a correlation network graph from the correlation matrix, the graph including a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of attributes. (Fig. 3; Par. [0058-9] causal graph (i.e. correlation network graph) is generated from correlation matrices)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the cloud monitoring system of Chen into the telemetry data of Mueller. The motivation for this combination would have been to improve the performance, reliability, and speed of the cloud system as explained in Chen (Par. [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Mueller and Chen teach claim 1 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein the one or more system components includes a first component and a second component, wherein generating the graph includes identifying a relationship between a first attribute of the first component and a second attribute of the first component or second component. (Fig. 1A-B, 1D, Par. [000100] the path diagram view (1B) shows a visual analysis of both causation and correlation, including relationships between time series variables (i.e. telemetry attributes))
Regarding claim 3, Mueller and Chen teach claim 1 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein generating the graph includes identifying an indirect relationship between a first attribute and a second attribute, wherein a first node of the plurality of nodes corresponding to the first attribute and a second node of the plurality of nodes corresponding to the second attribute are connected by at least two edges. (Fig. 11B; Par. [00042] in the given example, event c causes event e indirectly via chaining (i.e. two edges))
Regarding claim 4, Mueller and Chen teach claim 1 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 1 further comprising storing the graph in a database and providing a query interface configured to receive a user query relating to at least one of the plurality of attributes. (Par. [000221] users are able to save the discoveries of the analysis for later re-examination (i.e. user query for list of related components))
Regarding claim 5, Mueller and Chen teach claim 4 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 4 comprising generating a list of related components in response to the user query. (Par. [000221] users are able to save the discoveries of the analysis for later re-examination (i.e. user query for list of related components))
Regarding claim 6, Mueller and Chen teach claim 4 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 4 further comprising providing a response to the user query indicating the correlation between the at least two nodes. (Fig. 11B; Par. [00042] in the given example, event c causes event e indirectly through x via chaining (i.e. two nodes))
Regarding claim 7, Mueller and Chen teach claim 6 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 6 wherein the user query includes a prospective system change and the response includes a list of affected attributes related to the prospective system change. (Fig. 12B; Par. [000267-8] user inspects rows (i.e. a list) and chooses a column (i.e. prospective system change) to check its significance)
Regarding claim 8, Mueller and Chen teach claim 1 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein the one or more system components comprises a complex system. (Par. [00095] visual analytics is used in this system to better understand complex systems)
Regarding claim(s) 9, Mueller and Chen teach claim 8 as shown above, and Chen further teaches
The method of claim 8 wherein the complex system comprises a distributed storage system. (Par. [0090-1] monitoring agent (#325) can monitor the cloud system (i.e. distributed storage system))
Regarding claim 10, Mueller and Chen teach claim 1 as shown above, and Mueller further teaches
The method of claim 1 wherein the telemetry data is further stored in the data structure according to an event time. (Fig. 1a; Abs. a number of stored time series (i.e. according to event time) data variables are received by the user in the process of generating the correlation graph)
Regarding claim 11, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. Mueller further teaches
a memory; and at least one processor (Par. [000312] system includes memory and processors)
Regarding claim 12, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, while worded slightly differently, is rejected under the same rationale as claim 11.
Conclusion
/J MITCHELL CURRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/SHERIEF BADAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2169